Sort:  

This is interesting to come across after I found one growing in my garden last summer. Once we'd finally identified it, my friend, @ligayagardener took it off my hands, as it's bit something in comfortable experimenting with. I needed to move it to let the chickens into the area, so I ended up potting it up in a heatwave (I'm talking near 40°C) and it wasn't in the slightest bit bothered by that.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is a hell of a strong plant in dry hot weather, but very prone to disease if things get too moist

Excellent post Fenn. Such detail and care in the making of it. And thanks @bobydimitrov for the tip re. Bulgarian name. I head back there to my home near Kyustendil next week.

Peace and Love
Atma

Thanks! Have a great trip!

Thanks. I've not forgotten you connected in Discord. I will write soon once i've got my *hit together so it's more understandable.

No problem, all in due time ;)

I had a real attraction just for growing the Datura for it had such a beautiful flower and some even had a lovely scent! I knew that it could be poisonous and also that it could be used as a psychedelic, thinking more in the lines of hallucinogen (I didn't know it caused delirium) and I am a very cautious person and don't really care to have my consciousness altered with the intake of a substance (I guess I would not make a very good shaman). I find that really interesting that it was given to young children to see how the respond to it indicating what they would be best adapted for!
Glad you took it with respect and had good results from it!
Thanks for sharing!

Sometimes I wonder if I shouldn't put substances into myself as well but then I say "it's all good, the Universe will see me through" 😂. And it always has, so I can only be grateful for the nice experiences I've had. But I totally get that some people prefer not using them and I know for a fact there are other ways of reaching altered consciousness. Thanks for stopping by!

Just stopping by to share an interesting tidbit (being directed here via @riverflows). The local name for that plant in Bulgaria is "tatul". That also happens to be the name of a village, where an ancient Thracian sanctuary and tomb was found, a place of spiritual significance to people of times long gone (a few thousands years ago).

Here's a reference link:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tatul

Tatul
Tatul (Bulgarian: Татул, the local name for Datura stramonium) is a village in Momchilgrad municipality, Kardzhali Province located in the Eastern Rhodopes in southern Bulgaria. It is lies at 319 m above sea level at 41°33′13″N 25°32′28″E, 15 km east of Momchilgrad, and as of September 2005 has a population of 189 people. Most of the houses were built of well-cut stone blocks.
In the 2000s Bulgarian archaeologists discovered an ancient Thracian surface tomb and sanctuary in the immediate proximity of the village, and it was soon recognized as an exclusive religious center in the region of importance to the whole region according to head archaeologist Nikolay Ovcharov.

Wow, there is just too much lore and mystery surrounding this plant. This post was very shallow regarding this so I think I'll write another one soon with stuff like you mention. Thank you very much for complementing the post with such an interesting comment.

Beautiful post on plant medicine. Thank you for sharing your experiences. It has always been something that I was curious about.

Glad to be helpful :) thanks for reading

Coming back to read this in more detail.. amazing post.. going tp share a few places to see if I can get it more attention

Thank you, hope you can read it later :)

I love your post .

Thank you <3

It even helps to degrade the heavy minerals improving the land for other plants to thrive!

They say that magical plants work in nature how they work in the mind. It certainly sounds like this one isn't an exception to that.

Amen to that!

I can only say that there are many other things I would take before I took this. Interesting post, thanks..

Well as much as I like Datura, you're right as the are many friendlier and safer things out there. Still interested though, I'll report when I have experimented further

Woah never new a flower seed could cause the mind to struggle between reality and imagination.

Oh, flowers and seeds can do that and much more

Beautiful..thanks for share your information.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for reading ;)

We have a similar plant over here in South Africa, never tried or tested them, too many strange stories surround this plant. We have a nickname for them "mal pitte" loosely translated to English is "mad pips" so no one was gutsy enough!

@tipu curate

Yeah, Datura is also said to have been used in love revenge to drive men mad when they betrayed a woman. It's a crazy plant and very attractively mysterious to me.

Use with caution LOL...

Certainly 😊

Thanks for the curation!

What an informative post! 😉👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for reading 😊

What an amazing post. Thanks for sharing this with us

Thanks for reading!

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

This post was selected, voted and shared by the Natural Medicine Curation Team in collaboration with the C-Squared Curation Collective. Natural Medicine Curators are on the look out for natural health wisdoms, from herbs and essential oils to environmental health, spirituality, meditation and everything in between.
It has been upvoted and re-steemed by the @naturalmedicine and @c-squared accounts after manual review.
You can find more informative and inspiring natural health content on NaturalMedicine.io!
@C-squared is community curation group where everyone is a curator, actively working to support authors. Please consider @c-squared as your witness as a way to support this project.

Thank you ✌️

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with ESTM. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @fenngen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 comments. Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @fenngen! This post has been featured in today's Power House Creatives curation post!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Thanks :)

..wow!..such a lot of Information, thx.. did you know, that in German it’s called ‚engelstrompete‘, what means angel‘s trumpet...devil and angel can be so close...I know it when reading and studying Castaneda‘s ‚journey to ixtlan‘, May you know..I’m old fairies you can see gloms lying under it and enjoying..

Indeed angels and devils are close, polarities of the same energy. It just depends on who judges... Didn't know about the fairies, would be cool to see one though!

You've had nice trips with this and small doses, but the experience the guy that wrote the review experienced, certainly doesn't sound like much fun, especially after 20 hours and he still can't move? I would never want an experience like that.

The things the guy wrote kind of reminds me of when I tried Salvia divinorum, (which I did three separate times all told). I don't care for the salvia trip at all. I didn't find anything enjoyable with it, just a very strong feeling of constantly being pulled to one side, and little people mocking me about what I'd done to myself lol. Thank goodness it's a very short trip, like only 5 minutes or so, but VERY intense!

I really liked psychedelics as a young man but haven't done anything in years.

Yeah, though that guy took pure scopolamine. But Datura is also known to produce wicked dark trips. I think it's definitely not for everyone and should be approached very carefully, if at all. Small doses are great though!

Would like to try salvia if I ever get my hands on any

Salvia was still legal when I first tried it. I'm not sure if it's federally illegal now, or just state by state. I remember the first time, after I was "back," I thought, "Whoa, this stuff is insane to take!"

I read up on salvia yesterday and the site that I was reading said that salvia is a dissociative psychedelic, so I suspect it has some of the delirium aspects that you wrote about, because I lost all awareness of who I am. It's like I had been detached from life and the little people kept telling me that I had really done it this time, and I was totally screwed.

I don't think smaller amounts of salvia works the way the smaller amounts of datura do. When I smoked a smaller amount of salvia, I couldn't distinguish any change in myself, but when I hit minimal dose I was off, and it was quick to come on also!

I think it's good to have someone with you if you try it. The second time I did it, my GF was with me, and it was a little less difficult for me on the return.

This link takes you to a page where those who have experienced salvia tell of their experiences; they're pretty interesting. I've seen artwork made by trippers, somewhere also. I thought it was the same place but maybe not.

https://www.erowid.org/experiences/subs/exp_Salvia_divinorum.shtml

Cool, I've heard all type of experiences with salvia and usually they involve a huge shift in the perception of time. There was even this guy who claimed to have lived 70 years of his life during the trip. Thanks for sharing your experience, I feel it is the most accurate way to talk about psychedelics, as each experience is different and very subjective.

70 years of his life in one salvia trip... well, odd as it may seem, he's probably making an honest description of his experience the best that he can describe it.

They're definitely the weirdest, scariest trips I've had. TBH, I'd trade a ton of salivia for one windowpane! :)

Not for me though, I like to stay clear minded.
Interesting post here.
Blessings!

Hahaha, each to his own :)

So true my friend.
Blessings!

Hi, @fenngen!

You just got a 0.14% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

The devil's trumpet looks familiar. Although they call it I think Angel's bells no too sure. Locals makes it to some sort of tea which gives hallucinating effects. My friend who tried it said that it made him feel paranoid.

Yeah, it is one of the most commonly reported sensations. It is said to be one of the most difficult plants to get along with and go into a good trip.

Congratulations @fenngen!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 10 with 43 comments