A COUPLE COMMON SNAKE DEFENSE MECHANISMS

in #nature6 years ago

IMG_2813.JPG

Like any other creature, snakes need to defend themselves.


While many people think that all snakes are "aggressive," I would seriously beg to differ. Most, in my opinion, are far more defensive than aggressive. From my personal experience, the vast majority of snakes simply try to deter potential threats, rather than actually attacking people. Here are a couple common defense mechanisms.

THE STRIKE!

One of the most common defense mechanisms of many species of snake is the strike, which can include an attempt to bite. Not all snakes that strike actually open their mouths during this technique, so not every species of snake that may strike at you is actually trying to bite you.

For both venomous and nonvenomous snakes alike, striking can be an effective method of deterring potential threats. Unfortunately, some people almost step on snakes without noticing the snake. When the snake sees this as a potential attack, they may strike an unsuspecting person which can lead to the person concluding that they've been attacked by the snake.

THE RATTLESNAKE MIMIC

An impressive number of nonvenomous snakes can actually mimic a rattlesnake. When they feel threatened, they will rapidly shake their tails. The motion itself can be effective, but the tail may also rustle on dry leaves which ends up sounding like a rattlesnake.

I think this form of mimicry is an amazing testimony to the provision of God for all of his creatures, even these little snakes. These nonvenomous snakes obviously don't understand why rattlesnakes have rattles or that rattlesnakes are venomous, but when they feel threatened, that mimic the venomous rattlesnake. Often, it can work, but other times it can lead to their death, as a case of mistaken identity can lead to people thinking snakes that do this are venomous and dangerous.

Anyway, I hope that you learned something. Understanding the world around us and the creatures in it can make everything safer for everyone.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-defensive-little-snake

Until next time…

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmSKT3AhEpV8JXA2eaE1HQPogXev5rzG4uxMzTi3ieE3Tc

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Snakes, snakes.
Not my friendliest of animal.
You really tamed this one and you get pretty easy around it.
Let me say it,
Keep on steemin'

@papa-pepper
I have 2 corn snakes.


IMG_20180309_214711.jpg


The baby 'Cornflake' (named by my son) is a feisty little thing that will strike out at you. The adult snow corn called 'Rufus' is around 5ft long and is as placid as anything... He's a real treat to handle and happily explores the house and garden. He likes to wrap around my neck while I'm writing songs... Maybe he finds it strange of calming, or perhaps its just the body heat he likes 😂.


IMG_20180411_115935.jpg


Hanging out with Sidney the cat


He's so tame and always comes back.
I find snakes and lizards fascinating but am still wary, because, let's be honest here, they're still wild animals that can attack.
Cheers for sharing your knowledge mate.
Darren.

Very beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

My pleasure! They are beautiful creatures.

Growing out the dreads, papa?

Yeah, they are coming back.

I noticed them too.... nice look... changing it up every now and then can be cool.

I actually do think about that too at times, I don't think all the snakes actually love to attack first. But by nature, I don't thing many human even love the presence of snakes at all.

Yes oh. Please help me tell @Papa-pepper, that I so detest snakes that I don't care to know what and why they do things.

I Just caught this one in the back yard a few hours ago, They LOVE this warmer weather.... Have a great one @papa-pepper and stay safe...

Screen Shot 2018-04-22 at 5.13.50 PM.png

Holding him below the Rattle, so it will not break.

I'm beginning to get quite a different view about snakes in the last couple of weeks reading through your blog. There's this love you have for snake which I have never seen maybe because of where I am.

I don't really know different between snakes because they all appear so scary to me.
I could remember killing a snake back then in college, I later find out that that particular snake don't strike during day time. I just waist it's life as a result of my ignorance.
If I've heard this kind of teaching before now, I might end up saving the snake from death rather than killing it.

It can only be legendry papa-pepper that can give us this COMMON SNAKE DEFENSE MECHANISMS . @papa-pepper is a researcher with comfirm prove am happy to have you in this platform has a father thanks for everything GOD bless you

@papa-pepper... I corroborate with you... You are very correct. This is a nice write up. I will also want to add a point dealing with "religion/spirituality". Most religions also believe the use of snakes as a means of black magic. This can be traced by those making use of black magic or witchcraft to attack people sometimes. There are also some religious act of protecting oneself from the evil or harm of such consequences. Once again, u said it all @papa-pepper and i am very impressed with your content.

This is a great fact to know, as I was reading I saw the tail shake and thought @papa-pepper leave the rattlesnake alone. I did notice the rounded head at the same time and was also confused.

Great share, I like snakes and knowing which ones can kill you is obviously the difference between life and death.

Check Steem.chat as well my friend.

I learned way more than something. This is really an eye opener. Wisdom is indeed profitable. Thank you for this Papa.

Who's that guy behind the snake in the last picture? Oh it's @papa-pepper. Rad hair due threw me off. he he

LOL - Some days the hat comes off!

Looks good on you.

Great stuff man. Didn’t know about nonvenomous snakes trying to mimic rattlesnakes. That’s awful interesting because I wouldn’t think that they would have knowledge of rattlesnakes or other snakes’ characteristics and behavior, other than their own. The GIF sure does the trick showing that quasi-rattle action though! Great capture

Yeah, Someone else told them to do that, it wasn't their idea!

I hear that man! Good stuff, thanks for teaching me something new today.

I love the idea behind your post, I studied Zoology so it's always a joy to read more about animals . This is like a geography channel here on steemit.

Thanks papa for educating us on snake defense

Snakes and I have this mutual respect thing. I don't mess with them and they don't mess with me! lol

hallow @ Papa-pepper !!!
I was afraid of snakes, when he attacked the thing that makes me so trauma. some of the previous week I accidentally almost stepping on a rattlesnakes in kebunku. I ran with fear, Fortunately there my father that made me calm. he said that the snake will not bite we unless he feel threatened or bother. I finally back to place rattlesnakes it is and take the picture.


IMG_20180206_094823.jpg


IMG_20180206_094137.jpg


Interesting post and i heard that snake really doesn’t attack unless it feels danger

There is an old saying in my country that says

Don’t be close to a scorpion but you can sleep next to a snake (that i guess is the meaning that if u don’t threat the snake it won’t hurt you)

Ever since I was a little boy I've been fascinated with snakes. No arms, no feet, yet they are one of the most versatile creatures in the world

Yeah, I've always enjoyed them too!

They are really beautiful creatures and with a typical sign of aggressiveness which we will never be prepared for even if you have this knowledge, we always learn from you, thank you for your post.

Thank you @papa-pepper for sharing your observation of tail shaking behavior as a defense/warning mechanism. What is fascinating is that even squirrels do it.

An interesting AAAS study of Pacific rattlesnakes and California ground squirrels by Matthew Barbour and Rulon Clark has found that when squirrels are confronted by rattlesnakes, the ones that vigorously shake their tails are less likely to get bitten. The effect extends to other squirrels nearby who notice and imitate the first squirrel's signals: they are also safer from attack. [http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2012/07/tail-shakes-scare-snakes link includes video, but it may be behind a pay wall: I couldn't see it]

Thanks for the little lesson. I still don't care much for snakes, but I'm happy to know that they're more defensive than aggressive. I trust you. But I'll also try to avoid meeting up with them ;)

Holy cow . You actually did elaborate some of their defensw mechanisms which ive seen first hand .....

Dedication. .. i love your work papa .

Never knew you was a homesteader too 😂😂

Exceptionally ordinary snakes and @papa-pepper very brave

It's very dangerous,I was surprised to see it.

With much respect, they better look at each other from afar.

The first person was scared just watching the snake...

It's good to see these snakes have a clear body language that tells you to take a step back.

We only have three species of snakes in The Netherlands, the grass snake (Natrix natrix), the smooth snake (Coronella austriaca) and the only venemous snake here, the common European viper (Vipera berus), and that last one usually flees at the first rustle or vibration indicating "incoming human".

If you manage to approach, however, it will lift its head up, and if you keep approaching, it will coil up, ready for a strike. Just taking a step back is enough to avoid a bite.

You still haven't quite convinced me to like them 8-).

Thanks for standing by me and explaining more. I have no reason so far as to be relaxed around a snake.
Are you kidding me? Please @ocrdu, hope you won't mind checking out my blog when you're less occupied on how to tap Palm wine from a fallen palm tree.
Thanks for your time.

Please am sorry that I can't hide my feelings. But @Papa-pepper and @darrenclaxton are sure freaking me out. I know that I must not like everything and we gain much by acquiring knowledge about other creatures around us but snakes? Maybe I might have had a bad orientation about snakes and it is now clouding my sense of appreciation. Great efforts and research though.1. item

@topfreeser we can't like everything and everyone on this wonderful planet of ours, but we can appreciate each other and learn to coexist. That is really all we can do. I'm sorry that you feel this way about snakes but, my partner did too until she actually held Rufus... Now she takes him out and let's him comfortably coil around her neck.
Animals have this amazing therapeutic ability that can only be experienced by interaction.
Thanks and enjoy your first encounter! 😂
🐍
@darrenclaxton

Your son is bold enough to to touch, play and name it cos of his innocence an adopted courage from you. I know I for one shall always be scared.

My interest in music is the voice. Other instruments work together to decorate it.
You really have a great voice bro. though the track was shorter than I had thought.

Hi my friend!
Which track are you referring to?
I test them all explicitly to check for errors or glitches.
It is hopefully playing all the way through now?
Thanks
Darren

So sorry, forgive me please.
It's my phone making. Just noticed I couldn't even play any thing with out seeing error in loading.

Somebody Help! Did you say encounter? No! In your wife's case, your presence and the trust she have in you, helped leverage her fears. And your cat is actually tolerating it all cos i heard that the two are natural enemies.

@papa-pepper I like PROOF of SNAKE. It is right UP there with Dan Larimer's @dan Favorite DELEGATED PROOF of SNAKE !!

Faking the sound of a rattlesnake, wild. I can equate that to some people I know.

Loading...

Wow.. really appreciate this effort... I most times scared of moving near insects and other creatures but combinationphotography give me some idea and made me bold to try out some thing by moving close to them to extend of put some in my hand's and face... Thx for share.