Irish Crochet

in #needlework4 years ago (edited)

a2zitz.jpg

Hey guys, for the past two or three weeks I have been super into Irish crochet. Irish crochet is crocheting small motifs and designs with thread. I use embroidery thread because that is what I have and I do not have any smaller hooks. Some people use all the way down to sewing thread to crochet Irish lace.

m6w3bl.jpg

I am not sure what 1/0 means but that is the size of my hook.

The other day I went through and organized the tangled mess of embroidery thread my mum kept in a bag and wound each piece onto a small card I cut out of cereal box. I turned a white box into an organizer kind of.

tfspcw.jpg

i5svaw.jpg

I then pimped out the box with my dad and we covered it in stickers. He showed me how to cut stickers up and make them say whatever you want. We had a ton of fun dissecting stickers.

08b4fq.jpg

g4b2pk.jpg

lc8yxc.jpg

5mty39.jpg

I have been learning how to read crochet patterns for Irish crochet motifs. I can look up almost anything and find a pattern that someone made. These are very much other people's patterns however I have not been keeping up with the sources for them. I have made a lot of motifs. My favorite are the flowers. I timed it and I can make one flower in about 12 to 15 minutes.

opnq8r.jpg

2ro58k.jpg

xmcred.jpg

yl5um1.jpg

I have been getting into color work and making multi-color spirals. The spirals are the only thing I did not use someone else's pattern for.

I also looked into the history and origins of Irish crochet and it is really interesting. So apparently, it became popular during the Irish potato famine when people were starving. They started making motifs and selling them to someone to make a netting to make lace and then they would sell that to a a rich person. I do not know a whole lot about it but it sounds cool.

Some time soon you guys might hear about me making a shirt or cardigan with them. I hope you guys like this post. I know it is not the longest one. These days I have trouble finding time to write for you guys and having interesting projects to share. Happy HIVEing!/ Hive on! Stay awesome!

Sort:  

This is pretty awesome thanks so much for sharing this! I love crochet blankets, it brings me back to childhood where my grandmother used to make me them every so often. They are all gone now I think since the material isn’t that strong but it was nice to have them on the end of the bed.

I think you did some cool little ones, they look like they could be doilies since they are a bit smaller.

No need to go crazy posting! Comments and talking to people is just as important as doing your own posts! Keep up the good work and hop in some peoples comments section to get your fill. That’s where I tend to find some inspiration for posts. I’ve got two lined up in my head for this same reason!

That is awesome!! I love that I brought that memory back for you. Thank you for the advice, I might try to be more active commenting now. Thank you for making me feel better about not posting quite every week @cmplxty.

You’re welcome! I think one of the best things you can do is to just get into a community you enjoy, like needle work for example, and visit people’s posts and give them some thoughts to comments. Votes are nice and they help but talking to people is just as awesome in my opinion!

What are some of your other interests? I can recommend some awesome communities and people for you to connect with.

I’m going to bed at the moment but I’ll see what I can recommend tomorrow, have a good night!

I am in the needlework community, and I am into all things crafty. Have a good night!

I really like how you included a bit of history on how it was used by the Irish in the famine. I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.

You're very talented, @cassidydawn. I love your flowers and the multi-color spirals. I started to learn to knit and to weave with wires and beads when I was little, but I can't remember when or why I stopped doing it at some point. Now I enjoy sewing some of my clothes now and then.

Love your work!

Congratulations @cassidydawn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Being able to detangle is a useful skill :) That box would have been handed to me to deal with as I'm pretty good at that, much less good at making stuff though, that's my middle child's department XD She would approve of your anime stickers ;D

Those crochet bits look so cool :O

Detangling is definitely useful, lucky for me I have little siblings to help lol. Glad you liked the flowers. Stickers are super fun.

Stay with it. You're making great progress.