You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DIY ART DECO FASHION - What is it about the 1920s?

in #needlework2 years ago

:) What a cute picture.

Thank you for liking my needlework as an art-form. I see it this way, too.
I used to admire all the dressmakers and thought I would never in my life be able to sew something wearable for myself. It seemed like a very important skill to me to be independent of fashion. Now that I sew myself, I see that it does indeed take some skill. But especially spatial thinking and maths. Unfortunately, I'm not very good at it and probably need a lot more time fitting where I might be able to use a formula more quickly.

Here is one woman on yt where I sometimes get inspired by. This costume I really liked and would like to copy it once I can get hold of the proper fabric:

Sort:  

I think your work is lovely ❤️