You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DIY ART DECO FASHION - What is it about the 1920s?

in #needlework2 years ago

This is art rather than sewing, it’s beautiful and you are a “Super Talent”. I love the way you juxtapose the pieces to get the result you’re looking for, it’s intriguing. So nice if you can wear the clothes you make, too (as opposed to making for someone else)
The Flapper Age, is by far the most elegant when it comes to style, I think - nothing quite like those feather headbands and jiggly dresses. ❤️💕❤️💕❤️

img_4879.png

Sort:  

:) What a cute picture.

Thank you for liking my needlework as an art-form. I see it this way, too.
I used to admire all the dressmakers and thought I would never in my life be able to sew something wearable for myself. It seemed like a very important skill to me to be independent of fashion. Now that I sew myself, I see that it does indeed take some skill. But especially spatial thinking and maths. Unfortunately, I'm not very good at it and probably need a lot more time fitting where I might be able to use a formula more quickly.

Here is one woman on yt where I sometimes get inspired by. This costume I really liked and would like to copy it once I can get hold of the proper fabric:

I think your work is lovely ❤️