Censoring Hive: It's Happening Right Now

in #news4 years ago

redacted.png
IMG source - github.com Don't let this become Hive! It's already happening here

One of my followers, @joe.public, is blacklisted by @markymark. To my knowledge @joe.public has never bought a vote, sold a vote, or spammed or scammed anyone. He's perhaps less than tactful at times, but lots of folks are.

He's currently blacklisted both through @buildawhale and via the #irredeemable's list. I have still seen comments he's made since then on my blog, as I follow him, despite having to click on them to open them up and read them. When I reply to his comments, my replies do not appear, despite the usual indication from Peakd that my comment was successfully sent.

Why am I being censored? I'm not on those lists, and there's no reason to put me on them or censor my posts and comments, yet that is an artifact of the blacklisting affecting @joe.public.

STOP CENSORING ME!!!!

I very much think it's time for some pushback to the censorship ongoing on Hive that started on Steem.

I propose that folks be nominated for inclusion on official blacklists. This power to determine who can and who cannot speak in society is utterly totalitarian, and presently it isn't a community-wide decision. As far as I can tell it's solely up to @markymark if you are allowed to speak on Hive today.

That is absolutely untenable.

I propose that in order to blacklist someone on official blacklists like @buildawhale, if that hides posts, or #irredeemables, an HPS proposal needs to receive nominal votes for censoring that account to pass the return proposal.

I also propose that if the votes drop below the return proposal the blacklist be rescinded. Further, in the event someone is nominated for blacklisting they have the option to appeal through the HPS mechanism (with clear instructions, and even direct assistance if that is necessary - like public defenders in criminal courts), and if their appeal receives more votes than the return proposal, they are not blacklisted.

I here propose that all accounts on both lists be each individually (unless they are provably linked accounts) submitted to a public vote via the HPS mechanism. If they belong on the list, the blockchain will provide ample evidence those that listed them and want to keep them censored can share. If they haven't done such that the community will vote to censor them, they don't belong on blacklists!

It's time that secret police are no longer tolerated here on Hive. It's time for meaningful censorship resistance, and that such censorship as is caused by blacklisting with current tools be limited to openly discussed HPS proposals and only effected if the community of stakeholders so vote it beyond the return proposal.

I believe people currently are being totally censored and silenced on Hive out of nothing more substantial than personal dislike. I am being censored as a side effect!

Either we take the bull by the horns on Hive, or secret actions hidden from us will decide which of us speaks, and which of us are silenced without cause or appeal.

I do not know how to make an HPS proposal, which I am willing to do if I can figger out how. Any of you folks that know how and oppose censorship, this is a call for your assistance to create HPS proposal(s) to limit blacklisting as outlined above.

It's your voice at risk. Let's protect all our voices!

I've seen other folks silenced before, and would like to hear from them (I won't name you here, but you know who you are), if they're willing to step into the limelight on this issue.

I'd like to hear from @r0nd0n, who has run @freezepeach for years, and does so with the intention of preventing abusive flagging from becoming censorship. I'd like to hear from @jarvie and the @peakd team regarding censoring me (are you intentionally censoring my comments? If you're not - and you shouldn't be - how are you going to fix it?), and I'd like to hear from all consensus witnesses (and the rest of them as well) regarding their thoughts on this ongoing censorship of Hive. Just because you're not a witness or dappdev doesn't mean this doesn't matter to you. I wanna hear from YOU. Your voice is prevented from speaking to certain accounts right now. Why are YOU being censored?

It's not just happening to scammers, spammers, and low-lifes milking the rewards pool, or posting pics of their poop thousands of times. I'm being censored, and any of you that try to reach out to @joe.public will be too.

You are being censored right now on Hive, and cannot speak to @joe.public. Don't let that stand.

Thanks!

@gtg, @good-karma, @rolandp, @blocktrades, @ausbitbank, @anyx, @steempress, @drakos, @therealwolf, @someguy123, @steempeak, @cervantes, @abit, @yabapmatt, @ocd-witness, @followbtcnews, @netuoso, @arcange, @lukestokes

I think that's everybody in the consensus I didn't tag above.

Sort:  

Oh, one more thing.

It seems a bit misleading to say "You are being censored right now on Hive..." and the like.

If I understand correctly this is happening on the frontend level, not on the level of the underlying Hive network.

The content got added to the blockchain normally. It's being publicly exposed as well as copied and transmitted around the globe. That's why the blacklist can even come into the equation. No need to blacklist something that isn't in the database, it essentially wouldn't exist already. Unless I deeply misunderstand, of course.

That censorship is happening on Peakd.com/hive.blog or whatever frontend not on Hive.

It's old news that we can't trust these webpage frontends with all their liability limiting TOS.

"That censorship is happening on Peakd.com/hive.blog or whatever frontend not on Hive."

This is incorrect. All dapps, like Peakd, use APIs to get data from the blockchain. Hive provides the APIs dapps use (although dapps could make their own, if they have the resources to do so).

The #irredeemables list affects the Hive API such that data from the blockchain for these accounts is not availed users of the APIs. This is how all dapps are censored, not by the individual dapps themselves.

Hive is doing this through the arbitrary undertaking of @themarkymark through the #irredeemables list, which he alone controls without public input or ability to affect in any way whatsoever.

He was put on the list far before I had any control over it.

Are you comfortable with one person being in control of that list? Since you are that person, I suppose you are at the moment.

Would you be comfortable if @joe.public was that person?

No one seeking censorship resistance should allow this to continue to be controlled by anyone except through public debate and application of the HPS mechanism.

Will you support the limitation of adding malicious actors to the list only through the HPS mechanism, and enabling folks to get off the list as outlined above?

Also, you have control of it now. Absent compelling evidence of malicious acts, I recommend removing @joe.public from that list without delay. My understanding is his only fault was in replying to spam with the purpose of discouraging it.

Certainly that does not warrant being censored as a threat to Hive.

I haven't heard any other allegation of wrongdoing committed by @joe.public. Unless there is some other reason to censor them, I reckon integrity requires removing that sanction forthwith.

I haven't heard any other allegation of wrongdoing committed by @joe.public. Unless there is some other reason to censor them, I reckon integrity requires removing that sanction forthwith.

I have not heard any other allegations either.

I reckon integrity requires removing that sanction forthwith.

I say you reckon correctly, justly, rightly, and with Logos. These Abuses of others make credibility and integrity, quite impossible, the way I see it. This one is by far not the only, but it is quite heinous of an injustice.

It bodes poorly for the survival of Hive in a world where censorship if burgeoning everywhere. We see what has happened on Steem since the fork, and it is useful to remember that no new code or capabilities were necessary to do any of those things on Steem, and that Hive is just a copy of Steem code. Every bit of the censorship, frozen accounts, and etc., is possible right now on Hive.

All of the frontends for Steem and Hive have been complete garbage compared to what they should be. Condenser is a disorganized over-bloated hunk of shit. We need something sleek and simple. We need to turn these centralized reputations systems into decentralized ones.

I know exactly what we need to do, but I don't have the resources or the knowledge to put them to paper at the moment.

We need a node that gives ownership of the blog to the blogger.
We need custom trending tabs unique to every user.
Reputation must be determined by everyone collectively.

I basically just chalk it up to no one having any idea as to what this platform needs or how to implement it.

I absolutely agree, except that reputation should be just as individually determined as the first two mechanisms. Reputation in the real world is utterly subjective, and that's what makes it useful. If you want something collectively determined, don't call it reputation, because reputation isn't collectively determined IRL.

Call it community response, or something, since that's what it will likely be.

I look forward to the eventuation of a distributed blockchain social media platform, that enables individuals themselves to undertake to control their content choices personally, and participate in collective choices at will.

However platforms fail to meet those goals, they subject the community to arbitrary control.

Thanks!

"All of the frontends for Steem and Hive have been complete garbage compared to what they should be. Condenser is a disorganized over-bloated hunk of shit."

Couldn't have said it better myself. I have a tiny bit of experience working with condenser and it isn't pretty. I had to wade through far too many deprecated or unfinished calls to find the ones that actually work.

"I know exactly what we need to do, but I don't have the resources or the knowledge to put them to paper at the moment."

I'm awful at social networking, but I can code. If I could find an inlet to a community that might organize to develop something that respects all of us, my motivation would soar and I could likely overcome the roadblocks I've found on my quest to make an application frontend to my favorite content blockchain.

He did make some replies to this but yeah they are censored.
https://hive.blog/@joe.public/comments

Hive seems to be a sinking ship, many of the problematic issues on steemit were carried over to hive.

I'll be migrating to Flote and LBRY.

https://flote.app/

https://lbry.tv/

I have previously been unable to sign on to Flote, but your link provided a sign up button. Never checked out lbry before, but doing so now.

I am very discouraged at the centralization and censorship presently undertaken on both Steem and Hive. I hope good options are available for migration in the event - as I predict - this centralized censorship mechanism on Hive becomes intolerable to me. @themarkymark still hasn't given me the mark, but more and more I am surrounded by folks he has.

You and @joe.public I am certain haven't undertaken any kind of scam, and given the pass that's been provided to Bernie I am utterly confident nothing either of you have done is more spammy or malicious than their actions, and so merit being tagged as abusive.

History shows that censors expand their power, and this will continue to happen on Hive until it resembles Sun's wet dream for Steem.

The consensus witnesses seem to be treating this post like a harmful abuse of them, rather than an opportunity to get out in front of a problem that increasingly is deprecating their integrity as it impacts their claim Hive is censorship resistant.

Do you have crimes to confess, or is that orange box by your avatar simply the result of speaking truth to power?

Thanks!

I'm on Flote as well and I like it, but I'm finding Hive a different world to Steemit - so far I'm impressed. Steemit on the other hand is dead and gone.

I just checked - same thing!
FFS!

CIMG3658.JPG

But I can see your comment. Well, things can be hidden in the communities.

@lucylin see this screenshot of mine:

Screenshot at 2020-04-03 04:00:24.png

@lucylin, that is a Hive and admins can mute people in their communities.

You misunderstand, matey.

I'm not blacklisted - no probs for me - we are talking about @joe.public (who commented on the thread on the screenshot you gave.
Go look for his comment (and my reply) - on this thread you screen shotted.

I don't know what happened here and I don't agree with many of the decisions made to put people on the blacklists - I know of one pretty big youtuber who dumped steem as a result of being put on the blacklist unfairly and being unable to get removed. However, I have had comments from joe.public on yt accusing all kinds of things that just aren't accurate and so I am guessing him being on the list is something to do with that. I don't personally think that anyone should be blacklisted because of their opinions or even due to them outright lying (unless they clearly intend to scam). I also am not really comfortable with the existence of centralised blacklists at all. Some kind of management and arbitration system is needed on the blockchain level, yes.

As I said, he's been less than tactful.

However, my understanding of the #irredeemables list is that a dispute arose between Bernie and @fulltimegeek, which Marty inflamed by sending a refund due @fulltimegeek to @null, and Bernie and @fulltimegeek began a spam war which ended up with @fulltimegeek on the newly created #irredeemables list, and Bernie walking away after spamming tens of thousands of pics of poop in a toilet. Now @joe.public is on the list for replying to Bernie's later spam, again Bernie walks away.

As a witness, you might take note of Bernie's obvious financial power over Hive. That may be key to your rankings.

Either the community votes on deploying censorship via the API level #irredeemables list mechanism, or it remains the fiefdom of Bernie's minion @themarkymark, apparently satisfactorily loyal to Bernie to be allowed to wield the sole option to censor anyone on Hive at will.

I was already aware of about 3/4 of that. I am well aware of Bernie's nature, though that was on STEEM - he claims to have changed direction for Hive. Ultimately there isn't anything I can do directly unless I am in the top 20 and even then it is limited. @dan manually set bernie's rep to minus figures years ago but then the community decided to upvote him again to bring it back. I honestly have little clue as to what motivates voting in the top 20, but in all but a few cases it doesn't seem that the voters are demonstrating business knowledge or social/PR awareness.

I have been here nearly three years now, and yet continue to grasp aspects of the political machinations behind the scenes too long and well obscured.

All I seek presently regarding this issue is to present HPS proposals to subject people to censorship, rather than allowing it to be solely the power of one individual. Either the community controls the power, or the community is controlled by it.

Thanks!

The bottom line is that as long as the system is controlled by those with the most wealth, their minions will mostly call the shots. As long as society allocates resources in relation to wealth, this situation is likely to continue.
A solid and well specified design for an improved management system for these parts of the blockchain could result in a voted worker proposal and a Hard Fork - however, it still relies on developer acceptance and witness acceptance - so they would have to be consulted. I don't even know who most of them are at this point!
With steem the problem was that their development happened in a 'black box' environment, following their own private agenda. So far I don't see any difference in the way hive is operating, but I willing to give the situation a degree of time to demonstrate change.

I also don't see any difference between governance on Hive and how it was undertaken prior to Hive.

I would note that enabling control of #irredeemables list to be taken by community voting via HPS requires no HF, or coding at all I am aware of. The implementation of the list is what takes code, not control of the inclusions on the list, which is undertaken on Github, not the blockchain.

Clearly such centralized codebase precludes actual decentralization, but in this case controlling the #irredeemables list through HPS rather than @themarkymark personally doing so requires no HF. I don't think he personally has been hardcoded into the code the consensus is running for that purpose.

I have not elected to go along with anyone.

In searching to find comments by @joe.public I need to respond to on his profile, since I don't see them, I found this:

joe_public_20200404_210428_peakd.com.png

Which I believe is a response to your above comment. It's hard to tell. Might apply to me too.

that was a reply to one of my comments, were you not able to click a parent link to see the thread it was part of?

When I clicked the parent link, the comment I replied to was that parent, which is why I posted it there. As soon as you click the parent, the child vanishes, so it can be confusing. I believe that was the comment it was in response to.

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Stupid ass shit like this is exactly why you're on those lists.

Retard will act retarded.

Providing the evidence you asked for on youtube will take some time because there is hours of material involved and I currently have to deal with being locked down in Britain and the absurdity that all of that involves.
In the context of this discussion about blacklisting, as I said - I was guessing - so I am not wrong here.
I will look at any URLs provided to understand the issue here, but I don't have time to dig around 1000s of posts trying to find them. Numerous people have researched into both Haeijin and bernie but I have not seen any conclusive proof of their identities as yet.

Flagbots kill platforms - I agree, this crap needs to stay on Steemit and be ditched on Hive

But joe-public is from Tauranga so he might be a bogan or a shady fucker...

Well, even bogans have rights, eh?

I note you've got the dreaded @buildawhale blacklist. I can read your comments, and my replies to you just fine, so it must the nuclear option of #irredeemable's list that censors folks that even dare to speak to those shunned by @markymark.

How dare I speak with anyone @markymark wants silenced!

....the principle transcends any individual..

thanks Eckhart :) - PS how is your fetish today?

.....which one?

the really strange and perverted one...

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

I don't think you could have had a negative impact on that spammy BS. This is exactly why I strongly feel we need a community informed about these matters. If you replied to spam to shut it down, why are you censored and the spammer skates AGAIN??@?

It was bernie that spammed tens of thousands of pics of poop, and then @fulltimegeek got censored. Now his bot iflagtrash is provably spamming intolerable BS and you get censored.

This is intolerable and the antithesis of censorship resistance - unless you have bernie's ninjamined stake. Pretty sure that's all up in Marty's shit at this point.

You! You have the mark! How dare I speak to you?

Do any of those platforms actually work?

I have vague recollections that i2p is linux, and zeronet has been around for along time, but development hasn't progressed in a timely way. I will have a look again.

Do you mean @themarkymark?

@markymark doesn't even seem like an active account.

Either way this is more motivation for me to get back to work on the application frontend I was working on a long time ago. No webpage, no ads, no censorship, no blacklisting, just reading and broadcasting transactions to the blockchain. That's my vision.

I just need to find/make a transaction signing library in Java.

I'm might even kludge in one of the existing Python or JavaScript libraries if I can't find anything.

I do indeed mean @themarkymark, the consensus witness.

I hope you are successful and soon in implementing a dapp that isn't reliant on the APIs through which the #irredeemables list enables this censorship to be effected. I, and no doubt those on the list, would be happy to have that ability to use Hive as it claims to be useful.

I almost want to run my own node, but sadly I don't have the resources for anything like that.

I wonder if I could undercut those APIs by using some lower level calls. Another idea to add to the list.

I am convinced there is a need for a distributed blockchain in which each user is a node, and necessary chain data is torrented between nodes, availed of the Hashgraph 'gossip about gossip' verification mechanism. The continual ferment of advance in mechanisms that diminish the need for bandwidth and node hardware gives me hope platforms that preclude censorship and centralization by their architecture will eventuate.

I've run a Bitcoin full node in the past, so I know the basic mechanisms behind running a blockchain network node.

I know less about the Hive network architecture. If one can run a node without being a witness, akin to how one can operate a Bitcoin node without being a miner, I might be more inclined (and perhaps even have the resources) to run a Hive node. I would need to gather some hardware and put in a little work, maybe even get better internet, but it might be worth it.

At least I would be learning, and I'd be performing a service to the community too if I could manage to get it running.

Keeps sounding better the more I consider it.

The more folks that run nodes the better, from my understanding. I don't think I could run a node. I keep rubbing sticks together to light the fires that make the smoke signals, but sooner or later Imma hafta get an actual modern computer for this. Gonna be later than sooner, now that I'm not working.

"The more folks that run nodes the better"

Oh yes, for sure. It contributes to/creates decentralization.

I really have only known the 'miners' of these social blockchains, witnesses, to run nodes. I'm not extremely informed or anything however.

When I think about how few 'miners' there are on Hive and Steem it kind of makes my skin crawl. The fact that only 20 'miners' get to generate so much of the new blocks by design is very limiting in terms of decentralization, in my humble opinion.

Why not let anyone get a chance to make a block and get the rewards? Why only let an elite few people who can win a popularity contest do it?

Centralization seems like it might be the answer. I don't really see there being an answer that I would like either.

"I don't think I could run a node."

At least on Bitcoin it amounts to basically keeping a computer program running that uses bandwidth constantly. No special hardware is required, beyond a PC connected to the internet. It can be helpful to store the whole blockchain, which will require some disk space, but you don't really need to.

I believe in you.

I agree. Even though nobody is censored from chain, so many front ends use the blacklist that getting on it is practically the same thing as censorship to a large degree. Your decentralized proposal makes a lot of sense.

Either the application of the #irredeemables list is controlled by the community, or that censoring power remains totally centralized in the one person with the sole option to censor any account on Hive at will, @themarkymark.

I just wish I knew how to put up a HPS proposal(s) so that the community could actually effect governance of this censorship power.

Thanks!

This is what the focus should be. If not, this place is no different than Steemit and calling it 'censorship resistant' is about as Orwellian as you can get. All that term does is devalue true censorship resistance.

There is no argument. Silencing someone's voice you don't like, makes you personally as weak as you can possibly achieve, but it brings down the entire community as well.

Echo chambers are Dysgenic.

My intention presently is to create HPS proposals as outlined in the OP so that the community effects complete governance of censorship through the API level #irredeemables list mechanism.

It is an affront to all of us that @joe.public has been arbitrarily silenced for his opposition to Bernie. "To learn who rules over you, just learn who you are not allowed to criticize.", or words to that affect. As best I can ascertain from how the #irredeemables list is applied, our ruler is Bernie. @themarkymark is either just a bot, or totally reliable as a minion to Bernie, whose incessant spam has been the source of all of the accounts on the list - because they opposed Bernie.

As far as I know #irredeemables list has not been used otherwise than to censor those that opposed Bernie's spam. It's the reason it was created, to censor @fulltimegeek, and the only reason postulated for @joe.public's presence on it now.

Aww man. Where will it end!
Truly, lets put a “d” in blacklisted.
Dblacklisted. Thats 2 even.
That was pretty much the whole premise of this new platform if I’m not mistaken.

Who is king of Steem today? There is little disagreement amongst his victims and intended prey that Sun Yuchen has complete control over what data is shared from the blockchain via Stinc's APIs from which the user dapps draw. This allows him to completely block posts and comments from those he would censor from being seen by everyone on those dapps, like Steempeak.

Who is king of Hive? Who has that power here? @themarkymark.

Who wants him to have that power over them without public knowledge, possibility of discussion and denial of censorship over their accounts, or restoration of their participation, or even existence in the minds of their fellows?

Do you? I sure don't. @joe.public's censorship is proof to all of us that we are just as much @themarkymark's subjects as Steemers are Sun Yuchen's. @joe.public replied to Bernies spam until Bernie quit spamming, and then @joe.public ended up being completely censored by @themarkymark.

Not Bernie. @joe.public was censored. Not the spammer who posted tens of thousands of pictures of poop in a toilet, but those that opposed that spam, are censored by @themarkymark.

If you anger Bernie, or Marty, or they just decide they're tired of your posts, nothing now prevents them from putting you on that #irredeemables list and ending your existence on Hive.

We need to create a mechanism that enables the community to control this power, or we allow this community to become completely and totally subject to @themarkymark's total control. You might like Marty. You might love him like you love your mother, but I would not grant my mother herself this ability to hide me from the world without any appeal.

If we don't have a process to approve those put on the #irredeemables list, Hive does not have any resistance or control of censorship, and that makes the claim - and the very purpose of Hive, as you point out - utterly hallucinatory, a mere pretend game we play.

Ask @joe.public if he had free speech on Hive, and if Hive was censorship resistant.

Ask Sun Yuchen if Steem is censorship resistant. He'll give you the same answer Marty will when asked the same question regarding Hive. Censors always lie, because it doesn't matter. They can just silence you if you don't speak the agreement they demand.

"Not Bernie. @joe.public was censored. Not the spammer who posted tens of thousands of pictures of poop in a toilet, but those that opposed that spam, are censored by @themarkymark."

That seems silly as you describe it. It's an obvious and understandable reason for outrage. I sincerely hope it isn't just a shield of nepotism protecting Bernie from these anti-spam measures.

Still I'd like to see @themarkymark articulate his current perspective on that matter. If only I could see what @joe.public has to say too, even if it might be "less than tactful" as you put it.

I've lived through a few bouts of acute tact deficiency in my day, and it's not like he could reach through the internet and wring my neck.

I see by your vote on it you have seen @themarkymark's comment I have.

Because I don't know how this link will be treated given the censorship mechanism, I have also provided this screenshot of the comment by @joe.public.

joe_public_20200404.png

The link works.

That comment by @themarkymark is only a single sentence framing his sentiment. It's obviously not a comprehensive articulation of the situation from his perspective. Hopefully we will get one.

Pretty sure he doesn't want to say any more about this at all.

Yeah really it doesn’t matter who has the power, if it isn’t in the hands of the people then the platform has already failed.

All of the frontends for Steem and Hive have been complete garbage compared to what they should be. Condenser is a disorganized over-bloated hunk of shit. We need something sleek and simple. We need to turn these centralized reputations systems into decentralized ones.

I know exactly what we need to do, but I don't have the resources or the knowledge to put them to paper at the moment.

We need a node that gives ownership of the blog to the blogger.
We need custom trending tabs unique to every user.
Reputation must be determined by everyone collectively.

I basically just chalk it up to no one having any idea as to what this platform needs or how to implement it.

I hope the recent announcement of the blockchain working group by @andrarchy is productive in this regard.

Seems a bit strange that you would post this twice.

Joe.Public is a toxic troll who has endlessly spammed, harassed, and libeled me personally.

Hopefully this bump might catch your attention @themarkymark.

I know @valued-customer, myself, and surely many others would appreciate a serious follow-up.

You might even earn some witness votes.

While I don't doubt your interactions have been contentious at best, I am disinclined to simply take your word for it, since you are preventing @joe.public from responding.

Do you want to claim your comment here is all we need to know regarding @joe.public and that 'trust you, he needs to be silenced' should be our response?

Have you flagged him? Have you harassed him, and libeled him personally?

Is there more that should be said, or is that the extent of your comment on this post?

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

that is a shit reason to censor you. I'm agin' it.

That makes sense, but isn't it something that could be handled by downvotes, muting him on your end, and/or posting about it to your many followers?

I'm not super savvy, but it seems that blacklisting might be overkill or even further inflame the situation. Blacklisting does seem to be able to provoke rancorous reactions, as is showcased here.

Help me understand why the more mundane routes were insufficient.

I do not see this problem. I see comments and posts. I am not seeing censorship. But regardless of that, as I could be wrong, people should talk about these types of issues in the Hive and PeakD Discord servers and on Telegram and other places and battleplan what we can do to go against censorship, blockades, hiding, removing, etc.

Have you tried to comment in reply to @joe.public? When you do, you will find that your comment is invisible to you. The #irredeemables list doesn't just completely hide all @joe.public's comments and posts - which is why you don't see censorship - it hides your own comments from even you when made in reply to @joe.public.

For too long we have been censored and not noticed it. It's time Hive took control of it's speech from those that would make themselves the publishers of our words, determining who can speak, to whom, and what we are allowed to say.

This should not be done in darkness, but in the bright glare of our close attention.

But how is that even possible? Did he put some code into the blockchain during a hardfork to make it do that or how does it work?

A while back a spam war between @fulltimegeek and Bernie developed over a refund due @fulltimegeek which @themarkymark sent to @null instead. The #irredeemables list was created to totally censor all @fulltimegeek's accounts, and Bernie apparently now is able to use @themarkymark's sole option to control that #irredeemables list at will to censor anyone they want, without any limitation whatsoever.

I think the shortest route to the actual event referred to above would be to search for @themadcurator, which ceased posting around that time due to it's being a casualty of the conflict.

Stinc itself created the list, which prevents posts from listed accounts from being available to dapps using its APIs, (which includes all of them generally in use by affected communities) and now @themarkymark administers it for Bernie as best I can tell.

I remember that spam war!

If I recall correctly it broke out right around the day I tried to get some help from @fulltimegeek with doing Steem stuff in Java.

Horrible timing for me; he basically disappeared after that and I got no help from the only person I could find with any Java experience on Steem.

Wow. Was not aware of that backstory.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment
 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

Has he ever even given you a reason? Nothing you've stated - other than being Bernie's favorite punching bag - sounds like anything you deserved even a single flag for, much less complete silencing.