Next Colony--A Retrospective: The First Planet, Survival of the Human Race, and These are the Days of Our Lives

in #nextcolony4 years ago

A long time ago, I decided to try out a game through Steemit. What the hell, I thought, I like games and I like to make the Steem. So, I made a character in Drug Wars and played for about two days.

However, it was right at that moment when I heard of the release of NextColony, a space exploration game, and, as much as I like drugs and gangsters fighting over drugs, I like post-apocalyptic space exploration strategy games more. So, on the release date, I started playing.

Lucky-1.png Lucky-1. The last hope for mankind (plus a few thousand other colonies that popped up all over the universe at about the same time.)

I named the starter planet Lucky-1. At this point, exploration was impossible, and, unless you bought power ups (which I did not) finding a second planet seemed a long way off. So I slowly upgraded my planet, exploited as many resources as possible, destroyed the eco-system, dumped sewage in all the clean water sources, tried a short-lived experiment with cannibalism, and then began the ponderous task of earning my 20 explorer skill level.

The universe was not very dramatic at that time. I remember searching the map for my nearest neighbors and thinking what it might be like to raid and pillage them someday. Alas! Seven or eight squares of space might as well have been forever, and all a guy could do then was dream. Ah, yes, I would say to myself, what a chore it is to struggle and survive working in unison and harmony when all one has to do is invade and conquer.

Thank you and stay tuned for part two.