Engage on Hive: Who am I?

in #ocd4 years ago

Who am I? This is one question that would have a fast answer consisting in a couple of fancy adjectives. People can say so many things about themselves, often exaggerating their qualities and hiding their imperfections. It is so easy to be taken away by edited photos, glamorous settings and pompous words. I believe that someone's character is something to be revealed slowly. Especially in difficult times or when people do not have something to gain.

I have found it particularly helpful to check people's character, including mine, in competitions. When two or more people compete for power, gains, rewards, you can see how brutal it can become. Our life is a struggle and look at the dirty games some might be playing to get an upper hand. The thing is that a competition reveals it all. Just like in chess, every move shows a tactic, a behaviour, a mentality. A self.

I started to get a taste of competition when I participated in my first drawing contest. I was such a baby in the morning of my competition, cried a full hour to convince my grandmother to buy me a new set of aquarelles which, in my head, were a must if I were to present myself to an official contest. I was a child, scared, insecure, wanting to show off my best. I was not aware that I already had the stuff to win:talent. After my successful kid drama moment, I was feeling proud to go there with new colours. I did not want people to see my dirty set of colors. I thought that a new set is the winning key. Oh Mary Mary....

IMG_20200529_194639.jpg

I did not get first place. Only second. But I loved the experience. I loved the way a competition made me feel. The adrenaline, the push to create, to be better. At the middle of the whole thing, I realised I was actually in competition with myself. The other kids dissapeared and it was just me. A paper, my mind and my aquarelles. It was magic. Time flew by. At the end I felt so alive, like I could have conquered the world. The diploma that I got was so special. It is up until today. My first ever moment with my inner self in a competition. A proof that I was ready to show my talent and let others judge me without being worried. I was nervous like hell, my cheeks turned red and I had that jumping rabbit feeling in my chest. If you could bottle this thing up and make a soda drink, it would be the best energizer ever. You are so alive after such a thing. 20th of may 2000. It has been 20 years since then and I am only beginning to get better in competing with myself. Funny coincidence to post this in the month of may. I would not have seen it coming, seems almost like a celebration. Haha🤔

After my first taste of this....Guess what? I wanted more. It did help me that I was a nerdy child. My nose was (still is) mostly in books. I loved to read stories and to imagine scenarios of how would they look like if I were to paint them. I had flashes of entire possible paintings in seconds. It still happens to me today.

At school I loved literature. I devoured books like chocolate. I became so commited that even in summer holidays I had made for myself a schedule of reading. I was taking notes and loved it. I felt in my own element. My grandmother made serious efforts to make me try to enjoy life more like a child than a writer/reader. But for me it wasn't bad. It was fun. My brain absorbed the information like a sponge.

IMG_20200529_194703.jpg

I have a collection of 44 diplomas from all my competitions, local and national. Literature, chemistry, physics, my favourite things to do. Funny thing, I did not feel an urge to try to participate more in art contests, I decided to pursue it just for my fun. I no longer needed validation.

IMG_20200529_194720.jpg

My school still has some of my drawings on their walls. I was the pride of the school and of the teachers. It came with a price:social exclusion. I did not feel I could bond with other kids, I was categorised as a nerd and a misunderstood and into her own world kiddo. I longed for someone to reach out to me, beyond my diplomas and my accomplishments. Beyond my hard shell. I longed for emotional and intellectual connection with kids who lived their childhood while my mind was a bit more ahead. I never felt I had it... It was tough.

IMG_20200529_194738.jpg

Behind the diplomas there are many hours of solitary study and work. Many hours of loneliness. Sometimes I enjoyed it, sometimes... I wondered... Is it something wrong with me, should I be like other kids? I was torn for a while until I no longer cared. Especially after my parents divorced. I developed a strong sense of resilience and realised one thing:it is very lonely at the top! Performance and victories come hard and only when you are truly deserving. Day after day after day. This post is not about my many diplomas. It isn't about me being somehow different. It isn't about getting validation. This post is about the power of work. The power of commitment. The power to stay up in the night just because you have to get it done. The power to wake up in the morning and follow your routine and finding pleasure in it. The power of resisting judgement and the need to appear cool.

Who am I? I am a lot of work. And people can take this just the way they like it. Because I know that in the end all that matters is the quality of my character that makes me sleep at night. The good stuff, I can feel it, will come along the way.

This post was inspired by @galenkp. I congratulate also @abh12345, @tarazkp and @meesterboom for this original way of getting so many people to tell a story.

I thank you all for the initiative, I managed to get a bit out of my shell and it feels good 🐚😊

Have a lovely day and toodle loo!

MY SOCIAL MEDIA
My etsy shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/CreativeMaryT
My merch shop: https://teespring.com/stores/creativemaryt
My twitch channel:


My fiverr:https://www.fiverr.com/maryiscreative
My t-shirt facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/zatelier2020/
My t-shirt instagram page: https://www.instagram.com/zatelier2020/
My facebook with my art: https://www.facebook.com/mariaterezabarnea
My instagram with my art: https://www.instagram.com/barneatereza/?hl=en
MY ASMR CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOsgu6zI5Z1Z39YZFVmEYUg
MY HANDMADE CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiL2v85haDPzEfMSAM8pJ2w
MY PAINTING AND NAIL ART CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8OHdZWy8i-vWlmbuFmBLpQ
My personal blog: https://maryhasnolamb.wordpress.com/
My podcast: https://soundcloud.com/user-535456754
My spotify:

My patreon with drawing and facepainting: https://www.patreon.com/mariamary90

If you want to support me and show appreciation for the work that I do I accept donations here: https://www.paypal.me/CreativeMariaTereza

Sort:  

This is a nice post Mary, and with the effort to read and understand. I hope many do.

If more people look within for the validation that mostly society seeks without we would have a more confident and content society.

This post is not about my many diplomas. It isn't about me being somehow different. It isn't about getting validation. This post is about the power of work. The power of commitment. The power to stay up in the night just because you have to get it done. The power to wake up in the morning and follow your routine and finding pleasure in it. The power of resisting judgement and the need to appear cool.

I like all of your post, from the little kid with her new pencils to the enlightened adult, still fragile of course, but with a deep understanding of who she is. It's that section above that I most kike though.

Thank you for writing this, I'm sure those who read and absorb your words will get as much from it as you did in the writing of it.

Mulţumesc.

I had a huge smile at the end reading multumesc. Such a cool answer, I was stoked mate 😂 thank you for making time to read my post😊

Lol @ mate.

I'm always cautious when writing other people languages. I did it a few times with eveuncovered in Finland a few times and I buggered it up. She sets me straight though.

I googled australian slang and mate sounded good😂🙈

Mate works...I use it a lot. It's usually used for males, not so much female's but can be. I use cobber a lot too. It means companion, friend. Again, most commonly for males.

I am not a huge fan of getting older, but I have to say one of the good things is the desire to prove yourself diminishes, which is freeing!

I absolutely agree, it is liberating for your soul. So much unnecessary inner pain we get just because we want so bad to be accepted and valued. Sometimes by people who do not even care. Getting old is much better than I imagined it 20 years ago😊

Holy shitbags!! 44 diplomas, no wonder you are so creative.

Behind the diplomas there are many hours of solitary study and work. Many hours of loneliness.

I feel you Mary. I too had to spend a lot of time with only myself. I was in boarding schools for 4 years. The bullying, extensive pressure of unnecessary courses took the life out of me. It took me even longer to find myself after i left that school.

Congratulations on winning the contest girl.. You completely deserve it.

Thank you😊 I can relate to you, bullying is something terrible to happen to a kid. It is not always bad to be alone, especially if you have the right books with you📚😊

especially if you have the right books with you.

So true. Fortunately I did get to read books I liked.

Me too, I am a library mouse🐭🐭😂

Sadly, I dont get enough time nowadays though. The last book I read was Fool moon from Dresden files. The story is about monsters, vampires werewolf and witches. Cheap thriller but I had a great time reading it.

Awesome! I am into personal development books, relationships, biographies. But mostly about human nature and our brain/behaviour

our brain/behaviour

Holy shit me too. Psychology and advanced psychology was part of my undergrad courses.

Congrats on your win. I enjoyed reading your post. Great and extraordinary conclusion.

Who am I? I am a lot of work. And people can take this just the way they like it. Because I know that in the end all that matters is the quality of my character that makes me sleep at night. The good stuff, I can feel it, will come along the way

Thank you😊I thought I might as well be honest, I would not like it any other way