Miso Mahi-Mahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Miso MahiMahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles (6).jpg

I hope you guys like Thai food as much as I do because I’m excited to share this one.

Miso MahiMahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles (4).jpg

So Thai is one of the cuisines that isn’t overly popular in my house, so I don’t actually make it as often as I’d like. Honestly though, every time I make it I wonder why I don’t make it more because it’s one of my personal favorite groups of flavors. I think one of the best parts is that all the ingredients used in Thai cooking ar pretty interchangeable. I don’t know if I’ve told you guys this but my day-to-day style of cooking usually involves a lot of winging it and using what I’ve already got on hand when I’m missing an ingredient. For that reason, dishes like this are my best friend.

Miso MahiMahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles (5).jpg

I had this Uber driver while I was in San Diego that was trying to politely make small-talk during our drive. (Since I’ve already thrown in some random tidbits about me I might as well let you know that small-talk is one of my least favorite things ever.) Anyway, he was asking what kind of restaurants are popular where I live and believe it or not I couldn’t think of a single one to mention because I just don’t eat out much, if ever.

Miso MahiMahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles (3).jpg

I couldn’t help finding it funny that this guy just couldn’t get his head around someone having a lifestyle that didn’t involve eating at restaurants. I tried to explain that up here everyone pretty much has there own cars, lives a bit far from grocery stores, and cooks there own food at home. He didn’t register that at all, then I mentioned being a food blogger and that’s where I really lost him. Haha, well it’s okay. There are plenty of things about city life that I wouldn’t be able to understand probably.

Miso MahiMahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles (7).jpg

This is one of those meals that you can do in just a few quick steps and alternate working on one part while waiting for another. Those are my favorite kinds because I get bored easily and I like to stay super busy in the kitchen. Plus, when you cook that way it makes the prep time fly by and you’ve got dinner on the table in no time.

Miso MahiMahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles (8).jpg

I used gluten free brown rice noodles so this recipe is pretty allergy friendly. I also stuffed it full of veggies, but feel free to use different ones if these aren’t your favorites. Basically any kind can be subbed in here.

Miso MahiMahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles (9).jpg

Miso Mahi-Mahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Total Time: 45 minutes

Dinner comes together quick and easy with these flavor-packed pad thai noodles made with classic Thai flavors and tender mahi-mahi.

Ingredients

1 (8 ounce) package brown rice pad thai noodles *see note
1 pound, boneless/skinless mahi-mahi, cut into pieces
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 teaspoon Thai red curry paste
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lime juice
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 tablespoon miso
3 tablespoons coconut sugar (or dark brown sugar)
2 medium zucchini, spiralized (or julienned)
1 bunch bok choy, sliced
2 cups fresh sugar snap peas

Optional Toppings:


roasted cashews
cilantro leaves
green onion
lime wedges

Instructions

Marinade:


Combine the garlic, ginger, soy sauce, curry paste, lime juice, rice vinegar, miso, and coconut sugar (or brown sugar) in a large glass bowl and whisk together. Place the fish in the bowl and toss to coat. Allow the fish to sit in the marinade while you wash and chop the veggies and prep the rest of the dish, at least 15 minutes. Soak the noodles in boiling water for about 10 minutes, drain and set aside.

Pad Thai:


Heat a large skillet over medium high heat and once hot, add the fish and sear for 3-4 minutes, brushing the fish with the marinade as it cooks. Flip pieces and cook until fully done. Remove from pan and pour into a separate dish, then cover and set aside for a moment.
Add the sesame oil to pan along with the bok choy and snap peas. Cook for 3-4 minutes then add in the spiralized zucchini and cook for an additional 1-2 minutes. Pour in any of the remaining marinade and add the basil and cilantro. Gently stir over heat for another minute.
Now add the noodles and cooked mahi-mahi and toss together until heated through, about 2 minutes. Scoop noodles into serving bowls and top with any of your desired toppings. I used roasted cashews, green onion, extra cilantro, and lime wedges.

Notes

I used Gluten Free Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles but a similar noodle will do just as well. Just be sure to cook according to package directions before adding to the dish.

Miso MahiMahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Perfect Carrot Cake Cupcakes + Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting
  2. Chile Lime Veggie Burrito Bowls
  3. Chocolate Covered Almond Butter Eggs - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  4. Traditional Greek Lamb Gyros + Tzatziki Sauce
  5. Mint Chocolate Chip Muddy Buddies
  6. Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies
  7. Homemade 'Nilla Wafers with Banana Pudding
  8. Carrot & Lentil Salad with Indian Curry Tahini Dressing w/ Vegan Option
  9. Simple Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart
  10. Springtime Vibes Salad+Cilantro Almond Butter Dressing

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Miso MahiMahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles (10).jpg

My Current Stats: 63,035 Steem Power | 12,614 Followers | 28,850 Posts | Reputation 74.691

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

what an amazing combo. I really enjoy fish in my salads as well, and with your idea of pad thai noodles, this is simply a perfect combo. I cannot wait to give it a try, who knows, maybe I will post about it.

you are always so kind and supportive, thanks so much for everything @noboxes

another amazing display of masterfully beautiful food photography. This is a fantastic idea and extremely artistic

thank you so very much for all of your support. I can count on you being there every day, and that is incredibly helpful!

Oh yum! And healthy too. Gotta go find some coconut sugar!

shouldn't be in problem to find in the City. Kind of a fad right now, so it will probably be in every nut and berry store - LOL

Great to hear from you @dougkarr

Nice
I love hot food, Looks delicious from here
Well done .. Thanks for the recipe

again, a super nice supportive comment from @slimanepro

Now that looks delicious! With the bok choy and snap peas -- what a welcome into spring! Bok choy is so good. I like the lime and cilantro of the Thai cooking. I'm with you on not eating out much. I like my own cooking so much better, lol. Restaurants use so much salt. And I am used to good produce. But travel is challenging. It's easy to get in the habit of just asking for food and then - Boom! - it just shows up, and usually pretty quickly. And there's no cleanup, lol.

I agree with everything you said, absolute great commenting as always, thanks so much @haphazard-hstead

Omg, your food photography is breathless. How do you keep the rich colours? The blurred background effect works super well with food.

thanks so much @kjnk

Wonderful photo shoot , as always!

thanks much for all of your support @hms818

Hi dear! How are you? My husband he made me eat this one!!! He always prepare it for me but with chicken!!! He cooked it very good! When I was in Morocco I never eat this kind of food, but when I come to Mauritius I discover it and I like it so much , this asian food!!!!

I hope you give it a try and make it with your Moroccan style. Thanks @creativewoman

this is very nicely prepared thanks for sharing looks delicious :D

I can always count on your daily commenting, thanks so much daily support

I've only been to Thailand once, but I'm a fan of Thai food. So I often order it in restaurants. Most of all I like spices, especially lemongrass.
When I look at your posts, I think: your family is definitely lucky! When I would eat these dishes every day - I would not go to the restaurant) Thanks for the recipe, someday I will definitely try to cook!

super kind words @naditinkoff, thanks so much

I’m fancy of Tai and Vietnam food as well! There are many fresh vegetables and ingredients to make the dish taste fresh! Wanna try this recipe soon!😋
Thanks for generous sharing! @gringalicious💖

Hey.
As always, everything is perfect.
Have a nice day.

You got it perfect again and just with the right details to got me glued to read this and imagine how good it is on my tongue. I can almost taste it...

thanks so much for the super kind words @arnel, have a great weekend!

Giiiiirl, I can't stop commenting! Your posts are all spot on at the moment. Love what you're cooking! Thought about making a cook book?

I almost missed this one, yes, I've given a lot of thought to a cookbook. I may do a 'coffee table' version some day.

I think that would be the best kind! I've always wanted to create a coffee table book which is kind of like a scrap book, full of ideas, recipes, photos and more.

Your dishes are always healthy and colourful ...I like noodles but i had no idea of adding greens in it so i will give this a try and share my experience with you :)

thanks so much, I do hope you give it a try, I will be eagerly awaiting to hear how it worked for you

Winner Winner Pad Thai Dinner. :) Awesome photos! So on the heat scale 1 - 10 what would this be? haha, I am a wimp when it comes to hot spicy, so when I get Thai, I usually ask for (-1) lol. Great job again, always amazed with your work.

this was not hot at all, but you can certainly dial it up or down to whatever you want. Winner, winner Pad Thai Dinner, I like that. I might use that in the future if you don't mind?

That is good to hear. :) haha, and of course you can use that phrase! lol :)

Tht looks really super . I wish i could eat that right now

![275B3F1F-3E8C-4EA8-8B5B-1E0D3622CC0D.jpeg](

Have not eaten that but from the looks, it might really taste good. Hope to try that meal soon

yup, you're right, it just might really taste good

Hey @gringalicious, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

So delicious food, your food make me hungry, thanks for your sharing to us informative post, greeting friendship from me @abialfatih in aceh indonesia

I really appreciate it @abialfatih!

wow....hear some amazing food photography....and i think its so testy.....i like your post...waiting for your next post

An excellent post with complete instruction and beautiful photography. :)

This is not the usual type of food we get to see in your blog but it still gives the same effect to us. :-) I wasn't familiar with Pad Thai until a couple years ago when we ate at a restaurant near our place. They were known for their Pad Thai. Your recipe (and photos obviously) looks very promising. I'm not so familiar with all the ingredients but I might try this soon (hopefully. lol)

Yummy! I would try this delicacy out someday since you mentioned that it super fast to cook. Nothing bore me more than spending hours in the kitchen, only to get too tired of eating the food eventually. As a student, I am always having a lot on my table, therefore, time is essential.

I completely understand that. Thanks @seento!

Great post

hello!!!
nothing to say,it's just perfect my friend @gringalicious

I am very pleased to find a great brown rice options for noodles to add to Asian inspired dishes. These are basic, plain noodles, that are easy to flavor when pairing with other ingredients. On their own their just tasteless.
They cook very quick (I just soak them in hot water 10-15 minutes). The noodles are great both warm (stir fries, casseroles, basically as a carb side to meals) and cold (noodle salad). They don't tend to stick together, even when stored in the fridge for several days.
The Amazon 6-pack is very convenient and makes this a staple for my pantry.
@gringalicious

thanks so much the advice on noodles

Wonderful recipe, @gringalicious! I bet it tastes like heaven!

I am glad you liked it @missdeli, thanks so much

Wow! I really need to try this, it looks amazing. I loveee! noodles. It's one of my favorite parts about living in Asia. Do you think spicing it up would be a weird combination?

nope, spice it up all you want

You got a 1.74% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @gringalicious!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Just wow! A healthy food 😊

thanks so much for commenting @gwenbyyy

Mouth-watering post! Wish I had a 3D food printer to get myself some of that beautiful green dish. YUM!

3d food printer, that's an awesome idea. I can see it, but my be is that the print media won't be good for you. Maybe in like the 10th version - LOL - Great commenting @voyagesofcarla2

very beautiful delicious

You got a 6.14% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gringalicious!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

nice photography and looking fresh

As always your food looks delicious. Of course being Thai I love anything that is a Thai dish. I will tell you though that in Thailand we generally use a thicker and flatter noodle in Pad Thai dishes. Sometimes the thinner noodle is used but generally the thicker noodle is better because it can hold on to the spices and sauce better. But what you made looks absolutely beautiful and delicious. We do not have Mahi Mahi here but we have similar fish. Come to Thailand o we can cook and eat together please.

I will come to Thailand someday and learn how to do it right, thanks for all the info

We can maybe do it together. But let me tell you this. What you have cooked in this picture I would definitely eat and be very happy. Keep on cookin sister!

Very good post

wow, I bought miso a couple weeks ago and never was the right time to use it ;) maybe now is the perfect time as your photos look so encouragingly😊

hey @xuanito, thanks so much for your daily support.

Very appetizing food. I've never tried it before. It would be interesting to cook such a dinner at home. If i can find all the ingredients in my local stores.

I hope you are able to find all of the ingredients and give it a go @anna-mi

Looks delish! Solid photos, makes me hungry haha. Well done.

beautiful photography and always perfect food.

thanks so much for your comments

Thank you friends have shared according to me look must be very delicious its miso, i love this my upvote and resteem

thanks so much

you are welcome, friend

Congratulation you dear with this beautiful celebration International Women's Day 8 of March 💐

yeah, yippie, thanks so much

Yummy..... delicious food

thanks so much

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

There are 2 pages
Pages