Cat Portraits Of Today

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

As many of you guys know, not only I have three cats, I am also trying to learn more and get better at photography. So my cats are my best models, they're always there for me when I need them too. I could never think of a better subject to focus on anyway haha :)

It was a cloudy and rainy today over here in the D, but it didn't stop those stupid animals from going out and fighting some fireflies.
It's funny because they used to be scared of the outside and now all they ever wanna do is to be out there, lay in the grass, hunt bugs and rats, dig some earthworms out and try to bring them in - yeah, that's nasty, ugh! But what can you do? There were a couple of times that Lena - the transplant kitty from Russia - brought a rat inside. Me and @matt-a spent a few hours chasing it down and getting rid of it, it kinda sucked.

Anyway, I'd like to present the portraits of my baby kitties from this evening. I'm very open to any suggestions, criticism and photography tips! So feel free to let me know what you think of them in the comments.

Here is Lena laying in the grass at her favorite spot, just looking around.

619A4731.jpg

Foot-Foot rubbing her head on the concrete, poor thing, nobody wants to pet her!

619A4723.jpg

Artax dreaming about catching a bird one day.

619A4764.jpg

This final picture makes it look like I live in the jungles kind of haha. I like it.

619A4763.jpg

Sort:  

Never been a fan of cityscapes, or cities for that matter. But nice shots as always, yes even the cityscape! I want you to do a post about lightbox tips haha! Teach me your photo editing tricks!!! And thats just your cats telling you they love you, so chase the rat, be grossed out by the earthworm, but know that they love you haha!!

Thank you very kindly @drpuffnstuff!
I don't think I am familiar with Lightbox though! I use Photoshop for editing my pictures and pretty much the only tools I use are exposure and selective color, or those two are the main ones for me, depending on what I'm trying to show.

Well good to know the 2 Photoshop tricks. I remember when you tried to say you aren't that good of a photographer and you just edit them.. lies haha

This is true! There is so much to learn about cameras and how to operate them to get the best results, one step at a time though, I will get there one day ahaha
and I like to edit pictures a lot haha

Pawesome shots! I like Artax the most. I can see the emotions in his/her eyes. (Lol. Not sure about the gender)

Thank you! They are all girls! She loves being out there!

Oh. Purrfect lady kitties.

Haha! Thank YOU! They said meow!

Really? You've cat to be kitten me! Haha. Maybe they wanna check out my post - Purrfect Hello Kitty Cafe in Seoul?

I mean they're nice kitties, they will check it out :)

Amazing pictures. How did you get them to stay still long enough to take them? The only time mine are still for more than a second or two is when they are sleeping.

Thank you. I think they are just too lazy to move now that it's hot out, sometimes when they focused you can get a nice shot because they just stare at one spot haha

My family have two cat. They so lovely and I love it so much.
Upvoted and followed you!
Follow me @kieuhong
Thank you!

Cats are the best pets in my opinion! Thank you!

yep, I agree with you

Great photos you made to your models.

Thanks, they are little good ones haha

Awesome!

Oh god haha thanks!

I really like your post ,,
beautiful scenery,
I've upvote you,
now it's your turn to request my upvote,
thanks

Thanks, I'll check your blog out.

Cutie pies! Love them kitties :)

Thank you! They are a handful, but the chubby cheeks make up for it :)

Chubby cat cheeks. What a visual. Love it!

Only one of them actually has those chubby cheeks and cool pants haha

Gorgeous cats! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you! They are nice kitties :)

Fur on their noses is always my favorite spot to place the focus when taking pictures of my cats.

Good point, thanks! It's so short, almost non existent haha

@kotturinn That's an amazing photography! I loved the second one.
which camera you used though?

Thank you! I also like that one because of how dark it turned out, but I like the cat in the first photo better :)
The camera is Canon eos 5d mark III.

I love so many cute cats, so I like your post. very nice pics. I resteemed.

Oh wow! Thanks a lot :)

Your pictures are lovely and your models very cute. I can relate to the chasing of rats. It was a bird for me this week.😂

Great post and I enjoyed these pictures!

Thank you! Do you have any pets?

@kotturinn, they say if you have a cat, you don't need ornaments. That is so true if you study the way they lie or sit - looks like exquisite ornaments!

That's a beautiful saying!

I love cats also :)

Sweet! Do you have any?

Sure i do .... i had 6 ( mother and 5 kittens ) but we gifted all when we moved last year only this one left :

Oh that's a cute little cat! What's its name?

Was supose to be Maria .... after my mom , but turned in to Mario .... And now we call him Murcho ahaha :)

Murcho hahaha that's a funny one, I like it :)

Its because if you just toch him it make this cat sound .... mrrrr ...mrrrr

Even though they are so bitchy , I love cats :)

Hahaha! I love them too :D

20170629_171532.jpg

That is one pretty kitty! Sweet!

British Shorts and Scottish folds (not sure which yours is) always look so comfortable!
<3

Mine is the Scottish Fold, you can always tell them difference if you see the folded ears, I do agree, they are too soft!

Foot-Foot makes poor choices.

She doesn't get to make one haha

Those are some photogenic cats!

They were just focused on something haha
Thank you :)

whenever anyone says "in the D" it reminds me of a song...
@matt-a knows the one...
"its so cold in the D, how the f*** is we sposed to keep peace"....

Haha I am also familiar with that song, although it was not cold today!

You couldn't choose better models! lol

Exactly! Thank you :)

Красавчики)))) Люблю котиков очень. Наша Кнопка подралась с очередным вздыхателем и так же возле глазика поцарапалась.

Спасибо! Да, наша Лена тоже подралась, но год назад, а это шрам так и остался :(

Wow those photos are amazing? What lens are you using? The DOF is unreal, makes Lena look even more intense!

Check out our latest post, we are building a community of fellow #steemcats! Use the #steemcats tag to let us know whenever you post something new about cats on steem!

Thank you! I will remember the tag since I post about cats quite often and I shall check your post out as well!
I was using a canon 50mm portrait lens.

Please do! We'll like to read and see more of you and your cats!
Is it the f/1.8 or f/1.4? Both are great lenses, so fast that make a perfect match for cat pictures!

Wow @kotturinn, oh my God. I love your pics. Magical. Cats are perfection! Upvoted 100%. If you love cats and you post beautiful pictures of them I'll defintely follow you! :D If you want, you can have a look at the pics that I've just posted! And there are many more to come...And as I said in my "introduceyourself" post, I LOVE CATS!

Thank you @italianexplorer! It's awesome you also love cats, aren't they just so good? Give me a sec, I'll check your blog out :)

Cats are never easy subjects to photograph, even while asleep can be challenging. But I must admit I've done it, everyone living with cats has done it, and that has helped me get better at taking pictures of cats and people.

For instance, photographing cats has tought me that shooting fast is more important than having the best composition. Shooting fast means also changed from "take the camera out as fast as possible and shoot" to "shoot as many as you can and as fast as you can"

And about being fast comes the next tricky part: To be able to shoot fast you need either a high ISO (which might mean grainy pictures) or a fast lens. And that's where the hobby starts to get expensive.

I started shooting with an f/4.5 lens, then a f/3.5 and now I feel useless if I don't have at least a f/2.8. The lower the number the higher the aperture. More aperture means more light, more light means less exposure, less exposure means faster pictures. Sounds like a class, confusing and boring, but I wish someone had told me that in that way.

Great pictures by the way, please keep on shooting and sharing about your cats. I might write a post about the two that live here in my house.

Thank you so much for the tips! It isn't easy taking photographs of cats indeed, I hate that it's so hard to catch them being still, they always wanna go and do something or smell. We have a few different lenses because my husband @matt-a used to do some photography in the past and I just love to take pictures of cats and food, trying to learn more about it. I usually set my ISO to auto and only adjust aperture, sometimes it gets too overwhelming trying to understand everything at once haha.
THANK YOU!

Aperture priority is great, keep doing that. The camera will figure out the rest and you'll have that amazing bokeh while still capturing your subjects in detail and fast. I'm following @matt-a now!

а у меня недавно несколько моих подвальных котанов потравили(
щас 4х только подкармливаю. было около 8-9

Какой ужас . . . я даже и не знаю, что сказать, не люди, а какие-то странные существа. Нужно в милицию на них написать.
Я очень люблю животных и тоже кормила бездомных кошек и собак, которые жили на мусорке.

знать бы еще на кого

https://golos.io/ru--kot/@mrgreen/obozhaniya-kota-blekmora-post
https://steemit.com/cats/@mrgreen/just-a-cat-living-in-my-basement я надеюсь что его забрали а не умер - прошлого года не видел
https://steemit.com/cats/@mrgreen/cat умная рыжая любимая живая
https://steemit.com/photography/@mrgreen/there-is-no-mice-at-all было очень давно, научил его срать в печку.

https://steemit.com/art/@mrgreen/v-is-for-villiam-the-cat
тоже нет в живых

ну а то что сейчас на тест драйве выложу когда фотки наберуться с ней нормальные

Очень мне понравились все эти котейки! Спасибо, что не пожалели времени и мне все их прислали!
Зачем научили гадить в печку? Хахахах

очень удобно кстати. наполнитель менять не нужно, не пахнет совершенно и тп.
а так как печки было 2 то и котэ проблем не испытывал.

А почему не пахло?

потому что печи старые достаточно были и все моментально тягой вверх уходило + они протапливались по очереди

То есть горели какашки кошачие? хахаха

безусловно