Freedom Train (Original Poetry)

in #poetry4 years ago (edited)

Be still
and listen.

The train,
it is coming,
I hear
the low rumble
of our humble awaking
it's taken a while
but I always knew
we weren’t forsaken.

The enemy is
anything that takes
our minds away
from where it's
supposed to be,

negative news
gives me
the blues
race baiting,
war, endless
political
debating.

This age
of greed and
distraction
is on
life support,

as it
draws its last
raspy breath,
know this is a birth,
not a death.

So happy that
I dance inside,
chills course up and
down my spine,

we are alive
and this
is our time
to right
so many wrongs,

finally a chance
to ignite our own
enlightened song...
of freedom.

~Eric Vance Walton~


About This Poem: I wrote this poem in 2016, shortly after I discovered cryptocurrency. Despite both of us having good jobs and never living beyond our means my wife and I were nearly ruined by the Housing Crisis of 2009. We struggled for the next five years just to keep our heads above water. Although large banks and corporations were bailed out with billions of our tax dollars, like many Americans, we were left to figure it out on our own. All of a sudden we discovered cryptocurrency and it was like a life raft for us. But this poem is about more than that.

At this very moment our world is at a pivotal point, a time of great chaos and confusion. Anyone paying attention can feel it. The world is reeling from a pandemic that has been grossly mismanaged. The global fiat financial system is showing early signs of recession, depression, or worse. We can no longer trust or rely on the corporate-owned media to report the truth. We are at the brink another cold war but, strangely, I’m not afraid. While the framework of an old, corrupt world crumbles all around us I’m confident that a new and better world will emerge. Cryptocurrency and blockchain will play a significant role in this.

Here in the Twin Cities on top of everything else we’re now dealing with the very real prospect of large-scale civil unrest, and it’s justified. Just two days ago a Minneapolis police officer killed George Floyd by placing his knee on his neck for five minutes until he died. While Floyd repeatedly pleaded with the officer he couldn’t breathe onlookers recorded with their mobile phones and begged for the officer to take his knee off the man’s neck and spare his life. This is simply unacceptable. Something has to change. Civil servants and elected officials should be working for the us not vice versa. We should not live in fear of them. Until real change does come, let’s watch out for one another. Stay safe out there.

With Gratitude.


*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Sort:  

Eric the more I read your writings and poems the more I see that you are one of the few people who actually "get things" and I commend you for sharing those.
"Civil servants and elected officials should be working for the us not vice versa. We should not live in fear of them.", those words of yours needs to be ingrained in each of our minds and memory.

George Floyd died needlessly because of police who are ill trained, over zealous, and have a belief system that "they are the law". The mentality and ignorance those police officers involved in the George Floyd death is proof that serious reform needs to take place in how police officers are recruited, trained and supervised.

The "protests" that have erupted there locally and around the country are needed but have not served to "bring light to the problem" (my words) but have only increased the chances for more police violence against the communities where the protesting is taking place. The people of Minneapolis need to be protesting at the city hall board meetings of the city council. Those folks (city council) are responsible for the situation and who are the ones who decide how and who polices the city.

Just last night in Houston, TX there were protests too and last I heard on the late night news was that over 60 people here had been arrested. The news upped that number of arrests to 100 this morning, and the news also said that those folks arrested won't be able to have a trial by jury because jury trials have been suspended due to COVID 19. That is very disturbing news to hear since trial by jury is a fundamental protected right.

I need to get going this morning so I will leave it at that, great poem and great insight my friend.

Thank you my friend for those words. You are among those few people who "get things" as well, probably on a deeper level than me. The picture is becoming clear here in the Twin Cities after three nights of violence that people inciting this are, mostly, from out-of-state. Antifa, this right-wing extremist group called "The Bugaloo Bois" and others like them are using this civil unrest as a opportunity to incite greater violence. Enjoy your weekend @sultnpapper. Stay safe out there.

Wow your poem is almost prophetic! The enemy at this moment is the news media (sponsored by the big pharmas) and the government with all their fear mongering and gross mismanagement of the Coronavirus!
Thank heavens though, I've personally experienced how the blockchain has given me hope so reiterate what you've said so very well:

While the framework of an old, corrupt world crumbles all around us I’m confident that a new and better world will emerge. Cryptocurrency and blockchain will play a significant role in this.
Thank you for being a light here in this troubled world!

Thank you my friend! You are so right about that. The true enemies are the corporations that have taken over our governments.

We are alive indeed!

Alive and more awake every day!

Hello dear friend @ericvancewalton Good day

I am sorry that you have had to go through that huge crisis, and that nobody dealt with the particular problems that were affected by it, as always the banks never go bad, only those who trust in it.

For many people virtual currencies were a huge way out. The arrival of cryptocurrencies also had a positive impact here.

It is critical what happens at these times and especially because it is just beginning, there will be many consequences of them.

A real pleasure to read your post dear friend

I wish you a beautiful Wednesday

Thanks @jlufer! It's all water under the bridge now. There were lots of lessons in it. Cryptocurrency's impact on your part of the world is a huge glimpse into how it will help the rest of the world when the traditional financial system fails them. I hope you enjoy the rest of the week!

This George floyd's story is so painful. I just pray things get better . I mGreat poem by the way

Yeah, it really is. It could have totally been avoided. Thank you @bhoa!

My pleasure

Ohh, I really like this one. It is very beat. Very Ginsberg. Great stuff. It reminds me of my college days when I was majoring in English Lit.

Awesome stuff!

Thanks @bozz! I really liked the writing that came out of that era. I had no idea you majored in English Lit!

Only for a short time. I was going to be a high school teacher. Changed my mind because I figured I would burn out. Look where I ended up... CIO for a public school district 😀.

Cryptocurrency is what I have been betting for the future, when the world economy will fail digital currency will be boon

I share that belief. I think some countries will heavily restrict their citizens and try to keep them from using it but people will always find a way.

In Hindi there is a saying "Jahan Chaa h Wahan Raah h", that means where there is a want, you will always find a way.

I like that saying, it's so true!