Pause (Original Poetry)

in #poetry4 years ago (edited)

Standing here
on the precipice
of nowhere
in particular,

Feeling open,
ready for
whatever’s next,

Paying attention
to nothing
but my breath.

Expectations
of anyone nor
anything
seem desperately
naive.

Understanding,
the true nature
of how
lucky I am
to perceive
such beauty
and bliss.

My soul
is strong
and these shoes
are still comfortable
because I’ve
taken millions
of humbling steps.

Eric Vance Walton

(Gif Sourced From Giphy.com)


alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

'Pause' is a real theme for 2020 - i just wrote a prose poem on it myself, funnily enough - a bit of a sad spin, but nonetheless. Grateful for the pause of my breath - we always consider in/out, but the power is often in the in between.

It does feel like everything is in suspended animation right now. As horrific as it all has been it is a chance for evolution and self-healing, maybe the longest span of time most adults have ever had to work on themselves.

How are you dear friend @ericvancewalton good night
I admire the way you compose your poetry, this one offers a reflection.
I appreciate that you shared your poetry with us
have a wonderful night and a happy rest

Thank you! All is well here. It certainly was a fast week. I hope you and your family have a wonderful weekend!

Nice poem as usual from you. Sometimes I feel like giving up but there is an inner expectation in me to keep going

Wow, I love these lines. You did a great job my friend. Good to have you around here. Greetings

Thank you very much!

Wonderful words of hope and encouragement Eric!

My soul
is strong
and these shoes
are still comfortable
because I’ve
taken millions
of humbling steps.

This Pause is lasting so much longer than I initially thought! Perhaps this world needed a reset button to kind of level the playing fields? It's certainly bringing out the best in some who are becoming more self sufficient and at the same time showing up the rot in others!

Thank you! This crisis is definitely making some people take their metaphorical masks off and revealing their true nature. Some are beginning to crack under the pressure. Crime is up exponentially here and we've also seen some really strange behavior. People who work in hospitality and the service industry here are really hurting financially. Restaurants are back open but are only operating at around 60% capacity.

A good message for these times, when "titanism" is the norm. Humility is a value not so appreciated! We must also remember that within us there must be room for new things to enter. It's the same with the mind: making room for new thoughts and bringing out old and useless thoughts will make you feel renewed and awake. A good Saturday to you and your family, Eric!

Thank you very much Nancy! I hope you have a wonderful weekend. I was thinking about getting out on a bike ride but rain is coming in so I'm shifting my schedule and will work on a blog this morning.

A good plan, Eric!! Have a productive day and may the muses come to you. A big hug ;)

Thank you, Nancy!

For some reason I get the feeling that in a former life you were a carpenter, you seem to nail your thoughts down quite well with wordsmith skills I enjoy reading.
Great poem Eric.
Thanks for sharing,
Sult

I did really enjoy shop class in school! Lol. Thank you very much my friend! Enjoy your weekend.

Stunning piece, it was like you were here and suddenly you were there, but all in Alli could sense a mood if Fulfilment, satisfaction and contentment and of course a grateful feeling. I enjoyed reciting it aloud

Thank you, @josediccus. I'm glad it had that effect on you! I plan on using this one in my new meditation book. I hope you're having a good week. How is it in your part of the world?

Yeah it would seem really perfect in your meditation book because the poem is relaxing in itself. I'm having a great week, here's really awesome how about you?

Thanks, I hope so! All is good here. We're taking a few steps backwards in terms of our new infection rate numbers but, otherwise, we're just taking it day-by-day and trying to enjoy summer.

The pandemic has been really niggling and it's even disrupted the whole plans for the year hopefully the infection rate will reduce and we can move on with our lives

It has disrupted everything! The rest of the world seems to be getting better but the US keeps getting worse. Hopefully we'll see a decline soon.

Hi Eric ... beautiful poem about toughness in the face of trials in life. A strong determination will make someone able to survive the challenges of life. I enjoyed your poem. Have a nice day.

So glad you enjoyed it Eliana! Thank you for your support!

Very nice. I like the part about having taken humbling steps. I often find myself thinking about past things I have done or said and how foolish they were. Those kinds of things keep me honest even though I know I should let them go since they were so long ago.

Thank you! I think about that stuff too sometimes but try not to dwell on it too long. There are those decisions or those certain actions taken that totally changed the trajectory of our lives. I do believe things happen for a reason though.

I agree for the most part. Sometimes we just have brain farts :)

Oh yeah, I've had my share of those. Cranial flatulence syndrome (CFS). Lol.

Promoting Hive on Twitter.

Marvelous inspiration, enjoyed this "pause" - @fenngen

MINDFULLIFE.png
MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #meditation #mindfulness #yoga & #spirituality content! We also run twice weekly online meditations in our Discord server.
Discord II Community