One of the most important questions in the World.

in #poetry11 months ago

I wrote this many years ago, when my Son was pre kindergarten.

Why Daddy?

I asked you why,
you told me.
I asked you how,
you showed me

And now I have a Son,
And when that little one;

Asks me why,
I tell him.
And asks me how,
I show him.

And when my Patience grows thin,
From all the questions asked by him;
It's them that I think of you,
And answer another one or two.

That he might know The hows and whys,
For another little guy!

This is when he was a baby:
IMG_20230506_133810.jpg
Nothing changes you life as much as becoming a father; and nothing is as rewarding!

Four decades later, I'm very proud of him, he truly know the hows and whys.

He is doing major jobs now, with very little of my help:
IMG_20211109_165031334_HDR.jpg

IMG_20211109_164333139_HDR.jpg
He paid cash a house he wants to rent, but it needed a lot of work. The garage's south wall was destroyed by old termites damage, so he supported the roof, and built a new wall. I'm very proud of him, and he's a lot bigger now!

Sort:  

Time is passing by so fast I don't know that a month starts and then ends immediately and I don't know how old I am 27 years old and the way we are doing your age too. Now it's more.

Time is relative, so reserve some time to just sit and talk; those are the most remembered times! Time is fluid, and sometimes a week or a month is gone in a flash. Try to do something you like to do, or have wanted to do; and it seems to slow things down some. Take the time to learn a new skill, or join a club.

But the one constant is that at the end of the day, that time is forever spent; make it worthwhile!

🕜👍😁💙🎉🐾🐶🐾💗🎯🕜

Beautiful pictures.As if they were taken yesterday.Happy Father"s day bro.

That one was hard to look at for me, she looked so young...it's still pretty hard.

I remember taking that picture, and she didn't know I had a camera! It was over 4 decades ago. Time is relentless....

😳😭💗🤔🙏📖🙏

Time flies and you young ones become the old ones for someone.

It just seems to accelerate more every day. Now I have a grandson, hard to believe! He's pretty sharp too, I taught him square roots last time I saw him...he'll be 5 in August.

💗🤠👍🤔😆

Wow, you are teaching him Square root in such a small age, our education system is too slow.

He loves math, in any form! He was writing Roman numerals on a dry board when I first visited. It seems to match the way he thinks, he's giving the school fits to try to challenge him!

It will be interesting to watch him grow!

👍🤠💗🎉💙😊

Having the little children for your heritage makes you remember your childhood years.Regardless of time they depict what you exactly were.

He is fun! My Daughter told him that I was her Daddy...that impressed him, LOL. Now he knows what a Grandpa really is!

He's computer savvy, he recently ordered himself a bunch of stuff from Amazon.

👍🤠🐾🐶🐾😊🎉💗

I love this, both the poem and the whole post. What a wonderful father and husband you were/are. Great shot of your wife with your tiny infant son.

My daughter is a carpenter now. I didn't teach her a thing! But boy am I proud of her for being so true to herself. All of this work is a mystery to me.

Both kids have grown up well! We decided early on that they needed to be independent. That way they would be okay in every circumstance, but it's tough on Mom and Dad; because if you do it right, they don't need you.

They don't (we nailed that), but it is so much sweeter when they come back because they want to hang out, and not because they are in trouble!

I'm sure that you taught her a great deal that you've just forgotten. They don't build the structure of a trade, without a great foundation.... The ability to view in 3 dimensions, is pivotal for a carpenter; and unusual for a Lady, you did well!

🤔👍💗🎯🤠

Oh, I can also see a great deal of myself in her. A desire to learn, to excel in a "man's" trade, lots of gumption.

I know so many parents whose children dislike them intensely! I was never accused of being over controlling, the opposite in fact, but my kids love me, and look forward to visiting me. I love them so! I feel both lucky and deserving on this one. I done good. So did you.

You are rightfully proud! I have many friends who are still supporting their children, which is apparently pretty normal these days....

👍🤔🤕😳😊