You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: As Steem grows, so does the presence of the trolls

in #steem7 years ago

If they don't start none, won't be none. Their flags and comments hurt the people that they flag and they know this. It is arbitrary and these people don't work for steemit.inc. So it is ok to be a bully if you have a lot of power? But it is nokay to fight back and namedrop because it might hurt their feelings? There is no good in Nazi behavior.

Sort:  

That is why a system of redress is required. Complaining on line is no good, we require a pathway to an arbiter who can legitimately look into the issue. Flagging by us would make the post visible to this arbiter who can make the 'official' decision. Better than causing grievances unnecessarily. Just my thoughts, as I said I have been on the receiving end of nasty people who published lies about me. The post did not get general coverage because it was flagged up by several of the people you now criticize. There are two sides to every story. I am sorry if this offends it is not meant to, I just want to make you aware of the other side to the story. X

You have a good point. There should be an arbiter. Unfortunately there isn't one so we are left with the devices we have available. I do understand the need for some entity to guard against personal attacks and plagairism, however we don't need a nanny to protect us from advertising. I have discernment, I do not see the need for an anti-spam censorship brigade. I am an anarchist. This is too much like a centralized government telling people what is ok for them to see or not see i.e fascism, hence the reference to Nazis. I wish @jeffberwick , the @dollarvigilante could see this, he is big enough to put a suggestion in that would be read. And maybe heeded.

I agree there should be some mechanism to fight plagiarism I just don't see a solution better than the current system. One option is tocentralize things and put some actual steemit employed admins on to enforce some set of rules everyone has to follow.

If you don't want that centralization of power then you leave it up to the people to police themselves. When you do that people are free to use their voting power to upvote or downvote whatever they see fit, regardless of reason.

I totally agree with you. We need the powerful to take the issue forward. I am sorry I got involved because a white middle class 'wrinkly' with no experience really of the www other than using it as a fantastic research tool and publisher of my 'ramblings'; I only thought an Arbiter would help those who feel aggrieved and enable them to get redress from somewhere, without having to resort to anger. I understand their frustrations. I also understand the other side too. There is a need for someone to stop malicious content. I hope you understand I am not involved, just an outsider who tried to put another point of view forward. I agree nor disagree with anything. I have suggested this to both of the above. X

I understand and I also see that you have some of the yummiest recipes on steemit. I followed you.

You are so kind. I do feel bad about getting involved with the discussion on 'trolls'. I cannot keep my big mouth shut!!! X

OMG I don't know. I am sorry I got drawn into this, I only wanted to give a sense of the other side. I come from a country with the rule of law, so generally, respect for authority is usual. I expect authority to play fair, as I expect the powers that be will play fair. I am not used to the concept of free for all. I am now withdrawing from this debate. I wish everyone, peace, goodwill and happiness. X

Honestly, I am not getting exasperated. I have had a few harsh replies to my comments. I only wanted to put a suggestion forward. I have no interest in creating aggression. I love this platform and get great delight from the interaction from like minded people. I just pointed out the other side of flagging. I had a malicious assault on myself and it was thanks to several of the people who had been named, that this malicious post was stopped from going out fully. There is an absolute need for someone to 'police' the site for awful content. I just thought there should be someone who the aggrieved can go to to redress their issue.
This someone has got to have the power to take an action and also over turn an action where necessary. He/she therefore must be part of Steemit, a paid employee perhaps. My thoughts on rule of law were stated to just say, we all have to trust in this. The arbiter must be trusted to do the job, that is all I meant. I am lucky; generally, I have confidence in the role of government and policing, because my life experiences have shown me that overall, I can trust my government/police to follow rules. (always exceptions of course, that is why I say generally)! I do ramble. Hope this answers you. Kind Regards. X

I agree with most of your comment. However, I was not flagged it was the post put out about me which was flagged. The 'Police' did their job well in my case. I am sorry they have not in others. I really appreciate the dialogue and time you have taken to explain things to me. X

No system can ever be perfect. There has to be an element of trust that the position will not be abused. I realise there is a very fine line between restrictions and freedom. How could an Arbiter restrict though? He/she would be there only to be approached when someone feels unfairly treated. The flagging system (according to some) does not work and is being abused. Would it not be better for those who feel unfairly treated to have someone to go to rather than be angry and frustrated, live on the block chain. As to the schematics of it; there are better business brains out there than I, I just made a gentle suggestion. Sorry. X

Thanks, I haven't read it but I have read this. https://steemit.com/steemcleaners/@steemcleaners/announcing-steemcleaners-the-steemit-abuse-fighting-team
Found it while I was looking for an answer to my immediate problem....it wont let me post on steem! Last night I could not even reply to posts. The system kept telling me: bandwidth limit exceeded. Please wait to transact or power up STEEM. It just shows you how little I know! Appreciate the effort and dialogue. X