I'm almost one year old...

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I’m coming up to 12 months on steemit; June 2017 was when I joined after being introduced by two of my brothers who are also steemit users. One prefers to remain completely anonymous and the other is the indomitable @tarazkp a prolific and passionate contributor and platform advocate. I’m glad I joined the platform although in hindsight should have done so in January of 2017 when they first suggested it. As the older brother I know best right? Wrong. Anyway, six months later I arrived and was fortunate enough to gain some support from the users above and a few others also. Thank you all.

I have made 497 posts in the last 50 weeks, just under 10 per week on average over the 50 weeks I have been blogging, have made about 2940 comments and received some 16,450 votes. I am lucky enough to have a few followers who actually read and comment on my posts and have gathered a small group of people to follow who provide entertaining, thoughtful and interesting posts; You know who you are! Thank you for your efforts on the platform and for your engagement with me.

I’m critical of many things on the platform, idiotic challenges and things that are really nothing more than crap content. I know, someone’s going to comment that they’re good to promote minnows, guppy’s, krill, anchovies and sardines…Or whatever derogatory names are given to newer users, however in reality it’s just promoting shit content and setting a poor example for new users. I am also concerned about bots, shit-posters and pool-rapers; If no one actually blogs the bots won’t have anything to actually bot-vote on right? Shit breaks down then… Again, a poor example for new users.

So, what I enjoy about the platform is the great content (although it’s hard to actually find), the ability to write whatever I want to with impunity and the fact there is some return on investment in the form of an SBD or two here and there.

To date I have only brought two people to the platform; The first was a dud and the second…? Well, you’ll be the judge of that I guess. I haven’t wanted to recruit to the platform as it would generally mean exposing myself, and my own writing, to people I actually know, and since the first on-board I made was monumentally under-whelming, I was reluctant to waste my time again. Oh, I was also a little embarrassed about the platform in general and the issues it has. Anyway, fortunately for you I decided to try again.

Here’s a link to the introduction post from my friend @stuffing as posted just tonight. Click here for her introduction post She successfully completed the brutal and physically challenging Steemit Bootcamp, run by me, conducted last Saturday at a café over breakfast and coffee, and has entered the blockchain…OK, so the bootcamp wasn’t brutal at all however I wanted to give my friend a few pointers and tips to help her out. When I speak with @stuffing it always reminds me of sitting around a campfire chatting; Interesting, informative, philosophical and fun conversation. I think she'll bring that to steemit also.

One of my frustrations has been finding good content and it wasn’t until @mattclarke told me how to view another users feed that I started to get the hang of it. You simply go to that users blog and in the address bar in the browser insert /feed after their name. For example: https://steemit.com/@danielapetk/feed This takes you to their feed and you can peruse the users they follow. I have found some great users in this way. Anyway, I’m sure you all have your own ways of doing so.

As I approach the 1-year mark of being a steemit user I wonder where the platform may lead from here and what my involvement would be. As an anchovy, probably not much other than to feed those higher up the food chain I suppose. I’ll keep writing though and hope to offer some value. I feel good about bringing my friend @stuffing to the platform and hope you guys follow her blog and give her a chance to impress you.

To those people who are just starting out my advice is to write about what you are interested in and are passionate about. Learn to write better, there’s loads of online resources to help you do that, and to engage with other users. Comments like ”good post my dear” are worthless and annoying to users who put a lot of effort into their blogs so try commenting with validity. You’ll get a better result. Engage actively and you’ll start to gain greater traction. Oh, don’t ask for follows that’s a sure-fire way not to get one.

My [almost] one year on the platform has been interesting and I’ve learned a lot about myself. I have rediscovered the value of writing, the cathartic nature of it and the importance of writing with passion plus I have been able to share it with a few people who have chosen to follow and read my content. I look forward to the next 12 months and whilst I don’t know where they will lead me I believe I will find enjoyment and fulfilment.

[- The best way to increase your self esteem is to increase someone else’s -]

Sort:  

You're a pro! Reflective of a year's worth of work and consideration of all valuable users, happy anniversary. Thank you for introducing me and let the upcoming years reward you in many ways: happy days!

I didnt realized that I am following the too nice brothers, without knowing that :)
I didnt know about the feed trick, it is really helpful. Things are getting a bit complicated here, but hopefully everything gets fixed in the future :)

Hi there @hanan...Much love for your comment below. Thank you! :)

I didn't realized that I am following the too nice brothers, without knowing that :)

I agree that things are complicated here these days. Also so much happens off-platform in chats and things (which I don't do) so I'm often left feeling left out. It must be so hard for new users these days.

I just keep blogging and hopefully people find value. I have tried to promote my friend @stuffing through this post knowing how difficult it can be to gain traction. I hope she makes it happen and doesn't drop away like so many others.

Anyway, thanks for your reply and for your follow as well.

Oh, I noticed your name is Cleopatra on your profile...This is my little Cleopatra...So cute! I named her Cleopatra although she gets Cleo mostly. Anyway, I saw an opportunity to show off my little bub...Gotta take them when they arise huh? :)

IMG_0299.jpg

It is a bit difficult, because we dont have many users online and people are mostly using bots.
She can use the #ocd-resteem it helped me a lot and they look for good content.
Also join Discord and the MS Project

https://discord.gg/nYJ5T5

I told her about ocd-resteem so hopefully she remembers to use it. Yeah, bots are an issue. I spend hours researching bung and writing some of my blogs only have 4 people read them sometimes. How long before authors just don’t bother? Then we’ll have bots voting bots.

Have you ever seen a snake eat it’s own tail? Doesn’t end well for the snake.

The most users became just investors and have no time to read content, which make us think about the future of Steemit as content creators. It is really sad :(

Hmm. Steemit is pitched as something better a community. Well, from what I see Steemit mirrors the real world; Full of greed, hubris, inequality, misinformation and more. All packaged up in a neat little bundle.

We need some Steemit Crusaders to make some changes! I’ll sign up!

I remember 6 months ago everything was much better, but now everything seems out of control. Yes freedom is good and we want it, but many things need to be under control, like phishing and selfupvotes in the wrong way :(

Well, you are one month older then me... I have stumbled on the posts/ramblings/rants/philosophical posts from your brother early on and have been following @tarazkp from nearly the beginning. I knew you were on here as well but never actually pressed that follow button (rectified now)
I have tried to introduce a few people to the platform but so far have only 2 success stories, @wolfje who has been very active here since he joined and then @sirwries (who is so occupied with running our witness server that he does not have time to write posts)
It has been a challenge to get more and there have also been some dissapointments.
But if you see the amount of churn on steem, I am happy to have added 2 successes :-) and I have read @stuffing her post and it looks like a promising start.

oh and happy Steemday

Hi @felander, thanks for the follow and comments also. My brother has many followers who don't know I exist and some that follow both of us. In fact, last night I got a reply by someone who follows both of us and had NO IDEA we were even brothers!

It's difficult recruiting for steemit. I've spent a bit of time with @stuffing getting her prepped but now she's here I think she'll go well. She is a really nice young lady and I have a lot of respect for her. I think she will write some amazing blogs. Far better than mine that's for sure!

Anyway, thanks for the follow and all the best.

Owwww Happy Birthday, Galen! <3 I'm really glad to have met you here, both you and your brother!

I joined June too
Though have been growing slowly but I must admit the platform has been great with some great contents too.
Summarily, I have seen a good career in writing. Thanks to Steemit

I just had a quick look at your blog and it looks like you're doing well. It's difficult to get traction on steemit however through great content and persistence one will progress. Thanks for commenting, much appreciated.

firstly, congratulations on your 1 year anniversary on steemit. I am approx only 2 months old but agree with most of the things written in your post.

Second, this is the benefit of reading content from steemit users such as yourself. I learnt about how to go through someone's feed today and find people to follow in a much easier way so thanks for mentioning that in your post.

Lastly, I agree with the experience that you have shared. My first month was very disappointing on steemit. I was writing posts, some quality for sure, but no one was reading them and my feed was all promoted crap. I mean how many times would one want to read the same crypto news articles or watch the same videos that have been seen on youtube. and top top it all up, some content was just a joke picked from the internet, copied and pasted and awarded $50 bucks. Then there's technical chartists, one of them quite infamous for "raping the reward pool".

But during the last month i have found ways to get to the right content and the experience has been very good. It by reaching to people such as yourself and going through their content to learn about steemit and that has helped me improve what i see in m feed.

Happy to have read your experience.

Hi @karamyong, I appreciate your measured and candid reply. I'm going to follow your blog for a while and see how it goes. I am going to follow you because you said this (below) in your reply. I agree.

I was writing posts, some quality for sure, but no one was reading them and my feed was all promoted crap. I mean how many times would one want to read the same crypto news articles or watch the same videos that have been seen on youtube.

thank you! I have moved a lot towards interacting with people in the comments section. However I do try and write one decent article a week. The rest of the posts may be photos from my trip/3rd party video content I enjoy and do not see on steemit/or sometimes articles to participate in contests. After all I am an anchovy ;).

Us anchovy's need to stick together huh?

There's nothing wrong with a travel post or photo. I never (EVER) post an image without supporting text though. That's what Instagram and FB are for. I'm off to the UK for 6 weeks in a week or so and will travel-post along the way. Hopefully people find value in my images and text.

aah cmon man.. you're no anchovy.. :)

yeah, i just wanted to tone down your expectations of quality content. I agree, there's value in seeing good photos, plus people get to know about interesting places in a city, be it restaurants/pubs or museums. And yeah, some perspective or information is always helpful. Good luck for your trip. If its your first time, then this is a great time to come to the UK, its nice and sunny. If its not your first time, then well, i reiterate the good luck! Looking forward to your content from there.

Yep, first time to the UK. Should be good. Aussies are the most-loved people in the world so we'll be popular! :)

Hi galen. At least you got through the first year. That is an achievement on its own. We all need encouragement sometimes but with Taraz in the corner we wont lack the push. If we had half his energy we would be fine. All the best for the next year.

Thanks @cryptoandcoffee I agree, many start with all the good intentions and then fizzle out and disappear. I think it's comes from the fact that people expect to become crypto millionaires in the first week or two.

Anyway, I'm a self-motivating dude and am fortunate to have @tarazkp as a brother, not from a steemit perspective, but in a real-world perspective. I know how hard he works at steemit and on occasions I've got mad about people who try to take advantage or squander his assistance. He is generous but each and every user needs to take the responsibility for their own progression and future, just like in real life.

:)

Totally agree with you.Don't like it when people try and take advantage. Taraz has been around the block though so I am sure he can look after himself. Will still keep an eye open though.

Well almost steemit birthday mate. It sure is a ride isn't it. I find the growing slow, but really don't have the time to plow more in right now, at least not for another three weeks. You know I really enjoy your pieces and find comfort in reading about the life of someone that seem to share many of my thoughts and emotions. I am not an overly proud person and would really appreciate any lessons you could give on my work and how I can improve?

Have a great evening

Hi mate, thanks for your kind words...

I don't know if I have many lessons I guess, just write what you're passionate about and are interested in. Write well from a punctuation and spelling perspective and then engage with validity with others. Some throw useless comments all over the place thinking it's engagement however I prefer a few well-placed comments and votes here and there on a user to get their attention and then see how they interact with me. If they do then it moves forward if they don't then I move on.

There's no magic wand I guess but relationships will take a user further I think.

Thanks buddy. Hence I like talking to my Aussie contact, it's nice to get truth from someone you actually enjoy. Few people do, but I like honesty as it help me grow and build real friendships. Hope you guys are sleeping well by now.

Happy steemiversary @galankp. Although I'm following you for few months now, my engagements in your blogs were much less compared to that I had with your brother. My concern is steemit is still a platform dominated by the language English. Native English speakers and those who have good knowledge in English are the ones who benefit a lot on steemit. Others struggle very hard to even understand the platform!

I was lucky enough to get some recognition for some of my works that brought in a lot of votes and reputation in an organic way. I don't use bidbots either as I believe they just tarnish our community. Some of your stories I had read were great enough to portray the life in Australia! All the best.

Hi mate, if I have failed to engage with your replies in my posts I am sorry. I only have so much time in my day and have a lot of responsibilities and commitments.

You’re right about the English language dominating and I have to admit that I tend to stick to the more well written blogs so sometimes miss some of the ones written by non-english speakers (or those who English is a second language more to the point).

Anyway, keep plugging away and you’ll make it happen. Thanks for your comment.

Yes,I'm trying hard and will make it one day. Thank you for the reply :)

Happy (almost) anniversary! I initially startedin 2016, but once I realized all that was involved and that I was a bit behind the technical curve I went dormant until December of last year. Man, I wish I would have pushed through when I initially sugned uo!

I just read your boot camp sudent's introduction post and was really impressed by her initial offering. Im looking forward to reading more.

Thank you for your support and encouragement over the past few months, it is greatly appreciated!

Good post my dear. (Just kidding).
I do have a tendency to post smaller complimentary comments and I guess it's something that I have to think about changing.

I've also found that keeping my "following" numbers low, it's easier to focus on the local Steemit users and help to build up the community a bit more.

Well now, that's a darn good post, @galenkp. Very impressive, consistent progress for only a year residency, and a long list of decent contributions that do indeed add quality to the available material. Your practice and ability make it seem simple - and certainly rewarding.

I have been working on a friend to become a Steemer and suggested he begin with reading your entries for the first week and use that experience to point him in the right direction. I'll add @stuffing to my follow list and suggest my friend do the same.

Happy anniversary!

Thanks mate, much appreciated. I suggested to @stuffing to check out some blogs too. It’s a good way to offer them some direction and inspiration. Hopefully your recruit makes it through @willymac bootcamp and onto the platform. :)

I can relate with much you have said especially "to people i actually know" lol. Highly Resteemed and happy almost 1 year :).

Thanks so much @weirdheadaches! Such a cool user name too! :)

Thank you,It was very useful،good luck

woop woop

Congrats on completion of 1 year on this platform... steemit is splendid platform where newbies come to join it because of great context and other charm....

Right on.

Good on you for staying with steemit for a year hope we all make another year here. Great job bringing a friend to steemit again.

Wouldn't be the same without you, mate :)

Much appreciated Matt. Need to have a chat Thursday night so hope to have the chance.

Excellent. Always look forward to these meets. Makes it real :)

Congratulations, man! There is so much attrition around here that it is actually an accomplishment to make it this long. I'm glad that you've stuck around. If you haven't joined @abh12345's Engagement League, you should consider it. People who are involved there tend to have about a 50% better retention rate. Just a thought.

You've done quite a few posts. I've tried to put out content consistently, but always seem to have other things get in the way. Some people have said to write your posts first and then write comments as the comments are the fun part. I just like seeing what people have to say. And I like encouraging them for posting. So I comment a lot and sometimes don't post. All that to say, good for you for posting so consistently.

I hope your second recruit does better than the first. My only recruit thus far did one crap post and then quit. Even when I update then with how my account is doing, they haven't shown interest. It's frustrating because I could make their journey much easier (compared to mine) by giving them consistent upvotes to help their process, but it's just not a priority for them, so we move on. Hopefully Stuffing is able to catch on. :)

You’re right man (withnonname) so much fall-out.

I haven’t joined that Engagement League as yet. I guess I’m not one for groups and contests and things. Maybe that’s why I’ll never do so great on steemit.

Anyway, I hope things are well with you and you keep doing what you’re doing because I like. I like a lot. :)

I'm doing well, thank you! And I hope that as you continue to count down the days that you have a great time on vacation. I can't imagine going 13 years without seeing my brother. I hope it's a great time of reconnecting.

I'm glad that you're ok with how I'm conducting myself on here. I like positive feedback... and constructive feedback when appropriate.

There aren't a lot of things that I try to recruit people for on Steemit, but I don't view @abh12345's Engagement League as a "contest" or "challenge." I know how you feel about those. It's more of a group of people who are tracked on how they interact. I find it valuable because I'm not great with the behind-the-scenes-numbers and it helps me see how I'm doing. It has also introduced me to a lot of great people. They help keep me motivated to keep engaged. Then it's not just about money, it's about people.

That's my pitch. You're of course, still free to do as you like and I won't be offended. I admire that you operate on here with a set of principles and you should be coerced into altering those. If it works, great. If not, that's cool too. :)

Fair enough. I don’t look at the figures and back-end stuff to be honest. I just write. If I’m missing out on SBD or a follower or two then so be it. I have a job off the platform and put a lot of effort into that. My blog is relaxation for me, not much more I guess. Sometimes I feel ai’m getting left behind by not engaging with all the groups and stuff and if that’s the case that’s ok too. If I get left behind I’ll drop away and end up perishing like the weak member of the herd. It won’t make much of a difference to my life either way I guess. There is a whole real world out there beyond steemit.

For now though I’m keeping up with the other wilderbeast, if barely, and therefore will keep plodding on.

There is a whole real world out there beyond steemit.

Whaaaat?!

I was just telling @glenalbrethsen that I don't really get enough monetary rewards from the platform to consider this income. It's not even really a hobby. It's more of something that I do for fun and I don't worry as much about the money. If having fun is what you want to do, then do it how you see fit (within legal restrictions of course). :)

when the prices dip and our SP is so low, I think most of us are, in effect, doing this for fun, because there's not nearly enough income to both power up and live off of, so even if some (perhaps even me) could consider this work (because the wife likes that term much better over goofing around), it's kind of a fun way to build some kind of investment that doesn't entirely require money to do it with.

Yeah, this is sort of like a game, but it sounds better to call it work. You can make money off it though and if you hold, the price could increase significantly, so it may pay off. :)

Congratulations on your 1 year steeming. I will echo @themanwithnoname's sentiments concerning Ashers Curation League. Not a contest, although there are rewards, it is a service he provides us to let us know how we are doing when it comes to engagement. Pretty much my entire blog/post are contest related, and a weekly help a new user out post. I mostly like to read, and then make comments. I have actually found some pretty nice things to read and comment on. I also, like most people enjoy the eye candy part of steemit, the graphic novels, the paintings and drawings, and some really good poets from around the world. Eye candy is so easy to find and finding real nice things to look at is no problem at all.

I hope you have a nice time over in Europe.

Thanks, the trip should be good I reckon. All the best with your steemit adventures.

I really like the sincerity expressed in your publication. for the new ones, since I thank you for the advice you give on your subject. Many happiness on your anniversary and that prosperity abounds for you and your family. as always excellent publication.

my friend and I apologize if what I write sometimes is not understood because I use the google translator