The importance of networking on Steemit: inspired by @phortun

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Pumping one great article out after another is a great way to get an audience, but for many of us catching the individual persons attention might prove to be just as good if not even more efficient. For my part, I have spent the most of Steemit just doing articles and not too much interacting with other bloggers, which has proved to be a BIG mistake. It is like putting up a cookie shop every day but no one wanna buy your half burned cookies. Instead, you now decide to knock on peoples doors and find it much easier to sell your product.
connections-2099068_960_720.png

No I am not telling you to go and link your newest article in everyone's post


But if you try to look around on this beloved platform of ours, you will most likely find that a lot of people are sharing the same interest as you but the problem was just you didn't know each other existed. If you think what the person writes(or the video he makes) are interesting to you, why not start following him and regularly check in to write a thoughtful comment?

Eventually, the guy will notice you and most likely return the get curious who the hell this new stalker is. (Im looking at you @phortun!)
39385509_417110362146550_5784863516515106816_n.jpg

Be smart, be like @phortun

Not only did @phortun motivate me to talk about this topic because of his top class comments he seems to make, but also because you can truly see the contrast of his own blogs posts and his comments. When you go to his blog you will notice his payouts are actually quite substantial despite some of his posts are not necessarily anything mindblowing(I'm sorry mate, you said yourself). Although he does write about some interesting topic I think we all can wonder, why does he have this success then? Well, because he networks like a pro and THAT takes as much work if not more as writing an article.

I am not saying you should make "trash posts", because that is not what @phortun does either. But he is a proof of how well someone can do here on Steemit if you decide to reach out to other people. He surely did manage to seduce me to follow him(or was it the other way around? I don't know anymore)

You should see this as in any other business, if you start to create a network around you, you will find your own success doing much better as well. Of course, I am not telling you to treat every person you write to as an investment in your own success, people will smell that a mile away. But just interact on the website as any other social media platform might get you further than you initially would think.

Also why I would try to ignore the wallet of the person you write to and instead just value his work and his person. Who knows, if he is talented enough and becomes a Steemit star, he might pull you with him?

inter.png

Interactions, Intercations and more intercations


To make good articles are surely a great start and if you can manage to do interactions with other bloggers at the same time, you might find yourself in a great spot to start gathering people around you. On Steemit 10 loyal followers are to me much more important than a 100 followers who don't vote or speak to you. Or as @phortun calls them "dead fish".

Interaction is much needed here on Steemit and we can all start solving it by starting with ourselves. Go out there and find some bloggers you would deem worthy of your time and start commenting and supporting them! Eventually, you will feel like this platform is much more alive than you initially would think.

-holm

Sort:  

Oh man, thank you for this nice mention :) Actually, a whole article, not just a mention! :D Yeah, like we have discussed already, networking is very important here. There are many awesome people here on Steemit that we have something in common with (hobbies, opinions, background etc.) so why don´t just go and become friends with them, interact with them, support them... There are great discord / steem chat groups where people with similar hobbies or from same countries / regions gather so joining them is also a great idea. On the other hand, it is important not get overwhelmed. For example, I try to follow only a limited number of people and keep my feed "uncluttered" so that I can still read and manually curate every post that shows up in there.

Maybe a little note for better understanding of my situation - the limited time I have for my own posts is not only because of my networking activities but mostly because I create content for some other accounts too ;)

PS: Thanks for editing my name! :D People seem to have troubles with my name here on Steemit sometimes. I guess I should have gone by "fortune" rather than "phortun" (that is how it is supposed to be spelled I guess haha :D)

His name is actually @phortun. Luckily you screenshot his comment and I could find the guy and follow him as well as I did with you.
See how networking works:) Now you can edit the post and write his name correctly so more people can follow him.
Keep up with the good work!

Well spotted! I was editing it as you said it, not sure why I miss spelled his name, haha. Oh well:)

I am double checking now when tagging people. Done that also :)

I even did that, haha. But I think that "h" is silent when I say it out loud. So I am going to put the blame on @phortun for that one. haha.

You seem to have borrowed some Romanian mindsets since you've been hanging around here. We always blame others...:)
I guess @phortun wont mind about it. By the time he reads the post everything will be as it should...including his name. He might get to know about the situation from the comments though. Let's hope he skips mine :)

Haha :DD

We are exposed it seems

Great call man! Thanks :) And thanks for the follow too ;)

Love this article

Great article, inspired me to reach out further

Thats great!

There is a lot of education in this article .
Thanks buddy.

You welcome man!

Networking helps to get a new perspective, get a better understanding of how people think, feel in different situations, It helps to grow an individual. It's easier and more fun when you think of yourself as a Brand. Now go promote it

Thanks. I will do this from now. Focusing on interaction.

Glad I could inspire:)

Well, @phortun inspired you, then you inspired me, haha.

Networking is an inevitable matter in every area of ​​our life.

I agree to both of you, @holm and @phortun {I double checked his name ;)}, networking is actually very essential for steemit and I would like to mention that there are various accounts (like @steemiteducation, @fineartnow, etc) on Steemit which support the diversified interests we carry. One can always be a part of these accounts and uplift one another.

Interesting, Yeah it seems like there's something for everyone here!

Thank you for this info, I am so new here and I look around and feel like I have no idea what I am doing lol so thank you!

haha we all have been there! Just keep. Stumbling around until you figure it all out

Very true, networking increases your presence on this network, and definitely sets someone apart from the 'dead fish' accounts. Just for clarification, the tags, as you mentioned earlier in your comment on my post, will help me find fellow Steemers right?

More like they will help them find you! :) It's very basic: The tags you use comes under that category l. Example if you put "#travel" on, it will come under there. You can use maximum of 5 tags on a post

Did not remember his name but I remembered the comment. Network effect works.

Networking is important not only in steemit but where ever we go and choose the field of interest and having influence on it is a must

Thanks for a great word of advice! I only recently joined this social media and I had this feeling that merely writing about things and trying to build a high volume following won't take me far. As you put it nicely, I'd much rather appreciate a handful of loyal, true followers, than a myriad of fake ones. That way I know that my content is being read and not just upvoted for rewards.

This is an advertised post

The author of this post or one of his supporters has used one or more paid services to promote this post. This post's valuation and number of upvotes does not represent human curation. This means this post's valuation does not represent community appreciation and should be viewed as advertised content.

If you are new to these services please be warned that bid voting is a huge gamble with little return on investment if not utilized right and might also lead to a net loss.