Steemit is NOT a Social Media Platform - So What Is It?

in #steemit6 years ago

Is Steemit a social media platform?  Is Steemit a blogging Platform?  Is Steemit a place to drop links, promote products or just stay in touch with Friends?

 

Steemits home page states ‘Your Voice is worth something.  Get paid for good content’

Why does this imply to you?  What does this tell people signing up to Steemit?

I am asking you these questions because of discussions I have had with many other steemains.  Over the last while here is some of the stuff I have heard that has caused me some concern.

‘How can I support all my friends?’
‘I need to vote for all of my community but I don’t have enough power’
‘No one sees my content’
‘Why would I post when I don’t earn anything?’

Let me try address some of these concerns and also answer the question, what is Steemit to me?

What Steemit is to Me

Steemit was the first decentralised app to be created on the STEEM BlockChain. To me Steemit is an online blogging platform. It is a place where authors can publish content.  Personally I would compare it more to Medium than Reddit. 

I would even compare Steemit to Wordpress and I would not class it as a social media platform, but a publishing platform.  A social media platform is a place to distribute and discuss content, not publish.  like a magazine is for publishing a shop is for distribution. 

Steemit allows you reward your favourite authors and content with upvotes that have a value attached (by means of payment in STEEM and SBD)

Bearing in mind what I think Steemit is, now I can address some of the stuff I have heard

‘How can I support all my friends?’ – Do all of your friends want to be bloggers and authors?  If so you have your work cut out because at the end of the day, we all only have so many votes and can only spread the joy so far. If you chose to vote for all of your friends because you want to encourage their blogging then you need to decide if you treat them all equally. 

Is it fair on the ones that really do produce awesome content that they get the same vote as the friends that do not?  How do you make sure you do not upset your friends?

If all of your friends do not want to be blogger and authors they why are you voting for them? If you believe Steemit is to reward great authors and content then the issue of supporting ALL friends is solved. That is not what Steemit is for or about.

‘I need to vote for all of my community but I don’t have enough power’ – It’s great that you have a community you want to support and grow.  Community is and will be the backbone of Steemit but not everyone in a community will have the ability to produce great content and as a community leader, you need to seek out the best authors time and time again.  

If content is not worth the vote then don’t give a vote.  Instead use the community to educate the author and help them improve their content.  If they don’t want to be blogger and authors they will leave.  To me this is fine, because Steemit is a publishing platform not a social media platform.  A community should not be just about votes.  If it is, then it’s just a voting circle, and not something I really approve of.

I have also noted from some community leaders that as they are such nice people, wanting to help, they get suckered.  Wanting to help everyone in their community will lead to them being scammed time and time again because there are always people trying to take advantage.

‘No one sees my content – Did you drive any traffic?  There seems to be a misconception that Steemit will also bring the traffic and readers to your blog post.  This is something I have do disagree with.  This is something you use social media for.  Yes Steemit has organic traffic, but you are in control of your destiny and should never give control to a third party (like Steemit, or even Wordpress)

If you start a blog on Wordpress, how do you get traffic?  Do you sit back and wait to see what happens with the mind-set oh I wrote it so everyone will read it?  Lol cos if you do then you have a lot to learn.

It doesn’t really matter where you publish your articles, if it is on Medium, Wordpress or Steemit.  You should promote your own content.  Promoting your content does not mean going to Discord and spamming every room and sending DMs to anyone you can.  That is SMAP.  You need to learn to use social media to promote your content that you have published. A little bit of social media marketing knowledge will go a long way here and I will cover that in a different article because there are ways you can easily boost the traffic to your blog.  

‘Why would I post when I don’t earn anything? What are you posting?  Does your content interest me?  Do you solve a problem for me? Is your blog entertaining? Because if it does not fit into any of these then I am not going to vote for your content.  It does not provide any value.  Steemit is not a social media platform but a publish platform.  If you are posting snippets of your life, well unless you have an extraordinary life then chances are, most people don’t care.

But if you are posting great content and not being found then there are things you can do to, which maybe you are not doing.  Like promoting your content and using social media marketing or being active within communities.  And active means engaging, not dropping a link, saying a quick hi and then leaving.

Conclusion

Personally I think the home page on Steemit is deceiving.  It does not talk about blogger and authors or publishing but indicates that anyone can earn by voicing their opinion. Ok it does say “good content” but that’s rather loose I think.  And this had led to many people using Steemit like a social media platform and not a publishing platform.  Now steemit is full of people sharing content that has no value, giving out they are not earning anything.

STEEM and Steemit are different, just like DTube and Steemit are different.  DTube is for video and Steemit is for blogging.  This leaves me with another question for you.  Should Steemit only display posts made via steemit.com and exclude posts made via other DApps created on the steem blockchain?

I would love to hear your thoughts and your feedback on this.  Please do leave your comments below, I can’t wait to hear what you have to say.   What is Steemit to you?

I am also pinging @eastmal, @mrday,  @said-nuruzzaman , @sevenfingers , @tezzmax, @steemit-jp, @midfrost and @abh12345 I would especially like to hear from you on this topic

Don't forget to vote for your witnesses - @abh12345 and myself run the @steemcommunity witness server.  Please do consider us for your vote. You can use this link to place your vote https://steemit.com/~witnesses  but as we are not in the top 50, you will need to enter our witness name @steemcommunity and then press vote

Sort:  

I think I have to be visiting this particular post everyday, cause it talks about everything every newbie needs to know. Why did I join Steemit? And all other similar questions. I've also been thinking about that motion you moved about steemit being a social media or not, but I tell you, Steemit is so versatile. Thanks for sharing this @paulag.

Steemit was a dying platform that I thought could be so revivified by the intentional step towards engagement through social interactions.
I was clearly in the wrong, so whatever it may have been is now completely irrelevant.

As I said on the discord server, either our voice has value, however short our song, or it simply does not.
There's no middle ground.

So, I got the hint and I'll leave the platform, take with me my headstrong anti-societal opinions, and leave the ants to, like factory-chicken, peck at eachothers over the scraps of a medium whose functioning remain wholly incomprehensible for the inoculated minds.

Thank you for your time, and your attention. 🙏

why would you leave the platform? My opinion is only my opinion and that is why I asked the question, to see what other people thought. I knew when making this post, that it would be on the controversial side, but not so much it would make someone feel like they should leave, but instead make them want to show me a better way and I do think that that has been achieved. I value you attention and opinion so pinged you to hear how you feel on the matter.

we have had some very interesting replied to this topic and each and everyone of us have a place here on steemit. Without people to engage in discussion what would steemit become?

Not everyone is a blogger, and when I came to steemit first, I thought I had no change because I was not a developer, look how different it is now. And that is because people like you, come with more ideas and prove steemit to be more that originally thought.

Social interaction is something I support greatly here on steemit and I believe our attention also has value in addition to our voices

Hi Paula, I agree with most of the points you brought up, except for what you wrote regarding Discord not being ideal for content promotion. I think the key issue using Discord is how you promote your content.

We both know eachother's content and we both value its quality as well. You don't read all my software articles because you probably don't have time for that, and the same is true for me. But when we read eachother's content, we (almost) always enjoy and value it.

Looking at the "promotion" of my own content, for example my Learn Python Series episodes, what I do, is that sometimes but not always I mention a newly published articles of mine to you. My 'strategy' is that I think about the importance and relevance of any article I publish with respect to the people that could be interested in it. For example, I know you're not a Pythonista, yet you are interested in data analysis and visualisation. When I've published a Python tutorial that might interest you somehow, I notify you about it.

Notifying you is never SMAP (cool typo? on purpose? never seen it before but like HODL, I like it!), because we are friends. We talk about lots of stuff, about our life, about our content. And we became friends months before, because we have genuinely invested in getting to know eachother.

So that might be one additional "tip" for Steem newcomers interested in marketing themselves: join Discord, read people's content, interact, be genuinely interested in the other person, become friends. And then "promote" your content. Don't connect just for being able to "promote" later! Do it because you care personally. Be you. Be intrinsically interested.

Paula, I'm sure this doesn't come as a surprise to you, and if it does (nah, it doesn't :P) then please don't feel offended for this confession :P , but I talk to other people as well, on Discord, not just you. (Don't cry now, please don't! :P)

And for each and every person I was the one to first interact with, I was interested in them as well prior to contacting them. That could be about anything. Their content for example (that's how I met you, plus your a sweetie pants), or their initiatives (that's how I met @elear and @jedigeiss), the quality of comments (@lextenibris), the originality (@traf), the joint Discord connections (e.g. @espoem, @amosbastian, @omeratagun , @littleboy etc. etc. etc.), the "joint interests" (e.g.@emrebeyler and @wehmoen regarding Python coding, yes @wehmoen I mean you, you need more Python in your life! :P). Or @stellabelle for being so well-known and interesting and smart with her skills and character. And @ausbitbank for being a rockstar supporter. Or @someguy123 for being such a cool entrepreneur. @ghasemkiani for publishing his persian-english book translations for which he cares deeply (he's also a good self-taught programmer and medical doctor, really friendly as well!) And @cnts , who I haven't talked to for over 6 weeks, who is a real friend and a generous person and who I miss having around.

I could go on for hours about all the people I know from here, and sorry if I didn't mention you but I did think about you. Yes you too miss EPIC and miss Jules. And you too, yes you...!

All those people I know because I interacted with them. I simply cannot chat with them all daily, that would be impossible. But I did once, and will again. Not a single one of them I ever contacted to "article SMAP". But many of them I shared my articles URLs with.

Interact! :-)
@scipio

Glad you liked the type, lol I think I will leave it and say it was done on purpose.

discord is awesome but does not server every niche and many authors don't have a strategy and just send links to post after post, even when they are ignored.

Believe it or not, I did not cry reading that you talk with others...funny cos I didn't want to tell you I also have other friends and peers on discord in case it made you cry lol.

Many of the people I speak with on Discord, I too reached out to. But before I did, I knew who I was reaching out to and why, as I assumed you did. I also ensured that I was either referred to the person or I engaged with them in public chats first.

Thanks for the reply but you left my question unanswered, what is Steemit? and should Steemit.com drop posts made via other DApps created on the blockchain?

Not having answered those questions before, opened up an opportunity for another comment interaction! Perhaps that was strategy too? :P

Steemit, to my perception, isn't like any other platform, and in that sense it's completely unique:

  • due to the existence of crypto / monetary rewards on Steemit, lots of emphasis is put there, and I don't think that helps the platform growth nor content quality, at least in its current form. Those direct "contribution rewards" are completely missing elsewhere, and since it's influencing user behavior on Steemit beyond doubt, both from a quality ánd SMAP perspective, this aspect alone puts Steemit in a league of its own;

  • the existence of bots on Steemit, a way to automate things, is of course also completely unique, at least compared to other "social media / publishing" platforms. I don't think the possibility to develop and deploy bots is "bad" per se, but currently most bots are not "original" either.

  • I'm completely amazed why Steemit Inc doesn't severely upgrade Steemit.com, not to mention the new account sign-up process. So much more could be done with it...! The Steem & SBD market cap (price * circulating supply) partly positively correlates with the amount of active users of the Steem platform. It can also be perceived as the "company's worth".

  • The way I'm looking at the Steem ecosystem, is that it's still in its infancy stages. It's characteristics as a publishing / blogging platform are only tiny fractions of its full potential. Look at the speed of the steem (graphene) blockchain technology compared to other blockchains. Look at the amount of "transactions" (where a transaction is not just financial, but can be anything, including a post, or a follow, or whatever). And the community using it all.
    Already via Discord (another thing: why do we need an external private messaging environment???) I personally have had a few arrangements for me to (co-) develop Python tools for others for a Steem/SBD compensation. Why can't we have "smart contracts" in direct platform-supported way to make such agreements between users? Look at the new Utopian moderator payment system (which TheScipMeister thought of originally), where we have the system auto-commenting and upvoting those comments, on behalf of the mods. Same principle, in essence, as SteemDunk: expand on that tech, and we'll have an opportunity for subscription based payments / smart contracts, all at the core of the platform. Look at @someguy123's @privex-io : how cool would it be, if we could just - from within Steemit.com - tick a few Privex server options, add a domain, get that server and auto-pay for it subscription-based with Steem/SBD? We could add any product or service to that ecosystem.

  • That way, blogging, would be just one possible option of the Steem / Steemit ecosystem. A gigantic system of "Crypto Commerce" added on top of it would be another, possibly a far more valuable one. Look at the BTC price, look at BTC circulating amount. And look at SBD price, and its circulating amount. The amounts of both are in the exact same ballpark; prices are not. But Steemit / Steem / SBD has even more potential: we have the blockchain tech, the community / active users, so if we realize and implement that "Steem / SBD Crypto Commerce" ide of mine... just imagine what the Steem / SBD price and market cap potential could be if you look again at BTC's....

@scipio
(PS Paula: I kindly took your idea / question to another place :P )

wow lol maybe I should not have asked. There is a big difference between steem and steemit and the potential of the blockchain is massive

I completely agree that Steemit isn’t social media. I compare it to a website blog similar to your wordpress analogy. You are correct in your view on traffic and overall viewpoint as well. At least in my opinion. Thanks for the share! Resteem

Thanks for the resteem and stopping by

its not a social platform.. its not a blogging platform either.
its a place where.. bots roam free.. bots vote.. bots earn cash (lots of cash).. and bots will get you to the front page. in short, bots rule!

Sadly it's one way to see things, AND it's getting closer to being the only way.

bots are a real problem that is for sure, but lets imaging this was not the case, then what is steemit?

i was inclined to say blogging.. but its more social media due to the connections (friends?) and upvotes (likes?).

Bots are not the problem in general, because they are also very useful for many users who have a lot of Steempower. For example somebody has 100 000 SP and he wants to spent everyday 20% of his Votingpower. Because the User has so much Steempower and the effect off each upvote is massive he has to devide his Votingpower into smaller peaces e.g. 5% upvotes. Therefore if he wants to spend 20% of total Votingpower he would need to do 400 x 5% upvotes. That is a huge amount of work to do everyday the user won't be able to achieve this and therfore Votingsbots are a good thing when it comes to spreading your Steempower to the community.
The other point I like to mention is that Steemit will soon become the hivemind update. This feature allows the creation of private and public communitys which also be managed by moderators. So they will have the power to decide which users can join the specific community and therefore he could also decide not to support Votingbots.

People with high vote should manually upvote people instead of giving auto upvotes thats wickedness... If every one does that wjo gets paid..

I think the problem comes when Steemit is compared to FB or G+, where people can interact with their friends. I have posted before on how users can just interact with their friends, but few seem to do that; they see the money and hope for riches.

Upvoted and added to the next MAP Resteem post.

thanks for the resteem. FB and G+ are not publishing platforms, there are social media sites and I think understanding the difference is very important for moving forward

True, but I was thinking of all those who promote Steemit on those platforms precisely as an alternative.

I still have the feeling that Steemit is turning into an aggregator of all the other Steem platforms and apps being developed. To be purely a blogging platform would require some changes to the UI; even some editorial previewing such as Utopian.

It's a discussion worth having, and if there is a coherent wish-list of what bloggers would like to see, then we can find out if it feasible on Steemit or whether another front-end is needed.

oh I like where this is going. a front-end for blogging only could be awesome

Well... make a wish!

Too late here, and too tired, but one thing that needs careful thinking (and careful encoding) is whether a cohort of curators is needed, how they would function and how they would be chosen. I think a curation vote (or factor) would be needed that is independent of rewards.

Also, need to separate one's blog stream from resteems.

Also, need to see trending by comments as well as (possibly) trending by curation-factor.

Also... oh, enough for now! :-)

are you working on this already ? Sounds like it is something you have been thinking about?

Even in interaction it still subjective to the person you are interacting with
How can u explain the people that are celebs on youtube and make so much money without interaction? And they in turn dont suppport anyone

Loading...

what is steemit to me? good subject, quite controversial where unfortunately subjectivity comes into play! and we will all have a different opinion, steemit for me is a social network where I share information with others, I call it social network because I can interact with everyone through this section of comments, which can not do for example in a magazine, now well, When I joined this platform I was told about sharing quality content, which is also very subjective, what I like does not have to please everyone, I understood that later, I also understood that I should not vote for all my friends because it would end my voting power.. so after so many things, I decided to enjoy the platform healthily, reading and learning as much as I can, for now I publish little, but I do interact a lot with the people I follow. Even with all the doubts I have about steemit, I like it and I enjoy it. Happy afternoon
Sorry for my mistakes, I use a translator

There is much subjectivity involved and yes we all have our opinions.

To me you have it right. Enjoy finding good content, learning and interacting because with out people doing that, steemit aint much

Thank you for your comment

thank you for your kind reply

Hi Paula, in this context, one thing I would like to also include is that STEEM also opened the doors for development task or works. In one of the words of Ned, he said that 'STEEM' took on a life of its own (driven and produced of course by the community).

So what is Steemit? I do agree that it is close to medium - a thought also mentioned by @dragosroua.

So in the context - what is Steemit? For me, it's a platform built on top of the STEEM blockchain. Nothing more than that. Whether it is for publishing or distributing content, I really don't want to differentiate. For me, it's about discovery - discovery not in terms of just publishing content - bjt a discovery about yourself.

How well do you know yourself? What are your likes and dislikes? What do you have or can do that can add value to the platform? Am what I doing adding value? What needs do I have?

thank you @eastmael. You are quickly becoming one of steemits success stories so I am delighted you took the time to respond.

I would agree with what you have said, Steemit is a discovery in all terms :-)

Thank you Paula. One thing that I've been planning to do is to look back. I know that the #steemitbc and #blockchainbi community are two of the communities I consider home.

You are quickly becoming one of steemits success stories so I am delighted you took the time to respond.

I am speechless and don't know how to respond. I know that it's too early to tell. Success is a tricky word. :)

very assertive, authoritative, has more value as a woman of Ireland, This is the perfect post is read by people who do not understand steemit.
#Greetings from elnazry ...

I am ready to vote for @steemcommunity as witnesses.

thank you for your support

SteemIt is the "Firehose". All the steem platforms dump into it. Communities, other front-ends and SMTs will enable our ability to have a Social Media Site, A bloggers site, A vbloggers site, a meme site a conspiracy site, and all the things that allow people to enjoy the content they wish to produce or consume. I believe each community will have the ability to add moderators, rules and funding if they don't like what is currently available. I wonder what we will complain about then.

I cant wait for the community features and i think this will change steemit a lot, and for the better.

Firehose - i like it 😀

Your article has opened my mind about what Steemit really is. Regards @dsatria.

Actually, I think steemit is a social platform but it is more open, where bots are everywhere..

Amazing insight but in a situation where the community leaders select a few and support, what become of other members?

not everyone can be awesome bloggers. What happens to the player that does not get picked for the match. This is life. If they are not awesome bloggers then they should contribute in other ways such as being awesome curators or accepting steemit is not the platform for them.

This is a difficult decision to make for sure. You have a point, however

Hello @paulag,

Like i often tell my friends whenever i want to talk about steemit, I preached Passion, Fun, and relationship

I leave out the money aspect of it even though it is what makes it different from other social media.

I do steemit full time. I earn very little than i expected when i started compare to my current reputation. But i never complain. Well some may say Why?

I try my best to foster relationship as much as possible - commenting, upvoting and the likes, but the result i'm getting isn't commensurate to what i'm putting in.

But i'm passionate about what i do. I love it. I meet new and good people. And i quite understand there are so many people to give attention to. If 100 of people comment on your blog, you're likely to notice very few, say 10. You cannot attend to all of them. So the truth is "one side will alway suffer".

But the solution i realised is "until some of our whales begin to realised the need to give attend to the community", the problem will persist. I love steemians like @donkeypong, @teamsteem, @lukestokes, @surfyorgi, @surpassinggoogle and many more. These people's present can be felt. We can see how well they have contribute to the growth of African and other communities compared to some that exhaust their energy and resources flagging unnecessarily, and the likes that heap the reward pool to themselves.

@surpassinggoogle contributed so much to my growth on steemit - giving me the hope of better days ahead. I so much hold him in high esteem.

I love your explanations as answers to the aforementioned questions. They compliment my knowledge.

Agree @paulag! Steemit is far from being easy money alright. We see statistics and get worried about retention rate, but as you put it clearly enough, Steemit might not be for everyone. While I believe that everybody has something to offer, if anyone is to succeed in this platform he/she has got to be willing to continuously learn to improve in terms of quality (value addition), and engagement (marketing yourself and the value to add).

It is quite a struggle for me personally in terms of where to allocate my limited time, as I know many others are also struggling.

About limiting the displayed post between platforms, this gets quite tricky. I still feel there should be a common place where contents from all front ends are displayed. A place where any form of contents can be upvoted and commented on. On the other hand, we might need an app exclusively displaying text and image form content with some criteria for what goes there. So when you want to get entertained by memes you go to one place, to see a video format another, and to appreciate amazing photos in another. If one wants to read a real blog there needs to be a place exclusively for that as well.

I love this post. No more than I love your data posts, but this one is thought provoking in an entirely different way.

True that Steemit is more like Medium and Reddit mixed together, than a social media platform like Facebook. However, there seems to be a tendency for Steemit members to want Steemit to become a new Facebook (especially with all the latest news). In my opinion, it is way more of a publishing site or personal journal, like you mentioned. There is a lot to still do on Steemit to become a better platform and I think that is why it is still in beta. But I mean, great things take time, right? So, I'm giving Steemit time and meanwhile loving the community feeling it provides :)

I'm hopeful that with the recent news about Facebook's handling of our data, that more people will be attracted to places like steemit, in the same way that some high-quality YouTubers came over after that company introduced the demonetization for some. I would prefer to see all content accepted on steemit through other apps like Dtube, busy.org etc.

I still have a Facebook account, but I often just use it to post a link to a steemit blog. I'm sure I'll soon get rid of it and spend my time on steemit instead.

Thanks for sharing your views--I enjoyed reading them.

Now ,i have found the answer to the question i have been asking for so long as i read through your post . because ,understanding the platform will help users a lot to actualize their dreams.thanks so much my dear , more grease to your elbow to infect us with costly information on how this platform work

Loading...

According to my opinion, we can not compare Steemit with blogs and social media since Steemit is built with different platform which is blockchain. Of course there are a lot of similarity, but the main differences is that Steemit is belong to all of us, encourage all of us to have changes in this this world, from centralized to decentralized system, open wallet and so on. For me, Steemit is also an opportunity to be able to write and socialize without any interference from government, I lost so much data in social medias and other blogs and I cant accept that. About reward, I think it is also a way not only to distribute the coins but also to encourage people to realize that we can do something for others, we do not have to worry to give, to create, and to share. This is what is the most important, we are living in modern era with high technology that make all of us sometimes forget how to be human. Steemit is also teach us a about the real democracy, since we are all living with "centralized belief" about democracy that actually different from the concept of democracy itself. Steemit allow us to do whatever we want to do, of course there are rules and regulations, guidance as well, but all are depend on ourselves. We can not expect anybody over here, we just have to put our best effort, and that is not about to get reward and friends, but to help all of us to have a better life and future.

In short, I think Steemit is a new brave movement that help all of us for a real changes in this world, toward a better life and future and we all could participate by being content creators and curators, and share this movement other people as much as possible. The more people we have in Steemit and the stronger community we have, the bigger chance we have to move faster toward the changes. That's my opinion.

Yes, @paulag Steemit.com should have a way to filter out content from other platforms. But, leave that choice to us.

  • I find it a bit frustrating to see a pic post earn more than the "real content" posts. I say that tongue in cheek, because, of course, we all have our own interpretation of what "real content" is. I'm personally not here to look at cool pics.
    • I can't remember off the top of my head who does the list showing top categories. Photography is always waaaaaay ahead.
      • I've ran across some great content through searches, that may be months old. I always click to see that person's wall. I've found that a lot of those people who used to produce what I consider great content, have switched their attention to just posting photos. In my mind, that's a shame...

Sorry, I had to come back and add some more thoughts on your thought-provoking post...

  • Perhaps one problem of the great content producers, is the limited timeframe you can earn rewards. If your work doesn't get seen in 7 days, that's it. What you earn in those first 7 days after publishing is all you will ever earn.
    • In the "real world" of publishing content, you have the potential to earn forever. Write a book you can earn for years to come. Create a web site to post your content, join some affiliate programs, or create an ebook to sell and you can earn as long as you maintain your site.
      • Have you seen the new SMT site called https://appics.com/ ?
        It is steemit.com with a few twists. One I found most interesting is it has a tip button. Meaning, you could get income forever from your great content. The difference between a tip and an upvote in the 7 day timeframe, is that the upvote is basically free, but the tip would actually come out of your wallet...
        Here's the post I did about it a few days ago...

Unfortunately when the few control the whole, it's not decentralized. Not truly, anyway.

Is it social media? Both yes and no! It's a mix of many different platforms, but not fully any of them.

Steemit is a new online culture that has great promise, but only time will tell if it becomes a good example.

Right now it's sliding down a slippery slope and must be cleaned up. If not, there are many new idea's that can easily replace it.

Loading...

Hii @ paulag if I think steemit is my heart diary, because I do not understand the meaning of reward or anything like that, I always read post km, but any want comment always miss regards 😄

Very good analysis @paulag ...I think that's important the work in the communities...educating and learning the rules on first.
And then, the interaction is the most funny and pleasurable thing on this network.
Finally, without good ideas, isn't possible walk a good way here...this is obvious, in my opinion.

Thanks a lot for your post!

Bye
Girolamo

Thanks for this effort @paulag, I really like a lot of your points here. Steem is way harder than people realise, and I think it takes a few weeks for it to really sink in.

The thing is, it's confusing because this very blog post counters a lot of your points. You've gotten paid pretty well for this post, because of the relationships you've established on this platform. This platform probably isn't that interesting to others outside of Steem, and you probably didn't advertise this post on all the other social media sites. This post probably isn't that interesting to Google either.

Instead, it's very interesting to us, which is why it gets upvoted, but I've only seen it because someone else I followed resteemed it, and that's because of the relationships you've made.

If someone new had written this exact same post, they wouldn't have made anything.

I think Steem is more like Medium than anything else, people don't get any claps unless they have a significant Twitter following, but I do think it's also like Reddit, and Instagram and everything else too. It's all about the relationships you have right now.

I actually have a ton of Googleable content I want to write for this platform (in that it would appear fairly high in search results for particular popular keyword searches) but don't want to publish it yet because I just don't have the number of relationships established to get it the exposure it would need.

Thanks for provoking-many thoughts!

The rule of "a good content" sometimes doesn't apply to some steemians who just care about upvote and earn without looking to the quality of the contents of a post. So, in one way.. I agree with you that Steemit sometimes deceiving.

Its a circle jerk place where bots buy you a place in trending. However, your opinions and content needs to be politically correct, or else no one will touch you with an upvote. So people will suck up to politically correct people with money in hope of receiving some golden cum from the circle jerking.

Doesn't it just mean we 'non politically correct' types, must help each other though...?

We are from Nanggroe Steemit Community (NSC) very amazing figure of Mrs. @paulag

Yes Steemit a blogging Platform. Beautiful post. I like your post

I think I shouldn't explain anythings else about steemit because you have wrote it on here.
Thank you very much for your explaination

Being totally new to social media or blogging (and not thinking of it in terms of a 'publishing platform' at all).
I never saw it in these terms before, but it does somewhat clarify a fog in my head as to what steemit is...
(One I didn't actually know had, until I read this.. lol)

Thanks.

To me Steemit is an online blogging platform.

I concur. But many don't. There are many things being promoted to appeal to non-bloggers, in order to gain a quantity of users on the platform. The quality of post with respect to the informational quality is not a concern for many who want to direct the platform in a certain direction.

I think is the way you Steemit that is important, for me is a way to promote my content and generate a small stream of income.

Every time someone says that Steemit will crush facebook I just think, why? The two are not related as you outlined in your post.

Steemit is a Reddit alternative which rewards contributors with a cryptocurrency Steem.

I agree with you completely. I think the way people are marketing this is all wrong. The fact that the monetary aspect is what is touted gets people here thinking solely about money. This is a problem. We need to focus upon decentralization and other attributes.

I agree that we are Steemit does not have the Reddit features. Perhaps the update with communities will give it that feel.

There is a new application that is identical to Reddit called parley.io. This is another application that could really take off.

The way we look the world will determine our attitude toward it. Steemit for me is a door of a yard that is sometimes a bit deceiving as to which room I'm headed for, it takes a person who has the capacity to help people who will pass through the door of this yard, community leaders who are able to build community and manage conflict well because the end of this door of the door is money , I'm not talking quality here, just answer what is steemit ?
a leader will see this from a different point of view, not all the gateway will make money, but a relationship and communication will be more valuable than money.
Essentially a door will be passed by anything and anyone as long as there are people who open and close it. thank you mrs @paulag has mentioned me for this very educative writing.

I also thinking like steemit is not a social media. steemit is more like a publishing platform like wordpress, blogger, and others. but this is a little bit make me confuse because some content such as uploaded by dtube, dsound, or steepshot is also displayed on the steemit.com's feed. especially after the zappl was launched, this is make me thinking about: something that make us annoyed is'nt it? when looking at the content you've tried to make as well as you can was published at same place with short quotes and competing to get attention from the people?

I think we need a little change here. the content was uploaded by third party applications such as dsound, dlive, dtube, etc. should be removed from the steemit feed. although it should still be in steem blockchain videos must be posted on video sharing pages, as well as photos. and steemit will remain to be publishing platform for content creators. I think, as a curator we will more easily determine the quality standards according to our interests.

I've been on steemit for almost a year. Now while that may be really short for some, by belief that Steemit is a Reddit killer grows stronger each day.

those who ask so are the ones who think of themselves alone. they never thought to create content that could benefit others

If we let them exclude content from being seen they will rape the reward pool with impunity they only wish they had now.

@bitgeek and @statsmonkey have stopped putting out their reports, i dont know why, but i can guess.

Steem is like nothing else. The formula to be success here is totally different. One has to know a lot more 'tactics' like promoting using bots, participating Discord channels, beg for votes or whatever. Ultimately, it was all about the money.

I dunno if others said that Steemit is not a social media cause in fact we reached something new relationship in this platform. We like found out the new circle that we had in social media before. I'm also agree with someone who 's said that steemit is blog cause whoever could write anything positive in these platform. I think steemit is the place where we could feel freedom to share everything!
greetings from Indonesia...

Yes at some point I totally agree with you @paulag. I agree steemit is a publisher platform, but it has a little function of social media where we can socialize with other.
For me reward is a bonus, while I can learn more to be a writer, because I feel myself is so difficult to transform what is in my mind onto a peace of paper. I do realize that if i want my post to be rewarded I need to have something useful for others.

Steemit just like university for me where I can chose your faculty as I wish, and learn accordingly. I am still learning how to add value to other by producing good contents, when I got nothing I will not put a blame to any one, but myself. I need to be smarter. that is why I learn from the people who has done such great thing on this platform.

final thought:

Steemit is the place mostly for publishing good and valuable contents, and help other author by rewarding their blog content when I thing I can get good thing or value from it. this the place for smart people to be recognized by providing content that can add value and good thing

Regards

Even so, in Indonesia especially Aceh only Mrs @paulag is a budding steemian stone

Voted @steemcommunity and @abh12345

Really amazing writing "explanation about steemit" made me feel interesting to know more 🙂

Thank you for sharing with us! @paulag

Steemit is a hitchhiker, drunkenly wobbling down the shoulder of a highway with money stuffed in its back pockets. A few notes have fluttered to the asphalt, wind teasing the corners as trucks rumble by.

The hypnotic hum of cars drones on, until a junkyard bus with scrap armor and garish spraypaint squeals to a halt - worn brakes shoving bare metal against protesting rotors.

A horde of masked thugs pile out, smiling and elbowing each other. Barbed wire wrapped around crude sticks, sharpened garden trowels and makeshift weapons glinting in the high-beams.

The leader steps up and rudely pulls a wad of cash from Steemit's back pocket, causing Steemit to turn around, glazed eyes struggling to focus.

Time to pay.

And they will take it all.