PAY IT FORWARD FOR THE HOLIDAYS

in #story4 years ago (edited)


Me, feeling a little too Christmasy.

A chance encounter with a co-worker years ago sparked an idea that has grown into a tradition.

It began like this...I asked her what she was doing for the Holidays and she said…

"My family has decided we have enough stuff. We're very fortunate so we're going to hand out twenty dollar bills on Christmas Eve."


“When you learn, teach. When you get, give.” — Maya Angelou


This is how it all started.

The news these past few years have been full of darkness and negativity. The truth seems difficult to sort out and it feels like our world is in a downward spiral. This really got my brain going about how we could start a wave of love and positivity. Through my social media pages I'm fortunate enough to have a global audience of amazing people.

I'm a firm believer that there is still more good than bad in the world and I'd like to prove it.

Our society has turned this Holiday season into a frenzy of consumerism that brings with it a whole host of negative emotions for a lot of people. More than any other time of the year, the Holidays make people long for loved ones who are no longer here, brings back feelings of regret, it can make people feel like they don't have enough money or things, and like they don't measure up in general.


“We make a living by what we get; we make a life by what we give.” — Winston Churchill


Your Participation Is Requested. Kindness is the best investment, after all.

What I propose, if you can spare it, is to invest $20 (or whatever you can spare) in the goodness of humanity. You can use this $20 to help someone you know or a stranger you cross paths with.

Pay someone's bill in a restaurant, buy a homeless person a hot meal, or simply hand someone a twenty dollar bill and say Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, or whichever Holiday greeting you prefer. It's easy to forget that each of us are fighting a battle every day and, despite appearances, we have no idea what kind of struggles others are going through.

This idea is very simple. It serves a twofold purpose. It may just help renew someone else's faith in the goodness of humanity and, I promise, it will make you feel INCREDIBLE! This simple act will bring you much more joy than anything the $20 could purchase. In fact, it might be the best gift you get this year.

I'll be taking part in this as well and will report back my results!

If you decide to participate, please share your results and don't forget to tag your post with #payitforward. You may just receive a little extra something yourself. ; )

Spread the word by SHAREing this post. Let's start a wave of light to drown out the darkness of this world...or maybe just forget about it for a little while.

Thank you for your interest in my work this year. May your Holidays be rich with all the things that truly matter.

With Gratitude,

~Eric Vance Walton~

(Gifs sourced from Giphy.com)


alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Hi Eric, what is your opinion. Doing kindness to others will give our soul peace. In our religion, Islam also recommend for charity. Even a great reward is provided for those who like to give alms from my God. Giving something to others also fosters our social soul. I hope you find your happiness in this Christmas. Have a nice day, sir.

I very much agree that acts of kindness are integral to our own happiness as human beings. Whenever I've been at my lowest helping someone else lifts me up. Thank you Eliana!

Wonderful initiative @ericvancewalton, giving a gift to a stranger will not only ease their load and warm their hearts but also give them a little hope; could also be the only gift they will get this Christmas!

Thanks @lizelle! It's not getting the same amount of traction as it has in previous years but hopefully the message gets to those it's meant to. I hope you and your family have a great Christmas!

I admire your actions and fully share your opinion that there are more good people and that no matter what kindness you need to instill in people from childhood. An obvious sign of kindness is the conscious manifestation of goodness, useful things that require nothing in return.

Thank you @magnata! I totally agree.

Such a great and heartfelt post Eric!!