One Thousand and One Nights: The Story of the Merchant with the Efreet: 3rd Night

in #storylast year (edited)

The Story of the Merchant with the Efreet


efreet.jpeg
source

The second sheikh finishes his amazing story and the efreet grants him one-third of the blood of the merchant.

Then the third sheikh starts his own story, saying that it is even more astonishing than the other two.

ON THE THIRD NIGHT

Sheherazade said:

The second sheikh continued his story:

The journey lasted a whole month, at the end of which we entered a town where we sold our wares; we made a profit of ten dinars for each dinar! Then we left the city.

As we arrived at the seaside, we found a woman, dressed in old and worn clothes, who approached me, kissed my hand, and said to me: "O my master, can you help me? and I will be able, in return, to recognize your benefit!" I said to her: “Yes, of course! I know how to help and oblige, but don't think you have to be grateful to me." She answered me: “O my master, then marry me, and take me to your country, and I will dedicate my soul to you! Oblige me then, for I am one of those who know the price of an obligation and a benefit. And don't be ashamed of my poor condition!" When I heard these words, I felt heartfelt pity for her: for there is nothing that does not happen with the will of Allah, who is mighty and great! So I took her away, I dressed her in rich clothes; then I spread out for her, in the ship, magnificent carpets, and I gave her a hospitable and wide welcome, full of urbanity. Then we left.

And my heart loved her with great love. And since then I haven't left her day or night. And only I, among my brothers, could work with her. So my brothers were full of jealousy, and they also envied me for my wealth and the fine quality of my wares, and they eagerly cast their eyes on all that I possessed, and they concerted my death and the abduction of my money: for the Shaitan made them see their action under the most beautiful colors.

One day when I was sleeping with my wife, they came to us, carried us off, and threw us both into the sea; and my wife woke up in the water. Then all of a sudden she changed shape and turned into a female genie. She then took me on her shoulders and put me down on an island. Then she disappeared for the whole night, and came back towards morning, and said to me: “Don't you recognize me? I am your wife! I abducted you, and saved you from death, with the permission of Allah Most High. You should know that I am a genie. And, from the moment I saw you, my heart loved you, simply because Allah willed it and I am a believer in Allah and his Prophet, may he (the Prophet) be blessed and preserved by Allah! When I came to you in the poor condition I was in, you still wanted to marry me. And so, I, in return, saved you from this death in the water. As for your brothers, I am full of fury against them, and certainly, I must kill them! »

At these words, I was very amazed, and I thanked her for her act, and I said to her: “As for the loss of my brothers, really it is not necessary!" Then I told her what had happened to me with them from the beginning to the end. After she heard my words, she said: “This night, I will fly away towards them and I will make sink their ship: and they will perish!" I said to him: “By Allah upon you! do not do it, for the Master of Proverbs says: O benefactor of an unworthy man! know that the criminal is sufficiently punished by his very crime! However, they are still my brothers!" She said, "I absolutely must kill them!" And I implored her indulgence in vain. After which, she took me on her shoulders, and flew away, and deposited me on the terrace of my house.

So I opened the doors of my house. Then I took the three thousand dinars out of their hiding place. And I opened my shop, after making the necessary visits and the usual greetings; and I made new purchases of goods.

When night came I closed my shop, and on entering my house I found these two dogs tied up in a corner. When they saw me, they got up and began to cry and cling to my clothes; but immediately my wife ran up and said: "These are your brothers." I said to her: "Who could have put them in this state?" She answered: “Me! I prayed to my sister, who is much more versed in enchantments than I am, and she put them in this state, from which they will only be able to emerge after ten years."

Therefore, O mighty efreet, I have come to this place, for I am going to my sister-in-law to beg her to deliver them since ten years have already passed. On my arrival here, I saw this good young man, I learned of his adventure, and did not want to move until I saw what could happen between you and him! And such is my tale."

The efreet said: “It is truly an astonishing tale: therefore I grant you a third of the blood in redemption for the crime. »

Then came forward the third sheikh, the master of the mule, and said to the efreet: "I will tell you a more marvelous story than that of the other two." And you will grant me in grace the rest of the blood and redemption from the crime. The efreet replied, "So be it!"

And the third sheikh said:

TALE OF THE THIRD SHEIKH

“O sultan, O chief of the genies! this mule was my wife. I had been on a trip once and had been away from her for a whole year; and when I had finished my business, I returned during the night to her, and found her lying with a black slave on the carpets of the bed; both were there talking, and simpering, and laughing, and kissing, and frolicking. As soon as she saw me, she got up quickly and threw herself on me, holding a pitcher of water; she murmured a few words over this jug, sprinkled me with water, and said to me: "Come out of your own form and become the image of a dog!" And immediately I became a dog, and she drove me out of my house. And I went out, and I kept wandering ever since, and finally, I come to a butcher's shop. I approached and began to eat bones. When the master of the shop saw me, he took me and came with me to his abode...

— At this point in her narration, Scheherazade saw the morning appear and quietly fell silent.


First Night - Second Night

Fourth Night

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1637933030290366465 twitter metadata:MTQyOTQxNTI0NjEyOTcyOTUzOHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNDI5NDE1MjQ2MTI5NzI5NTM4L3N0YXR1cy8xNjM3OTMzMDMwMjkwMzY2NDY1fA== ~~~

~~~ embed:1637941908109500419 twitter metadata:MTYzNTkzODU0MzM2ODM5MjcxNHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNjM1OTM4NTQzMzY4MzkyNzE0L3N0YXR1cy8xNjM3OTQxOTA4MTA5NTAwNDE5fA== ~~~

~~~ embed:1638069489462923264 twitter metadata:NzY5MTQ4OTgyMTYxNDQ4OTYxfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tLzc2OTE0ODk4MjE2MTQ0ODk2MS9zdGF0dXMvMTYzODA2OTQ4OTQ2MjkyMzI2NHw= ~~~

~~~ embed:1638321225347874818 twitter metadata:MTMyMjgwMDkxfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tLzEzMjI4MDA5MS9zdGF0dXMvMTYzODMyMTIyNTM0Nzg3NDgxOHw= ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @shiftrox, @michupa, @yeckingo1, @djbravo, @bo022, @abdulmanan, @edgar-alive, @flquin ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

As for your brothers, I am full of fury against them, and certainly, I must kill them!

Even I am full of fury towards the two brothers as I read this story! 😅 I knew there was something very wrong with the two brothers because they squandered their money and relied on the sheikh to help them. He shares the profit of his business with them as a good brother should and in return, they throw him and his wife into the sea?! Very wrong and cruel of them. See what jealousy can do? They rightly deserve the punishment of being turned into a dog. The genie was kind enough to put a duration of 10 years on the punishment. Justice was served in the end.

The third sheikh's story is more shocking! His wife cheats on him, turns him into a dog and chased him out of his own house! Wow. She must be having a good time with the black slave or she's just ungrateful and never loved the sheikh. I notice the common trend in the Arabian stories when they refer to infidelity, there's usually a black slave involved. Do you know the reason for this? Couldn't the wife have been sleeping maybe with a Sultan or a male friend?

No doubt Scheherazade is well-versed and skilful in storytelling. I'm looking forward to how the third sheikh's story ends. Thank you. 😊😊

when they refer to infidelity, there's usually a black slave involved. Do you know the reason for this?

I think that at this time they considered black people as inferior beings, and that made the infidelity even worse.

"Your Good deeds never dies."

At some point of your life when you are in danger and going from hard time, these good comes in a shape of help from you God and your hard time go away and everything settle back to normal. It happen out of no where.

This is same happen with your bad deeds. If you have done bad deeds and hurted someone. they will comes back to you and haunt you all your life, untill or unless you ask your Allah for forgiveness. if you have hurted a human, you will not be forgiven untill or unless your are forgiven by that very person.

This is the Rule of ALLAH, one day we all will die and we will be answerable for the deeds we are doing in this world at the day of Judgment.

This is what happens in this story of the 2nd Shiekh, he helped that poor women and married her because of the kindness he has in his heart. He made her his wife and buy her new clothes and started living a happy life with her as he also fell in love with her.

But when his brothers got jealous because of his wealth and threw both of them in the sea. His good deeds comes back and helped him in the form of his wife and after saving life of his husband, she asked him to punished his brother, but as he was a man of good heart, he refused it and stopped her to do any harm to his brother, after all they all were brothers.

But she somehow punished them and make them dog, And now he his going to his sister in law to request her to forgive his brothers. with the help of story shikhs now own the half part of merchant.

with the help of 3rd shaikh story , they now own the 3 part of merchant blood and by telling a 2nd tale from the 3rd shikh they can easily get possession of the merchant and he will be saved.

"There is no doubt that the story of the first Sheikh was very good and the story of the second Sheikh was good enough and better than from first sheikh and the third Sheikh whose story seems to be good and much more thrilled"

I have a feeling the King Schahriar will get used to hearing stories from the Scheherazade and why not? because that story is so well told by Scheherazade.

In today's part of the story, as second Sheikh relates, when he was on a journey, he was approached by a woman dressed in tattered old clothes and this woman proposed marriage to the Sheikh and the Sheikh agreed to marry her despite seeing her condition with his own eyes and in turn, when hard times fell on the sheikh, the woman became a jinn and helped the Sheikh. That's why it is a saying that "You will reap what you sow" and on this scene I would like to tell one more saying that "Goodness is never wasted" and we all have experienced this at some point in our lives that when you help someone in a tough time and then when the tough time hits you, they stand shoulder to shoulder with you.

The story of the second sheikh was very good without any doubt and that is why the efreet gave him the reward without any commitment.

Now we talk about the story of the third Sheikh, the story of the third Sheikh is also similar to the story of King Schahriar because the wife of the third Sheikh also did the same in his absence of what King Schahriar's wife did in his absence. But the third Sheikh's wife was a witch, so she turned her husband into a dog. If we look at this story, this immorality and deceit was not only common in today's era but also in the past. Now let's see when and how that third Sheikh will turn back from a dog to a human being.....

The Story of the Merchant with the Efreet, I see this story as a special one and a fascinating one. I enjoyed reading from the first night up to the third night which I have missed. The story is full of suspense and tension, as the merchant must use his wits and ingenuity to convince the efreet to spare his life, but will it work?

The Sheikhs are intriguing and complex characters that have inturn seasoned "The Story of the Merchant with the Efreet" with suspense, mystery and magic. Their characters also displays loyalty, bravery, and compassion as they stood by merchant.

I love how the story of the first Sheikh examined faith, trust, and loyalty. The stories of the first and second Sheikh are magical and supernatural containing moral lessons that easily resonated with me. Oh and the story of the third Sheikh's made me sad because of the way the wife treated him.

It was an interesting read for me that didn't know when I finished the snacks was eating 😅. Thank you

Without a doubt, forgiving a loved one for their actions is a noble act and the protagonist of the story is. No human being's life should be taken away, whether appreciated or not.
But how to leave unpunished an act as terrible as attempted murder? And how to be sure they won't try again? So what is the just punishment for this terrible act?

The story suggests that love can transcend social barriers, as the merchant falls in love with a poor woman and elevates her to a position of wealth and power. It also highlights the power of obligation and gratitude, as the woman repays the merchant's kindness by saving him from death. However, the story also suggests that revenge can be a destructive force, as the genie seeks to kill the merchant's brothers in a fit of anger. You can fool your head but never your heart!

Would you forgive your loved ones for committing a serious mistake? The protagonist in the story chooses to forgive, perhaps influenced by their personal values. They may believe that forgiveness is necessary because it can help them let go of the past, while others may see forgiveness as undesirable because it could be interpreted as tolerance of wrongful behavior.

Would you forgive your loved ones for committing a serious mistake?

Yes, I would.

me too!

Congratulations @vcelier! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 88000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 89000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal