The Year That Was Not - 2020

in #sublimesunday2 years ago

IMG_20200518_070635547.jpg

This is my third post concerning The Year That Was Not - 2020. I will link my other posts on this topic below, if you have any interest.

I call 2020 - The Year That Was Not - simply because I have difficulty relating events that occurred in my life with the Year 2020. Either I believe that these events happened way earlier say in 2018 or they occurred this year in 2021. It is clearly an issue with my memory and a disassociation with everything that occurred in The Year That Was Not.

IMG_20201126_175532217.jpg

During the family gathering on Thanksgiving while in casual conversation I began to drop the phrase "The Year That Was Not" while referencing anything that happened in our lives in 2020.

By the way, the photo is of the turkey we had in 2020 with a bottle of Makers Mark whiskey on the edge of the cutting board.

Perhaps, it was the whiskey that has caused this dilemma in my memory. But I don't think so as many in my family remarked that they too had difficulty placing events that had occurred in The Year That Was Not.

One thing that definitely occurred in 2020 was that I changed my method of gardening and shifted to growing almost exclusively in containers. I record this fact simply to try and fix the timeline of my memory.

The Year That Was Not was a year of firsts and a year of lasts.

I do not believe that we shall ever go back the way of life that we had prior to The Year That was Not.

I wonder if any of you are also experiencing a bit of a time/memory issue? Please let me know in the comments.

One last thought to ponder, I live in a county with over three hundred thousand people. In this the Second Year of the Great COVID pandemic the county has lost 585 souls to the virus. That would be less than 300 people a year.

Does this sound like something that should cause the whole world to come to a stand still?

Peace out and let me know if you are having any difficulties with The Year That Was Not.
#Sublime Sunday - The Year That Was Not

In the Year that Was Not - Better to Mend Than To End!

PS I was on the road Sunday so this is the first time I was able to write my #sublimesunday post

Sort:  

"That's some guid tatties an' neebs mucker! When shoods Ahh pit intae port?" 😉 -Keptin

Congratulations @handofzara! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!