Nice Little Holiday You've Got There...

Thanksgiving, and my mother couldn't cook a turkey properly if her life depended on it. God love her, but the bird comes out like a dried, chewy mess. I don't know what she's doing wrong.

As kids, we'd all look at each other wondering "is it supposed to taste like this?" Because grandmom's turkey was nice and moist and full of flavor. Mom's is like she just shoved that thing in the oven and said "fuck it" I think she might toss a pinch of salt in its general direction, but I'm not sure. Then she's off to watch her shows, and that thing is left to fend for itself.

Stringy, gamey, and with absolutely no flavor at all. She might have thrown a bay leaf in there once, I think. And of course you can't SAY anything, right? "Does anyone want seconds?" No! I bark, "No, no no. I couldn't fit another piece in." after my mouth was working overtime trying to get the last of it down. lol!

I would often volunteer my siblings for seconds, and watch their eyes get wide as they were unprepaired with an excuse to say no. Gotcha!

It's odd because she knows how to work that ham. Now THAT we want more of. Grandmom had an almost military-style operation where she'd pump out cakes, pies and all manner of meat dishes on the fly. She had that turkey (one of many), stuffed and surrounded with so many goodies, that when she opened the windows, the entire neighborhood smelled good enough to eat.

So I thought mom would have picked up that knowledge like osmosis. But no, she was the rebel in the family, and sure as hell wasn't going to be chained to any kitchen if she could help it. But besides her turkey problems, there were always mounds of other good food to go around, and all of our aunts competed to see who would dare to try and stand up to grandmom's much superior cooking.

It was all fine until I tried to cook my own first turkey, and it was dried out too ("is the skin supposed to be hard?) I didn't think so. Like mother, like son, right? You're looking at a guy who once tried to speed-fry a frozen steak by throwing in in a pan and turning that sucker on high. You know, like frying a hamburger or something. lol! I had to open the windows and there was smoke everywhere. :)

But you know what? All of these events make for memorable moments when family gets together for the holidays. "Remember when?" becomes the enjoyable start to many funny and wonderful conversations. I wish you and your family the same as we give thanks on this special day. As for me, I've got to go exercise my mouth for the bone-dry turkey to come. Don't worry though, they'll be seconds left over just for you! :)

If you found that this post added value or inspired you, please share a comment, upvote, or reblog :)

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1

Sort:  

I am not a chef, but i will try to give you some pointers and directions to look in.

First of all, just get an oven bag (plastic thing, sold in boxes at all stores) follow the instructions. Bake just the turkey. make stuffing in a different dish. The bag keeps all the moisture in the Turkey, and it comes out just right.

Now, how did your grandmother do it?
Mostly basting.

First your rub the skin with oil. This not only browns the skin, to make it look good in pictures, but also makes the skin a protective shell keeping all the moisture in. Basting the turkey a few times during baking is like repeated applications of oil, turkey oil.

Basting does not get into the turkey, the skin blocks liquids from getting in. So, it is all about keeping the steam inside from escaping.

The aluminum foil is a direct heat shield. It keeps the IR from hitting the bird. This is to save the skin from becoming blackened. The air temperature in the oven is what actually cooks the insides. The aluminum foil is important in backing pies, because the edges of the crust can become over cooked (blackened) and the aluminum foil keeps the IR from doing it in.

Then there is the brining. (Brine - salt water and spices) you soak the bird in before baking. Many supermarket turkeys are pre-brined. Look it up if you are interested.

When my grandmother did it, she was constantly going in there and doing stuff. I peeked in once, and there was all kinds of stuff going on in there. She may have done everything you mentioned, but as a boy, males were banned from the kitchen, but there was all kind of business going on there that I NEVER saw with mom.

She threw that puppy in the oven and that was that. There was almost no seasoning, and it was like eating cardboard. Think "clubber, party girl" and you'll get why she wasn't about to do any of that! lol! However, mom's ham is tight! So I'm wondering if she just didn't know, or care to be bothered. Everyone I know tells me that cooking a turkey can be a pain and hit or miss, so I wonder if that's part of it.

Growing up, she was the TV dinner type of mom, the polar opposite of grandmom who put a lot of work into it. I was allowed to help with the pies grandmom made, and lemme tell ya, she had that operation DOWN., and the food was GOOD! :)

"Hit or miss" is a misnomer. So, i watched a fairly good chef do hit or miss with turkeys. And it was slightly dry (i couldn't tell) or it didn't have enough flavor (i couldn't tell). He was trying all kinds of things.

But, honestly, he often just puts the turkey in an oven bag, and does it that way.
That is why my first line was, just get an oven bag (and should add, a pre-brined turkey)

I didn't really appreciate turkey until I was older. I think part of the issue is you're supposed to use aluminum foil on top to shield the turkey from the direct heat, which helps it retain moisture.

It's supposed to be a tricky thing to cook, but I don't ever recall her using foil, she just pops that bird in the oven and off she goes! Yesterday, in anticipation of the coming "dryfest" I spoke to a woman who mentioned something called "basting" I don't know what that is, but I'm sure she's never done that either. lol!

Basting is where you take the juices that cook off the turkey, scoop it up, and drizzle it all over the turkey to help keep the outside moist.

Juices? Nah, she ain't doing all that. She closes that oven door then heads upstairs to watch movies. That turkey's on its own! :)

Lol! And that's why it's coming out dry.

😅😅😅 Awwnn, don't do your mother like that😅
I'm sure she was probably trying her best with the turkey.

Happy thanksgiving to you and your family and I hope you enjoyed all the dishes.
Spending time with family is always the best

Congratulations @evernoticethat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 43000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 44000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP