You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1982: Year of the crossbow - A story from my youth

in #thoughts4 years ago

Do you have bodark wood there? I'll make a great bow if you can find some. The English long bow is laminated with several kinds of wood.

Enjoyed the story! We made long bows from Spirea bushes when I was a kid.

Sounds like you did a good job on jointery, build another....

:)>

Sort:  

It was a bit of a triumph of engineering and design I have to say...Especially for a 12 year old. I had every tool at my disposal though, and a fair amount of grounding from a grandfather who was an expert.

I've been playing around with making bows actually. I can't seem to get the right wood although after a few failures I've kind of let it lapse. I should get back into it. I have a lot of documentation (digitally) about all things prepping, survival, homesteading etc. and as part of it is a very in-depth instruction on bow-making and arrow-making. I've been using that. I'd like to get a little more active with it but can't really afford the time and to take on another hobby in a full on manner. (I'd need tools etc.) I will one day though as other hobbies run their course or interest in them wanes.

Thanks for reading. It was fun to write and remember it all...I had an interesting childhood. :)

Edit: I don't think we have bodark wood. The English longbow was yew though right?

Look for bowdark, it is the best for bows.

The long bow was three different woods, but I think yew was one of them.

Enjoyed the story for sure! Sorry you got caught....

:)>

Ok, I'll take a look. There must be some way to get what I need.

Edit: Getting caught sucked, but I took the punishment like a man.

Want me to look for seeds? Never tried looking for them before, but it is common here. Indians here made their bows from it.

Not much choice, but I think they should have let you keep it...with Restrictions of course. My dad would have had a sat down with me, and discussed the design; with possible improvements for better function.

He always treated my designs as important. He shredded them, but it always improved them; and me....

:)>

Seeds won't make it through customs, especially if it's a tree we don't have here. I'll see what I can find.

The thing with my parents is that they didn't like guns or weapons. My mum was so afraid of them. My dad went through the Japanese occupation of Malaya and saw many horrific and violent things so it makes sense he had an aversion. I guess if it was me as the parent (back then) I would have done the sit down as you mention then divert the lads attention and focus to designing and creating other things that may seem more relevant. (If it was me as the parent now...I'd be making the bow with him! Lol.

I understand the aversion, bad things happened there!

My Mother was opposed, nut my Dad didn't listen too much. I have a 7.7mm Arisaka that was surrendered to him in WWII. The last time it was fired, it was fired at a GI on Iea shima. It is the only firearm I own that I haven't fired.

My wife was opposed, but I got both kids their own single shot bolt action when they were seven, that they kept in their room!

I really learned from the design sit downs. Learned how to think, and I have several dozen patents from that thinking method. It has been a life changer....

I like the idea of working with them! That is the Best way to really Learn.

We'll have to see how small the seeds are....

:)>

Your dad served in WWII? What unit?

I'm not a parent but I believe that it's important to expose kids to many things to see what catches their eye. That way they have the ability to pick and choose what they like, are good at or want to develop more. Denying kids things won't keep them away from it; Point in case me.