Sort:  

Ok, I'll take a look. There must be some way to get what I need.

Edit: Getting caught sucked, but I took the punishment like a man.

Want me to look for seeds? Never tried looking for them before, but it is common here. Indians here made their bows from it.

Not much choice, but I think they should have let you keep it...with Restrictions of course. My dad would have had a sat down with me, and discussed the design; with possible improvements for better function.

He always treated my designs as important. He shredded them, but it always improved them; and me....

:)>

Seeds won't make it through customs, especially if it's a tree we don't have here. I'll see what I can find.

The thing with my parents is that they didn't like guns or weapons. My mum was so afraid of them. My dad went through the Japanese occupation of Malaya and saw many horrific and violent things so it makes sense he had an aversion. I guess if it was me as the parent (back then) I would have done the sit down as you mention then divert the lads attention and focus to designing and creating other things that may seem more relevant. (If it was me as the parent now...I'd be making the bow with him! Lol.

I understand the aversion, bad things happened there!

My Mother was opposed, nut my Dad didn't listen too much. I have a 7.7mm Arisaka that was surrendered to him in WWII. The last time it was fired, it was fired at a GI on Iea shima. It is the only firearm I own that I haven't fired.

My wife was opposed, but I got both kids their own single shot bolt action when they were seven, that they kept in their room!

I really learned from the design sit downs. Learned how to think, and I have several dozen patents from that thinking method. It has been a life changer....

I like the idea of working with them! That is the Best way to really Learn.

We'll have to see how small the seeds are....

:)>

Your dad served in WWII? What unit?

I'm not a parent but I believe that it's important to expose kids to many things to see what catches their eye. That way they have the ability to pick and choose what they like, are good at or want to develop more. Denying kids things won't keep them away from it; Point in case me.

Not sure, he was in the support area. They recovered and repaired tanks. He was in charge of the trucks that had all their machines in them. He had a tech Sgnt stripes with a hole in them. I asked him why he kept a damaged set of stripes; and he rolled up his sleeve to show me a matching hole....

Apparently, they really hated the guys that recovered damaged tanks, and fixed them; so they had to fight that same tank again!

Smart kids are not to be controlled, only guided! My son is in the 160 range, and is happy as an armed guard at a local Private University (Tulsa University). He gets free tuition that way. My Daughter is an artist (got that from her Momma) and is quite good at it. She also just bought a classic car, and they are rebuilding it.

Kids need to be challenged, and supported.

:)>

Ah ok. Obviously in the firing line considering the hole in stripes and arm. It's interesting to think if that shooter was more accurate (like you and I) or he moved slightly to one side or the other...Everything would have been different from that point. Anyway, he made it and the rest is history.

Sounds like your lad and daughter have things moving in the right direction. I agree, kids need to be challenged - The problem is these days, they are generally not. You gonna tell me what that car is or I gutta guess. :)