Jesus tape saves

in #thoughts3 years ago

Today was a family day. The original plan was to go skating as I bought myself some new skates that fit (that just happened to be the cheapest skates I could find), but the weather was plus two degrees and rainy, so there will be no skating for a few days.

Instead, we went for a walk in the forest that overlooks the city and then to the lookout tower for cinnamon donuts and coffee. For the first time ever, I didn't have a donut - I had "laskiaspulla" which literally means "Shrovetide bun". I don't care about religions or religious holidays, but it seems that the Finns have some kind of food for every one of them. What I like about this one is it is about as close Devonshire Tea as it gets here, as the bun is filled with strawberry jam and cream.

I lied a little about not having a donut - I got one takeaway.

IMG_20210123_142538.jpg

Smallsteps also had her first taste of a gluten-free (not as good - but okayish) version, and she was really enjoying it until she realized how much sugar was sticking to her fingers and then she didn't want it anymore. Not because of the sugar - it was the mess that turned her off. We have been unlucky in many ways, but we really can't complain about how neat our daughter is. She has been this way for the entirety of her life to the point that we try and encourage her to not worry too much about a spill or a mess.

IMG_20210123_143002.jpg

So, why the title?

Well, it has nothing to do with religion, it is about the smashed bumper from the accident last night, where a person reversed into my car. Before we could drive anywhere, I had to either take the bumper completely off or, duct tape it up. I decided to go with the duct tape first to see if it would be enough to hold. For those who don't know - duct tape (waterproof tape with a cloth base) is colloquially called, "Jesus tape" - I assume because it is used in circumstances where you pray it'll hold.

While not overly pretty, it has done the job and so far and after driving around through slush all day, it looks like it'll hold until I can get it repaired. I will call my insurance company on Monday to start proceedings, but I am assuming it will be a few weeks at least for them to sort it out. My wife doesn't want to drive the car now as she doesn't trust the tape to hold....

Hethen.

IMG_20210123_122052.jpg

The forest we walked through is a ridge in the city that splits two very large lakes, effectively creating a bridge between that the city center sits upon. It is a nice place to walk at pretty much any season of the year, but it was a little windy and wet today, so we didn't walk too far.

It is nice going places with Smallsteps as she is always so talkative (with us) and curious about the world. I talk a lot these days it seems, but I wasn't always this way and spent a lot of my early childhood, publicly quiet. My daughter is the same, constant chatter until someone else is around and then she gets shy and quiet, while listening intently.

I think that eventually she will be quite a talker and I get the feeling that she will have an attractive and interesting way with words - enhanced further by being dual mother-tongue. Language type changes the way the brain functions and processes the world to some degree and having multiple languages is similar to being able to take two perspectives simultaneously. Even if they are only slightly apart, it is like having two eyes, that allow us to see with in stereo and determine depth of field. I wish that I had the gift of multiple languages at home.

IMG20210124WA0007.jpg

The day has been good and now everyone is asleep and I have a little time to write, so even though it is after one in the morning, I might take the opportunity to write a little more, depending on how I feel. I have been writing two posts a day pretty consistently, but I would actually prefer to write three or four instead. I feel that my posts are too long at times, but if I am only writing two, I am not getting out all the thoughts that I want to process, so I end up with thoughts still in the tank at the end of the day, which disrupts my sleep.

Routines are very important things, but can be damaging if not reviewed and adjusted as required. While we might focus on the highs and lows, it is our habits that end up defining the majority of our lives, even though it won't be what we remember on our death beds, or be remembered of us after we are gone. We put far too much emphasis on what will be remembered, while ignoring all the things that pass us by unnoticed that nudge us along the course of our lives.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

One time I broke my headphones. I fixed them with a duct tape. Still working fine😊

Hethen.

All hail our savior duct tape.

I don't know if it is the same for you, but the handles above the windows of cars are also called "Jesus bars" as that is what you hold onto when someone is driving crazily.

I'd say try to be careful she doesn't develop ocd but you may be too late XD

The duct tape looks like it's holding up fine, it even matches the colour of your car :D Hope it holds til you can get it fixed properly!

Language type changes the way the brain functions and processes the world to some degree and having multiple languages is similar to being able to take two perspectives simultaneously. Even if they are only slightly apart, it is like having two eyes, that allow us to see with in stereo and determine depth of field

This seems to be a thing. I'm learning a bunch at the moment and it's already doing awkward things to my brain. Wish I was native in more than one language but alas my parents received incorrect information when we were younger and so my sister and I are boringly monolingual and trying to catch up now XD

I'd say try to be careful she doesn't develop ocd but you may be too late XD

I have worried about this since before she was one :D

Wish I was native in more than one language but alas my parents received incorrect information when we were younger and so my sister and I are boringly monolingual and trying to catch up now

We had the opportunity in my family, not the will of parents either. I think the stance was "WE are in Australia, why speak anything else?" :D

Did someone call?

I guess back in those days they didn't see the benefits for work and travel XD

Which is weird, since my dad was an immigrant :D

That's some quality duct tape work. Nicely done.

:D
I should have a YouTube channel

You had a good family day. It is really important to spend time with your family one day a week in a calm, leisurely atmosphere.
I envy your productivity, you regularly write two posts a day, and also have time to unsubscribe to comments and I noticed that you always write a comment to newcomers to the community :)