Steemians - Let's Meet Up Today In Chaing Mai Thailand For The Lantern Festival - Nov 21-22 2018

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Any Steemians in Chiang Mai, Thailand for the Loy Krathong Festival? (Lantern Festival) If you're in Chaing Mai and want to hook up with other Steemians we will be hanging at the south and east gates of old town between 5-7 PM on the 21st (today) and the 22nd of November, 2018.

Let's Meet Up

I'll be meeting up with @lewisjfclarke at his place around the south of old town at around 7-ish with @teamsteem and @mikemeister tonight. Planning to walk around and snap some photos and have a few drinks along the way.

I'm going to head downtown around 5 PM and scout locations to shoot the main lantern release the following day. Eventually will make my way down to the iron bridge to get some shots of lanterns being released on the river. Come join us!

source

Map Of Areas To Find Us

The areas marked in red along the south and east walls of Old Town and heading east to the Iron Bridge on the Ping River is where we'll be hanging out. You can message us on this post and we can send live Google coordinates.

Hope to see you there (Nov 21 and 22)


Luzcypher's Announcement For Steem Witness


Related Posts


The Royal Park Rajapruek in Chiang Mai, Thailand is a feast for the eyes and a perfect opportunity to indulge in some photography. Originally built to commemorate His Majesty the King Bhumibol Adulyadej’s Accession, his 60th year as the king and his 80th birthday, Royal Park Rajapruek is now counted as the center of agricultural research in Thailand


The Royal Park Rajapruek in Chiang Mai, Thailand is a feast for the eyes and a perfect opportunity to indulge in some photography. Originally built to commemorate His Majesty the King Bhumibol Adulyadej’s Accession, his 60th year as the king and his 80th birthday, Royal Park Rajapruek is now counted as the center of agricultural research in Thailand.


Wondering what awaits in those hills, the bike read my thoughts and seemed ready to find out. Making quick work of it as it glided along the perfectly smooth roads, the bike and I became one, racing away from the city below flying past the croaking frogs and rice paddies, through thickly forested hills and breathtaking vistas, round the winding roads and waterfalls, cutting through cool, floral-scented air pockets until we reached Doi Suthep.

Call me crazy but last week I flew to Bangkok, Thailand with nothing but a camera, half a suitcase of clothes, my trusty laptop, and an incurable case of wanderlust for new adventures. While that may seem impulsive to my close friends and family, some who've made their opinions concerning my sanity very clear, to me it's perfectly normal. Home is where you feel at home and for me, that's almost everywhere.

Just west of the Chaing Mai University at the the base of the Doi Suthep mountains is the Chiang Mai Zoo and Aquarium, a 200 acre (81 hectares) zoo established in 1977. I'm not a big fan of zoos but when I was having lunch at a nearby place and heard a lion roaring in the forest my curiosity got the better of me. I spent a day visiting the place and snapping pictures.

Strolling through the Huay Kaew Arboretum in Chiang Mai, Thailand I imagined saving the world one forest at a time and stood in amazement under new-to-me trees, basking in hungry curiosity for this novel biosphere. Most of the trees in these parts are hosts to a wide variety of orchids growing on their trunks

luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Sort:  

I'll be there for sure!!

Awesome! See you soon.

Yay, glad I came here to check what you’re up to! I won’t join tonight but planning to tomorrow! Arrived last night and can’t wait to go to bed...

awww I wanna be with you guys. Bangkok is sounding less fun now haha even though I'm liking it more than I expected to!

Cool. See you tomorrow

Looks like you arrived well in Chiang Mai. Enjoy that event and have fun.

Yes, back home now. Hung out in Bangkok for a few days then came back home. How are you doing?

@majes.tytyty would you be up for this? I'm planning on meeting everyone later somewhere near the bridge. We could meet at a bar nearby and go on a lord of the rings style adventure to find everyone? I won't have internet while I'm out so I won't be able to see the co-ordinates (although I do have @luzcypher's phone number) so it would probably be better if we meet at a set place and then go and try to find the rest of the clan

Hi,
Yes, would love to meet up by the river around 6 pm :)
How to recognize the Steemians?

Just look out for socially uneasy uncomfortable individuals, who are looking around for other, socially uncomfortable individuals, that should do the trick!

lolol

Hi @rafadezelanda, I'll be out with a few friends near a local bar as they've never been to Thailand before and want to experience a local bar. Then I'm planning on meeting up with @luzcypher at around 9:30 somewhere on one of the bridges. If you want to meet the rest of them at around 6 I think they are planning on meeting around that time. @luzcypher said he's going to be posting google co-ordinates where he is, so as long as you have internet around that time you'll be golden.

Hope this helps

I just arrived in Bangkok, so won't make it there tomorrow! But I'll come hang after!

Posted using Partiko Android

ooo @martibis wanna see the lanterns in BKK? They're doing festivals here, too

Sure thing! Just woke up pretty hammered from my first night in Thailand, haha!\nGoing to go with some people from the hostel, the owners and some guests all do it together with some food etc. as well, want to join?

Posted using Partiko Android

Let me know when you are here.

Will do!

Posted using Partiko Android

All fine here and back to business as usual.

Will travel today to south of Germany and tomorrow to Berlin and than back home for the weekend.

And you know what - Saturday calls with Party and Beer! Yesssss.

Stay safe and keep up your great smile!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wish!!! Celebrating it here in Bangkok - already found a ton of locations! But I'll be missing you guys!

Yo are you still in Chiang Mai ?

Yes, I'm living here.

Wanna meet someday?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sure. We should have a meetup with some other Steemians too. I met with @kenistyles and @lewisjfclarke. Plus @world-travel-pro, @teamsteem, @mikemeister, and @connecteconomy are here. @martibis is on his way from Bangkok soon.

We should gather everyone you know together and have a meetup.

Ah yo! Thanks for tagging me in on this, didn't realize you all were hanging out and back from steemfest. Will be keeping a closer eye on posts and meet ups. Don't forget the digital nomad talks at food for thought, that's the hot spot for crypto related speakers.. you and @teamsteem would do great there! The owners are friends of mine, let me know if you'd like the intro.

For sure. I want to meet that group. Set it up and I'll be there.

How have you been?

Ok will dig out the facebook and reach out to them today. I'm good mate, avoiding the chaos in town past few days lol! Though happy to see you lot are getting stuck in! 🍻

Great can you somehow let me know when you all meet??

Or maybe tag me..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @luzcypher!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.669 which ranks you at #125 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 124).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 212 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server