Sort:  

What a ripoff. Well, at least you won't make that mistake again.

Also, make sure to agree on a price with your whores before the session, not after. Learn from my mistake.

Good advice. I'd just download Google Trips, even manually setting my Google Maps Offline maps download before hand, use something like Wifi Map to access freely distributed passwords for wifis (IF YOU MUST).. and don't buy a roaming package. You are on vacation... disconnect a little, save your money and relax!

Yeah, that was the idea. Got a twist thrown in, as Mercury retrograde fucked BOTH my and my wife's phones, made it a huge headache to even attempt connecting to the internet.

Though, I definitely WILL go for a roaming package next time, as the ease of access when need to check something quick is definitely worth it..

Interesting advice. Thanks!

Buy data roaming packages or those data internet boxes.

I have been using TMobile which offers free international data. It's been a godsend for me as I travel frequently and often take advantage of things like Google Maps or book hotels while I am on the road. Sure, maybe they don't have the best coverage over the USA, but who actually TALKS on their phone anyway. ;)

Holy shit, that IS a good deal!

Oh yes, your mobile operator is merciless) I sympathize with you. Roaming is really something that you should pay close attention to while traveling.

Yes, Option B of removing the SIM is my preferred choice to eliminate the risk of overage charges as well although I virtually always purchase a local SIM card.

In many countries I've been to this is very, very affordable. The only thing it requires is a little research beforehand and a visit to a local cell shop, supermarket or convenience store.

For example I recently picked up a MyCall Norwegian SIM in Oslo with free calls and texts plus 10 GB of data (valid 30 days) at a cost of 299 NOK (~38 USD). Not a super deal but a good value.

Even better was the Danish SIM from Lebara I got later with unlimited SMS, unlimited voice calls from Denmark, 600 international minutes and 30GB of data all for 99 DKK (~16 USD).

Basically there is so much more value to be had from picking up a local SIM card when compared with some of the other options.

There is an excellent global prepaid SIM wiki that I reference before trips to decide what I want to purchase when I arrive. Look up your country of choice on the wiki here.

Yep. thanks adding that into the dialogue - makes for the perfect third option!

@rok-sivante I'm like you story
But, I've reading
FAVORITE DESTINATION COUNTRY INTERNATIONAL ROAMING

Before Leaving
Full info on * 122 * 1 #

Activate roaming package
by pushing * 122 * 1 #
from ponselmu and
Choose your package
that is according to your needs.