Ulog #2 | A busy day with an unexpected ending

in #ulog6 years ago

20180727_110149.jpg

A few days passed since my first Ulog was posted

And here I am for another one. Yesterday I didn't find the time to post anything unfortunately, so I thought this would be another opportunity to make a Ulog about yesterday. It was a busy and long day actually, with an unexpected ending. Actually the start of the day didn't go as planned either, lol.

swushes-steem-green.png

I was panning on leaving home early by myself

As my boyfriend is at home since a few days, and I had to go back to the tax office because of a spelling error in my daughter's document, I thought let's take advantage of the fact he's at home and go by myself. Because toddlers and waiting (sometimes) for a long time at those government agencies, they just don't mix that well. But when I was about to leave, my boyfriend suddenly said I'm going with you because I need to pick up some things at work, and arrange something at the tax office too. I totally forgot about the two advantages he could ask for after my daughter would have her tax number. He will get two extra days off every year for the fact he has a child, and a tax reduction every month. Luckily he didn't forget lol, so off we went all three of us.

swushes-steem-green.png

escalator-1950322_960_720.jpg
MichaelGaida on Pixabay

swushes-steem-green.png

I avoid subways and prefer using tram or bus

There's something about subway's that I find scary: the stairs down. I didn't know this until I went with the subway for the first time here in Budapest, and found out I almost passed out while looking down. It's like falling in a deep hole and it makes me nauseous. Most subway stations here have no elevator, or when they do it's out of service. So after a few attempts of using those, and my boyfriend telling me he saw me almost pass out and looking pale like a dead body, I found this enough torture and told myself: "I am not using the subway, end of.." I mean we have trams and busses riding everywhere every few minutes, but whenever we leave somewhere together my boyfriend prefers the subway. Damn.. Luckily the subway near our house has an elevator, so the start is not that bad, the fun part when I start to panic or almost pass out is whenever we have to catch another one, I just hate it.. But fine, he won on the way there we used his transport, on the way home we are definitely using busses... compromises right?

swushes-steem-green.png

There was a lot of waiting

As we first went to the company where my boyfriend works, I had to wait in the cafeteria downstairs with the little one. So I had a cup of coffee and bought a sandwich in the supermarket next door to keep her busy.. The waiting took pretty long, and I almost regretted that I agreed on going all together, as this waiting with the little one was the one thing I did not look forward too, and now we did not even arrive at the tax office yet. At one point I noticed we had only 50 minutes left to get to the office and hopefully not get send away as they were closing, my boyfriend said he was coming. Finally.. To our surprise the office was not that busy, and we had to wait like 5 minutes before it was our turn. Once at the desk the lady told me that the spelling error was because of an error on my address card (which somehow I did not notice before and no one has mentioned it either, see how good they do their job lol). She could not change it, I have to go to the municipal office today to see if they can, but probably I will have to go through the same trouble as my boyfriend two months ago, and get back to the immigration office for it. Which is not around the corner and always like 2/3 hours waiting. I will see today if they can help me, if not I will go to the immigration office next week early in the morning, to minimize the waiting as much as possible. But the good part is that my boyfriend could arrange the tax reduction part, and with this arranged he will also be receiving 2 extra days every year according to the Hungarian law for working parents... so at least we didn't go for nothing..

swushes-steem-green.png

It was so hot inside

I kind of went crazy inside the house, so I said let's go outside have a walk, sit somewhere because I'm boiling lol. So off we went, had a drink somewhere and after a while walked a bit more. We were gone for a few hours, and on our way back we had a burger at mcdonalds. When we wanted to leave we were surprised with rain, not the normal drops of rain no here it is pouring rain, and you can almost swim on the street. Your shoes get soaking wet lol, no way around it. After ten minutes waiting, we decided to just walk anyway as we only had to walk straight ahead in our street.. It was kind of nice getting soaking wet lol. Back home daughter went into a warm bath and we were all good again..

So this was my second Ulog, today I hope to finish at least one of my unfinished drawings/paintings as shown on the picture above this post. Because they are lying around for too long in my opinion.. Have a great day!

swushes-steem-green.png

anouk1.gif

swushes-steem-green.png

Sort:  

I think it's nice you wrote a Ulog about that day ... but in my honest opinion it sounds like a day you should forget as soon as poosible. Hope everything is set by now?

LOL you're right.. no its not went to change the name error yesterday, was a big hassle.. not sure if it will be only days of delay or maybe weeks... got to check that on monday.. will write a "stoom afblazen" about it haha

its stressful waiting with the toddler, how old is she?
girls are a little better at keeping still but no way would I do it with my 2 year old boy haha..

and wow that photo of the subway escalator does look scary..

Oh I forgot to mention I LOVE your drawings!!!!

She is 2,5 almost.. and you know what the thing is.. she can be the cutest sweetest thing (also when waiting) but once she's fed up she's really fed up.. and I really have to plan these things as convenient as possible so sometimes it can end up a disaster.. yesterday she was very sweet though :)

Crazy right that subway.. It's so hot here right now, I swear if I go there now, the heat combined with my fear will make me faint so I wont lol..

Thank you for the compliment!

That's an interesting law. Do you get more days off the more kids you have? And who pays for that, your employer or the government? Also, is home schooling allowed where you live?

Those are just questions that came up while reading your ulog.

Also, reading about your escalator issues made me feel nauseous. I guess its a good thing from a writer's perspective to feel something so deep that you can describe it like that but at the same time what despair to feel that way.

Best of luck getting your documents fixed.

Actually I must admit I don't know for sure if you get more days off when you have more children, but I guess the answer is yes. Not too sure though. It's a government rule, like many other advantages for people with children (but often also expats with children).

For example, to get my health insurance I first need to ask them to pay me a kind of child allowance monthly, in order to be able to get the public health insurance lol. That's just weird right?

I don't know if it's allowed, our daughter is now 2,5 almost and I have thought about homeschooling her (mostly because of the vaccines I don't agree with to be honest) but I notice that she really needs to get among other children asap as she is developing a huge attitude lately. I feel like I am not being the best mother I can be because she gets under my skin and has the longest breath, and I really would like the free time to be able to do my thing, instead of twirling around her daily schedule. So I am pretty sure when she's three she'll be going to school. She is not that social to other children when we are out in a playground and I really want that to change asap, I feel like she really needs school to get that.

Lol the escalator, well it really does make me nauseous too. I will never go there alone (or with the little one) if my boyfriend is not standing in front of me holding the little girl lol, I am too scared I will fall or faint and then fall...

I just wrote a dutch rant about the documents, if you're interested you can translate it with google, I felt like writing one in Dutch. I will be a challenge this week, so fingers crossed. :)

Have a great sunday @metzli !

Home schooling is not for everyone. I recently learned about countries where you can't homeschool and wonder how far that reach is.

Sounds nice that you get a stipend and then you can get your health insurance, I hope one day there will be a Universal Basic Income for everyone.

I must admit I did seriously consider it, because she is eager to learn. But I feel like it's eating of my own capabilities and I have days that I am really not happy she is not at the school age yet because I would love her to be around other people/children. Her oldest sister was a bit like that too, and this changed when she got her little brother. (Those two are unfortunately not with me, but that's another story) but therefore I do know she really needs school to get even more challenged ..

And yes the UBI will be a great thing if it will be available for everyone.. totally agree here

I totally understand your hesitation with having to wait anywhere with a toddler! I'm with @hetty-rowan; this sounds like a good day to forget :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @anouk.nox! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

What an eventful day! I'd love to see the finished work of your drawings they're already looking so good!!