Wednesday Walk - Chapmans Peak and The Clay Cafe

Since it's Wednesday, I thought that I would take a trot up to Chapmans Peak from the Noordhoek side where I live on my way to my creative lunch date in Hout Bay today - #wednesdaywalk

img_20220112_wa0065.jpg

Three fun facts that I found out today about Chapmans Peak Drive which I didn't know before are that it was largely constructed by convict labour, it took a total of seven years to build and in 1977 a portion of it was washed away! Which if you've seen how high up it is, is pretty amazing to think about.

I took the photo above shortly before deciding to call a cab to take me the rest of the way to Hout Bay before I expired from the heat!

These are some photos of my lunch date with my eldest brother and best friend Brandon and my friend Jared.

img_20220112_wa0032.jpg

We had so much fun!! The Clay Cafe is a rad little place in Hout Bay where you can pick out a ceramic shape (plates, animals, jugs etc) and have your creative way with it.

img_20220112_wa0040.jpg

It was a great way to spend a Summer day in Cape Town, so often (especially when on holiday) we find ourselves in a bar or wine tasting which is fun don't get me wrong, but it was nice to do something different.

img_20220112_wa0080.jpg

This was Hout Bay from Chapmans Peak Drive on the way home today in the early evening. The mountain you can see jutting out toward to sea is called The Sentinel and when the tide is low, there is the most incredible coastal hiking trail near its base.

Well that was Wednesday for me, I look forward to reading all everyone elses Wednesday Walk posts and thank you to @tattoo-djay for making it possible for us to share this window into my particular part of the world.

Sort:  

Sounds like a great day those views are amazing so beautiful and grand

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

The mountain you can see jutting out toward to sea is called The Sentinel and when the tide is low, there is the most incredible coastal hiking trail near its base.

Wonderful view. That sunset (or sunrise?) Is so peaceful. By the way, we also have mountains, but we do not have a sea. I live in a landlocked country (in Hungary), and to see a sea, I would have to visit one of the neighbour countries. But I have not visited any so far, so I have not seen and I have not felt what it is like to be in and around the sea.

One of my hobbies is amateur radio, and I heard that the shortwave propagation on the lower bands (mostly on 1.8 MHz and on 3.5 MHz) is very good in and around the seas. They say that you can make a two-way contact with the whole world with a simple vertical antenna, or even with a simple wire and dipole antenns, which sounds very exciting.

Either way, thank you for posting this. Your photo somehow made me relaxed and feel peaceful.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

Hi! Thank you for reading my post :) I've always been really intrigued by Hungry.... The food is particularly interesting to me.

That photo was taken at sunset :) I haven't done that hiking trail yet but I do hike quite often round these parts :)
If you're considering a visit, Cape Town really is a great city to come to ☀️🙃🌈

I'm going to try and find your radio show!! How interesting - connecting the world by antenna.... Food for thought.

I look forward to reading your posts and more interaction with you. Have the best day! I'm still half asleep haha

I'm still half asleep haha

Me too. 😂
!LOLZ.
We are in the morning (07:17 CET).
I am currently on my way (sitting in a bus) to work.

Want to hear a dirty joke?
Two white horses jumped in the mud.

Credit: dksart
@trollsmcduff, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @xplosive
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/2)

Hahaha I hear you!! I'm on the way to the beach with my son. I go back to work tomorrow after being on leave for 4 weeks. I can't wait!!

Hahaha I hear you!! I'm on the way to the beach with my son. I go back to work tomorrow after being on leave for 4 weeks. I can't wait!!

I am the biggest clay cafe fan ever!! We should goooo

Also apparently Chapman’s peak hotel has the best fish and chips ever

Yes let's plan a date!! I love it there too. And Chapman's is the best... They do a steak and calamari pan which is sooo good 🌈

I’m a calamari ho !

Congratulations @trollsmcduff! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Guao @trollsmcduff muy bonitas fotos me encantaron de verdad y se ve que lo disfrutaste..