You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: G-dog's weekend-engagement week ten: Topic post [110 hive in the prize pool]

Only for you, would I spend 15 minutes drawing something so wonderful, it blows my mind away. I even undertook the risk of having my laptop potentially explode, because that's just the kind of thing Windows Paint 3D does to a man's computer, I guess.

image.png

This frankly amazing illustration depicts me having a casual jog down a hill, before I proceed to run for my life, as durians come crashing and tumbling down the hill. Durians are the national fruit of Malaysia, and they're as Marmite-y as you could expect. You could love them, or absolutely detest them. Oddly for a Malaysian, I'm committing an act of national treason by hating durians.

They stink, and they're very prickly. Since they grow high up on trees, people have actually died as durians fall on their heads. Working at a durian farm then, is very perilous business. Here, you can see that I'm being burnt to a crisp by the beaming sunlight, and that's no puddle I'm jumping over... That's my sweat. It's fucking hot here, as seen with me being roasted alive...

Why Me.png

Sort:  

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

The durian-hating Malaysian... They must hate you!

We have durian here, imported. It is the foulest shit dude, but you lot love it up there...Except you, durian-hater.

I like your digital art. If those durian catch up with you they'll pummel you into submission! The thing is though, since your body is a finely tuned machine and you're an athlete those bastard durian will never catch you will they!

Thanks for sharing your artwork...Another masterpiece to add to the collection.

!ENGAGE 25

Ah, given how many Malaysians I know spend a lot of time Down Under, I'm not surprised that you've got that nasty shit being imported. I feel sorry for you, mate. It seriously sends a poker face to my mates when they're all having a durian party, and I tell them that I don't like it.

They'd seriously contemplate mauling a traitor to death with the shell of those prickly durians! Not sure if I could ever outrun them though, at least not forever. Thankfully, as that picture shows it well, the ground was levelling out. Otherwise, the police coroner's summary would be summarised simply as...

"Zack Norman, Male, 23. Cause of Death: Killed By Runaway Durian(s)."

Well, either you're a bad Malaysian, or your friends have bad taste...I reckon the latter because durian is truly heinous.

Yeah, I'm incline to agree with you. Sorry to all Malaysians, but I absolutely detest the durian, with all my heart. I hate it with a passion, even just the smell of it... Which is odd, since I'm also the only one in my household that doesn't like durians, too.

You're a Malaysian-durian-conundrum. 🥴

To eat, or not to eat, that is the question. Nearly threw up the first time I had a durian in my mouth... 🤢

They are literally the worst food on the face of the planet. Why were they even invented!

Wow. We learn something new every day. I had never heard of this fruit. Can't blame you for hating it. Funny illustration

Lol, cheers! I'm glad to have been able to show you something new. It's an odd-looking fruit for sure, and Malaysians (other than me) really love this stuff. They use it for paste, chocolate filling, candy, and even ice-cream! It smells awful, though the taste is either awesome, or atrocious depending on the person.

image.png

Those things look like the little Koopa's from Mario, chasing after you trying to take your mushroom then your life! Those damn things are deadly, literally it seems!

I can't unsee it now, it really does look like a Koopa, especially with the spiked armour! Durians really are dangerous, and they have killed people before, as quoted in Wikipedia... 😨

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Durian

A durian falling on a person's head can cause serious injuries because it is heavy, armed with sharp thorns, and can fall from a significant height. Wearing a hardhat is recommended when collecting the fruit. However, people have died from durian falling on their heads, especially young children. Strong nylon or woven rope netting is often strung between durian trees in orchards, serving a threefold purpose: the nets aid in the collection of the mature fruits, deter ground-level scavengers, and prevent the durians from falling onto people.

I'm pretty sure I couldn't live in an environment where the trees can kill you. Just sayin'

We have lots of stickery stuff around here, but it remains in a fixed position. All you have to do is avoid them.

Every once in a while somebody falls into a cactus and that is never pleasant, but like I said, they don't come after you.

Lol, quite true! However, durian trees aren't freely grown like some other plants, like mangoes for example. They're usually grown in farms, so the risk of getting killed by a falling prickly fruit isn't so high, especially after some protective measures are put in place. Still, they're certainly dangerous!

I've heard of durian but have never seen it or taste it. I live in Europe, we don't have it here. Anyway, I guess I wouldn't like it either, so it may as well be me on the photo. Nice drawing 👍

Haha, thanks for the compliment! You should be glad to be in Europe. So far as I can see it, the farther away you're from durians, the better! They literally smell like garbage, though the taste is somehow to a fair number of people's tastes. They have this creaminess in its texture, thought the taste is a bit sweet-sour-ish...

image.png

I'm glad I'm in Europe, especially after seeing what is going on right now in the world. As about durian, I guess I would be sick in the second I would smell it.

Haha, I can definitely see the sick brewing in your stomach just looking at it! I kid you not, the smell lingers for hours at a time across your entire house once you've cracked this open, sometimes for an entire day! Suffice to say, many hotels around Malaysia ban durians from getting brought up to your room. We wouldn't have any tourists coming here if that was the case 😂

I've read somewhere that durian is banned in hotels, which is good I believe. I see no point in punishing people by making them smell the terrible smell 😁
You can lose all your customers.

Lol, you really can! Seriously though, since I'm living in an apartment, once someone brings a durian or two inside the elevator, that stink stays forever! And here they say Covid is deadly... You haven't been trapped inside of an elevator reeking with durians 😂

I saw a post a few days ago, a user was traveling in Thailand by bus and the driver stopped at some point to buy durians. Imagine traveling hours on a bus that has durian 😁 I didn't think about the consequences back then, but now that you're mentioning the smell .... Can you imagine? 😁

I liked that, little spiny, (american style), foot ball shaped fruit should not be called fruit. looks more like an ancient medieval period torture devise or weapon.

Exactly! I remembered that as a kid, I'd help my parents haul these durians in plastic bag. They'd always poke out and stab in me in the legs... Continuously! It tortures your body, your nose, and your taste buds.

I think that gif says it all when it comes to smell.

It's the exact reason why I chose it XD! I'm guessing this is how parents brainwash their kids into accepting durians as a part of their daily meal... Bind them to a chair, and slowly get them to like durians. First the smell, then the taste. Otherwise, who in the right mind would eat them? 😂