HIVE COULD BE A VERY GOOD PLATFORM

in #blogging8 months ago (edited)

Reading yet another post by a long term Hive blogger who is leaving the platform because they are sick of having their posts downvoted, I felt compelled to have another bleat about this.

https://peakd.com/hive/@jaynie/not-a-doormat

_storage_emulated_0_Pictures_Cartoon_Photo_cartoon1663146572902.jpg

After having a look around quite a few platforms over the past decade, I still think Hive is really good in many ways. But there are a few things that always hold it back. The biggest of those, ultimately is MONEY and the control of who does or doesn't get any of it.

The downvoting and the relentless control of the reward pool and account reputations by the chosen ones, works against the platform ever succeeding as a creative space for blogging and interacting.

Sometimes I just feel like doing a quick post (yes, a shitpost!) and I don't care if it earns a few cents or not, but like everyone, I don't think we should always be forced to turn the rewards off to stop some dickhead whale downvoting us.

I've said things like this many times over the past seven years on Steemit and Hive, but believe it or not I do see a need for some control of the reward pool. Otherwise a bunch of accounts could just take all the rewards themselves and that would be bad. Wouldn't it?

The other side of the coin is, what if a bunch of accounts controlled what content was allowed to be posted by downvoting anything they disliked?. Wouldn't that result in a censored platform like Facebook?

But if someone came along and said OK, bugger the rewards, I'll turn those off and post whatever I feel like, a problem for those that like to control the content, is that once the rewards are turned off, unlike Facebook, Hive doesn't have a team of performing eunuchs who can suspend accounts. There isn't even much in the way of AI to do that job.

Some days I teeter on the brink of using this site more often, as the PeakD front end really is pretty impressive. The name "Hive" (Hivemind) does suck though, so I've taken to referring to it as PeakD and just ignoring the Hive name altogether.

With rewards off, calling it PeakD, and posting whatever I feel like, I think it would be a better platform, so yeah, that is how I see myself using it more often.

_storage_emulated_0_Pictures_Cartoon_Photo_cartoon1670537737273-03.jpeg

Sort:  

I think the downvote does more harassment than it prevents anysort of negative content.

Congratulations @frot! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 33000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I realized some people I was following got downvoted until the evidently quit and I don't know the full back story with it. 7 years..... we have both been along on this ride about the same amount of time which is crazy. I've been in crypto for 10 years now. It's nuts.

Man 2013 was ahead of the curve! What was Bitcoin back then - about $100?

I didn't start buying cryptos until late 2016 - starting with Bitcoin - but that still worked out really well because it went up from about $800 to $19k very rapidly and I sold it for 17k a year later and felt like a god for a while :)

I left a question under that post. Still waiting for an answer.

Why drag me into it? Even when she created a new account while pretending to be someone else, I was nothing but friendly with her. She even complimented my sense of humor.

It's baffling. And of course since she did that now, I'll never be able to trust her. She basically wrote "manipulator" on her forehead.

Unfortunately she put me in a position where I'm now happy to see her go. I have no use for people like that once I can see what's behind their masks, clearly.

I rarely downvote because I rarely find scummy shit worth downvoting. A senseless smear is worth downvoting but I've always preferred to use words, so that's why I asked.

Maybe (and I'm not saying this to wind you up, as we've both been around since the dark ages) it's because she sees you as an associate of the cabal.

Most of us old timers were driven off the platform but for some reason the chosen ones never took a dislike to you. I've never really understood why that was.

So you do look like a well rewarded insider and maybe that is why you were drawn into this. But I agree - the downvoting that I've seen wasn't coming from you and that seems uncalled for.

All I did was call out a few whales and talk about a big "virus" scam. I guess you never felt compelled to step outside the cabal accepted boundaries.

This is a potentially very good platform that could be vastly better if all non approved content wasn't being driven off.

Okay. Read the first sentence. Already triggered. lol. What is this fucking cabal? If I was a part of something, how do I not know what it is I'm a part of?

Well rewarded insider? I rarely post. lol. People here who I've never heard of earn far more than I.

No. I don't go around being a dickhead with downvotes but DUDE, these opening lines and all that "how it looks on the surface" will be the catalyst eventually turning me into the biggest asshole this world has ever seen. (I go on my breaks so I don't lose it but that's just one of the reasons).

That virus thing dude, I never took a side. I thought everyone was crazy and wrote about it. EVERYONE dude. And still do. So shoot me.

My content is also being driven off. You've known me forever and seen a lot and were also involved in one of the cancel culture attempts meant to take me down.

So what's up? lol

(I'm being kind.)

P.S. I think you should accept rewards and I think anyone downvoting you out of spite is a cunt, but at the same time, if you go around gaslighting and harassing people, then get downvoted, well, you probably got downvoted for being a cunt. So ask yourselves, "What happens when two cunts collide?"

If I turn the rewards on, my rep just gets lower - 69 is as low as I want to go, and it sounds kind of pervy!

The covidhoax - Yes I took a side and it's safe to say I have been proven right many million of times over. It is all bullshit and the vaxtards are now as sick as fuck.

Well rewarded - here is a rough example - if you do a post you will get about $75 in rewards and you will NEVER be downvoted. If I did a post I would get about $2 in rewards but from 2021 EVERYTHING I post is downvoted to zero by accounts with higher reps so my rep goes down. Unless I turn the rewards off and then I'm only downvoted by bots with lower reps.

Now please don't pretend not to know what the cabal is - we were all discussing this on Steemit as far back as 2018 - they are the whales doing a circle jerk system of payouts and hogging the reward pool, who decide who is OK and who isn't. A bunch of them are listed on that other post.

Triggered - LOL - you know me, I'm a complete prick! Now grow a set and stop being so sensitive.

ff20f635ead4ffb1.jpeg

Quit you're gaslighting. I'm not being sensitive. I thought by adding the lols you'd see I'm in good spirits about it.

I don't think you're a prick. I think you try too hard to be one and it just comes off as phony.

Been downvoted plenty of times. Scroll down my blog to see.

This LOOKS like you have been sucking whale dick:

(I don't know if you have or not, but after seven years of using blockchains I know that over $100 for every post is not what regular bloggers get - it is as suspicious as fuck)

image.png

WTF dude. Hive price was higher then. Also people like ranchorelaxo would simply see a post on trending and vote blindly. Several people had the same results.

How this narrative fucks you is the fact it's a blockchain, plus the people you're dissing know the truth. Those voters know damn well there's no foul play. So you diss me like this and it puts a spotlight on you, shedding light on how full of shit you are.

That's what you get for judging a book by its cover.

PS - DOWNVOTING???? - it's been more than two years since you had a single downvote. And that downvote was from an account with a negative rep and it was fuck all value anyway. Your post still got $110.

Honestly, you are talking shit now, wipe your chin!

image.png

Whatever dude.

Was me earning money here a problem for you? Seems like it. I rarely post. People earn far more than me. Go harass them with your gaslighting.

Perhaps you deserve the downvotes while others don't. Maybe consider that and take a moment to reflect.

Not sure are you awere, but since recently there is a short form platforms like leothreads and ecency waves. Both utilize comments as a placeholder for the short form content on their UI.

Ecency has build it very elegantly in their app as well. On web, you can access it trough the decks option

Thanks I'll check it out, this is all new to me. Do you know if usage of these platforms is growing?