Monday Already? How Nice!

in Teachers Lounge3 years ago

accordion-g331df5633_1920.jpg

photo source

Who is happy when Monday morning arrives and we need to go to work? Let's see, hands up who wants to give a positive answer? Well, I see, there are not many of these people. And what about the kids, do they like Monday mornings when they need to go to school? Neither? Of course, there are always exceptions, both in the group of people that go to work and children that go to school. If we just think about the purpose of the school, to learn something, to obtain new knowledge, every child should be happy to attend the lessons. Somehow, we are missing the point, or the school system has failed a bit, as the general feeling towards sitting in the lesson is not so positive.

Reading from my username, even if you have never read any of my posts, you can conclude that I have some connection to the musical instrument, piano. It is correct, the piano is a part of my life. Also, as a side effect of that love for the black and white keys, I became a pianist and piano teacher. At least, it is what my university diploma says, a Graduated Musician - Pianist & Piano Teacher. That is how everything started, with the love for that instrument. Already in one of the first lessons, I knew what I wanted to dedicate my life to. Maybe the sound of the piano, or the fact that I can produce those sounds pressing the keys, made me so sure back in time. Or, maybe my piano teacher was so nice, probably it also affected my decision. So, that happened in a lesson, in a music school. Yes, some loved to go to school, at least to the music school.

IMG_20210409_191535.jpg
One of my teaching desks

Learning to play an instrument has many beneficial effects. We all could easily name several of them... for example, the most known is that it stimulates the brain. Well, at least some of the functions, like the memory (here I raise my hand and confirm this) and abstract reasoning skills (here too). The social life can improve, as playing in an orchestra or a school band, a child can make more friends. Well, this social factor can not be applied to pianists, we are more solitary ones. A sense of achievement can be listed as a good side of learning music too, building more self-confidence. I am not at the moment in this phase, somehow that feeling went down lately, and I am aware I have to work on it. Talk to my head. As, what a good teacher does? It talks to its students, not just giving knowledge and skills, but also motivates, elevates the moods, and gives confidence to students. I have to be a teacher to myself too.

Going back to the beginning of this post, and the fact that today is Monday. The first teaching day in my work week. Naturally, I like weekends, holidays, free days and all the days where I dont have to go to teach, but maybe going to work at a music school is not so bad. It has many challenges, for sure, sometimes it is bringing some stress, but in general, I love what I do. I give piano knowledge, I give tactics how to learn, how to build patience, how to work out some skills that a child can use later in other fields too. I give loving words, a caring attitude, I accept all the imperfections and perfections, forgive the non-practicing days of the students but try to get them to be more productive. I love to play with them, as that is how we should do many things in our personal life too, to play! Ok, that is how a perfect lesson looks like, though, there are days when it is the opposite. When I do not have so many nerves, and where the students do not have so much desire to learn, but it is all a part of a process. Learning process. We will see which option will be the dominant today when I start to give my lessons.

So, how about your Monday fellow teachers? Are you already teaching today or just preparing yourself to go to have that experience?

If I understood well, you are a teacher @beesparkle? Look, here is a teacher lounge, that I discovered a few days ago while checking out the blog of @pusen, a teacher that created this community. @edprivat, I know, you told me you are not teaching right now, but, I think you could give your two cents on the teaching topic. Many of those teaching moments can be brought here, so why not? I dont know many other teachers at the moment here in hive, but if I find out, I will let them know about the existence of this small community :)

Well, I was happy to find this place, I think more than once we should hang out here. We all need some tips, moral support, rants, or simply share our experience or a certain day, lesson, interaction with a student... And, if we share it while having a cup of coffee, it will be an absolute pleasure to be around.

IMG_20211025_125020.jpg
Here is where I escape to buy myself a cup of that life-meaning-liquid-for teachers! Coffee :)

Sort:  

Helloooooooooooooo!

I had to wait until the end of the day to have a second to answer, forgive me! The kids have tests the entire week, and we oversee it to make sure they know what to do. For now it didn't go too well, but it's also my fault because I am trying to multitask while helping them on their tests.

Anyway, yes, giving a vocal lesson this week in Toulouse, and I have to admit that I missed teaching, so I am slowly going back at it. I don't know yet how I am going to find students, sometimes it's just about to put it out there, and the universe provides.

So here universe, I want to teach again, I want to get out of the house, and teach my beautiful craft to the world.

As for my experience dear friend, I am the same way when I record, play, or teach, I am passionate about what I know, and I love it when a kid gets it, and I see the spark in the eye.
I also prefer to teach to adults, because I can get more out of them, and we can also have a human experience/conversations, which is more difficult with kids, that sometimes don't even want to be there in the first place.

I have the patience with my own kids, I am teaching the piano to my son and the guitar to my daughter, I try to do it once a week, except this week.

Cheeeers!

Helloooooooooooooo back to you :)

Not to worry, I also just came home recently, after teaching had also a rehearsal, then dinner, etc...
My intuitions said well, here we have a multitasker, famous musician, cool hiver, excellent father, and teacher! Well, homeschooling is not easy, I can imagine. Do not blame yourself, sometimes it is just the subject or the kind or the test that is not suitable for the children. What is good is that you are working with them, teaching them other values too, and filtering the best knowledge you can show them.

I don't know yet how I am going to find students, sometimes it's just about to put it out there, and the universe provides.

You know, if you will have one satisfied student, others will come. You will see. It is always like that. I don't remember that I have got many students coming without a recommendation. No advertising can help if there is no other student that likes what receives. Then they say to their friends, and the friends also come. Then a day come that you choose not to accept any more students, and if you accept, they are grateful and willing to pay what you ask, just as you found time for them. It is happening, believe me.

So here universe, I want to teach again, I want to get out of the house, and teach my beautiful craft to the world.

I will quote this, so the universe can hear it again!!!
Yes, even if not for financial purposes, it is good sometimes to go out and do something different. If only one lesson, ok, doesn't matter, but you prepare in your mind that lesson and feel another kind of responsibility and importance.

Teaching children vs adults. In my experience, children will practice more, both as having more time and a bit of encouragement from the parents. Also, more innocent and really if we have those students that want to learn, the happiness in their eyes is huge. Also, many call me mom by accident 😅 haha so I have a lot of children 🤣 When they are at the age that needs some advice or help, they are open with me and say things that maybe not to their parents. When they stay so many years with me so they are around 20 or more, we become friends hehe. Even have students that became colleagues, so old I am 😉
Adults, yes, conversations, good time, and many times friendship is coming out from it even when they stop with the lessons. But, adults almost never have so much time to practice, they always promise and know they should study more, but then their own job, family, hundreds of other commitments so the piano is suffering!

P.S. Do you know, that we improved our so bad results from the last week in the engagement league? At least we are in the top 20 this time 😅

I have never minded Mondays. Tuesdays and especially Wednesdays are the worst for me where I'm tired to the max. For some reason. Also my Mondays start out quite chill with two office hours. My classes start after lunch so I can just chill, plan out the week and drink coffee. The weekends and holidays are the best of course. I just had a week of Holidays a week ago so now there's a run of eight working weeks until the Christmas holidays. The weeks run by so fast though...

Awesome to see you posting in the community. Would love to see more of your teacher friends find their way over here. I hope it can grow into something nice over time :)

The day I love the most is Friday, it smells like the weekend already and I don't mind having even tons of lessons when I know that the next day is Saturday :D That is great you have that office work and coffee hehe. When I worked in a different school, a decade ago and in another country, I was the head of the piano department and had more that chilling-office-coffee time. And I had Wednesday free, no lessons. Now it is different, it is in the private sector so not so much chilling haha.

I assumed you are in Norway, am I right? Did you know that here in the place I live, in a small Mediterranean coastal town in Spain, we have TWO Norwegian schools 😅 Have some students from those schools, and what they say to me is that they don't have tests until some grade, they have no grades or homework. Dont know if it is because of the Spanish way of taking on things or is it in your country the same?

Friday is of course the best! I have a packed week up until Friday. Zero classes on Fridays so it’s just a chill day to gather my thoughts, reflect and get ready for the next week. I always go home a little early in Fridays.

Cool! There’s a lot of Norwegians that has emigrated to Spain. I guess they seek the warmer climate. There’s a bit of a split in Norway when it comes to homework and tests. Some schools stand by them while some schools are moving away from them. It’s an eternal debate that never leads anywhere. Studies show that students learn 15% more from homework done right while some suffer from it. The strong ones excel while the weak suffer.

I was a teacher for several years in high schools, then at the university level, and more recently I worked in a soccer academy; it was a great experience, the bad thing in my case was that the salary was not fair, well I think that teaching is an activity that is not very well paid all over the world. However, you learn to know your limits and develop a great capacity for empathy.

Of course my experience is not as a music teacher, but as a psychologist, I have worked with children, adolescents and adults (as my specialty is educational psychology) and in my case I had to be from conflict mediator, to the guide of a whole group, and in most cases an individual counselor. The truth is that I stopped teaching a few years ago, but I still practice my profession and if I had to do it again I would do it, because that feeling of guiding, reinforcing and motivating is something that feeds all our areas of daily life. At the moment I work in another way and I enjoy it. ....

I think one of the biggest challenges a music educator has is to teach the correct technique to each student so that everyone manages a good level of performance, regardless of the style of each student. I also think that creating awareness about the instrument they play and its importance, to determine if that is what they really like, because many at a young age play a certain instrument (mostly) because their parents or a family member also play it, or to determine if they really want to do it for a hobby or because they want to be professional instrumentalists.

It's a little bit of everything, the truth is that I understand you and you have a great mission .... and you know something? when you talk about the phase of self-confidence, I think, that something that would help you a lot, would be to create your own music, I don't know if you have done it, but that would be a huge step for those moments, that if we refer to the musical field. I firmly believe that you would make very beautiful music because you are a high level professional.

A big greeting to you dear @mipiano and have a great week 🙌😀❤️

I surely appreciate you for this super comment, it took me almost a day to find time to be able to respond, sorry for this delay. You were a teacher in high school and university, well, I can respect this with full admiration Fernando! As I already knew from you that you are a psychologist, and for a few days I am thinking of a post I want you to be involved in (you will see anyway haha) now with this information you just made this decision stronger. A teacher too! Nice 🙌

Working with adolescents and being a conflict moderator, can be hard but emotional and exciting, right? When you feel you reached to that head and heart and made some good impact, and help manage doubts, questions, and uncertainties! So important task, and involves a lot of responsibility.

Oh, your last paragraph would certainly make me step out of my comfort zone. I am not sure about composing music, it has to be learned too, the techniques of composition are something I didn't study thoroughly, as I was focused just on performing. We had subjects like harmony, musical forms, counterpoint which I all like a lot. But later, I didn't use it actually. I always thought I can not create something new, or if yes, it will not be aesthetically valuable. Once, I dreamed with some super music, it was beautiful what I heard and I remember the feeling and my thoughts when I woke up... it was many many years ago, but you know what? I was not able to reproduce it and write it down as when it came to the world of consciousness, it lost the connection. Oh no, I was both happy and so sad, that it existed just in that dream and was never able to reproduce it in my mind again :/

Thank you very much, the admiration is mutual 👍🙂. And don't worry, I know you must be busy with your obligations. I can tell you that yes, it is very exciting, precisely because of what you say, and also I had to put myself in the position of a mom and dad to understand so many realities. It is very gratifying to help build values, attitudes and aptitudes in children and adolescents above all.

With respect to making your own music, I understand that composing on piano is more complex than on guitar for example; that dream you had you can possibly recreate it again by playing notes to your liking, linking melodies and letting your imagination fly using the basics, that knowledge that can allow you to put pieces together, until boom, your brain reacts to it and gives you back that memory of that dream or at least, part of it, the rest will come little by little.

You should try it as it comes out, that would already be an advance for the inspiration to be created until you have in your possession a great work of art.

🙌😀🎹🎶❤️

I should take your advice and try it without fear and limitation. Don't know when :D Yes, exactly that is what is blocking us, fear... or not being certain in some moments and then the world falls and we stop with communication and creativity. Does it make sense? hehee, thank you so much for always wise and encouraging words @fernanblog 🙌

It makes a lot of sense of course, creating a piece of music carries with it a lot of emotions and responsibility; don't let perfectionism and frustration get the better of you. Take your time and even if you last a long time composing, have patience, remember that everything is trial and error, then you have the learning, then comes the enlightenment and your mind will fly out of this world 😀💫🙌❤️

I have no doubt that when you do it, it will be powerful 🎹🎶🌟🌞; you will know how to identify the moment to do it, you will see that when you least think it will come and you will feel something unique and different...

A warm embrace for you dear friend, i believe in you 👍😉.

You certainly are blessed to be doing something you love in your workplace @mipiano!
I used to have a wonderful piano teacher and as a child, my dream was to become a concert pianist LOL, but I never got there ;)
Music certainly lifts the spirits, and I'm sure you inspire many of your students!
Enjoy your Monday, and thank you for the music!

Hi @lizelle 🤗

Yes, I think I am, and as I said I knew from the beginning I want to do this. I didn't want anything else. Of course, I do love holidays and maybe some permanent holidays would come in handy when I get tired hahaha and this teaching thing would just stay in memories. Or reduced, like one lesson a week ;D
When I read for the first time a post of yours, when you shared Mozart and the photo of your piano, I could imagine that the link is stronger! SO a concert pianist? It IS a beautiful dream!! But, indeed, a lot of sacrifices, hours of practice, talent, dedication, good teachers, further music education, money, influence, and a never-give-up attitude are needed. Just, all of that mixed with luck :)

I came home from teaching, sorry for the late response :) From Monday not much is left, but I will enjoy then my Tuesday! Wishing you a wonderful week 🌼

Thank you @mipiano!
That was just a dream and a career that would have been impossible to maintain when the babies came along, but I'm happy with the way my life has turned out as I would not have met many wonderful friends! Life is quite strange with all its twists and turns, but we just need to make the best with what comes our way not so! Teaching music takes a special person, I'm sure you need a whole lot of patience!
I need someone with very special skills to repair that old piano, not sure if one still finds people like that today.
Enjoy the rest of your week too🌻🤗

It is perfect when we create our lives in this attitude as you described here. Make the best from the things we choose and get from life! I am sure you would know how to cope even with that career on your shoulders.

Well, an experienced tuner maybe could help, try in the zone to search for some... but sometimes, it is just better to purchase another one, if there is no way to get it back to a decent shape.

I was told by someone a long time ago that it would be better to buy a new piano, but I'm too sentimental so for now I'm holding onto it, even though it's only ornamental.
We'll see what the future holds though as we have to downsize in the near future with age catching up👩‍🦳😉

I hope the future will be good ;)

Oh, I know that sentimental feeling for our old instruments (and other stuff) 😇

No way!!!

Do you still play sometimes?

Sadly not, my piano is messed up, very old with some notes dead, so no piano for me to play, can only listen now!
My dad was a super talented musician, used to play many instruments, his first love was jazz but he used to play in big bands at the old ballrooms when I was a child so music always played a big part in our lives as I'm sure it is in your home!

so no piano for me to play, can only listen now!

It would be so good if you could find a piano to buy, even an electric piano if your old one can not be fixed. 😀

Monday?! Are you telling me I missed the weekend?

It seems that the weekend disappeared 😱

Well shoot. I better set an alarm Friday.

I like you new profile pic.

As I like more the human approach, I will remind you when Friday comes! A tag will work well, I think :)

I like you new profile pic.

As someone here would say, better mint this comment of dandays :)

And thanks for noticing 😌 it should come in better resolution once I obtain a better copy of it. It was just sent me with a very reduced resolution...

The day has come! @dandays : it's Friday :))))
Enjoy the weekend ✨✨

Coolest alarm clock ever!

You've never loved an alarm until now have you?

Interesting question, self. No, I don't think I have, what do you think?

Coolest alarm clock ever!!!

I see, self questions and answers already danced on the scene, so just a bit of music is lacking to make the coolest alarm clock ever even cooler!

Got anything particular in mind? On the job (back when I had to do that stuff) I had this song for my alarm clock on the phone cuz I was that guy who always slept at lunch. Any time I had the opportunity really.

But that's a work alarm, way too aggressive. Got any ideas?

The art on that coffee place is a beaut!! And you Teaching desk/piano.

I recently gave a tutorial on splinterlands. And what started out as a one time thing now has 7 members in it.

I love it when teachers who understand the subject teach...like my physics teacher...I would be no where without him.

He explained physics in a way that I could understand and he dove into chemistry in my high school days.

Teachers are the builders of society and I feel if ever society will be fixed it starts with fixing what people learn in school.

I hope you enjoy the rest of you week!!!

Teachers are so important, indeed, and I am saying teachers and not just the education system and curriculum. Even if the subject and curriculum are good, the strategy of how to give the information depends mostly on the person that is teaching. Sometimes we fail hahah. The interesting fact is that teachers are more respected in Asian countries than in Europe or South America, for example.

So, you are giving tutorials on splinterlands now? Cool! Wishing you a lot of success with it @ebingo and thanks for your nice comment! :)

I hope kne day people learn to respect them. When I wanted to start working...I went to my primary school to pick up some of my documents and my old teach were still working there...one of them told me they hadn't been paid for close to 3 years...I hate hearing things like that...

In Nigeria doctor are treated like dirt...teacher dont even exist.

It is really sad to hear that Ebingo... So unfair and wrong to have the doctors and teachers undervalued ;(

I believe that Coffee was specifically created to combat mondays. The live saving elixir.

specifically created to combat mondays

🤣 true!!

The live saving elixir luckily serves very well on Mondays, indeed!... and...every morning, regardless of the day ;D

Yes that is true as well.
I'm drinking coffee as we speak! Lol

no way! me too 😅

Although it is not morning, you see, againm coffee is present! ;D

I can't drink coffee in the evening or even late afternoon. I wouldn't sleep. I'm always super jealous when my wife gets a coffee or cappuccino after dinner. Lol.

ow, finding this response after 9 days hahah, I just can't skip it ;)) Coffee can come any time of the day, morning, afternoon, evening... it is welcome always ;)

...well... why I have sometimes problems with sleeping...wondering, wondering 🤣🤣

I often teach to play the guitar, if that would pass.

I love what I do. I give piano knowledge, I give tactics how to learn, how to build patience, how to work out some skills that a child can use later in other fields too. I give loving words, a caring attitude, I accept all the imperfections and perfections, forgive the non-practicing days of the students but try to get them to be more productive.

You must be a very good teacher from this.
It was beautiful reading a bit more about you.

Hi @jaydr
I try to be, sometimes I see success, sometimes not, but that is the thing of balance :)

So if you teach guitar, you can also find a place in this teacher lounge place with your experience or thoughts :)

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received an upvote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

🎶 Join us on our Discord Server! 🎵

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

You have made an excellent summary of what it can mean to be a teacher. I think music teachers in particular may have it a little easier since they usually like the instrument they are teaching, and since music is infinite there is always room for new things, it makes the routine more bearable.

There was a time when Mondays were a reason to go to class but it was only a short time, I think that the educational institution and the teachers have a lot to do with the motivation of their students; in short, it has never been totally pleasant to study hahaha, but it is certainly worth it.

I bet you dont even remember this post, as I am responding after 5 days 😬 So we are on the teacher topic, about Mondays hahaha.

I think that the educational institution and the teachers have a lot to do with the motivation of their students; in short, it has never been totally pleasant to study hahaha, but it is certainly worth it.

Yes, the institution and the teachers have a big role in the motivation thing. It depends a lot on that interaction that a student gets, everything is easier if the teacher can present the subject in a pleasant and interesting way, so the student will have more interest too. But Mondays...oh 🤣 We should start to work always on Tuesdays, at least ;D

As usual I am late for discussion :) But as I say to my pupils, never is to late for learning and better late than never :D
Mondays...every Monday I am working morning shift since in our school schedule of classes does not change during the whole year; just loooveee waking up around 5am, after, usually, 4hrs of sleep since during weekend my owl biorhythm take over my body...When I need to do paperwork most of the time morning shifts are making me wanting to sleep under my desk, but when spending time with pupils, blood runs faster through my veins :)
Plus combined model as measure against corona...but more about that in some next post...

Who is now late for the discussion haha?

just loooveee waking up around 5am, after, usually, 4hrs of sleep

🤣

E pa, sad da verujemo u to? :)) Jao, spavanja nikad dosta, tu sam negde i ja sa brojem sati koji se provedu u snu, a nije samo posle vikenda tako. Moram se malo disciplinovati ;)

but more about that in some next post...

Kad, kad, kad? Ovo bi mogla da bude idealna zbornica ;)) ali da ne donosimo dnevnike na Hive

Looking forward to some of your next posts @beesparkle 💃

Posto necemo sa dnevnicima na Hive samo sa trac partijama iz zbornice i hodnika, necu da ti pisem izostanak za kasnjenje :P Ti si, za razliku od mene, vrlo redovna ovde :)

AKo treba inspiracije, tu sam ;))) Moze i trac partija, mogu i ozbiljne teme!