Unicorn ~ by Red Dust Art

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The Unicorn Is Scotland's National Animal

Doodlecorn

11 x 14, mixed media paper, pen, and ink

I need to work on light hearted drawings besides writing difficult articles and paintings. I will be trying to finish a couple doodles a week besides working on projects that stretch me. I just wanna have a little fun once in a while. Here is my first doodle in a long time.

I am also volunteering helping set up a kids area for a local festival here in Tulsa Oklahoma called Scotfest. Most of my doodles will be Celtic in Nature because I am getting to know part of my heritage. My Dad's mother, was from the Waddel Clan. The Scottish are a friendly people and love to share their culture. Especially beer, whiskey, and sports. The Scottish festival sponsors the Highland Games where wild haired men and their beautiful women, wearing plaid skirts compete throwing pitchforks, logs, and other oddly shaped heavy objects, strange but true... This festival along with many others of it's kind help clans or tribes depending on the festivals culture, stay in contact with each other. The festivals help maintain a cultures history and teach the young ones where their ancestors came from.

It's interesting that the Scottish people picked a mystical animal like the Unicorn as their national animal. But it may make sense when England's national animal is the lion and the unicorn and the lion are enemies. Scotland throughout many historical invasions was able to fight off invaders and remain free. However, eventually the proud people fell to England and to this day many still resent being ruled by the English.

What The Mythical Unicorn Represents.

Unicorn qualities included:

  • Innocence
  • Purity
  • Boldness
  • Pride
  • Healing Powers
  • Joy
  • Intelligence
  • Virility
  • Nurturing Powers

Scotland isn't the only culture to believe in unicorns or at least give reverence to the positive qualities of humanity. The unicorn myth is found in old myths across the globe from Greece, Persia/Iran, Egypt, India and Africa. What is interesting the qualities the symbol of the unicorn represents is the same throughout the world.

Like our American legend Bigfoot, a big hairy human like creature. People say they have seen the Unicorn but can never show empirical evidence. I don't believe in Unicorns but maybe that's because I am not a virgin. I don't believe in Bigfoot, I have never seen one. But I am leaving the door open just in case. Who knows, maybe these creatures live in alternative universes and during certain times a door opens up between our universes and we can see each other. My personal opinion the unicorn is a teaching symbol that promotes the positive characteristic of the human psyche. The unicorn may not real but the virtues it represents are.

Bigfoot could represent the Green Man or Wild Man

The Scottish Unicorn

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Lovely art my friend. I still wonder do unicorns exist or not in this world.

Wicked pattern!!

We picked it becasue we know the Sassenach canne steal it when oor backs are turnt. Now ya canne take a unicorn back tae London can yae? :) Your art work would not be out of place in Scotland.

Oh I love your accent....The Unicorn would tear the lion up, it's time to let it loose upon the world...!

Very cool and intricate knotwork on the Unicorn.

I believe the Scots were a very superstitious lot, especially the highlanders where they were closer to the natural environment, and some of the women (especially) had the gift or the sight. So it's not a leap to assume they believed in mystical & magical creatures (not just the Unicorn).

The festival sounds like a wonderful event to take part in. :)

All the Scottish people I know are argumentative knuckleheads ....hahaha

When speaking of the sight, one does not speak of it... ;-)

lolololol oops. I hope I don't now have to find a talisman to ward off any potential curses. :D

The best shield for curses is a pure heart ;-)

Drats, foiled already! lolol

Very nice drawing. Reading the qualities of a unicorn helps me to put a connect to those folks who truly enjoy them a they share many of the same qualities. Thanks.

Thank you @enjoywithtroy, you are very kind. <3

In my childhood I have seen a unicorn in my english alphabet book under the letter "U". And I can remember that I am asking from my father to see it alive.And my daddy said me that they live in the zoos.So I wanted to go to zoo to see it.But when I got a chance to go there I found that they do not them there.Later only I learnt that it is a mythical animal.But yet my heart resist sometimes to accept it as it is one of the beautiful animals I have seen even in paintings.I remembered all my childhood memories after seeing your blog.Thank you so much for helping me to recall my beautiful memories
-cheers-

Thank you @nishaopt, U is always for Unicorn!

I love the drawing and I love the post and I love that the unicorn is our chosen animal!!

You are right, we still resent the English but Sshh. Don't let them know ;0)

I won't tell them anything, my cousins the Beers are English, we visit them ever-so-often, flying over to England. My Mother's, Mother's--father was English with eyes as blue as a summer sky ....I had a boss from England, he is a lawyer on top of being English, and he would say sorry all the time but didn't mean it. I would step on my bosses foot and he would say "Sorry"

So I would step on this foot for the fun of it....and laugh when he said sorry. I wonder if he ever figured out that I was teasing him...I was his paralegal for over 5 years too...lololol

Hehe, it's quite the British thing to apologise in situations like that. I would probably say sorry if a lass stood on my foot!

unicorn is just a myth .. I agree with you .. that unicorn is a symbol for a positive character that makes us able to appreciate and love that character.
I love Scottish people they are really friendly and very kind.

It is a wonderful drawing of a creative person, I liked the idea ,,, What if you add some touches and make them in the form of Mandala ?

I will be working on Celtic designs that look like mandala's with this series.

It will be more than wonderful painting if your hand draw it, I will wait for it to give my opinion impartially

This is hand drawn 😊

That art there got me confused but it is so amazing and it's really nice......keep it up

Knot work makes everyone feel that way @ahmmartinz

Nice painting!
In Belgium a lion is the national animal :)

I promise to keep my Unicorn on a leash around Belgium's lion...you crazy Belgiums...I've heard so many stories about Belgium from my Dutch husband....hahaha (hugs)

Good jop.
is that really your painting ... ??

5445601C-5538-432D-9631-F96781835653.jpeg

Yes, this is my work😎

this is new I believe.
you are incredible friend ..

I love the style so much! Plus I love unicorns;)

I knew I couldn’t miss with this one 😋

Beautiful drawing red that animal looks strong, i didn't know tha unicor is the Scotland's National Animal so it's strange because it doesn't exist. Regards

Yes but the virtues the mystical animal represents are real ;-)

As always smart words dear read :)

@reddust,
My personal opinion the unicorn is a teaching symbol that promotes the positive characteristic of the human psyche
Artwork will be definitely an amazing one. In this stage I can predict! But I could learn a great history as well! Amazing my dear friend! Thanks for sharing this great artwork with the story too!

Cheers~

Thank you @theguruasia, personal opinions abound lololol....I don't know how I would react if I actually saw a unicorn, probably be struck dumb ... but maybe not, maybe my curiosity would overcome my fear of the unknown and I would follow the mystery!

@reddust,
Your writing reminds me this rhythm. It's one of my sons favorite!

Cheers~

Blasted English!!! lolol

@reddust,
Made in India lol :D

Cheers~

Oh man, the world is getting so small...lolol

The Scottish are a friendly people and love to share their culture. Especially beer, whiskey, and sports.

Where do I sign up??!?

I love celtic art; something about it is just awesome. I actually am working on a Tree of Life which has some celtic vibes running through it - I hope to post it soon.
Working on "simpler" stuff is definitely necessary to give your mind a rest! Or if you're like me you actually "stress" when working on a piece waiting for that one stroke that ruins the whole thing! (I know, that can't be healthy...)

Your line work on this is great! Do you plan on coloring it?

No colors, this series will be for a coloring book. Gads, the stress from a missed line of brush stroke is awful. But doing meditation retreats has helped me deal with the stress, you know, put the feeling aside.

I'm already in heaven because it's a unicorn. Thank god it's not pink because my heart would explode from extasy!

Pink unicorns dancing on rainbows!

Noooo, it's killing me it's too cute and nice. Aaarrrgh.

Poor @sadpotato :P lololol

wow! that's great art, i love this one... @reddust

I had a blast reading about Scottish Unicorns and my ancestors history. This will be a fun series to do! Thank you @killerkuasha.

Wonderful drawing do you like horses ?

I grew up with horses, my Mom was one of those "crazy horse ladies." I grew up in the show ring, English Dressage and Morgan horses. Ridding bareback with bailing twine for a bridle in the wild woods of Oregon.

wow! that's great art, i love this one..

This drawing is beautiful :) and volunteering is really nice of you! hope you enjoy with everything you do

I love getting involved face to face with people, especially children. I will be printing this pen and ink series and putting together a little coloring book for the Kids Glen where I will be volunteering.

so so so nice, the fact you share your inspiration and work with others but especially with children and make them happy really makes you a big person.
Since I became an aunt, I'm 'week' on kids so this is beautiful for me.

We are made to love kids or our species wouldn't survive. Although becoming a mother for me, the lack of sleep made me tired and grumpy my first couple years of motherhood. I often thought if I didn't love my kids so much I would toss the screaming little demon out the window during those first 2am feedings.

I am glad my kids are grown up now and I can pick the times I want to care for kids instead of being on the job 24/7!

oh i got to know lot of things..i cant exactly say that i do believe in these creatures or not..actually i am not sure about my own thoughts some times..however i saw a unicorn for the 1st time in Harry Potter film..since then i started loving this inncoent creature..and i have heard in stories about the healing power in their horns..but i do not have any idea that how these stories came up..then i feel that there should be some way that these animals have lived in here..but i am not sure about it anyway..as you said the alternative universe story is possible..since we do not know anything for sure we cant just discard them telling them rubbish..anyway nice drawing and nice story :)

There is a nice little story waiting to be written about our mythical animals and alternative universe theory. Thank you @steemclaira.

wow..what a good news to hear..then we will be waiting to read it :)

This looks really good. can't wait to see the finished product.

Thank you @manorvillemike, this isn't a work in progress. I'm working on a series of Celtic doodle drawings using pen and ink. I understand your assumption though, usually I post WIPs lolol

Wonderful drawing , like always @reddust

Thank you @hassanben, .....hahahaha

Thank you for this beautiful publication, a wonderful slogan drawn with extreme precision
Working with children of the best things and how to deal with them
Certainly cultural festivals have a great role in the definition of the cultural heritage and civilization of the country and keep this popular memory of extinction and instilling the cultural values ​​of the ancestors of the ancestor of the continuation of this culture for ages.
The participation of children in such festivals makes them proud of their cultural heritage

The fast passed modern world is kind of boring, all that consumer society entertainment and so political...

It's feels really good to connect with my heritage. I really enjoy the Scottish people, especially when watching rugby. lololol

I also work in my small village in an association dedicated to the cultural heritage of the inhabitants of the desert. We organize annually a festival where the heritage of the children and the workshops of the handicraft,

I've read that the people of the deserts are losing their culture as well. So you do understand, thank you @klasanaj....I have aunts that still weave and spin their own yarn. I've always wanted to learn. I know how to sew clothing, garden, preserve food, and take care of farm animals. Handicrafts used to be a wonderful source of income and our way of creating art. Industrial era kind of killed all those small business. I am happy we are working on keeping our heritage alive.

Surely the culture of the people of the desert has become a day after day a little cares about the culture of his ancestors, especially oral culture has many of the folk tales and songs and songs of the people of the desert with the death of grandparents
Live in this spirit about your culture and your interest in them and transfer them to young children and your children
Are you from America or Scotland?

I am American With European and American heritage...all my family are from the pioneer culture which settled in America hundreds of years ago.

You are an ambassador to a European culture of Scotland mixed with American culture.
I dream of getting a visa for America. I like this country very much
Thanks for your support

I love your output. I could clearly see that it was hand written because the thickness of the lines vary, and for me it makes your work more honest, lovely, and sophisticated.

@gailbelga, I am horrible with lines...It's been a year of practice and I am still really bad. Oh well, like you said, my uneven lines and character.

Jesus Christ, how did you do it? It's much harder than drawing a normal unicorn. I think I'm not able to draw like that right now.

I like to torture myself @yaan and I have dyslexia really bad with right-left and math. For some reason this kind of art makes my brain hurt but I love it...It triggers that feeling I get when my husband tells me to turn left and I turn right instead or when I try and figure out maths in my head...lolol

Wahahaha, it's fine :D

Can i own a Unicorn?

I am dwelling on the good side of the Unicorn and i hope our society especially will the blacks (African/Nigeria) can see the good side of this great creature and follow its ways.

This depreciate a good quality of a normal society. If a society can actually have this qualities, i believe it will help in eradicating and reducing impunity among its citizen.

Lovely sketch

I hope people will meditate on the virtues the unicorn represents but also this was a fun drawing too!

all of your post is always so informative,so i regularly follow your blog. love to read it...........

Welcom dear @reddust i miss you
Wonderful slogan drown
Happy day

Always wonderful thanks. If it was possible to help vote for my publications because my account is new

If you haven’t already please check out :
Is commenting really worthwhile
Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment!
Steemit Etiquette Rules
No one is interested in following, upvoting, or looking at the posts of a person who disrespects their work or interests by only wanting to talk about himself and his interests. If you want to reply to someone's post please have the courtesy to contribute to the topic of the post.

Good Luck!

nice painting comrade, success for you

Thank you @humaidi

You are welcome my freind..

Excellent art. I love it.

Wow Really Beautiful Drawing 😊
You have a huge talent, You Made the Right Choice for Art 😊

@reddust - Ma'm your Doodlecorn concept works well... I wish to see more wonderful artworks Ma'm...

+W+

@reddust...wow very beautiful and wonderful drawing..really you have a greate skills in drawing..thank you for sharing with us...

Wow looks good lines and shape and design wonderful i adore it

unicorn is myth of human imagination and infasuation, but now a days it only a story to tell your grandchild.

Wow! Nice concept. I love it.

Wow. I really like yoyr posts. Resteeming it. Unicorn has been my fav all the time. Its the first time irwad its mytical worth. Thanks for sharing

Godd art.

I enjoy your creations so much. Idea of unicorn made of lace is just amazing

Drawing and creating a wonderful work on the effort was a satisfactory result

Well I had no idea the unicorn was the national animal of Scotland, learn something new everyday I guess lol. Awesome sketch too :).

Beautiful and awesome drawing, you have my vote and i follow you from now on, congratulations!
if you like see my drawings, can you stop by my blog @arteadictorals where i have a lot draws.

That's pretty cool to know thanks for the tips by the way, have a nice..

Very good friend

@reddust very good work, very sensitive in the symmetry and in the handling of the trivial interlaced.

Very nice. My daughter loves unicorns. It is a pity that it is only a mythical beast.

There are 2 pages
Pages