Are you not entertained? Mayweather and McGregor put on virtuoso performances to kick of World Tour

in #boxing7 years ago (edited)

THIS is the big show

Let’s not be under any illusions. The Floyd Mayweather – Conor McGregor Superfight is a 100 percent hype show. It’s about two of the biggest trash talkers in combat sport settling their online tête-à-têtes in a boxing ring. It’s a circus. It's more entertainment than sport. And personally I love it!


may-mac-01.jpg

I’m getting my money’s worth and we’re only half way through a 4 stop “World” Press Conference Tour! This event is what Twitter, Youtube and Instagram were made for.

Dancing bear

Let’s be clear on what these Press Conferences are about. Mayweather has proven he can generate 100s of millions of dollars in boxing ticket sales and Pay Per View buys, provided he has the right dance partner. These Press Conferences are about selling Conor McGregor as a dance partner. And "boy", is Conor dancing…. literally as well as figuratively.



Mac The Knife

If you’re into mma you already know that McGregor is currently the most charismatic trash talker in combat sport. Arguable the best combat sport trash talker since Muhammad Ali. Outside of mma however many would be wondering what the fuss is about.

Now they know.


mcgregor.jpg

McGregor is box office He is the kind of engaging personality that immediately makes you invested in the outcome of his journey. Love him or hate him, you want to see what happens next.

He mixes humour and honesty in a way few of his contemporaries can match. Whether you believe him or not, it is clear that he believes in his ability to win a boxing match against the best boxer of this generation, in his first professional boxing match.

First Stop – LA LA Big city of dreams

The first of four press conferences kicked off in Los Angeles on Tuesday night. And it was TV Gold. McGregor swaggered on stage with a slick suit pin-striped with Fuck You embroidery.


mcgregor-fu.jpg

Mayweather wore casual clothes and a baseball cap. Despite the deck being heavily stacked against him, walking out second, talking second, having his mic cut, not be informed on the arrangements, it was Conor who came out on top. On the surface the LA Press conference looked even. Mayweather played the tough guy on the mic. He embraced the role of the heel. However when you hear the words that were exchanged when the pair faced off at the end of the Press Conference it was clear who was alpha. McGregor was the man, outside the squared circle at least.



Old man cameo

The best part of the LA press conference was the scrum, where Conor and Floyd’s father, Floyd Mayweather Sr went back-and-forth. The playful banter between McGregor and the old warhorse Sr, was a bonus treat. “You’re a fan... “ McGregor said. Deep down, Mayweather Sr probably is.



Back to Back – In Toronto

If there was any doubt who got the best of the LA press conference, there was no doubt that McGregor absolutely roasted Floyd in Toronto. It turned into a one-man stand-up show, with Mayweather the butt of virtually every joke. The Canadian crowd was so pro McGregor, booing Mayweather at every turn. Lapping up all of Conor’s antics.



No Showtime love

One reason Conor McGregor is loved by so much by so many is he gives zero fucks about authority and the established order. He isn’t cowered. In LA his mic was cut. In Toronto he went at the neck of Showtime’s Stephen Espinoza. “Fuck Showtime!” He declared. “…you fucking weasel.”

Many fighters would not dare to go at a major broadcaster, regardless of how they may have wronged them. But McGregor knows his worth. He knows, whatever the result of this fight, in the long run, Showtime will need him more than he needs them. This is likely the last milking of the Mayweather cash cow. However the McGregor money making machine is only just starting. McGregor holds the chips and he isn't afraid of reminding anyone of that.

Flag holder or bag-holder?

The most poignant part of the Press Conferences so far was when Mayweather picked up the Irish flag and draped it around his shoulders.


mayweather-flag.jpg

In many ways, Mayweather was holding a symbol of what McGregor represents. He represents the pride of a nation. In response, McGregor picked up Mayweathers ‘school bag’ with $5000 in it. To many, (on the surface), McGregor was holding something symbolic of what Mayweather represents… an insolent child with a bag full of money.

However scratch beneath the surface and you'll realise Mayweather is far more astute than that.

Self made Anti-hero

Let’s be clear however. McGregor is dancing to Mayweather’s tune. Yes McGregor is the crowd favourite. Yes, McGregor is the better trash talker. Yes, McGregor could demolish Floyd in any other combat sport. However when it comes to boxing and making money out of the sweet science, Mayweather is the powerhouse.


may.png

Mayweather has made his fortune being the unbeatable boxing anti-hero. The anti-hero to the popular De Hola. The anti-hero to Canelo. The anti-hero to Pacquiao. Not only did he win those matchups. He made huge paydays being the man everyone wanted to see beaten.

Mayweather choose McGregor because he knew the Irishman could be the perfect people’s hero. The charming trash-talking underdog, that will get the turnstiles turning and the PPVs clocking up. This is the reason why McGregor was the only fighter Mayweather would come out of retirement for. In many ways we're experiencing Floyd's vision. And it's shaping up to be a blockbuster event, regardless of the sporting merits.

Strictly business

Let’s also be clear. What happens before August 26 is irrelevant to what will go down on fight night. Both Mayweather and McGregor are the most calculating fighters imaginable. Both has done this before. Neither will be rattled by what the other has done in LA or Toronto. Nor will they be fazed by what they will do in New York or London. This is the business of drumming up enough interest to give people an excuse to part with their hard earned cash come the night of August 26th.


may-mcg.jpg

And both are playing their part to aplomb so far.

Sort:  

This is the reason why McGregor was the only fighter Mayweather would come out of retirement for. In many ways we're experiencing Floyd's vision.

That is one of the most astute observations I've seen yet. This is Mayweather's vision. He is smart enough to understand the terrain and play his role.

I'm with you, boy this is entertaining.

I've had more fun watching these pressers than I've had in a looonnnng time watching anything. I watched the Toronto presser 3 times the whole way through last night. This is truly, must see tv. I'm not delusional in the fact that I think Conor will win, but the more and more I see them together the more and more I think this just might have a few interesting moments. The 10oz gloves and large ring I think spell doom for Conor, & throw in the fact that it's hard to even lay a finger on Floyd in a phone booth, but I haven't seen a fighter with this much confidence in a long time come up against Floyd. They have my $100 already. The Mayweather Sr and Conor exchange was priceless. August 26th can't get here soon enough. I've got my popcorn ready!

2 more press conferences to go! can't wait. When McGregor called out Showtime I was in shock. it was total bs the m cutting off his mic though. I don't think Floyd is rattled though. He knew what he getting into.

You outdid yourself here. This was a great writeup.
I don't know much about boxing or mcgregor, but I know of both of them. I know of floyd's status but you filled in all the details around the hype. I like how you put into perspective how this is kinda floyd's vision, he loves making a hero and then tearing him down. All the while, making money on the fight. A lot of money. Great article.
When I was asked the other day about the fight I asked how many boxing matches has mcgregor been in? I still want him to win, but if I feel that way and I don't watch the sport, what they are doing is working. Great job here.
Thanks for all the support on my blogs. I appreciate it.

This will be Conor's first professional boxing match. But he is an excellent mma fighter, with a great 'stand-up' game and freakish punch power. However boxing is a different sport and Mayweather is the best of his generation. It should be a mismatch, but McGregor has done unthinkable things in mma already. Hence the interest and intrigue.

I agree. I knew he hadn't boxed in any, so that was my response to the question. I don't know enough to pick the winner, but the undefeated boxer against a guy who's never boxed at this level should be a mismatch. McGregor is making a show of it for sure, and who knows, he could slip on in on Floyd. We'll see. Great article, man.

Connor is a good athlete, but he's a truly extraordinary linguist. The way he made Mayweather Snr look was something to behold. It demonstrates that words can be as profitable to an athlete as their performance. Terrific article @nanzo-scoop.

The money in sport is with the 'casual fans'. Casual fans need more than sporting excellence to peak their interest. Personality is top of that list. If you can give the casual fan something to talk about and buy into beyond the intricacies of the sport they love you for it. And the paychecks will follow.

Its going to be awesome, Pure entertainment at its best! Reminds me of Rocky 3 :)

I'm trying to score tickets in Vegas but mannn, those are going to be rare and expensive lol

The hype is real, haha. Love the pressers. My favorite is how McGregor is like..."little legs, weak core, I see a frail old man...such a little head, with my big fist...its over" hahaha. I mean you just cant help but laugh.

If somehow, however improbable, McGregor knocks out Floyd? Oh my.

This is what Mayweather is saying to McGregor
image1 (4).JPG

Mayweather is going to kick his ASS...

Are you going to the London Press conference? I think Mcgregor can do it, all he has to do is land one shot and you can see how Alvaraz and Aldo shutdown.

Form Voltron LOL!

Lol I'm finding a way to go there, it's only 25 mins away walking.

Good luck and hope you get in, I think it's a ticketed event. Try and hold up a sign for Buy STEEM :D

I hear it's sold out and the free tickets are reselling for around £40. I would go if it was more local, however it's the other side of London - I'll watch online though. Hopefully it's more like Toronto than New York.

Fairly non eventful, apart from the "F" bomb, wtf

This is an EXCELLENT write-up. This thing is quite the spectacle. Mcgregor has always seemed a Heel to me, then I've always preferred fighters with a temperament more like Rory Macdonald, Demian Maia, and Vasyl Lomachenko etc. I'm interested to see this bout, but I really don't see Macgregor coming out on top. He had a decision against Diaz and he's facing the greatest defensive boxer of all time. Unless this whole thing is an elaborate work and mayweather takes a fall. I see this going the distance, with Mayweather on top by split decision. And I say that as somebody who despises Mayweather.

Anyways thanks for the quality combat sports writing. I'm Def giving a follow.

I think the smart money is on Mayweather by decision or a late stoppage. McGregor is a tough as nails but his cardio will be called into question if he cannot land on Floyd and Floyd is lighting him up at will. Boxing cardio and mma cardio are different. Even little things, like wearing boots, and bigger gloves will play a factor in a taxing fight where you aren't used to being in that situation. It can also be mentally taxing against someone as seasoned as Mayweather.

McGregor's best chance is an early KO or for Mayweather to have age incredibly since his last fight two years ago. Alternatively if there is a very lenient referee that let's McGregor get away with mauling Mayweather. That is probably the X-factor. The degree to which McGregor can implement an mma style game in a boxing match. If he can implement some 'dirty' mma tactics (particularly in the clinch) it may make for an interesting night.

For those of us that work in Las Vegas and have had to deal with Floyd Mayweather we all hope he gets destroyed. but we also know how rigged boxing is. Floyd probably made more on his last fight then McGregor has his whole career. If this fight happened in a parking lot or in a bar McGregor would destroy Mayweather and that is why all the rules and everything has been wrote by Floyd to protect Floyd McGregor will lose because of this. I also want to add that Floyd Mayweather is far from being the best fighter in his weight class Julio Cesar Chaves was a hundred times better with a better record. I am not sure but I'm pretty sure he had 80 wins before his first loss. Floyd will never come close to that.

Maybe I'm out of the loop but what exactly did Team Mayweather put in the contract "to protect Floyd" that's different from the typical Marquess of Queensberry Rules? I don't understand.

There are probably a few things that decrease the changes of McGregor getting an unlikely win/ KO, e.g. the weight they fight at, the gloves used (size and type), the size of the ring, the choice of referee, when they fight (the sooner the better for Floyd) etc.

I'm pretty sure Mayweather would have had the final say on all of them.

Ultimately, you're right in the sense that it is a boxing match and boxing skill will be the biggest factor. But any little advantage he can get, you can bet Mayweather has covered it off.

At what point does the audience lose interest? This will be a awesome fight I agree, but will it really happen. Both are very skilled fighters with the gift of gab. I just wanna see what happens in August which is just next month. I'm sure it's going to be a nice Pay Per View payout and each boxer stand to walk away with a pretty hefty check.

I think it was a smart business move to get the bout done as soon as possible. It's a "May-Mac" bubble at the moment and there won't be a big sporting event to break the momentum. I think they'll rake in the dollars.

I want McGregor to win!

I'm with you

Mayweather & McGregor right now

This fight and everything leading upto it has been so entertaining.

McGregor all the way... It's time to shut down Mayweather.

giphy.gif


heard enough bs yet ?

I completely agree. They make a huge show out of it before the fight. Nevertheless I do enjoy the sport, and they have achieved what they wanted. I am super hyped about the coming fight!

it s the same as watching wrestling :p

This actor game worthy of Hollywood.

I love how Mayweather tried to bet him his whole purse. McGregors eyes LIT up!

Am loving it, the two currently best fighting superstars in their own right.

For me, the charismatic man is always — a man with a sense of humor. McGregor — handsome!! He wins the fight before it starts. Remember the words of Sun Tzu from his treatise "Art of War"?

Who else before to battle — wins a preliminary calculation, chance a lot; who — even before the battles does not win a calculation, have little chance.

This post is awesome, your commentary gives me a way better understanding of what is going on with this fight. This is gonna be one hell of a show.

I'm really excited to check out the tour.

They soooo cool!)I like it!

We'll see what happens, I think people might be surprised it'll be a close fight. On other hand, maybe it won't be. Regardless of all that, probably be the most hyped fight of the decade!

So for the last couple of years we have the anti-establishment trend going on. It's alright, it's nothing special, fashion comes and goes.

So now the more "f**ks" someone sends to well-established personas or institutions, the more approved by the society he is. Hell, someone can even win an election using this tactic.

But it doesn't take neither brains, nor balls to say "f**k you" to the channel, whose money from selling ads will later fill your pockets.

So, sorry, McGregor, not a fan of the show you've put on, I'm switching the channel.

this is going to be very interesting

great post...upvoted and followed

It's all very interesting I must add! I saw some of the clips on FB and it was entertaining to say the least! :D

Are you a fan of boxing or mma by chance? I've noticed that there is a sad lack of quality content on the topic here on steem.

This is definitely staged and hyped to generate huge profits. I am sure this fight will make both of them top most paid atheletics this year.

@nanzo-scoop - I agree with you that Mayweather and Mcgregor are 'dancing' through these press events and are prepping everyone up for the upcoming fight. The trash talk is psyching everyone up to unheard of levels.

I was missing quite a bit of this action. Thanks for this comprehensive coverage in your blog. Upvoted

I am more into wildlife and travel (having stepped back from the rut of being a successful executive), I continued my observations today of nuggets of wisdom from wildlife and wrote a blog 'How to Chill - 🐵
Monkey Style' with my wildlife photos and musings with a twist
. I request you to take a look at it when you have time. Your comments, as always, would be an encouragement and incentive for me to make better blogs. Thanks

I love to read your articles! Thank you @nanzo-scoop for your support!

My dear friend Very good post and amazing post ! Well done!Look on me post please it's very nice and lovely. This girl is my niece
https://steemit.com/photography/@bugavi/photosession-of-my-little-beautiful-niece-in-my-performance-bugavi-photographer-part-2

That fight has already started some time ago but so far they fight only with words, but boooy, how I like this part of the fight also. It is great to see them challenge each other like that. This is making the real fight much more claimed.

I just followed and upvoted you.
I can see you flying on steemit please can you help me out too. I have to make it too, guide me, follow me, upvote my posts and resteem my posts to help me get to where i should. Thanks for your anticipate help.

Put together quite nicely. I know it's all novelty, but I am still excited to see this match. The main reason is because it pits MMA vs BOXING. I wish that they would have been in the cage with 4 ozs and boxing rules. THAT'S FANTASY COMBAT SPORTS

Bonjour très bon article. Merci.

Tu peux jetter un coup d'oeil sur mon blog @zeryius s'il vous plaît merci.

In french

So entertaining; I now can't wait, I mean I couldn't wait before, but now every part of me is singing out, waiting for that first bell, that first on-rush, the first blows.... Soon, soon...

Cg

Who are you rooting for @nanzo-scoop ?
Mayweather is just too cunning of a fighter.

We will ship the embeddable player in the next few weeks. Any app (Steemit, Busy, chainbb) or website could then integrate these videos.

I love to read your articles! Thank you @nanzo-scoop I gladly read your stories! I will be glad to get acquainted. Hello from Ukraine!)))