Why whites shouldn't marry blacks.

in #challenge307 years ago (edited)

Because they produce abominations as offspring, of course.

My father's ancestry harkens back to Russia, and my mother's line winds its way back to Africa. There are other 4 other nationalities mixed in with both of their heritage as well - but for the purpose of this post - I'll just say my dad is white, and my mom is black.

And apparently, they didn't know that producing me or my siblings was an abomination.

Or.... that they were "doing a disservice to me".

At 8 years old, I can tell you - I was incredibly grateful for the caring people that were concerned enough about my welfare to inform me of my status.  Before I was enlightened, I thought I was just a normal child.

But lo and behold, I was not.

I grew up in a white neighborhood. Went to a white school.  And for the longest time - I thought I was white.  (I'm laughing about that now because I actually DID look at myself in the mirror.  But in my earliest years, it never dawned on me that my shade was any darker or that my hair was any curlier.  When I looked through the windows of my eyes at the neighborhood children, I saw light skin all around me.  I assumed I was the same.)  

I remember when things changed.... getting very frustrated when I would take a brush to my springy coils. Instead of laying down straight, they would untwist and form a protective halo around my entire head. 

A fluffy, puffy helmet of ebony locks.

I remember glaring at the confused girl in that reflection.  Watching with annoyance, as the tears leaked out of her eyes and streamed in rivulets down her cheeks because her hair refused to obey the instruction of the brush.   

What was wrong with that girl?  Why didn't her hair understand what it was so supposed to do?

It took me years and years to understand what was it about skin color that made me the "wrong" choice for their sons to take to the dance.

I had the highest grades in the class, I was the kindest person you would ever meet (of course, I had to be). I was classically trained in every way.  Best schools. Why would that put me at the bottom of the barrel, instead of rising like cream to the top?

Oh.  Because cream is white.  and I was not.

Before you think this is a free-for-all against white society, let me assure you - I was told I wasn't black enough by black society as well.   In that gathering, I was uppity.  High-yellow.  Hi-tone.  And any other number of beautiful phrases that are wielded as weapons - straight to the victim's soul.

It's been several years now.   ha... several severals.

Now, I love my skin color.  I love who I am.  My genes do not define me, but they certainly contributed in shaping me.  

Interestingly enough.... everyone proudly claims me now.

I don't seem to be any particular nationality, so I fit in seamlessly with all of them.  Now, they jealously tell me that I belong to them - and no other.

Wherever I travel in the world, people eye me with barely-contained curiosity. 


Russians match their bared arms to my own and proudly win in games of "who is darker?"

Mexicans wonder how I could have denied my heritage enough to not learn Spanish. (They refuse to believe I don't share their lineage.)

Filipinos state matter-of- factly that I descend from their neck of the woods.

Salvadoreans are certain that I'm one of them.

Egyptians know the rest are wrong - I must hail from Egypt.

Fijians speak to me in Fijian without even questioning if I understand.

Puerto Ricans assure me my rhythmic sway of my hips is a genetic gift from them.

I could go on and on.....

In 1987, aggressive stares would project the distance between us.  Their expressions would warn me from getting too close.

But in 2017, I enjoy the warm and open invitations from seas of smiling eyes.  


Yesterday I sat down, playing with my phone, waiting for my lunch to arrive.  A bare-chested homeless man with a drooping left eye walked to where I was, and stood in front of me, mumbling.

I put my phone down.  "I'm sorry, what did you say?"

He repeated, "I just had to tell you that you are a very beautiful woman, in case no one else told you that today."         Then he turned and walked away.




@dragosroua 30 day writing challenge



Photo credit: Images were originally take from a Google Image search for "mixed children" and then further edited by me.  Snake: china.cps.com, Heart border: clipartkids.com Text added by m.e

Sort:  

Found it! That was click bait!!! 😁

The word abomination always reminds me of Lilo & Stitch (it's a Walt Disney). As you can see I am ready to go full political!

hahahahahahahahahahahaha

yes - total click bait...

but i call it "tricksybait" hahhaha I actually used to teach my blogging students how to write trickysbait.

click bait is when the title is intriguing - but then you open it and it leaves you with nothing informative or worthwhile.

but TRICKSYBAIT is when the title is intriguing - and pulls you into something you weren't expecting! but it IS worthwhile ! hehehehehehe

thanks for coming to read it! :)

Ok, first I didn't know you had blogging students, that sounds very interesting and borderline 22th Century, and then you are creating your own language? This is guru like status right here 😁

I do like the sound of Tricksybait, thought it sounds also like a cool gamer/streamer name for some reason.

ROFLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL yes - so 22nd century... now you have to read another post I wrote about my time travel LOLOLOL

i'll find it soon and send it to you :)

hehehe and you have my permission to use the word "trickysbait" whenever you like! LOL any one of my students that read it will be like heyyyyyy where did you hear that from! hahahahahahahahaha

for an abomination you seem pretty cool. What an interesting way to open your post. My first thought was "bloody racist", did I get a surprise LOL

ha!!!!! i figure it would trick some people ;) i hope i didn't trick too many though!!!! :) maybe some didn't read past the title.... oh well :) hopefully enough did ;)

yeah - i'm the cool kind of abominations hehehehehe

hehehehe and here is another comment by you ;) <3

I'm so glad you love who you are. I do too, I've enjoyed reading your stories and I'm pretty certain, one day, at a SteemFest or similar, when we meet for real, I'll like you then, too. <3

thank you Michelle!!! i've been gone for a few days - but i'm back hehehe.... doing 15 things at once right now - but hope to stop for a moment and get some writing in today ;) and yes - SteemFest (or similar) for sure!!!!! :) looking forward to it :)

It's a date then! LOL ;)

awesome!!!!! :) any news on where it might be held next time?? :)

No, but keep looking, I'm sure there will be another one :)

ok but if you hear before me.... nudge me ;)

A very beautiful post and, from what I would half assume to possibly be you in the pictures, a very very beautiful girl most probably ravishing in deed by now... Thanks for sharing and namaste :)

They aren't me. They are just sweet examples of angel-faced genetic melting pots :) thanks for the caring comments! I appreciate you taking the time to read my thoughts!

I actually read at the bottom of the article about the photo credits before writing it, but thought it would still be kind to underline the fact that you are beautiful whether or not you looked like the so-called angel-faced girls. Beauty is more often in the eye of the beholder and, to each human, there's a beauty beyond compare that exists deep within us making our presence here on one level invaluable and part of a beauty also beyond compare. It has been a pleasure. Namaste :)

Thank you for the underline :)

I appreciate your kindness - you're beautiful as well :)
Also - my pleasure! :) I hope we cross paths again :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

thank you !

Like it. But the first sentences make me think you were a nazi... then ok, I am curious so I read it (i mean, "abomination". Seriously? ).. And... is there any white man which is not willing to invite a nice girl to dance.... because of skin color? Really?

Where I was from? yes. :) Especially when "Mother" says no. hahahaha

it's ok - one not only invited me to dance - but asked me to marry him :)
it all worked out in the end hehehe

Thank you for your comment - and yeah - i figured the title would get people fired up ;)

@dreemsteem - what a word to call a mix - abomination
sighs never thought people would call others like this.

Filipinos state matter-of- factly that I descend from their neck of the woods.

really? I wonder what you look like that you experienced that from our people cause, in my country a mix is actually a blessing more of - besides - no one is original or pure out there hahaha.

I think I have features from all over... hahaha maybe it depends on the day - depends on the season - depends on my expression! I guess I fit in everywhere! Well maybe not EVERYWHERE :)

@dreemsteem anyhow, it's a very unusual thing to read about my pips reaction towards you. Normally, every mix there is appreciated and praised so I wonder what you look like :)

Yes.... they were complimenting me :) I just saw a picture of me today where I can see why they see a resemblance :)
But only certain pictures.... other pictures- I look like a different nationality! :)
I must be a changeling ;)

@dreemsteem a changeling? is that one of those characters in Once Upon A Time? :D

hahahaha just a science fiction concept. maybe like Mystique from Xmen LOL

This was a very touching anecdote that I enjoyed reading very much. It's a bit surreal how different things are now in regards to background than just a couple decades ago. Though of course I still get the "You're hispanic?! I thought you were white, why don't you speak spanish more?" or the "I thought you were mixed race"....

Funny enough, in the Navy, each country I visited found the locals talking to me in their language. I guess I look Greek, Italian, Middle Eastern.

Yes!!!! i love that aspect of it now too :) My children are even more racially ambiguous than I am - and i have to say.... they are so stunning to look at - they just take your breath away. But what really makes them beautiful ? Their amazing hearts! :) Love that you and I are a part of a growing group in society! Definitely brings people together when the "lines" are blurred. hehehee (have you see that amazing video for testing ancestry??? People do DNA swipes and then find out that they are completely wrong about where their lines truly trace back! It's a tear-jerker for sure!!!! I'll try to find it and post later ;) Thank you for the comments and love the interaction! :) have a GREAT day! :)

I've heard about that video! I'm not at all surprised that most people are wrong about their ethnic lineage

it's really good!!!! gotta see it :) I wish there was actually more footage shown! hahaha i would have watched the whole thing :)

and i know.... i'm not surprised either. but i think THEY are surprised. hahahahaha

That was a nice share. Couldn't have been the easiest post and thanks for that

It wasn't as hard as it would have been about 15 years ago :)
Thank you for the encouragement solarguy!!! ;)

This is one thing that I love about steemit. Nobody cares about race or color. Everyone is just part of one happy community. Good luck and keep on steeming!

Agree! we just care about quality content of writing hehehe or photography... or really good recipes... or good travel stories! i love this community :)

My name is giantbear and I am a steemit addict! ...story of my life..😂

so funny!
I texted @creatr the other day at 6:52 am...
"You know you're a steemit addict when you've only had 3 hours of sleep and you wake up and you can....

  1. Try to sneak in 20 more minutes
  2. Jump in the shower and get ready for church because you have to be there early to practice your song or
  3. Write a steemit post.

(and you choose #3!!!!!)

LOL I too am a steemit addict. We belong in @creatr 's Steemit Anonymous meetings! :)

I was reading steemit today from my phone when i hoped in the shower...
Doh!

spoken like a true addict ;)

I remember at an early age being informed as to my lineage. At the time, I didn't realize that "Scottish" was a lineage and "scotch" was a beverage... Thus, I would happily recite that I was "Scotch - Irish - German - Hungarian - Italian - American." ;)

Subsequently, reflecting on my native intelligence, I have come to consider the result to be "hybrid vigor." :D

Re-Steemed!

hahahahahahah! if you're Scotch, I suppose I would be "Vodka, Moonshine, varieties of Firewater, and Ale" hahahahahahahahaha

LOL! If we got together, we'd be a really mixed drink... ;)

well... we are definitely mixed nuts. lol

Hahahaha!

and THANK YOU for the resteem!!!!! :)

You're most welcome... 😄😇😄

@creatr

Be-a-you-to-full!

Also shared on twitter

Steem_Land Steem_Land tweeted @ 09 Jan 2017 - 21:02 UTC

Why whites shouldn't marry blacks. — Steemit steemit.com/challenge30/@d…
@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

wow!!!! Thanks!!!!!

awwwww thank you !!! :) i love the blue steem heart!!!!

Thank you so much for sharing on twitter @virtualgrowth !!!!!! :)

Whites shouldn't marry blacks because they produce abominations

Really? From my experience they produce beautiful people.

hahahahaa - did you read the whole post? :)
I agree.... my children are GORGEOUS :) I was saying that is what I WAS TOLD as a child - to my face.... that I am an abomination because I am half black / half white ;)

I was just relating what I was told ;)

I'm just relating what I've seen..... ;-)

As soon as you start mixing the races, the most beautiful looking people emerge.

Sadly I'm just plain old vanilla......

hehehehe yes.... but i'm just saying.... no - we are not abominations ;)

People who say cruel things to 8 year old children (who have no choice in who their parents were and what color and what genes and all that....)

THEY are the abominations. lol

and vanilla is great too! (my hubby is vanilla ! LOL)

Vanilla mixes well with SO MANY things!!!! That's a good thing :)

I love the happy ending :). Remember that tale "The Ugly Ducking" who grew up to be a swan and the most beautiful of all ;-) That's you.

Thank you for your precious words @gizmosia! :) have a sweet night!

Thanks @dreemsteem :) have a sweet night too!

:) will do!
And sweeeetdreeeeeems too ;)

I'm very happy to see that you've gotten a lot of love on this post... :)

However, here's some suggested reading for you:

I over-dosed on SteemIt, Got frustrated and disillusioned - I need to check myself.

In the comments you'll find that there are a lot of us "obsessive types" on here... ;) The trick is not to let it throw us out of balance...

Remember, you can always drop in on meetings of "Steemit Anonymous:"

True Confessions of a ☁️Steem Junkie☁️,
☁️Steemit Anonymous:☁️ We Peek In On Meeting Number Two...

There have been two meetings so far, and (based on the growing evidence of addiction) I suspect we'll continue on a weekly basis... ;)

You turned me onto Steemit, got me hooked on steem... and now you invite me to Steemit Anonymous... does that make you my dealer or my sponsor? Lolololol

Yes. The first taste is always free.... ;) And the smart money plays both sides of the net, runs both parties, and hedges all bets.

Keep on believing in those false dichotomies, keep on writing, tomorrow's another day, and you can quit any time you want. ;D

Well it's officially tomorrow. 4 am and I'm on steemit. Enough said.... lol

Wow! It's quarter to six, and here I am... :O

Heh, the title scared me, but since it wasn't flagged into the deep sea of nothingness, I figured it must have something to offer. ;)
Anyone who digs deeply enough into their ancestry is going to find some interesting things.
Mom loves the family tree stuff, but there's a big blank area that she can't get info on. She questioned some of her aunts about it, but her questions killed the conversation. Some family baggage apparently will be taken to the grave.
So she sent in the saliva test, to see if there were any interesting ethnicities. Turns out there's a mulatto a few generations back. We have a lot of dark people on that side of the family, but there are rumors of indian too, so nobody thought much of it. Nope, no indian showed up.
Haha, silly people.
I'm just an American melting pot mongrel. Of course, I guess that makes me "normal"?

Definitely makes you American! :)
Yes I figured the title would get some blood boiling.... but hoped that people would stick around to read past the "controversy". :)
Love that you found out some interesting info about your history.... hope that tongues get loosened as time goes on and you'll get some of those stories from your ancestry! I'm sure they're rich with life!!!

From following you and reading several of your posts, I knew you couldn't be racist, you are too much full of love. It got my attention, though! I wanted to see your spin on it.

hehehehe i'm glad i got your attention!!! :) (and I'm glad that my heart of love comes across in my writing!!!) :)

Excellent post, Thank you Dreem, keep up the heartfelt posts, the end brought a little tear to my eye.

Aw!!!!! Thanks Raymon :) I appreciate your kind words :)

Beautifully put! I'm Sicilian and Sicily has been "owned" by almost every country there is (Except Sicily) and racially, we're a mixed bag. Some ate blond with blue eyes and some look black. My dad, who I only saw a few times was very dark with kinky hair. I remember people yelling the "N" word at him from cars when we walked down the street. My mom was fair with dark hair. Ultimately, beauty comes from within and shines out through your eyes. If you are beautiful within, people of worth will recognize it for what it is. We live in a culture with ridiculous standards of beauty (look at the plastic surgery industry). Wonderful article!!!

I couldn't agree more with your statement "Ultimately, beauty comes from within and shines out through your eyes. If you are beautiful within, people of worth will recognize it for what it is. "
So glad that hatred didn't rub off onto me! :)
Thanks for your encouragement!!!! Steem on Rich! :)


Hi @dreemsteem, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

LOL @shadowspub.... I was just reading this - from 2 years ago apparently.... and wow. WOW. i thought the first time i met you was in PYPT!!!!!!

you read my post and curated it when i FIRST got into steemit in 2016!!!! holy cow! that's totally wild! LOLOL

i think we both thought that we were meeting the first time this year in PYPT. but we had already "met" ;)

well meeting through curating a post and meeting so we get to know each other is different. One is a passing acquaintance in the hope of future meeting and the other is meeting.

well meeting through curating a post and meeting so we get to know each other is different. One is a passing acquaintance in the hope of future meeting and the other is meeting.

I adore curly hair and you are lucky to have skin of a caramel colour)))). I think the kids from mixed nationalities are the most beautiful! Good post!

Thank you @aksinya!!!! Your comments brought a smile to my face! :)

Gorgeous, thank you. But that's a lot of languages to learn! The price of being the beneficiary of such a diverse gene pool. Enjoy this precious life ;)

hahahahaha I only speak English and some Russian. but i've studied 2 years of Spanish, French, Latin and Greek LOL (but I should have taken it more seriously when I was studying LOL) I could be a polyglot by now ;)

People have been mixing together ever since there have been people. Anyone who criticizes who you fall in love with or who your parents are need to look deep within themselves and find out why they are so ocd about what other people do.

Strange that they would not blink an eye about a yellow haired and pale person marrying a freckled orange haired person. But how is that any different?

With people like you sharing so much love, I believe this judgmental attitude will soon be a thing of the past, and our descendants will shake their heads and marvel at us, just as we do at the folks in the dark ages.

Hi @ghostwriter!!!! I've been gone from steemit for a few days - just had some crazy days... but back now :) Thank you so much for your sweet words :) Yes - i agree - we all have the same variations of genes! Some people just like to find an enemy. and if they don't have a natural enemy - they create one. Castes and divisions are really just a reflection of the one who imposes them! Have a beautiful day :)

My best friend is mixed race and is in a mixed race marriage. A teacher actually called her child an abomination! That melanin can cause discrimination...

well something does cause discrimination! lol but it's not melanin. LOL (and.. EVERYONE has melanin - except for albinos, who actually lack the ability to produce it. ) But every other person in the world has melanin to varying degrees ;) Teachers should be held to a higher standard since they have the ability to shape young minds (and shape the future) unfortunately that's not enforced very well.

As a white guy it's hard to appreciate what those who don't belong to that 'privileged' group go through. Some people will use difference as an excuse to be nasty. It seems you have overcome that. Thanks for sharing this.

thank you steevc :)
I think when "white guys" (hehe) take the time to read posts like this.... they open themselves up to begin to appreciate different perspectives. so thank YOU for reading it :) Have a beautiful day!

What a beautiful post as the headline did grab me and I wondering what I was going to read. Upvoted and following

thank you ianstrat! :) i've been away for a few days... but i'm back now ;) (life took an interesting turn for me... but it seems to have stabilized a bit hehehe)

It is always amazing to me that you never know who will cross your path and how that crossing will affect you. Or... is it effect? I always forget.

Hey @finleyexp!!! :) I think the effect affects you. hehehe i think ;) (sorry i've been AWOL... think i'm back now ;)

lol. I'm back too.

I am glad society has evolved forward from such times. Unfortunately, the need for acceptance will never in our lifetime, allow identity and the Human Consciousness' need to define and label everything to go away. Hate must exist in opposition to good for everything in between to exist. Hopefully we can eventually find the perfect balance for every issue.

Thank you for sharing your story.

thank you for reading my story :)

and like you, sticks and stones may break my bones, but words no longer hurt me (much lol).

Now, i just try to protect my kids from the hurt that is tossed around pray that they'll grow up to embrace who they were made to be :)

by the way - i did pass your introduction of yourself on to my friend... you now have ANOTHER new follower too hehehehe i hope he drops in on your post for a comment or two (he may already have!) - you two have similar minds and gifts!!!

@dreemsteem, I am so happy, that you are what you are! Beautiful! And a pure and loving soul! I am so grateful to be your friend!

Black, white ... oh why do some people still think in borders? Why do some people still label them self with a name of a country or their amount of material stuff? Why do some think in categories of better and worse, top or bottom? Does love ever think in borders or countries or categories or bank accounts?

Does the universe care for anything more, than the true soul?

.... gosh, I am so thankful, that we live in a country with one of the strictest anti discrimination law in the world and that this indeed is used to protect us

... I am so sad, that this world still seems to need anti discrimination laws

... I am happy we have a constitution which is the most gay friendly in the world ... and we enjoy most of the rights, that we truly deserve.

It is so sad, we still need this law stuff ... I am looking forward to the day, that all people think no longer in borders ... when will be ... this day ... without separation ...

I think a faraway day.... i do. law is so important -but i think even if we have a law here - it will still be buried in people's hearts.

but - you know what matters?

that you and I think about this kind of love.... and others too. and it will grow from there :)

thank you for your loving comment <3