The Deadpost Initiative - Week 8 - Share your most undervalued work + week 7 winners ($11 SBD prize pool)

in #community6 years ago (edited)

What is the Deadpost Intitiative?

The Deadpost Initiative is an attempt to give love to some posts that were overlookeed during their short 7 day life span, a chance to bring your old posts back to life and maybe make some friends in the process. The goal is not only to share some love with SBD but also by engagement to generate discussion.

Last week

The engagement this week was phenomenal, 83 comments, most of them pretty thoughtful. I'm glad to see this initiative slowly taking off. As I've mentioned, the goal is to be able to award $50+ in rewards every week and help most entries recieve at least $1.00 each in upvotes for submissions. In order to achieve this we need your continued support through upvotes, and hopefully this initiative will bring in the right kind of attention. You've all been great so far :-D

Once again there were a bunch of quality posts and it was hard to judge. I imagine it will only get more and more difficult as time goes by.

Last weeks winners

@deaconlee - $4 SBD prize

If any post can exemplify why we need this initiative it's a submission by @deaconlee detailing his life miles below the surface of the ocean. After I finished reading it, I was shocked to see it had a payout of $0.00. And no comment. This unique slice of life deserved much better and I'm happy we could bring some eyes to it.

Fast Attack Submarine Life During The Cold War


@torico - $3 SBD prize

I can very much relate to this piece of fiction by @torico , it reminds me so much of my own short stories. The characters are the same kind of broken and beautiful. It's easily relatable for many of us who find ourselves in unfamiliar environments. I'm looking forward to reading more by @torico in the future.

london calling


@pathforger $2 SBD prize

@pathforger has an interesting take on the human condition and perhaps some insight into how to solve problems. I'm not sure if he would agree with my sentiment that the only purpose of government should be to work towards rendering itself obsolete, but it seems that at the very least we think about the same issues, "how to make things better".

A Center That Humanity Should Not Occupy


Honorable mention - @happyme and @por500bolos $1 SBD prize

@happyme zooms in and out to explore the relation between the micro and the micro of existence, while @por500bolos shares one of his early experiences online and show some us that not everything is as it seems. Both posts were great!

Who Do You Think You Are?

Feedback! sincere, valuable & true feedback. The royal Holy Grail quest and ultimate pursuit of memorable unerring rewards thru Creative Content Creation.

Week 6

dead
imagelink

Share your best Deadpost in the comments!

The best posts will be rewarded with half of the payout from this post (or a minimum of $10 SBD, split between winners) and will be featured in a future post.

Rules

•Please only submit 1 post.
•Posts must have a payout of less than $5.
•Posts must be at least one month old.
•I recommend you don't enter the same post twice in the same month if you didn't win the first time.
•Vote for 1-3 post by others. Please share WHY you liked their posts. If you don't vote for someone else's post by commenting you will not be eligible to win.
•Winners will be chosen based on how original, creative, informative and well written their posts are, as well as how well received they are in the comments. I will use the quality of comments as the main factor in judging who wins.
•There will be a slight bias towards smaller accounts but large accounts are welcome to join and compete or join just for fun and to share their old work.
•There may also be prizes for stellar comments and engagement.
•There will be 2 or more winners depending on how big the payout for this post is and depending on how many quality posts are entered into the contest.
-Please upvote generously on your favorite post in the comments below, we'd like to generate a sense much support as possible for all participants and the prize pool is still growing.

Upvote and resteem to help us raise our reward pool! And remember to comment and upvote on comments in this post please to show support for deadposts! :-)

The prize pool will be half of the post payout or at least $10 SBD
I'm still looking for SP delegation to offer some payout on all submissions. If you can help, please let me know :-)

This is not merely a contest, this is an opportunity to have your material read and an opportunity for us to really discuss each other's posts.


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit", practice languages or make friends.

Be Awesome discord channel

thetree - Confessions of the Damaged (my fiction) @ patreon

Sort:  

First time participating, here's my submission about my hike in Finland Lapland: https://steemit.com/travel/@celestal/my-journey-to-lapland-a-hike-into-the-wilderness-of-finland

Thank you!

So much information ; so detailed .

Makes me want to travel - ive always wanted to visit places like this and go on an adventure much the same .
im glad the story you left behind and ended has had a beginning for someone else too, those are always the best kinds of stories .

Thank you, yes, the story had a long life and now it's forever here on the blockchain :D Hope you'll find a good adventure in the future.

That hugely long border with Russia -- how the hell was Finland not trampled by Russia all these centuries? What makes Finland so strong?

You dispelled some assumptions I had about Finland -- I thought it's all a big forest and lakes, but there's a lot of rocks, mountains and empty plateaus, it seems.

Another question: I had many groups of visitors from Finland come to my workplace in Belgium. Why are they so quiet and reserved?

Loading...

Sounds like an amazing trip! I'm not much into travel blogs though...

A lot of good memories from it! I'm not that much into travelling blogs either but writing them is enjoyable.

Between the quality of your post and the quality of your responses here - I couldn't 'not' vote for this entry.

The narrative was compelling and the images were great to boot.

Well done! This has my vote. :c)

Man, I greatly appreciate taking the time and showing your liking, thank you!

Admirable journey and seductive adventure told with a splendid narrative and fascinating '5 days' binnacle @celestal. :)

There are too many worthy points to comment on in your post mate. "Like for example, regarding your poor gifts in the noble sport of sleeping and the unforeseen contortionist workshop trying to twist & adjust your tall body to get it fully extended and comfortable to be able to deeply fall down at the bottom of that hypnagogic limbo for a well deserved rest going thru such long travels. Hahaha

So, for sake of synthesis.. I will concentrate my comment on just one of those worthy points.

¡The Mosquitos! ¿Is not it interesting to be able to meet these curious little blood suckers in almost all parts of our planet? No matter the weather or how remote and inhospitable is that place on earth? ¿Huh?

Hahaha for this interesting subject, I'd like to share with you (and everyone else who read this) the experiences of another fellow traveller who tells us how wild and bloodthirsty these mosquitoes can become in the tropics. ;)

P.D. Oh! excuse me for putting you to work more than you should. But I guarantee you that it will be worth it to translate this short story. Considering that this is narrated in Spanish. }:)

A big thanks to you!

Oh, I know like 5 words in Spanish for what I've practiced in Duolingo, but I'll try to translate that when I get back home :D

I have to admit I couldn't translate that, lol, maybe you could help me a bit?

Hello Sistahs & Brothas!

First of all, my apologies for not having had the chance to interact with your deadposts last week mates. Events and issues of force majeure prevented me from doing it as I would have liked. But I hope to make up for my lack this week. :)

This time, for the Week's Eighth edition of this Great Initiative & Contest. I would like to share with all of you my first and only post with a ¿fictitious? story. (In fact, I think I'm not so good at writing fiction stories) but still I suspect you'll enjoy this one a lot.

It's indeed a very ancient post. Actually, the second post I wrote and shared here in steemit around Sep 2 2016. So, ¡Go figure how old! ¿eh? Haha. This post barely got 25 views, 10 upvotes, $0.00 cents and 9 comments in its entire life. Being 5 of those nine comments "mine" ¡Suck that tangerine mate! LoL

And even though it was written with enough humor, irony, sarcasm and suspense. I was not able to get the noticeable and palpable laughter I expected through the comments over there at that time. Therefore you will become my new Guinea pigs & Victims. Because this time, I'm mercilessly planning to kill a few of you with my bare hands & mischievous manners. Snatching you off your soul with a good deal of Smiles, Giggles, Chuckles, Guffaws and humorous comments this time.

PS. Btw my dear @whatamidoing: This post has been Upvoted by me to raise our reward pool and also Resteemed to spread more awareness about the existence of this great contest recruiting new supporting eyes for the cause.

Cheers!! }:)

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@por500bolos/the-binary-state-a-short-tale-to-snatch-you-off-some-laughter-and-continual-steemit-reflections

This did give me a good laugh and the concept and plot twist were both intruiguing. :c)

Like others I initially thought that he was being hounded by the lady in his life. :cP

This has my vote.

Thank you @pathforger for your very welcome comment, upvote and support. :)

Yeah mate, I'm almost convinced that there is no other way to steal a good laughter through an intruiguing plot. Unless, that you weave & twist a story so wildly. Until the extreme to suddenly slam your audience against a beyond suspicion and gigantic wall of pure and abrupt surprise. :)

And I was expecting Jimmy to be hearing that voice in his head because he was learning telepathy! I thought his girlfriend was calling to him because she wanted him close to her. Then

BAM!

He wakes us out of the story! GRRRRRRR!!!

Haha ¡Yes babe! just so equally telepathic like in the bricks & mortar life. ¿Eh? ;)

Hi, thank you for the vote in my 1st blog about myself. Nice topic you have there. keep it up and i wish you all the best! have a nice day! :D

Here is a true story post. This story is about me.. Be sure to read and let me know what you think about it. :)

https://steemit.com/demons/@rayne122/one-of-my-experience-about-demons-trust-me-i-have-experianced-them

If I had that experience like you had, I think I would spend the rest of my life terrified. I remember as a child I was always afraid to go down into our basement alone. I think it was because of the horrible stories that are considered to be children's stories.

Your description of going up to the roof reminds me of the time I was visiting Greece and there was a thunder storm. I was down 2 or 3 floors from the roof of an apartment building and saw water flowing down the stairs, so I went up to investigate. The water was from heavy rain. Someone had left the window open at the top of the stairway that leads to the roof. I was just reaching for the window to close it when lightning struck real close (probably the lightning rod of the building). The noise and flash of light was so strong it almost made me jump out of my skin! I closed the window and ran back downstairs, thankful to still be alive. That memory is now imprinted in my brain forever.

Yeah. It was very common thing to experience demonic activities in our country earlier. Our country was mostly a jungle like area earlier in 19th century.
Why did people define them as demonic activities rather than animal behaviors ?
Well, Animal behaviors can be explained, but the activities my ancestors couldn't understand with logic, they ceased to believe that these were demonic activities.

I used to hear demonic stories from my Grandparents, mainly my grandmother. I wouldn't have believed them unless I experienced something similar. The story only contains one of my experience.
I had plenty more experience like these. I heard it has some kind of connection to Horoscope too. But I can't make people believe me, I can only represent my experience into a story.

People will only believe when they will experience these types of situation.

But,
Wow, Man !!!
I always wanted to see a lightning strike up close. I know that it's risky, but still that unknown feeling haunts me. You are lucky to have experienced it, but more of all You are lucky to be alive just like you said.
Or else, there wouldn't be any @happyme on Steemit :D

I'm sorry @rayne122, your story didn't convince me. Nevertheless, it is a good read and deserved upvoting.

Thanks a lot.

But, I have no idea how I can convince you.
It's hard to convince someone who hasn't experienced these stuffs.

I wish I could show you my memories. :D

You were brave to check it out, I never would have done that. Exciting to read your story. And facinating to hear that you and your family belive in demonds.

Haha. You can say, I was foolishly brave.
Me and my family have no choice but to believe in them as we have seen some unexplainable actions.

My Dreamer's Alphabet poem (where each word of each line begins with the same letter, from A to Z) was very popular in my circle of beta readers but got a whooping 5 votes and 0 payout on Steemit. I was in my first weeks of Steemit:

https://steemit.com/poetry/@csbegu/dreamer-s-alphabet

Here's the first line:

An army arming another army at arms.

If you'd like to have fun on this, why not come up with your own lines and add them as comments to that post.

Haha..
Truth be told, it's my first time seeing an alphabetical poem.
But, it looks great and awkward at the same time. Don't mind me. It's that It's my first time seeing this type of poem.

The line starting with "Lucifer" really caught me off guard. :)

I'm not much of a poet but nice job! Very creative

I love art in all its forms ; and would like to see more of this style of poetic justice - not enough people doing this these days, some hip hop artists are actually fairly good at it, but not enough are actually getting it done .
very good work .

What a feast of alliteration. I bet it was fun to write. My fave line is 'Darwin dying desperately denying Darwin'. That's a sad thought. Darwin would be pleased that we still analyse his theory.

Word games are okay but I am not a big fan.

Good post, it deserved a better vote.

It was an assignment for a Creative Writing 12 years ago class and indeed I had a lot of fund trying to find all these words that also made sense.

"Kant’s kitten killing kamikaze kidnappers."

That's hilarious when I picture it in my head :D Alphabet poems is quite fun of a concept.

I have been doing quite a bit of study with political and religious issues ; most of which are in my spare time, but some connections are getting scarry ; dont get me wrong - i understand that people claim the end of the world is comming all the time, im not saying it is - im only sharing some scarry information in this post .

Thank you for the awesome prize and especially for your kind and encouraging words! I have never studied poetry and I don't know anything about the technical side of that art. But I wrote this poem in 2012 for myself and it was the first post that I made after my failed introduction lol. I am open to helpful critique 😎

Photo by: by sritangphoto

Bitter Way

A lovely little poem, with great rhymes and good spidery advice! You get one of my votes!

Thank you @melinda010100! You are always so careful with your votes, supportive of the content that you like, and encouraging in your comments that I covet a vote from you as much or more than winning the contest itself. 😊

What a sweet thing to say! You totally made my night! Good luck in the contest!

I enjoyed reading your poem. It has a strong rhythm, using easy to understand language. The line, 'You need to learn to dream great things without an ounce of pride' is lovely. What good advice! I hope you have written more poems. Bitter Way deserved a good upvote.

Thank you @deemarshall, I have written a few items but it is a bit scary to share them. I have found in life that pride is such a big problem for everyone, even those that seem so humble at the beginning of a venture. As soon as we start to become successful at something, there is pride creeping in to ruin it all and steal away all of the joy and fulfillment that success can bring. The one thing that I noticed connecting people who held both great success and a joyful full life were those that had overcome pride. Those that had not might have success of sorts, but they lived amid strife, bickering, mistrust and the constant struggle to stay on top. Pride drove away all that was kind and good and genuine, leaving little behind that was not profane.

I am sorry you've had such a poor experience with fellow human beings. That is sad. I have been fortunate to have contact with many talented people who strive to learn more skills and improve on their successes. I have not met such proud people that you describe.

Oh I'm making it sound a lot worse than it is on a personal level, I have had some truly wonderful and very uplifting experiences with people from all walks of life. I have also had a lot of success and fulfillment in my work, play and social life. But I am continually saddened when I see the lives of so many talented people who possess amazing gifts going to waste. It is such a shame and that is what makes me sad. 😞

You wrote a beautiful little poem with a great message/ plenty of wisdom behind it. Makes me think of the Tao Te Ching (The Book of the Way) that I recently read.

Just out of curiosity:

How did you feel about touching up a poem of 5 years ago? How much of it/ what did you change?

Thank you for the kind comment and comparison to a book of wisdom. I don't remember the exact changes but it didn't involve the message. I just used an alternate word or made a slight change to the arrangement of the words in a line so that it read more fluidly. If I tried to sit down and work at writing a poem the task would be very difficult for me, but this just flowed out of me after witnessing someone make a bad mistake, even though they should have, and could easily have known better.

You're welcome! I see... Thanks for answering my question. When something flows out of you like that, it's a beautiful thing.

https://steemit.com/war/@minnaloushe/the-south-african-border-war-the-spiritual-side

This was a post very close to my heart and I was disappointed at the poor results. Hopefully your wonderful idea will help. I am now going to comment on other posts here. Thank you for once again showing that the community is alive and well.

Really good story on your father, enjoyed Reading it, keep it up ;)

Here is my post that I hope you will read. It took me a long time to write it. I thought people would be interested but I was wrong. I am happy it has the chance to be seen again. Thanks to @whatamidoing!

https://steemit.com/nature/@deemarshall/who-has-poisonous-reptiles-where-they-live

Interesting post, I've allways been facinated by snakkes.

Thank you. I am pleased to teach you about UK snakes :)

I left you a comment on this nice blog about snakes 👍

Thanks :) I found it. Great that you read my post!

My submission for this week is https://steemit.com/steemit/@happyme/are-you-guilty-of-this-trending-behaviour which made only 50 cents. It's not a very large post, but I think it has an important message in it.

I found those types of comments deeply impersonal, every since I joined. At the same time, they do add as comments and the more comments you have the more attractive your post could be to potential readers. I like how you structured your post, short, to the point, and the title is very good. The word "guilty" attracts a lot of attention.

Excellent observation about the fact that those simple comments do in fact add to the number of comments you receive and may improve your chances of others looking at your post. To be honest though, I never use that metric for deciding if I will look at a post or not. I keep hearing that more views means better chance of others looking, but it sure doesn't apply to me. Am I unique or is that idea just something someone made up and is now believed as fact because it keeps being repeated?

Well, when you see a post with a lot of comments, which is already in your field of interest (why else are you on that tag?), it could trigger that primordial curiosity that was present even in caveman times when you saw many people gathered around something you don't see unless you go check it out :) ...

Yeah.. I agree with you.
I don't know why people don't like to donate a single upvote. :p

My comment on your post: "Great point. Unfortunately, many of these people are just spreading spam everywhere. If it doesn't add to the conversation, you should just upvote and stop begging for attention."

You must have skimmed and not actually read the post to understand it. The post is about the AUTHOR responding to comments made on their own post.

I understand that and I did read the post completely. I do see why you thought I didn't though, my comment was not very clear. Whether you're the author of the post or not, your replies should bring value to the conversation, otherwise, just upvote. Many people, as you point out, do the opposite. They write pointless little replies and don't upvote.

Ah, OK... Thanks for the explanation.

I think the reason for giving a quick reply is often just to say that they saw the response and appreciate it, but don't have anything more to add to it. I know that if someone gets hundreds of replies each day it would take far too much time to write several paragraphs of response to each. I don't expect authors to spend all their time on responses. However, once the author gets their vote-slider, I don't see why they can't give a small up-vote to their fans. (Anyone without a vote-slider is forced to give a 100% up-vote and thus only can give 10 per day or lose their ability to control their vote power.

I am always trying to contribute much more to conversations - i like to challenge people to step up their critical thinking .
Sometimes i even ask questions people normally would never hear - just so i can see what kind of response i can get - i have even started a list of questions for a social experiment to evolve conversation to a much deeper connection ; im looking for 100 questions ; so far im only around 40 ish ? lol

first time participating, my submission. i think my ground squirrels deserve more attention: https://steemit.com/photography/@florian-glechner/animal-photography-ground-squirrels

Look at those squirrels! Lovely animals :D

I really liked your explanation on how to take such great pictures as yours, even though I only have my iPhone. But who knows if I get my hands on a systems camera one day...

Fantastic photos and great advice for wildlife photographers! Those cute little ground squirrels definitely get one of my votes!

NIce post! very informative. I like the fact that you're not just showing pictures but also explaining about the process of (animal) photography. I upvoted it on your blog.

I wanted to point you to this though, one of the rules of this contest:

Posts must be at least one month old.

So, do you have a post that is at least a month old, that you find worth sharing here?

This week I want to share my post about agriculture and the production of products in diferent countries;)

https://steemit.com/agriculture/@carlosdaniel/agriculture-in-the-xxi-century-and-how-to-stop-starvation-in-the-world

Food supply and production is tied to politics and big business, both of which can be very impersonal and work against the needs of regular people. A faction in power does not want to feed and add strength to the supporters of an opposing faction. Big business wants to control the supply of food such that everyone is forced to buy from them. The only true way to solve this issue is to apply a better form of limited government that insures that power and control remain primarily at the local level. Corporations should have limited charters with expiration dates, their influence in matters of government should be restricted by law to the discussion of matters that affect the good of the people and the environment and not the profit of the shareholders. JMHO

First time submitter! Love the idea! This was actually my first post (and one of the only ones that is more than a month old). I put forward an idea to make a currency that holds its long term value (no inflation or deflation) by allowing anyone to spend their time to "mine/mint" the currency. Enjoy! https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@littlejoeward/cryptocurrency-with-little-to-no-inflation-or-deflation

Ideas intended towards improvement of the crypto-space are a welcome thing - especially within fora such as this one.

While I don't fully concur with the particular one that you present here - and feel that there are some gaps in logic that were more or less covered by your commentators - I still appreciate the effort.

This has my vote. :c)

Interesting idea. Even more interesting was your discussion with @wekkel who really dived deep into the subject by explaining how banks, loans and interests work, fascinating to learn about that as I'm trying to to understand how the current system works.

Thanks! Yeah, I quite enjoyed it! If you want to learn about how our current system works I would recommend this video. It's fun to watch and very informative. Enjoy!

Thanks for the recommendation, I'll check that out!

Congrats everyone! Here is a photo essay that I posted a month ago. https://steemit.com/culturevulture/@melinda010100/north-american-pow-wows-20171016t85651406z

Good pictures with great clothes ;)

Thank you for taking the time to look at my photos and for your vote! It is very much appreciated!

I was captured and carried back to the Cherokee tribal meeting for interrogation and the testing of my courage one time. Okay okay, the truth is that I was in a wheelchair and trying to make it though gravel and over uneven ground and a group of four Indians in ornate attire picked me up and carried me inside to the big meeting house where they demonstrated a lot of native songs and dances. But it was a shock when I looked up from my struggles to see that I was in the clutches of Indian warriors, and they were looking down at me stoically with painted faces lol. It was so funny, they gave me that stern look for just a few seconds, and then seeing the shock on my face they all just burst out laughing. Good joke huh! 😃

It certainly makes a wonderful tale!! Glad my photos prompted you to tell it!

I think you should change the format of your post. You should tag the post as the winner instead of the author. The author should be mentioned later. This ensures that the particular post gets the value, and if someone likes the post enough, they go on to follow the author.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 87.0% @zeartul upgoat, thanks to @deaconlee
It consists of $1.66 vote and $0.55 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @whatamidoing to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you @whatamidoing, for continuing to organize this series of dead-post appreciation posts. :c)

To answer your question - I consider some level of governance to be essential - and while empowering individuals to govern themselves is far from a bad thing - the fastest way for a Government to render itself obsolete is to be terrible. ;cP Better will fill the void.

But hey! Living in a better World sounds good to me - whether there is formal government or not. :c)


As per what is emerging as a personal tradition I shall be sitting this one out. :c) I really enjoy the additional dimension that this gives this post - to be fully a judge without risk of ulterior interests (not that I allow such to determine my votes - but I am human and thus not infallible. ^_^).

I am looking forward to revisiting this thread later to distribute my three votes. :c)

Dear readers and fellow writers,

I have mentioned a couple of times before (in the discord deep-shit / be awesome channel created by @whatamidoing ) that I would partake in the dead post contest, but then offline life took over again.

To be honest, I love the initiative (and what it stands for) and I feel I too have 'underappreciated' stories that are worth sharing with more people than they seem to have reached.

So, without further ado, here's my entry, just over a month old:

https://steemit.com/story/@vincentnijman/recycling-old-unfinished-stories-screenplays-and-having-fun-with-google-translate-part-1-the-forest

Fun fact: the post is inspired by the idea of recycling stories, so in a meta kind of way it reconnects to the dead post initiative. My idea was to reawaken (unfinished) stories I wrote years ago, that would otherwise die a silent death.

Today and the next couple of days, I will do my utmost best to read as many of the dead post entries as possible and upvote and comment where I can.

Have a great day you all and let the reawakening begin! ;)

@whatamidoing when is the next one start?