Announcing The Winners Of The 'Learn To Draw With Friends' Contest!! Plus Theme For Week Four!! 55 SBD IN PRIZES TO BE WON!! :)

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

woolf_wally resized.jpg

Image Credit - @w0olf! - Week One - Winner!

page divider 2.png

Before we get to the moment you've all been waiting for and I announce the winners, I would first like to pay a special thank you to someone who has gone above and beyond in their support of both myself and our little contest in his short time here on steemit and someone that I'm sure you have all become familiar with over the course of the last week or so.

@steempowerpics!

Thank you so much my friend for all of your efforts in helping to promote the contest and for being such a helpful and friendly contestant and commenter. I'm sure you will have made a few new friends this week with all of your encouraging and supportive words and I for one would like to thank you for them! :)

I would also like to mention that @steempowerpics son, @steempowerkid has just joined steemit and I would encourage you all to give him a friendly welcome by checking out his first post below.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@steempowerkid/hello-steemit-my-name-is-daniel-i-will-post-fun-things-to-save-money-for-when-i-am-older-and-maybe-some-legos-too

page divider 2.png

We have had an absolutely incredible week with a total of 24 people taking part, 40 amazing entries, 199 votes for our entries and 299 comments! There is one small issue that I do need to clear up though before I continue to the winners and this is something that I take full responsibility for. I should have made the rules more clear so as not to disappoint anyone but unfortunately I will have to disqualify one of the entries by @justaboutart. :(

The reason for this is that they received automatic votes by using the esteem app to make their entry which gives them an unfair advantage over the other entrants and for this reason I don't think it is fair to the others taking part and will not be accepting entries from esteem app users in future. @justaboutart I am very sorry for any disappointment that this may cause you my friend. I only noticed it this morning as I was tallying the votes otherwise I would have informed you earlier but please accept my apologies and if you have any problems with my decision then please get in touch and I'm sure we can sort them out.

page divider 2.png

And So To The Winners!!

1ST and 2ND PLACE.

First place and second place will be equally split between @steempowerpics and @kristyglas who both received 13 votes and are our joint winners. They will each receive 12.5 SBD!! Congratulations to both of you!! :)

3RD Place.

Third place will also be shared by @therealpaul and @kalemandra who both received 8 votes for their entries. They will each receive 2.5 SBD. Congratulations to both of you also! :)

5 Runner Up Places.

There will actually be 6 runner up places this week. @fole, @omega-not, @giraffeonskates, @djynn, @primal-buddhist and @deveerei all received 6 votes and will all receive 1SBD. Congratulations to all of you also! :)

All prizes will be transferred to your wallets by the end of today (UK). :)

To everyone else who joined in but did not win a prize, I hope you all had a fun time taking part and that you will join us again for some more drawing fun either this week or at some point in the future.

Thank you all so much for your time and efforts as well as your support for the contest!! :)

page divider 2.png

Week Four Theme!!

So now it is time to look to week four. For this week I have received a special request and have decided that the theme will be ...

Doctor Who!! :)

And the images I have chosen are..

Beginner!

The tardis!

....................................

Intermediate!

dalek resized.jpg

The Dalek!

.............................

Advanced!

doctor who 1.jpg

The Doctor!

page divider 2.png

The Rules!!

Your entry must be one of the three images above!

You must resteem and upvote this post for your entry to be valid!

You must post your entry in the comments section of this post for it to be a valid entry! It must be visible for others to see and upvote! If you decide to make your own post that would be great but I will not accept a posted link only.

It must be visible!

You can enter up to three times. Once per category. Each entry must be posted individually!

ONLY PENCIL DRAWINGS, EITHER BLACK AND WHITE OR COLOUR, WILL BE ACCEPTED AS VALID ENTRIES!!

The contest will close after the seven day reward period!

Edit - Please use the hashtag #ltdwf when posting your process post so that we can group them all together for easy viewing in future!

This week instead of the winner being determined by votes received we will have a special guest judge who will choose the winning entries, @steempowerpics! He will also be entering the contest but will obviously not be eligible to win a prize and he has very generously donated 15 SBD towards the prize fund which means that this week we will have 50 SBD in prizes and they will be broken down as follows...

1ST Place will receive 20 SBD

2ND Place will receive 15 SBD

3rd Place will receive 10 SBD

Plus 5 Runner Up Prizes of 1 SBD

As well as this @steempowerpics has also decided to offer a special Triple Pay Judges Bonus which means that if the winner of 1ST place has entered with all three images, they will also receive an additional 5 SBD direct from him. Another extremely generous addition to the prize pool. That makes it 55 SBD in total!!! :)

Thank you so much Chris!! :)

page divider 2.png

So there you have it! Week four is up and running and I look forward to seeing if we can repeat the success we have had in week 3. Good luck everyone and...

Have Fun!!! :)

page divider 2.png

image credits

Tardis - Drupal.org

Dalek - DMmultimedia.com

The Doctor - Justwatch.com

Page dividers by @concept and @aleister!

page divider 4 @aleister.gif

Have an excellent day everyone!!! :)

tonyr banner.gif

Banner by @son-of-satire!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

It's great of you to run this contest! Well done!

Thank you so much @kus-knee! I really appreciate your kind words and support my friend!

Hope your day is going well! :)

Hi @tonyr i would like to join as well here's my drawing of the doctor he looks more like Dr House when i finished the drawing https://steemit.com/art/@errymil/here-my-entry-for-the-drawing-contest-by-tonyr-i-choose-yo-draw-the-doctor
[IMG][/IMG]

Thank you so much for entering the contest this week with a fabulous attempt at the advanced image @errymil! We are very pleased to have you with us.

Some of the other entrants have chosen to make a process post for their own blog and these have proven to be quite successful so if you are going to be entering for the other images also I would encourage you to do the same and link it with your entry so that I and others can visit your post and vote for you. :[)_

Thanks again my friend. Hope your day is going well!

O sure Thanks for the tip @tonyr, i wish i knew it earlier, i wanted to do the lion but the contest was over yesterday. Thanks for having me, i dont really draw so this kinda help me to improve my skills

This is very good :)

Very nice entry Errymil, thank you for taking part in Tony's contest.

Thanks @steempowerpics this was a nice idea to have this contest, as it teaches more steemians to be creative, and its also good as you only need a pencil and paper which everyone has a chance to participate!

Very true. Tony has done a good job putting this all together and doing it in a way that people can enter with any level of drawing skill.

Cool! And you also got a @gentlebot upvote.

I posted this comment originally on the esteem app and i think i kinda get what happened

The only way I have figured out is to upload to Imgur first which is a bit of a pain, if there's a better way I'd love to hear about it!

@justaboutart I am very sorry about this whole situation and especially so if I have made it seem like you deliberately used the esteem app to gain more votes. That is not what I meant to say or suggest in any way. This comment you have made has received 8 votes automatically due to the fact that you are using the esteem app. I am still pretty new here and don't exactly know how everything works myself so I couldn't tell you how to upload from a mobile device without using the esteem app but I hope you can find a way as I would love to have you continue in the contest and would be very pleased if you could overlook any mistakes I may have made and any embarrassment I may have caused you.

I'm very sorry again for the misunderstanding. This week judging will be done differently and won't be determined by votes so you should be fine to post via esteem for this week. Hope that helps and really sorry for being a twat! :)

Thank you for your apologies, and it is all good :) You have been perfectly fair in what you have been saying. I am looking foreward to this weeks contest. And thank you very much.

Thank you @justaboutart. You are very kind. Good luck with this weeks contest and I sincerely hope you have fun my friend!

My Intermediate Entry
Hope you like!! 8D

IMG_9365.JPG

By 12 year old giraffe on skates

You've done a great job on the intermediate image of the Dalek @giraffeonskates. It's a really diffficult one to draw. Very glad to have you back with us again this week. Hope you had fun taking part again. :)

Good luck to you my friend!

Thanks! @tonyr I have lots of fun with this contest, it's a really great idea.

I am glad you are enjoying yourself @giraffeonskates. It really makes me happy to hear that! :)

I made a colourful Dalek!
dalek06.jpg
close up of head:
dalek07.jpg

process post here: https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/i-made-a-rainbow-dalek-for-the-learn-to-draw-with-friends-challenge-process-included

Thanks this was fun once again!

Very nice Julia, Daleks do come in different colors - EXTERMINATE!

This is so adorable!

Thank you! ^_^

So sorry for the late comment on this one @juliakponsford. I saw it in my replies feed but don't know how I managed to skip it. :(

An amazing entry Julia. I absolutely love the colours! :[) I can see a Dalek Pride parade soon! :[)

Haha no problem I'm sure you must still have a lot of commenting going on? Sometimes I straight up don't see replies I don't know why... I know the judge said accuracy was important but my colored pencils were so deceptive they did not come out as advertised so I just decided it was a happy little accident lol :) Did you reach your goal of 500 comments yet?

Not yet I'm afraid and haven't made the seven posts I needed to either. :( Time got the better of me ion the end and I wasn't able to complete the challenge but it was really fun taking part and I learned a few things along the way so I'm not too disappointed. :)

Love the Bob Ross reference! :)

Oh well I'm sure you got something out of the experience! I love Bob ross I put him on o the background sometimes when I'm doing other stuff it's so relaxing!

He just made it look so damn easy! :) Love Bob Ross! :)

I'm actually back in with a shout of finishing. I just posted my seventh post for the challenge, another LTDWF update post and I am on track to get my 500 comments so I might have a new badge to displat soon on my posts! :)

I've proposed some changes to the contest in my latest post. I'd love to know what you think about them! :)

I know I tried to do one of his paintings digitally but I couldn't find a good equivalent to his palette knife technique. He did one where he made wood cabins and in one swipe the wood looked so textured and real! If I am rich one day I will buy loads of paint and follow along for real. I'll go check out your update!

My entry for the Advanced category:

IMG20170717013020.jpg

Here's the close up no edit photo with flash:

IMG20170717013050.jpg

Used grid lines to help me draw. Added lines to the original photo via software and lined the sketchbook with a ruler. Used a graphite pencil #2 on a Monologue Sketchbook. Added in a grey backdrop on software and edited the brightness and contrast, no further edits.

Thanks for having me on this contest!

You can support my work if you like it by clicking this link and viewing my post

Edit: Should have drawn the whole piece. Sadly, that's almost the whole paper's length. Can't add more to it, there's not even an inch of margin on the top, left, & bottom sides. The other entries were drawn on the right side.

Yeah .... i hate you :D

Hahaha. That's alright. The drawing loves you. XD

Great entry @deveerei, I am very impressed with the details in Peter's (I mean the Doctor's ) eyes. Nice shading work as well.

Thank you. Got to practice a lot on my portraits. Haven't done portrait drawings lately. Glad you like it!

If you make a post page, be sure to add the link to your entry comment above.

Will do that. :D

:) You don't waste any time @deveerei! A fantastic likeness you have captured!

Good luck to you my friend. If you have not already done so I would suggest you make your own post for each of your entries. The process posts so far in the contest have been very useful and well received. :)

Thank you for joining us once again and good luck to you!! :)

Thanks for the tip. I will do that once I get on a laptop. However, I have not photographed any part of the process cause I was eager to finish the drawing, I only took photographs of them when they were done. Didn't want to break the momentum.

The finished entries are fantastic as they are @deveerei. I only mention it as it may be a good way for you to gain more exposure for your work as others have in the last few weeks taking part and some have earned good rewards by doing so. :)

this is @seempowerpics post from last weeks contest,

https://steemit.com/contest/@steempowerpics/silverbird-drawing-my-learn-to-draw-with-friends-contest-entry

He did a fantastic job of presenting his process and was rewarded well for doing so. :)

Hope that helps! :)

His post was good! It deserved those rewards. I'll try adding all my entries into 1 single post and add the links into my entry comments. Maybe that could happen to me too. I was planning to do a step by step post as well with 1 artwork I finished days ago but I didn't have the time to do it yet.

This post may interest you:

https://steemit.com/art/@dwightjaden/black-and-white-drawing-part-2

He's the reason I can draw good. That's my Dad there. His posts are not getting much attention yet. Will try to make a feature again for Steemian artists and I will include him in it.

He is a very talented artist like yourself @deveerei. I hope you will convince him to join the contest at some point and make some process posts along the way. Hopefully it will help him get more attention which is part of the reason for the contest!

Thanks for sharing the link with me. Have a great day! :[)

I did invite him. He's finishing the advanced one now I think and he did photograph the process he was sending it to me haha.

Nicely done @deveerei ! You are very talented!

Here's my entry for the intermediate category:

IMG20170717022230.jpg

The Dalek was pretty hard to draw cause it's full of geometrical shapes. Making an accurate drawing will be quite hard. I decided to use a pen for this. Supposedly, the shading was going to be in pencil but I made a small drawing so it's harder to shade it properly or I just got lazy. I tried making the shadows as accurate as possible.

Thank you for having me in this contest! Cheers to all the participants!

You can support my work if you like it by clicking this link and viewing my post

So good and cute xD

Thank you so much!

Very nice @deveerei, Lots of details for such a small scale sketch.

This is amazing!!

Thank you!

Very nice sketch @giuatt07, nice work on the shading.

A beautiful entry @giuatt07! The shading is excellent and really brings the drawing to life. Very subtle but effective. :[)

Hope your day is going well my friend and thanks again for entering. I wish you good luck!!

Thank you, shading is my favourite part of sketching and drawing.

Here's my entry for the beginner category:

IMG20170717015536~01.jpg

I made it in ink. It was intended to be bigger but it's easier to draw it at this size and it's cute. Ink pen on Monologue Sketchbook, next picture for size references:

IMG20170717015536.jpg

Thanks for having me in this contest! Hoping to win!

You can support my work if you like it by clicking this link and viewing my post

That is an excellent drawing. :) Did you also enter the tiny drawing contest by @oceansoul13 I think it was? That was a really good contest!

Thanks for another great entry @deveerei. I'm sure our judge will have a difficult time this week! :)

Have a great day my friend!

I haven't got the chance to join that but the entries I saw there really blew my mind. They paint in micro, that was really amazing and quite difficult.

I'm sure he would. Last time there were tons of great entries here.

Interesting. There is also a mico art contest someone had posted, I will need to find the post again. This could work in that contest too.

I did see that before too. The entries there were really good. There are micro paintings there, hard to match.

Some of the ones I saw were incredibly detailed.

I love it :D
One micro challenge is Tiny Art Challenge by @oceansouls13, the theme was animals, and hopefully new contest next week :)

The entries there were awesome, hard to catch up.

This is really well done, especially for being so tiny! Very cute!

Thank you! Maybe next time I can write the tiny words too, hehe.

I did the Dalek pretty big and I wasn't even able to get all the details in!

Your Daler was very nice, I like the colors of it! I really don't have art materials anymore . I gave it all to @jeseemei (my sister) last Christmas.

Thanks! Coloured pencils can be bought pretty cheap though!

Yes, about 10$ for a good set. But I don't have much to spare now, I'm broke.

Gorgeous. Just gorgeous. So cute. :3

Thank you! Thank you!

Man! That is tiny!

Haha. It is. :)

Here's mine. 😊😂 And the post goes here.

ohh-lahlahhh!! wonderful drawing and the elaborate description on the post you made is now giving me second thoughts drawing the tardis. LOL

"Isn't it just a rectangle?!" - you, on TARDIS. 😂

nyahahah... i eat back my words...

Very nice Aira. The skin tones and shading are great. I like the final image you have on your process post page - with the pencils next to it. The colors show more accurately. - Maybe edit you comment to add that one too for everyone to see.

Thank you @steempowerpics! 😊 I've just now edited the comment and added the image.

oh gods ...this took lots of time, coloring looks great!

Thank you @atopy! Yes, it did take a lot of time. 😭😂

A fantastic entry for this weeks contest @erangvee and the process post that accompanies it is fabulous also. I would advise everyone taking part to have a look. :[)

Good luck to you my friend and good luck also to our judge @steempowerpics, in choosing a winner from all of the amazing entries. It will be a very difficult task!! :[)

Aww, thank you @tonyr! 😊

Your the best... amazing.... i cant do that exactly... but i can try ahahaha

Thanks kuya @kennyroy! Try it too! 😊

dang this is good. that has to be hard to do. I don't think I could do anything like that. :)

Thank you @kanedizzle08! 😊 You can do iiiit! Try to join this contest. It's basically for everyone.

maybe I will enter the next one. thanks for the kind words

Awesome colors especially the skin :D

Thank you @kristyglas! 💕😊 It took a while, but I like how the skin ended up, too. LOL.

Hi again @tonyr and @steempowerpics here is my 2nd entry for the beginners "The Tardis" [IMG][/IMG]
And here is a link to my post https://steemit.com/art/@errymil/learn-to-draw-with-friends-contest-by-tonyr-the-tardis-drawing-by-errymil

Very nice Errymil, nice you of smudging to create the shading and great process post too.

Thank you @steempowerpics it was fun making these drawings

Here is my entry.
20170717_211653.jpg

Thank you for your entry Erickson.

Hello! I've done shading to my first entry @tonyr. Thank you very much.

20170718_071541.jpg

Coming along nicely. Probably best to just post the finished art on this page, and create a full progress post on your account that you link here.

A really good drawing @dwightjaden but it looks a little 'unfinished' to me. :[)

Thanks for taking part buddy. Hope your day is going well!

Good drawing, finish all the shadings first (especially the clothes, he's wearing black) before submitting it. XD :D @dwightjaden

Done shading, the best i can do with just two pencil.

Hello Everyone, please see below my 1st entry.
I have resteemed and upvoted this post.
I attempted the option "The Doctor!".
Thanks for your time and have a great day!



If you are interested in the process of how I drew it, please see link below:


https://steemit.com/art/@apprentice001/art-entry-for-learn-to-draw-with-friends-contest-doctor

An outstanding entry @apprentice001! I like your style in going for the hardest one of the three first. I also love how you gave it your own touch with that excellent tag! :[)

I'm sure this will impress our guest judge @steempowerpics! :)

Thanks tonyr!

Great entry @apprentice001 - nice work on the shading and attention to details on the textures.

Thanks steempowerpics!

Woah this one's done quite nicely!

Yeah .... I still hate you :P

Hahaha, okay.

Another magnificent entry my friend! I;m so glad you could join us again this week. :[)

Good luck to you and good luck to our guest judge @steempowerpics! He has a difficult job ahead of him for sure! :[)

ty tony :)

Very nice @atopy, It's amazing that everyone went right after the advanced level drawing first this week :-)

yes ... my guess would be the first two images are not inspirinational enough and so much super great entrys i'd say it makes sanse for them to go for the advance one. :>

This is my final submission into the competition @tonyr @steempowerpics
IMG_20170722_184601.jpg
You could check out my post here
https://steemit.com/art/@dean-mno/and-the-final-piece-the-tardis-drawing

Interesting use of patterns for shading. Thank you for taking the time to try all 3 this week.

The light part of the TARDIS had a flat shading... It looked boring to me so I incorporated the patterns

Brilliant effect you've gotten with the hatching @dean-mno. :)

Good luck to you my friend!

This is my entry for the intermediate level

I only used graphite pencils on a sketchpad and I tried to draw it well without any grid lines, but I somehow failed, but I guess it's okay.

I hope you like it and appreciate my effort with this drawing entry.

Please also view my post about this and you can support it if you like, I will be completely grateful if you do, thank you.

Check out my post here

20196439_1525105347546738_1519284776_o.jpg

A fabulous drawing @jeseemei. You have done a great job with the shading and really brought the picture to life. Thank you for such a wonderful process post also and good luck to yu in the contest!!

I'm sure our judge @steempowerpics will be impressed with this! :)

I hope the judge will :) thank youu so much

FANTASTIC!
I hope everyone is ready for another great week of drawing!

Judging Notes: I will be looking for accuracy and attention to details. Shading will be important, whether you use 'smudgy finger' or cross-hatching, that will help with the realism. B/W sketches are good, but accurately recreating the colors with color pencils will definitely score you bonus points.

There are some artists that draw in ink/pen. I will allow pen sketches if that is your preferred method. But markers, paints, crayons, etc for coloring will not be accepted.

I will be judging for the TOP 3 spots, Tony will be selecting the runner-ups.

Above all have fun with it, we are all here to learn and improve over time. Even if you're a beginner, best efforts will go a long way towards claiming a runner-up spot.

Good Luck!

I encourage everyone to also create their own post entry along with your submission. If you can, take a few pictures of your process along the way to put in your post. It is NOT required for this contest, but helps others who find your post" learn to draw" from your example.

Don't forget about the Triple Play Judge's Bonus, if you submit all 3 drawings and one of them is selected for 1st place, you will get an additional 5 SBD from me.

Fantastic.... Can't wait to get started with the drawings.. So loving the fact that there is a judge for the competition...

By the way, am essentially a pen artist, would it be counted as a drawing too as @tonyr did last week @steempowerpics

Yes, I will allow pen. I look forward to seeing your entries. I will edit my comment.

Reading the rules is fun. :D I get to learn how to win. I was planning to try creating a Doctor Maul (Darth Maul fusion cause I've been into Star Wars lately) but I will sketch him properly first then I will do the fusion fan art later. I didn't know that doing all 3 gives a bonus so I will be trying that out as well.

Great - I can't wait to see what you come up with. The bonus is new for this week.

I did the drawings right away after commenting here. Hehe.

Sweet! I prefer inking with black pigment pen as the photos are so much better in the end :D (I draw rather softly, haha)

This is my Tardis I made today going in the portal. I hope you like it.

https://steemit.com/drawing/@steempowerkid/my-tardis-drawing-for-a-conest-my-first-contest-drawing

WOW!! :[)

This is another fantastic drawing @steempowerkid. You have really done a great job with the colouring too.

If you keep this up, pretty soon you will be better at drawing than your dad! :)

Good luck in the contest and I hope you had a lot of fun entering this week! :[)

So true :-) Making your dad proud.

My first entry for the competition @tonyr @steempowerpics.....
IMG_20170721_224122_058.JPG

Incredibly detailed pen sketch Dean - very nice entry.

A fabulous drawing of the Dalek @dean-mno!. You have done a great job with all of the detailing and catching the light and shadows.

An excellent entry mate. Thanks for taking the time. Good luck in the contest. Our judge will have a difficult time picking a winner for sure. :)

It was time-consuming but it was worth it.....

I have seen some really excellent entries this week.. The judge is definitely in a tight corner...

You are not wrong @dean-mno! :) Some of the entries and process posts have been outstanding!

This is really cool!

Great day, @tonyr! Here's my entry My "TARDIS" Drawing Experience - Contest Entry


Did for fun, so guys be gentle to me. Haha

Another great entry for the beginners category @arrliinn. It's not easy drawing in the car. :)

I'm sure you could do a great job with the intermediate image as well! :)

Oh tell me about it @tonyr! Like it was frying 44°c yesterday afternoon. My car is not at all tinted so I just had my sun shield up. Oh dessert summer. 😂😅

I couldn't even imagine that heat @arrliinn. I live in Scotland where it is less than 20 degrees now and this is almost as good as it gets for us. :) This is the height of our summer. :)

Oh yeah. And THAT is what we would call "winter". Haha

On another note, there's just a lof of British expats here and they seem fine. Haha. I have a colleague who's from Wales who almost does not want to come home. 😂

You are getting the hang of "perspective" in drawing, it's not easy to master at first - it takes time. Very good.

Thanks @steempowerpics! I'll get there someday. Haha

Hi!!!
I'm here another time! hehehehe
This week I think that I only can do the beginner level because the others levels are too difficult to me...
Here you have the result of my drawing!!! :D :D

I hope you like it!!!
If you want to see the process of my draw here you have the link:
https://steemit.com/art/@alberni/learn-to-draw-with-friends-contest-concurso-aprende-a-dibujar-con-amigos

A great entry @alberni. You shouldn't sell yourself short my friend. I'm sure you would do a fantastic job of the Dalek and if not it would still be great practice for doing more difficult drawings in future!

Hope you enjoyed yourself !! :[)

Hahaha I'll try, but I don't promise anything :)
Have a nice day!!!! :D

Very nice @alberni - Thank you for your first entry. Looks like you tackled the perspective quite well.

Thank you :)
I had many problems with perspective and I had to modify the cabin a bit and I had to modify the cabin a little and put a roof, because if i didn't do it, the cabin looked very bad hehehe ;)

Finally drew the TARDIS. 😊 The process post is here

@erangvee thius is another stunning entry. The way you have managed to catch the light with your blending technique is excellent and the process post is 100% quality content. :) Thank you so much as always my friend! Your posts are a big help to myself and many others I'm sure! :)

Thank you @tonyr! 😊 It's exactly because of this contest that I learned to document the processes I do with my drawings - hence I become more involved with them. So thank you. 😊

You have done a marvelous job @erangvee. Honestly, your process post was amazing and I am very happy that the contest had a small part in inspiring it. Your skill with a pencil is matched by your expert knowledge of how to present a post on steemit. I really hope it gets you more notice! :)

This is my entry for the Beginner category!

I used the same graphite pencils that I used before for my first entry in the Intermediate category. I did not use a ruler or any grid line guides..

Check out my post here

You can also find the link for my entry for the Intermediate level in that link..

I hope you like it :)


I honestly almost forgot to post this here in the comment section haha, I'm glad that I remembered to!

IMG_20170719_202224-01.jpeg

Another fabulous entry @jeseemei! It has a very atmospheric feel to it. :)

Thank you for your second entry. I'm off to check out your process post now! :)

Good luck my friend!

And the Dalek... which was frustrating to draw. 😂 Here's the process post.

I really am running out of words to express how happy I am that you have taken so much time and given so much effort to enter and grace my little contest @erangvee. I am truly honored my friend! I wish you luck in the contest but can tell you that you are already a winner in my eyes! A fantastic talent and skill you have!

Thank you again! I'm deeply flattered by your words - I don't even know what to say. 😊😊

WOW! I am really impressed with you progress week over week , and your work progress post for your 3 entries is fabulous! I am so happy you are continuing with Tony's drawing challenges.

Thank you so much @steempowerpics! 😊 I'm happy to have continued with the drawing challenges - I keep seeing where my weaknesses and strengths lie. 😊

That's great, it's exactly what Tony envisioned for his contest.

Hello! This is my entry. I don't like so much but I tried :(
https://steemit.com/ltdwf/@fole/learn-to-draw-with-friends-contest-entry-tardis
tardis.jpg

Hi Fole, this was a great effort on the TARDIS. You got the perspective down, that's a good accomplishment in itself.

Thank you!

You are being too hard on ourself @fole. I really like this entry. I love the mottled look of the Tardis. It gives it the effect that it is just materialising or dematerialising so it's very fitting for Doctor Who! :)

I hope you are having lots of fun with all of the great contests going on right now. I loved your entry for the tiny art contest! :)

Thanks for the support. I don't know nothing about "Dr. Who" but I tried.
And yes I have fun with the challenges/contest. I'm glad you like my entries :D

I am enjoying all of your entries for the many contests you have entered @fole. Your dragon and your tiny art entries were also excellent. You are very talented my friend!:)

Have a wonderful day @fole!

Thanks so much @tonyr for hosting this challenge!! Here's a link to my post with my entry into the Beginner category: https://steemit.com/art/@jaymorebeet/for-real-though-doctor-who

Finished 2.jpg

An excellent process post to go with this entry @jaymorebeet!

You have done a great job and I'm sure we would all like to see how you get on with the other two images. :)

Good luck!! :)

Very nice - can't wait to see your next entries, and yes - great process post too.

Hello everyone, this is my 2nd entry. Tried to experiment with some colour pencils which was quite challenging.

https://steemit.com/art/@apprentice001/2nd-art-entry-for-learn-to-draw-with-friends-contest-doctor

Another excellent entry @apprentice001 and a great use of the coloured pencils. Your process post was also fantastic and thank you so much for spreading word of the contest to your followers! :)

Good luck my friend!

Very nicely done, I love the creative ways you add your tag each time.

Well I definitely didn't see this coming but here's my entry to the intermediate category. Thanks so much for hosting this challenge @tonyr! https://steemit.com/art/@jaymorebeet/it-s-miss-dr-who-to-you IMG_9983.JPG

Another fantastic entry @jaymorebeet! You have bags of natural talent and your process post was fantastic as well. I am really thrilled you are taking part and having so much fun! Thanks so much for all of your efforts.

Have an excellent day my friend and good luck to you!! :[)

CONGRATULATIONS ALL CONTESTANTS!
As promised, I put everyone's name into the randomizer to select ONE person for 5SBD bonus.

tonyr-art-contest-5SBD random draw.jpg

Congratulations @furious-one - I will be transferring 5 SBD into your account shortly. <3 Meredith

Wow thank you Meredith!

tonyr-art-contest-5SBD payout.jpg
My pleasure, love! Keep playing :) Looking forward to seeing your submissions.

Thank you so much @merej99!

You are a fantastic example of the steemit community we all hope and strive for!

And congratulations @furious-one!! Well done my friend!! :[)

Thank you, @tonyr and cheers!

Awesome Meredith!

Congratulations @furious-one

Very nice entries (all 3) and great time lapse video.

My second entry

my third entry

Thank you for these three amazing entries @dksart and for such a fantastic process video for everyone to learn from. You have a terrific amount of talent and skill my friend. Good luck in the contest.

Have a wonderful day! :)

This is my second entry into #ltdwf.Below is my entry for the competition @tonyr @steempowerpics
IMG_20170721_230059_931.JPG

Hey Dean - Very fun and creative entry of the Doctor.

Another excellent entry @dean-mno. I love that you've added a bit of character to the drawing and made it your own. :)

Good luck my friend!! Hope you are having an awesome day!! :)

Smiles..... Thanks for the feedback

Hello everyone, here is my submission for this weeks Dr. Who challenge.

If you'd like to see the process please check out my post https://steemit.com/art/@ckurtish/the-twelfth-doctor-learn-to-draw-with-friends

Very nice entry @ckurtish, I really like the texture in your shading technique for his coat. Great progress post as well.

Thanks a lot, I appreciate the feed back :)

A fabulous entry @ckurtish! You have done a great job of the advanced category. Thank you so much for your entry and good luck in the contest.

Have a wonderful day my friend! :)

Great to hear that you like it, I'm glad I got it done in time.

Hello everybody, please see my 3rd entry:
Thanks for your time and have a great day!

https://steemit.com/art/@apprentice001/another-experiment-with-colour-pencils-learn-to-draw-with-friends-contest

An excellent use of the coloured pencils @apprentice001. You have really done a great job of all three of the images and I am very pleased that you have taken part in the contest and had so much fun doing so.

Your process post was fantastic again also. Well done my friend and good luck to you. :)

Thanks tonyr for your kind words again. I really enjoyed taking part in the art contest and very thankful for the support from the steemit community.

Looking good @apprentice001, and another great progress post.

Thanks steempowerpics!

This is my entry for week 4, thanks again for the chance to draw more!

Pleased to have you aboard again @therealpaul. Good luck buddy!

I'm happy to be part again!

Looks great Paul, very nice entry.

Thank you! It was a new challenge, I can always use the practice, and end up with some new art!

Hey my friend! So awesome that you're having such a great time with this! Congratulations to the winners and good luck to the new challengers!

Cheers @dreemit. It was you and Scott who got the contest off to a great start with your donations so a lot of the credit goes to you my friend. :)

I'm not going to be on steemit too much for the next couple of weeks, just to keep the contest going and maybe the odd colorchallenge so if you don't hear from me don't be too despondent :) I just need some time to sort out a few things but I should hopefully be able to find time to write a few emails. :)

Have a wonderful day @dreemit!! I know you will!! :[)

As you once said to me: Don't stay away too long, we'll miss you!! (I'll miss you) I hope you get things sorted, and definitely email me!

I will be around. I just have a few things piling up now. Nothing serious, just lots of little things so best to take care of them and come back fighting fit. :)

Side note, has it ever occurred to you that I might just be another of Scott's characters??? I'll leave you with that thought. :)

Til next time @dreemit! I will enjoy being missed. :)

Nope, you are most certainly a separate individual :) This might sound strange, but I can 'feel' a person's spirit. Had no idea that it would extend to those I've never physically met over the internet, but it does which I find super cool! You have your own unique feeling Tony, unmistakeable :)

Glad it's nothing serious!

:[)

Did you find an answer to your question about the number of women versus men on steemit?

Not yet, no, there are mixed opinions. Some say men are a big majority, some say fifty/fifty. What I find really fascinating and beautiful about this place is that male and female are the only real distinctions. No race or class dividers which I absolutely love!

Gratz to all the winners! :)

Your bird drawing was really nice last week, I hope you will consider entering again this week.

yes...contemplating if i should try the hard one this time...its been...oh gods...at least 10 years since i tried drawing a person (it was never my forte)... and the bird i willl reuse, this ...this i have noone to give to and no point in storing it for myself. It would take a lot of time...and lets face it it doesn't matter who you are but who you know...so at this point with 0 support it doesn't matter what i dish out ... at the end it could be the best i've done or the worst i've done...no votes no fun. :D I know I'm rambling....think im a bit scared to find out how are my portrait skills at this moment. :)

Well remember this week the winners are selected by me, not by upvotes. That will make it fair and even for everyone who enters. Drawing people has always been tough for me too. Tony's contest has helped me get back into it.

Thank you and your blue bird was really adorable :D
Good luck with this contest, definitely try!

Yes, ty, think I might give it a go...just to see where i stand right now. Have to get some paper first... :) Will be looking forward to seeing your entry too (and the rest of them too ofc).

Some great entries this week, Tony. I dropped a few upvotes and resteemed my favourite, though its a bit late.

Remind me a bit earlier next week and I will resteem my 3 favourites. I'd offer a donation but a little skint this week. I will sort something out for the following one though.

It's truly great to see how much of the community you are bringing together with this competition.

Cheers Scott. Thanks a lot for your support and for the upvotes and resteems as well as the donation to the first week of the contest. I'm looking for guest judges for future weeks of the contest if you're interested/ :[)

I'd be honoured!

I did not not realize that esteem app gave automatic votes and as @djynn said I was having trouble figuring out how to post a picture in the comments section and the app seemed like a good way to do it. I agree that it is an unfair advantage and I respect your decision :) non the less I enjoyed this contest and would like to continue entering future contests. If someone could so kindly explain how to post pictures in the comments through a mobile device that would help me a lot. :)

Hi, you can post pictures in comments the same as in your regular posts.

You can either drag/drop the image into the comment, or when you have an image in your post page, right-click to get the menu and use copy image address. Then paste that url to the image in the comment.

In mobile, my phone, I go to my images, "copy" from the image select menu, then hold on the comment area to get the "paste" option. That then uploads it into the comment/post.

I look forward to seeing your entries this week. Everything should run smoother now that the upvote has been taken out of the equation.

Thank you for this i have tried a few ways and it didn't work! I will try these options!

I am on android, Samsung. Not sure if it's the same on iphones.

I'm on a Samsung as well, I try not to post from my tablet too much because I find typing on it a pain but once in a while if the main computer is being hogged it can come in handy :-)

Thank you so much for your help! :)

You're welcome.

did this in a hurry ...probably out of time but nonetheless in good spirit. hope to catch u early next time ;)) #ltdwf
11.png

Thanks for your entry @kingyus. There is still plenty of time left in the contest. It closes when the reward period ends for the main post. If you'd like to add some more details and resubmit you still have time but I thank you for taking the time to get an entry in and your enthusiasm for the contest. We are all having a great time and would love for you to continue joining us.

Hope your day is going well my friend! :)

oh. well I will draw then either way...I like drawing!! thank you mr tonyr!

I haven't watched Dr Who yet so I did a quick one (around 1 h) :)
I will try to do better next time (I'm a bit better with female portraits xD)

IMG_7002.JPG

IMG_7005.JPG
IMG_7008.JPG

The stare is a little creepy xD but funny I hope

It's an excellent sketch @kristyglas. He looks like he's saying ''uh-uh, girlfriend!!'' :) Thanks for taking the time to enter again Kristy. I appreciate it very much and hope to return the favour with your own contest! :) You had some really great entries this week!

Thank you! haha xD
I'm looking forward to your entry ^ ^
Yeah the entries in this and the dragon contest are getting to a new level :D
I'm also really happy that some of the entrants posts are doing well with upvotes/payout/comments, so I hope it motivates people to continue creating ^-^

I think we are both doing a good job of encouraging quality content on the site @kristyglas and I will of course do whatever I can to help promote your excellent contest. If there is anything at all I can do to help, please let me know! :)

Hope you are having a beautiful day Kristy! :)

Thank you! The problem is I'm not sure where or how to promote it more. I have posted everywhere appropriate on discord. However I expected for some people to find it much later so I made it a very long first contest. The next ones will probably be shorter and simpler depending on prize pool (so far its only 6SBD) maybe I'll use it to reward some honorable mentions and a non SBD prize next time. There is still time to decide tho :D

I've just edited my latest #ltdwf post to include a mention of your contest as well as @juliakponsford's and @oceansoul13's contests. I had originally intended to do that anyway but forgot when writing up the post as I was in a bit of a rush to finish! :(

Hope that helps a little at least! :)

Thank you so much!!
I dont have any new posts planned so I'll edit my recent contest reminder to add yours as well as tiny art. :D
I'll check out @juliakponsford's contest haven't seen it I think.

Thank you! :D
(I received the SBD and it's how much I was missing for my contest, yay!)
Also I see you increased the difficulty of this week by a lot xD

Thank YOU @kristyglas for being a fantastic contestant and for giving us such an excellent insight into how you go about creating your beautiful work. I hope you have great success with your contest and if I can do anything to help support you then please don't hesitate to ask. :)

Have a wonderful, winning day Kristy! :)

Thank you so much! It was really a pleasure entering the animals contest. The pictures you chose were irresistible :D
If you don't mind I'll send you the contest link tomorrow after I post it. I decided this contest will last total of 3 weeks so those who have never drawn dragons have a chance to try ^^ (and so we can gather SBD prize pool for next contest)

Please do Kristy. I look forward to it and will of course support your contest in any way I can. It sounds like a lot of fun! :)

Awesome, I hope it will be :D

And it was my pleasure. You are most welcome! :)

Congratulations, @kristyglas! ❤️️

Thank you :D

Congrats. I hope to see you in this week's contest as well.

Thank you, congrats to you as well!
I will try one entry how about you? ^^

Yes, I will be posting all 3, after all, it's Doctor Who - I have to do give it a shot :-)

This week I will post for support, not for the prize.

Cool, just finished reading the details of the contest :D
Good luck!

All riiight! Congratulations @tonyr for the successful Week 3. 😉 And congratulations are also in order for @steempowerpics, @kristyglas, and the rest of the winners! ❤️️ On another note, I'm literally thrilled with the Doctor Who theme. Challenging, but yaaay. 😊 That's Doctor Who! Doctor Who!

Excellent Aira, I'm looking forward to your entries.

Thank you very much :D Good luck with your entry!

I'm sorry but I have problem with this dicision. @justaboutart just stated steemit and using the esteem was just a easier way to upload a photo on the comment senction from her smartphone. We both got esteem at the same time and we weren't aware of automatic votes at all. Running the contest and adding the rule after is more unfair than anything with my opinion. And mostly mention her name on this post like this sounds like you are saying she cheated which is absolutly not ture, makess me sick in my stomach.

Djynn, Tony never implied she cheated in any way. It was more of a technical decision he made since the contest was based on manual votes by other members, so an automatic vote process skews everything a bit. It made it impossible for people who submitted in the last 2 days to rally votes against that. I talked to Tony about it on Friday and suggested a judging process going forward when I saw some late entries that I feel were better in difficulty and execution than my own. So this week, I will judge based on my criteria I posted in the comments, and not enter myself to win.

@djynn I am very sorry you feel this way and I hear what you are saying. It was not my intention to make it sound like @justaboutart had cheated but I only realised at the last moment when I was tallying the votes and since I know that the esteem app can give as many as 10 votes automatically, it was a fair assumption to make that the total genuine votes were less than those received by the runners up. I don't think it would have been fair to award first place to someone who had automatic votes and perhaps should have delayed posting until I had spoken with and explained this to @justaboutart. I apologise if I have upset or offended anyone and if you could let me know of a way to resolve the matter fairly I will gladly do so.

As I said in the post , I accept full responsibility for not making the rules clearer though to be honest I hadn't considered this when formulating the rules for the contest so I apologise unreservedly.

Am very sure @tonyr didn't mean to make your friend sound like a cheat.. He made a mistake not adding the esteem rule and he apologized for the mistake.
Love the fact you stood up for your friend @djynn

OMG! Thank you sooo much!!!
Congrats to the winners!! I'm feel a winner too! :D
This contest was wonderful, it was really fun drawing and motivated me a lot for keep drawing so I'm feel a winner from the beginning.
I know 1SBD it's not much but for me is great! It's more than I expected (the experience) :D
Thank you so much @tonyr !!

Definitely try again this challenge :D Good luck!!
Thank you!

Of course! :D

You did great, your lion was one of my favorites. I look forward to seeing your work this week.

Thank you!!! :D

Thank YOU @fole for such an amazing entry and you are very welcome. I hope you will be joining us again this week. :)

Thanks. Sure try again ;)

Great @fole. So glad you could join us again this week. :)

This one's beyond my skill level... upvoted for support, and i'll resteem it so that i can track the submissions and vote... Thanks

Thank you so much for the support @primal-buddhist. If you change your mind about entering you are always welcome my friend! :)

Thank you ... and for the runner up... although i did something stupid and promoted a post with the SBD ... i didn't know it was not limited to a dollar... so i guess my post will be so far down it'll go the way of all steemit posts.. back into the ether... i won't make the same foolish mistake twice.... usually... LOL

:) which post did you promote?

i wouldn't exactly say it worked at promoting it.. LOL I should read more on Steemit before trying new things ; ) ....

  • My True story about the time i was stopped at a Roadblock in Jamaica....

It's a complicated place and takes some time to work out but I'm sure you'll get there @primal-buddhist. And when you do please let me know how you got there cos it's pretty confusing to me too. :)

Congrats to the winners😊 great job

I hope to see you giving it a go this week @saffisara! If your drawing skills are as good as your joke telling skills you should do very well! :)

Aww thank u sweety😊 only funny skills the....I dont know about the choices...mabye a combo of all 3.....lol

That would be something I'd like to see. :)

Mabye u will...lol😊 not likely but manye I just try for fun without contest...lol
Just to mess with u

Remember, I am a hard man to please! :)

Yes sir I know😊 lol

Congratulations to the winners! You have all submitted some great work!

Thank you @thesimplelife!

You are more than welcome to take part my friend! :[)

Hope your day is going well!

Would something like this count?

That's a double entry...one for your joke contest too!

:[) I'm afraid you will have to run it by our guest judge this week, @steempowerpics but I don't think he will accept it.

I will accept it for the joke contest though! :[)

1 out of 2! I will take that!

LOL, ancient cave art version of the Doctor.

Boom, done! And that counts as comments for our contest too! We are all standing in the winners circle!

LOL Excellent! Happy to help :-)

There are 2 pages
Pages