Cookerburras Bogan Spag Bog

in #cooking6 years ago

Cookerburras Bogan Spag Bog

Need an easy, cheap and filling meal for your family?
Look no further than Cookerburras Bogan Spag Bog.
Packed with flavour and nutrients to really boost your mood!
Serves 5

Ingredients:

  • 500g ground Beef
  • Cloves of garlic
  • Onion, diced
  • 1 Capsicum, diced
  • 1 Carrot, diced
  • 1/3 Of a zucchini, diced
  • 7 Small button mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 Large tomatoes, diced
  • 1 Small chilli, sliced
  • 1 Jar of preferred Bolognese sauce
  • Spaghetti pasta
  • Fresh basil

Lightroom-5634.JPG

Ok, let's get to cooking. I'll be posting pictures along with the steps listed for ease of understanding.

Step 1)
Sauté your mushrooms in a little bit of garlic and butter to start off with. We will set these aside and add back to the dish later.

Lightroom-5649.JPG

Step 2)
Heat a small amount of oil in a pan over high heat. Add the onion, garlic and carrot.
Cook over a high heat until the onion beings to colour and the carrot gets soft.

This should take no more than 5 minutes.

Lightroom-5652.JPG

Step 3)
Spread your veggies to the side of your pan to make way for your ground beef in the middle.
Cook your beef until completely brown

Lightroom-5654.JPG

P.S. don't forget the salt and pepper.

Lightroom-5655.JPG

Step 4)
Now that your meat is browned off, add the rest of your veggies to the pan to cook for a few minutes before adding in the jar of bolognese sauce. Put your pot of water on to boil now. (don't forget to salt the water)

Lightroom-5656.JPG
Lightroom-5657.JPG

Step 5)
Throw those sauteed mushrooms in while you set the temperature lower to simmer while the water boils for the pasta.
Don't forget to throw some chopped, frsh basil in the sauce

Lightroom-5659.JPG
Lightroom-5660.JPG

Step 6)
Serve over spaghetti cooked al dente. Top with fresh basil leaves and with or without parmesan cheese.

IMG_5662.jpg


Step 7
ENJOY!






I hope you enjoyed my first cooking post. Please leave criticism at the bottom on how I could improve :).

Sort:  

I really need this.....soo easy and quick and must be very yummy

I estimate 30 minutes total cooking time. Add on 15 minutes of prep and its a wonderful quick meal. The taste is phenomenal. With the fresh basil from the garden it really comes alive

Yum Yum!!
looks awesome, I can almost taste it.

ANd thinking that this is your first cooking post.....it looks almost professional man.

1 small tip from a chef:
Make your own bolognese sauce ;)

It can make a difference and you can put some personal taste in your sauce.

It might be a bit more work, but damn, it can be worth your time and you have this extra level of pride.

But damn, dude, the dish looks stunning!!!
You're sure you didn't took that picture from some professional magazine? ;) hehe

Thanks man, means a lot coming from someone with training :D
And yes making the sauce from scratch is my next step.
Ive recently started making a bechamel sauce from scratch ( a miracle for me) and adding cheese. Then frying some capsicum, bacon, broccoli and onion up and mixing it all together with some pasta...I think that might be my next cooking post now that I think about it!

Maybe the profesional magazine stole their picture from me 0.o

Not big on pasta but this got my mouth watering.

Thanks so much :D
I grew up eating pasta a lot so I love it.
Everytime I smell this cooking I get hungry too, real comfort food