Day 3 With The Virus People Joke About / Are Bored At Home Over - Please Stop Complaining

in #covidlife4 years ago (edited)

What a fun first Hive post. I'm sick. NOT April Fools.

Today's the first day I felt strong enough to type, let alone be awake for a few hours. Small victory. My eyes are sensitive to light, so this isn't pleasant.

For those who don't know me, I'm a trooper and can endure any type of physical pain. I've been hit in the face with a fastball and got right up. I've also been clobbered with baseballs hit from close range and played through the swelling and pain without missing a game. Knock on wood.


With that out of the way, I'm writing this between dry hacks because I'd like to share my virus experience so people can learn/protect/brace themselves.

While some people are asymptomatic, I wasn't.


For full disclosure, I haven't been tested, but the freight train with most of the textbook symptoms hit Monday AM, and I see no point. I'm not going to put myself at further risk or discomfort, or expose others, just to check a box.

When comparing COVID-19 to the standard flu, it's pretty obvious that I'm affected by the latter, as I'm missing many of the standard flu symptoms. If I don't have it, I guess it's some other super flu that makes breathing harder, everything laborious, and causes constant coughing.

To be honest, I can't even remember the last time I had a fever or the flu. It must've been at least 5+ years out. My immune system is rock solid, so while there was a hole in my armor, I know I'll conquer it as quickly as it can be conquered. I get sick less than once a year, but this is the exception, and I'm holed up in my apartment for at least 14 days IF things go smoothly.


For those making memes or expressing frustration/boredom about being stuck at home, thank God that you're healthy. Seriously. You don't want to spend days laying down with severe flu symptoms coughing with restricted airways wondering if it'll get worse. When lungs are involved, it's very unsettling. Thankfully I've been able to stay calm because I can't afford any panic or respiratory stress now.

As for other personal experience, my brother-in-law got demolished by the virus and has a nurse visit twice a day. After weeks, he's finally taking a turn for the better towards recovery, all while my sister and her two little kids are stuck living together in the same house under lockdown outside of the US. Imagine how my sister must feel while keeping everything afloat in that sensitive and dangerous environment, but she's brave.

My neighbor is also a nurse at a nearby hospital and she's shared vivid details. I hope I'm lucky enough to recover at home under manageable conditions because I do not want a hospital experience. No sir. No ma'am. That's my one wish aside from a healthy recovery.

Again, to those frustrated with the nuisance of being healthy and bored at home, get a grip and count your blessings. Don't take unnecessary chances unless you're willing to deal with the illness. I personally felt like I would get it eventually and tackle it, and the day has come sooner than expected.

For anyone else who's sick here, now we can bond over it!


How I Might've Gotten It:

For where I live, this was inevitable unless I didn't leave my apartment for months. My city is like pin-the-tail-on-the-coronavirus-donkey on the world map. To those that read this and know, please don't mention my location in the comments for privacy.

I'm not exactly sure how I got sick, but I was barely outside during the daytime (5-10 mins at most for post office/FedEx drops after hours with gloves). I was extremely careful and conscientious, outside almost solely to keep my home business running at half speed. I did take one short subway trip on vacant trains over a week ago I should've skipped, but kept maximum distance.

While people are getting laid off and unable to make money, I earned plenty in March and was proud of that. My cheat code of avoiding a corporate job for ~5 years was potentially pandemic-agnostic, but now I'm the bottleneck.

For sourcing, I did go outside a few nights to salvage recycling between 2:00-5:30AM when the streets were completely empty. The few things I handled were done so with great care. I was very selective and isolated any finds from further contact for several days once back. I obviously wore gloves and washed my hands about 10,000 times anyway. I even used my phone through a ziploc bag with gloves. My gut feel is that this was not the culprit, but who knows.

I have not worn a mask.

Perhaps the virus was on something I salvaged, but given the timing, I think I got it on a backup run for groceries when Trump caused a panic over something. I've only gotten groceries twice in recent weeks, both between 12:45-1:00 AM when only 2-4 customers were in the store. The timing sort of lines up. The catch is that the cashiers touch everything... stupid me. I didn't handle most of the food for a few days, and put the refrigerated stuff in a separate bag to be handled carefully, repeatedly washing my hands. Just a guess, but then again, no mask. As more info becomes available about the possibility of airborne transmission, even via the eyes, I guess I left room for error. Maybe I got it in the air at the grocery store or at the USPS. I don't remember anyone coughing or sneezing at all.

Whatever, can't go back now.

On the bright side, I think I'll be in really good shape after I get better with less to fear.


While I'm posting this under two Hive challenges, I don't have any other social media outlet to post this on outside of Facebook. To be honest, I don't want my family and friends knowing this yet, as Hive is completely insulated from their eyes now. I also don't have nice pictures to share, but took one for the end of the post. This entry is for awareness, not upvote % strength.


Priorities:

The main concern with me now is my asthma. My airways have been restricted and I've had no choice but to keep using a rescue inhaler. I also have a steroid inhaler on the way that should arrive tomorrow. I'm really looking forward to having that by my bed. I'm coughing a lot, but it does tend to subside after I sleep.

Stay home to not get anyone else sick.

Beg my friends not to bring me stuff, but two already have.

While I'm lucky in that I was nearly the best shape of my life before I got this (baseball was just around the corner), I'm still hit hard. While I hate medicine, it's a necessity now. Aside from the rescue inhaler, I'm done taking the expired cold & flu severe stuff someone bought for me a long time ago... 3 doses taken and hopefully no more needed. I want to beat this as naturally as possible, so I will continue to rest like crazy and take as many immune system boosting things as I can. Sleep has been effortless, so my body is cooperating, perhaps out of necessity.


Here's how the last few days have panned out:

Monday: (Level of sucking 9.5)

  • Woke up early feeling uncomfortable, but went back to bed and didn't snooze well.
  • Got up and ready to go to the USPS to ship a Land Rover part I found outside. Felt hot and was sweating, but thought I'd power through it. I didn't put the pieces together yet.
  • At the USPS, I knew something wasn't right. I was still sweating and didn't feel too well.
  • I walked the curbs on the way home to find packaging for a $745 curb-salvaged COPD medical device I just sold, boxed it up, and then ran out of gas. As a plus, that was a nice sale, found for free.
  • I had to go to bed. No choice. Thankfully, I'd recently restocked up on groceries (*barring that's not where I got it), so I lined up Cran-Pomegranate juice, Gatorade, multi-vitamins, and passed out.
  • I slept on and off for most of the day, but the chills, weakness, coughing, and asthma ramped up quickly, along with more sweating. Hello fever. I was too weak to find my thermometer up in my storage loft, and didn't find it necessary to confirm the obvious.
  • Thankfully a stubborn friend bought me that Tylenol cold and flu severe ages ago (albeit expired), so I painfully did some internet research to make sure it was safe and took the first day dose. It really did help, even if not at full potency, but it was temporary.
  • I barely left my bed unable to function much, nor wanting to. The mental battle to move was a war I didn't have the energy to fight. Rotations of chills/sweats continued each time I woke up, but I was super lucky that I was continuously able to fall back asleep. It was game time... sleep was the priority. I kept my heavy eyes closed to make sure I wake up all the way to be forced to lay in misery.
  • On and off sleep overnight with lots of coughing. I think I forced myself to make tea with raw honey in the name of "I want to live," and had some extra B, C and D vitamins to complement my multi.
  • I'm lucky I recently bought 2 pounds of high quality Puori protein powder that was intended to be a supplement during a lockdown. I had some of that too as it's good for the immune system. I never use protein powder, but am glad I had made the exception.
  • I had to keep myself calm and not think worst case. I said a few prayers because I didn't know if I'd be better or worse the next day.
  • I took one more day dose of the Tylenol stuff towards 6 AM while half asleep. It helped again.
  • I didn't tell anyone yet.
  • No loss of tase or smell. A small victory.

Tuesday: (Level of sucking 8.5)

  • I slept on and off almost all day. I was only up and functional for about 3-3.5 hours.
  • In some ways I felt like the fever symptoms eased up, but those pros were met with FAR more fatigue, body soreness, coughing and more fucking coughing. Thankfully, my lungs felt strong, but my asthma was really active.
  • I had lots of tea, and despite begging them not to, a friend delivered food and tea they made outside my door, as well as other supplies. I really didn't want them to travel on the subway, or at all, but they refused to obey my wishes.
  • I had that tea and half the food before being way too weak to finish it. I had to pass out.
  • I took a shower in the evening to see if the steam would help with my airways, nope.
  • My Mom started exhibiting remote Mom-radar that something was wrong, but I've only disclosed the asthma. I can't freak her out unless it's necessary.
  • I called 3 close friends and made sure they had my address and health insurance info just in case something happened with my asthma and I had to send an emergency SOS text for them to get help. This may be silly, but it helped me feel a little better. It was hard to talk on the phone, so I kept my voice down. Damn asthma (I hope). This made me nervous.
  • I went to bed at 11 PM, woke up around 2 AM, pounded a can of tuna and some vitamins, and played two games of online scrabble to wear my eyes down. I lost both games. No excuses.
  • I took the PM dose of that Tylenol stuff to help me sleep better and it seemed to work.
  • Still had smell and taste.

Wednesday: (Level of sucking 7)

  • I slept in rock solid until 1:45 PM today and initially woke up feeling better. As the refreshed feeling wore off, I found myself weak as hell, achy and clammy. My biggest concern was that I was a little shorter of breath than in the previous two days, but not an extreme difference. I'm really hoping that this improves tomorrow.
  • On the bright side, I didn't feel the need to sleep all day, so I've been up and trying to stay positive. I don't have much energy, and I'm afraid to exert myself with my breathing, but I don't want to sleep too much during the day and have a hard time sleeping tonight.
  • Another friend insisted on dropping supplies today. Despite all objections and wishes for them not to expose themselves to any risk, they did anyway. While I hate getting help, the protein bars and kombucha were clutch today. I just hope their kindness isn't penalized.
  • I didn't have much of an appetite, but I had protein-rich foods, tea, and liquids.
  • I played a little online Scrabble just to keep my mind active and distracted.
  • I'm going to post this and take another shower to see if that helps with anything.
  • The fever/sweats seems to be subsiding, but I've still got all of the other ailments for now. We'll see how I sleep overnight.

In Closing:

My gut feel is that I'll be ok and stronger for it (hopefully temporarily immune after).

I'm clearly uneasy about the asthma element and need to get that under control. I'm trying not to exert myself at all, but the restricted airways and heaviness feeling in my chest is unavoidable as is. It creates an entirely unpredictable element to this for me which is life-threatening. I could sweat and shiver all day and not care, but respiratory issues are dangerous.

The rescue inhaler I have now only offers short-term relief and I can only take it every 6 hours. The steroid inhaler in the mail will be better ammunition to resolve it, and hopefully this can provide some much needed peace of mind that my lungs will be ok so I can crush the other elements of the this naturally.

Simple tasks also make me far more tired than they're supposed to, but I have to stay patient. It took me about an hour to convince myself to "get up" and get out of bed today. A simple eBay inventory task had me sweating and pretty damn tired. Seriously. For now, I'll just keep doing things to boost my immune system and rest. Writing about this was a pain in the ass, but it'll be good to reflect on later.

Here's to hoping tomorrow is better all around. Today was a wash. I also can't wait for my apartment buzzer to go off to let me know that my inhaler arrived. I'll have to sneak downstairs to get it with no other contacts here really. No choice.

Can't wait to play baseball... That's what I daydream about to stay motivated.

image.png

Thanks,
Matt

Sort:  

Oh no Mat! I feel for you, and am a bit scared for you too.. do keep in touch and let us know if you are feeling better too. Ginger, licorice, vit C, steam with thyme.

Before I left Australia I grabbed enough steroid inhalers so I didn't have to go to docs on trip. Even more glad I did now. I'm asthmatic so I'm terrified of this.

🤗😘🐨

I think a lot of that laughter is actually nervous laughter. I think it's common when people are affected by something inside, mentally, they'll often try to make it look different on the outside. Jokes and humor often play an important role in one's ability to cope with what's really bothering them. Of course you still get the follower types who are joking and laughing simply because others are. I don't think anyone is truly laughing directly at anyone who's ill. People are strange.

Take care of yourself, man. Drink that water stuff. I heard it's good for you.

Very fair perspective... expect nothinglessyouduse. I'm having that [hot] water stuff with ginger, raw honey, and real lemon right now. Eastern medicine for the win.

Sounds like your immune system has been going to war big time on this. I hope you continue to improve. It's definitely risky business with your asthma. Scary stuff.

You're probably right about picking it up at the supermarket. It's all very well keeping your distance from one another, but when everyone's touching what's on the shelves, it's going end up being shared around and short of fumigating everything, I don't see how you can be completely clear, especially with fresh foods.

Get well soon and take care of yourself! Don't hesitate to ask for help. I know you want to do it on your own but don't wait till it's too late.

Thank you. I'm finely focused on monitoring my lungs right now and won't hesitate to seek help if anything worsens. As it is now, it's uncomfortable, annoying, lots of hacking, but not an alarming feeling.

So am i right you have the symptoms but you are not tested yet?

I was sick too but one month BEFORE Major Wave Hit germany (i was sick in february and the Wave came in March) so i dont know if it was "normal" Influenza or covid19.

(Get well soon!)

Yea. I haven't had a flu in as long as I can ever remember, so I wouldn't expect it here.

I haven't been tested because it just started on Monday and I needed to rest. I wouldn't have had the energy to go anywhere anyway. I also don't see the advantage of struggling through overcrowded places to get a test now when the stress and elements can possibly hurt my recovery, or I could get it if I didn't have it for some reason (being around tons of people who could). If I'm locking myself in for at least 2 weeks and it passes, then I think there's not much of a point unless there's a test to show that you had it recently. My neighbor who is a nurse recommended this as ok and safer for now, so I'm hoping to go with that plan. There aren't any treatments for this, so a test result wouldn't change much.

Thank you!

Sounds like you're really had a rough time, but you're working your way through it. Hard to know where you caught it. If we had some way of seeing germs, it would be a whole different story. Get well! Wishing you a speedy recovery!

Oh Matt-- no words. Sending so much healing love to you!! Hydrate with warm fluids a LOT and , if someone can drop it over, ginger and honey for tea with fresh lime.

Envisioning the BEST outcome and sending you light. You got this!!

Thank you. Ironically, the first supply air drop included fresh ginger which I ate raw, a bag of lemons, and two boxes of some interesting Asian ginger honey crystals hot drink mix. I put half a lemon in it and added raw honey too. Per your recommendation, I'll have another now.

I need to prevail because nobody else recycles around here!!!

You need to prevail cos you are unique and special and are leading by example!! I'd be brewing potions for you in a hazmat suit if I could. x Much love & very socially distanced hugs. x

Hah. That'd be quite a sight to see. After the last 2 stable (yet uncomfortable) days, I think I'm on the mend. The new inhaler was the missing piece to get my asthma under control so I can monitor my chest without all of the static and restricted airways. I still feel heavy in my lungs, but I can deal with that as long as it remains constant/slowly reverses. No alarms are going off in my body now, and that's a relief. I was a bit nervous at times, especially when going to sleep.

Wow, that's horrible. I wish you a fast recovery!

Out of curiosity, how did you get your inhalers? I'm sure those are hard to come by.

My Mom has some close friends who are doctors who can call scripts in for her in my city that I grab with her insurance info. I've rarely done this, and usually for a z-pack.

In these cases, she had the scripts filled up by her and mailed me both inhalers because she didn't want me going to the pharmacy twice. It's really helpful to have doctor connections with people who know your medical history to skip the red tape. I also worked very closely with this one doc when my Mom had her accident in the tornado, so I'm sure she didn't hesitate in helping me out either.

Ironically, I've refused these inhalers for years and years because my asthma has been so uncommon (mostly childhood). The ones I had here were long expired. Given the curveball this week, I was lucky that I semi-proactively got the rescue inhaler last week/aka allowed my Mom to get one for me and send it, and then smoothly asked her to send a steroid version as a backup on Monday without raising too many alarms.

I really hope you get better very soon, scary that this happened despite all the precautions! It's so very true, we need to stop complaining about being in lockdown and be thankful we're well, although most of my friends fall into the latter group!
To help the congestion, try and steam regularly with whatever you have, essential oils like tea tree, eucalyptus or lavender are all helpful. Sipping warm drinks like lemon water, and try to avoid acid forming foods as those cause more mucus (lemon, apple cider vinegars sound acidic but they're alkaline in the body) And a tip I was given by my physiotherapist is to keep the chest and throat warm as cold causes tge airwaves to constrict.
Hope you don't mind all of that but could help;)

Wow. You sailed through quite smoothly. With your story, I feel defenseless against the vjrus. I'm in a place where we haven't started the lockdown and we go out as if nothing is going wrong. I may say people are hardly following the directives of the expects. It would spread far much more easier in this area. Only God can save us. I wish you a much more speedy recovery

I'm still sailing here, but as long as there isn't a sudden turn in condition after there's been improvement (which can happen for some), I think I'll be ok. I'm trying to keep it positive and realistic. Please do what you can to prepare and protect yourself. You're aware and will be safer than most where you are.

I am glad to hear you're on the mend. It sounds like you're super careful, geeze i wonder how you got into contact with it. I hope tail ending of this is the easiest part to manage. Welcome to Hive ❤☀️🐝

Thank you. I was careful, but all it takes is one mistake, or one subconscious touch of my face with gloves on. No way to know, but hopefully this is a one and done deal!! The dry coughing is going to likely last the longest, but it'll be clear to know when that is done.

Get well soon, my friend. 🐝

Thanks a lot. Speaking of bees, I've been having lots of raw honey. I bought a huge jar before and have been having some every day for the medicinal and soothing qualities.

love your tags "dontunderstandtheposhtag" especially.

Feel better soon! I had it too I think, sounds similar. I stayed in bed. Tiny amounts of raw local honey helped my cough, and an aspirin with honey before bed helped me not cough enough to sleep.

I don't always use tags, but when I do, I prefer to make fun of them.

Thank you. Going to have some more raw honey right now!

Thank you for sharing your frightening health experience with all of us and I agree that from your symptoms that it sounds like you have the Covid-19 virus.🤕🌡😷

Glad to see your sense of humor is still intact! Mom-radar is a real thing. The in utero umbilical power cord connection gives us moms psychic abilities with our child/ren that last a lifetime!🤰🔮💫

Please reach out to your friends or neighbors if your asthmatic/breathing symptoms worsen, and go to the hospital if necessary! Sending prayers & positive healing energies for a speedy at-home recovery! @steemmatt🙏🙌

Day 5 is going ok. I'm going to take a guess that my current rate of recovery will carry me into earl next week. Charts indicate that the cough is one of the longer lasting symptoms, and that's looking like it's going to be true for me as mine won't stop at all yet.

I sort of agree about the umbilical power cord concept. If I cover my stomach with a pillow, will that interrupt her reception?!

I've kept a small group of friends informed, and opened up about it to 3 of my neighbors. Aside from any unforeseen change in my chest, I should be able to ride this out on my own here.

a life of bored for me nowadays now

Thanks for sharing your experience. This virus is pretty scary, especially if getting medical attention or having the basic supplies you need is a no-no, which is our case. We are crossing our fingers in this part of the world not to get it, because whether you stay at home or allow the government to take you who knows where and who knows under what conditions, it is going to be nightmare all the same.
Hope you get better soo and can go back to baseball
Regards from venezuela

Damn, man, wouldn't wish this on anyone. I'm certain I had it in January. I was down for most of a month, needing to sleep sitting up most of it due to the breathing issues. Dry cough, wheezing, feeling weak and many other symptoms. I don't get sick often, and when I do I don't take ANYTHING. I don't even do aspirins. During that month, I took aspirin and the night time cold medicine. It helped me fall asleep sitting up as it appeared to eat away at the mucous stuck in the back of my throat enough to help me breathe sitting up.

At the end of week two someone close who was worried gave me their antibiotic prescription. We still weren't hearing much about Corona yet, and it wasn't on my radar at all. I let another week go by as I got worse ( I had called out of work about 3 times over these weeks and I don't call out) before taking the antibiotics. Not sure if they helped with anything, or I just finally got better after another week (week 4 now).

Good call on the building immunity. I've been doing lots of vitamin B complex, C especially and D. The inhaler should help as well, so hope you got it in today. They say it hits people differently, but if it's like with me (I'm older and not in as good of shape probably), pan on it being with you for awhile.

Holy cow. I hope you feel better real soon. I am sorry you are sick. I do think this whole thing sucks.

Not much I can say mate.

I hope you get well soon and recover speedily. It sounds like you have a powerful case of CV and it is insane how varied the intensity of symptoms can be from person to person.

I'm clearly uneasy about the asthma element and need to get that under control. I'm trying not to exert myself at all, but the restricted airways and heaviness feeling in my chest is unavoidable as is. It creates an entirely unpredictable element to this for me which is life-threatening

Absolutely! And that would be my main reason for saying to try not being too strong and silent, if the breathing issues get any worse m8, call the ER if it gets any worse.

Much love, and healing m8

Thanks man. The new inhaler has finally helped me feel like things are under control (Advair), but I'm still coughing regularly and my chest is heavy. It's hard to know what % is asthma-related and what might not be, but I feel like I've leveled out by day 5 here. I'm mainly cold, weak and achy, with little appetite, but more than tolerable. The feverish symptoms subsided by the start of day 3, so I think it'll be uptrend from now on as long as my chest cooperates.

Ironically, people have it (if it's what I have) far worse when asthma is involved, so while this has sucked and been uneasy, I'm able to breath on my own. I continue to watch and listen closely, and constantly rest to allow my body to keep fighting.

The new inhaler has finally helped me feel like things are under control (Advair), but I'm still coughing regularly and my chest is heavy.

This is promising! Over here people with asthma are told to really evaluate themselves as high risk and act accordingly... I was worried for you is all m8.

It sounds like you're right on top of that shit anyway so I won't start trying to give advice where it's not needed bro 😉

I continue to watch and listen closely, and constantly rest to allow my body to keep fighting.

Good stuff, you'll KO this CV bitch in no time. Positive attitude is a kicker to healing many people don't see. Mentality in approaching these challenges can really effect the outcome.

I'm using meditation a lot and slamming my body with heat at the moment, which seems to be having good effects... but my symptoms aren't anywhere near as bad as what you're describing, although I do recognize the exhaustion, fever and cough (but my cough fades as the day goes on). T

The whole thing is FUBAR... but it will pass, and a new breeze will blow spring into summer and all this pandemic madness will be a memory.

Thinking of you Matt. Keepin it real on the other side of the pond 💪👊

Woo what a tough situation you're in, but you're strong and you'll soon be victorious. Your experience makes me more aware of how serious this disease is, and I'm going to take even more care of myself and my family. I hope you get better soon. 🙏

Wow Matt, you truly are a trooper. Keep the fire burning and never say die, my prayers are with you, we shall overcome these trying times and tell the tales together brother on the chain!

Get well soon! Ain't no doubt about it, my friend.

Just be happy you don't have to go to the hospital. Glad you have good friends! Feel better!

I hope that he recovers soon, he is right when speaking of those of us who are very fortunate, since we only complain about being locked up; Most of us complain about things that don't make sense, not knowing how lucky we are to enjoy good health.

First off, I just want to say that sounds like quite the shitty illness you're dealing with. #1 thing to do is boost your Vitamin C, Zinc, and Vitamin D like crazy, as well as the obvious hydration, cutting out inflammatory foods, and eating plenty of turmeric (needs oil & black pepper for maximum efficacy.) Peppermint & eucalyptus are absolutely wonderful for the lungs as well, whether in tea or as essential oils.

If you actually think you have the virus, you sould get tested, because if you do you can quickly cure it with chloroquine & azythromycin. (here's one of dozens of doctors doing so)

This brings me to where your post goes off the rails, in my eyes...

For full disclosure, I haven't been tested

So you could have any one of dozens of infections that cause the same symptoms, or a combination of conditions leading to those symptoms. At least you pretty much led with this, but it makes the post seem pretty click-baity.

I have not worn a mask.

That doesn't matter. The masks have literally 0 effect on getting an infection (covid19 or other), they are to help people who have the virus to not spread it, by containing their mucus. Well-documented, and no mask claims to help/stop you from getting it.

Again, to those frustrated with the nuisance of being healthy and bored at home

This issue isn't people being bored at home (though I'm sure plenty are). The issue is THE single largest loss of individual liberty in all of human history. Literally billions of people being forced into house arrest under threat. Even if we just say we're OK with this insane level of totalitarianism (which I am not, that's for sure), the "response" to this virus (based on the already-debunked Imperial College model... literally the exact same model that said swine flu would kill millions in 2009) has already done enough economic damage to kill far more people than the virus possibly could. The cost in loves of this global shutdown will be orders of magnitude worse than the virus itself.

Loading...

@steemmatt,

"Perhaps the virus was on something I salvaged, but given the timing, I think I got it on a backup run for groceries when Trump caused a panic over something."

So, the long and short of it, all that which now ails you was ... Trump's fault.

Really?

Credibility is inversely proportionate to hyperbole. Mate, get some perspective.

Otherwise, a good post. I hope you get well soon.

Quill

Quill - I'm going to be very honest with you. Either your reading comprehension was off today, or you were looking for any stretch of a reason to project personal issues on the topic of Trump.

For the proper perspective, the short of it is that your assumption above is 100% wrong.

I know Trump is a sensitive trigger for many, but it doesn't need to apply here.

I didn't even consider that inconspicuous line as being read that way, and certainly don't or could ever blame him for contracting an illness. We're smarter than that.

I think your perspective was a bit finely focused on reading what you wanted to read, and you've allowed that to frame things according to a false interpretation.

Otherwise, thanks for the good wishes. I've still got a few days to go.

@steemmatt,

My comment is born of frustration.

The virus is a disease. Until a couple of months ago, no one knew anything about it. So, everyone's scrambling to figure out how to react. There ought be NOTHING political about it.

And yet the virus has become the latest battlefield in the Culture War. Trump this, Trump that. AOC recently tweeted that we need to view our response to the coronavirus "through the lens of 'reparations' (referring to 'slavery reparations'). Go Google the crap that Pelosi tried to sneak into that $2 trillion recovery bill.

Are you kidding me?

I am a political and cultural Centrist. I eschew both parties. And, I criticize people on the Right for politicizing dumb stuff as well.

Anyway, if politicalization was not your intent, you have my apologies. In any event, do get well.

Quill