Fermenting of chilli

We have had a couple large chilli plants on the balcony, and now that it has become cold they stand at the kitchen stairs where I hope they will be able to survive the lack of light that is the one sure thing up here North.

I have been busy so the fruits were sitting on the plants until yesterday where I finally found time for this little endeavour. Last year it went pretty well, while the first batch this summer got the wrong bacteria flora and rotted.

IMG_20221130_114148.jpg

So for this second attempt I put some more salt in the mix. Hopefully not too much. I should be able to see small bubbles in the coming days and then I'll let it ferment for a month. The chillis will then be soft enough for me to blend them and add some vinegar. I already have some lemon vinegar (made putting the outer lemon peel in white wine vinegar) that I will use as seasoning.

IMG_20221130_121004.jpg

My latest system to keep the chillis under water are two glass tops the one inside the glass from a smaller jar and tilted so the air will be able to get out.

Sort:  

That knife is slick. I like it.

It is actually my own design - My brother who has many talents made it and even wrote about it here on Hive long time ago. I will try to find the post.

I see the post. I could tell it's custom made. Looks like it would lock into position well when holding it, almost like a finger loop.

It does, and it also make it good for peeling things as you can use the "back end". At first it could seem a bit dangerous with a pointy end in both ends, but it is the go to knife for my two daughter I noticed and that is often a good sign.

When something is dangerous, one tends to put more care and attention into using it, which naturally leads to better results. Probably not the same for everyone but that's how my brain works. Of course that handle probably makes it tempting to want to twirl around the finger a few times and be fancy like that.

I remember when we had the first version for a try out and I had the feeling that it was slightly macho and on the edge. You really did think about learning some tricks that would make the butterfly knives seem dull. But as I wrote, not too macho for my daughters - so now it is actually a fine middle size all-around knife that is used a lot in our kitchen. My brother and I have talked about finding some time to make another batch of these when we can find some time in our schedule.

Chilli!!!

My Fijian friend calls them Rocket Fuel. Since you will feel like you a rocket the next day when you are in the toilet.

Haha, yes I know about that!

Mine just dried on the plant and I put them in a paper bag some days ago.
Dried chili is a thing so I just leave them like that and hope for the best.
They don't look moldy or rotten and they don't smell bad, so I assume doing nothing at all kind of worked :)

Yes, if they aren't mouldy they will be fine for cooking. I remember when I lived in italy many, many years ago, that we used to spice up the simple pasta dishes we could afford with some dried chillies called inferno ardente -burning hell

Those look like hot chillies! I have fermented them before or what looked like them, habaneros/Scotch bonnets when I was making fermented hot sauce. DAmn, in the end it was almost too hot but it was amazing! Good luck!

Scotch bonnets

Yeps - some sort of Scotch bonnets. Danish food is a lot like old Scottish food porridge and kippers and pork and things... and not too seasoned. Then foreign food showed up and of course chillies fitted in with the male inhabitants behaviour - getting drunk, crying, beating each other up, sleeping in a ditch and finding it all very manly and fun.

That's a fair summing up!!

They are fantastic colours those ones. My favourites. I make a hot paste every month out of them and add it to almost everything!

That's it? Just fermented peppers and vinegar? Pretty cool.

Yes, that is how you make Tabasco. I have the seasoned vinegar though - one with lemon peel and one with lemon, chilli and ginger, so it will have some extra flavours.

that is a very good way to preserve your chilis for a long time, hopefully this time it works out for you this time! . You should have taken very good care of your plants because they gave you a lot of fruit, congratulations.

Yes, Denmark is cold and the winter is dark, so it is not really a place for these southern plants, but as far as I have understood they are growing in the mountains so they are quite tough.