Birds! :: Daily and Fresh 📷 (108/366)

in #dailyandfresh4 years ago (edited)

Hi!

I went to the Mukkula Manor grounds today, and found myself quite a lot of birds to shoot.

Peippo
Common chaffinch (Fringilla coelebs) (f)

This female chaffinch was on a mission...

...to find beddings for her little ones...

It'll be a soft and fluffy bed for those little chicks I think.

I was walking under a tree, as I saw this great tit just sitting there, right above my head.

Talitiainen
Great tit (Parus major)

I slowly raised my camera, focused, and clicked the shutter. And on the next second, it was gone.

Käpytikka
Great spotted woodpecker (Dendrocopos major)

A great spotted woodpecker was rummaging the bins (that I left out of the photograph), so I decided to follow up on his movements a bit further.

But that's when I saw something weird and interesting!

I couldn't quite get a close shot because this fellow was very cautious and seemingly decided to steer away from the weird dude with a contraption making loud clicking sounds strapped around his neck.

Meriharakka
Eurasian oystercatcher (Haematopus ostralegus)

The odd thing about this bird is that you don't usually see it this far inland here. Maybe it got sidetracked a bit in the migration, and landed here to rest. Its nesting areas are commonly in the western sea shores of Finland.

Back to the woodpecker...

...um... hey that's not a woodpecker... ohh, the woodpecker and fieldfare are having a shared feast.

Räkättirastas
Fieldfare (Turdus pilaris)

I have no idea what the woodpecker is searching from the ground. They usually get their meals out of trees. It may be he is filling his stomach with little pebbles, or then there are some edible bugs on the ground. The fieldfare on the other hand seems to have heard a worm wiggle underground.

Oh, wait! There's definitely something down there!


"Did I hear food?"


"...or was it up there?"


"Is this pose good? I'm proudly going where no woodpecker has gone before."

On the ground?




"Ah, finally a tree!"

I also saw some barnacle geese...

Valkoposkihanhia
Barnacle geese (Branta leucopsis)

...but I've photographed so many barnacle geese, I decided I must head home to edit these photos. I'll shoot more geese some other day.

Yep. I think that's all for now.

See ya later! 😊




Like my post? 🍻 Buy me a beer! 🍻

Sort:  

Birds are always a pretty good subject for photography and they alwalys give a cute pose.

the female chaffieur is catering for the family

Chaffeur? She probably drives them around in a limousine.

Just kidding. I think you made a small typo there, the bird is called chaffinch. To be a chaffeur means you are employed to drive people around in a car.

Thanks for the comment, and for giving me some laughs. You really made my day.😊 I appreciate it, cheers!

That's a clear and neat picture of birds. I like your model of snapping the birds.

Not entirely sure what "model" means in this context, but I figure it might be "style". Thank you for the kind comment! I appreciate it! 😎

That woodpecker must be a little confused!? Perhaps he had a quarrel with his girl-friend!

Wow . . Looking so cute

I love the woodpecker and the oystercatcher. Great shots!

Thanks! I was kind of surprised to find a woodpecker happily hunting something in the grass, I always thought they'd find their prey under the tree bark. And the oystercatcher was a bit of a surprise too. They are plentiful on the west coast, but I've never seen one here where I live.

I was also surprised to read that you found an oystercatcher away from the coast!

Nice photography @gamer00. Which type of lens is required to make such sort of photography. Any recommendation

I wouldn't recommend the lens I have that's for sure. Sure you can get one for much cheaper ($100-$200) than the other long range lenses (often $1000-$3500), but no, nope, I wouldn't recommend the Canon EF 75-300mm III to anyone, lest they want to spend the rest of the day editing the photos they spent 30 minutes shooting.

Instead, for a tight budget, I would recommend something like the Tamron 100-400 f/4.5-6.3 Di VC, or Sigma 100-400mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM Contemporary. They are both priced around $700-$800 new, and about $600 used. Both of them have pretty good reviews.

I haven't tested them, but I'd be lying if I said I couldn't take better photos with them than my current photos.

Nice shots of the birds. And several different types too!

Are you working for Animal Planet? These pics look quite neat and pro. I don't remember when was the last time I was a woodpecker but I miss her sound and color beauty.

Thanks, lol, not Animal Planet, I just do it for myself. Although, it'd be awesome if I could actually make a living out of nature photos.

You did a typo there, "saw" must have flipped around into "was", and your sentence became very funny to read. 😉 😅

:)) Now I saw the typo... and yeah I really can't remember when i was a woodpecker last time :))
I should type slower and think faster.

Don't worry, it happens to me too... recently I was replying to a comment on one of my photos of a White wagtail and for almost two days, my own comment looked like this:

Shite wagtail... I guess I've had plenty of comments but you were the first one to notice me... A bit of laughter never hurt nobody after all.

I see what you mean, people rarely interact in the comments. It's a bit sad. I decided early on when I first started posting on the chain, that I would upvote people who actually do interact and chat in the comments. That way I can keep people both happily commenting, and also coming back to read my posts.