Pan-Seared Lemon Garlic and Asparagus (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I’m pressing the pause button on my excitement for the coming Autumn to embrace the late Summer weather for a sec.

The weather was so gorgeous yesterday and it feels like it’s been forever since I could say that because it's been very hot and dry. I am so excited to be able to get out and enjoy some mild sunshine for a change.

Pan-Seared Lemon Garlic and Asparagus (2).jpg

I’ve discovered what I think will become one of my favorite new weekend activities this season, prop hunting. Most people don’t really look at a food picture other than to note that the item being showcased looks good or not. They don’t pay attention to the props in the background that tell the story of the food and set the mood. As a person who has taken a lot of food pictures though, that is one of the first things I look at now. There is so much more that goes into food photography than you would think and it is most definitely not as easy as it looks. Random props can make all the difference in the world and I love finding those perfect items that can actually inspire an entire recipe.Not to mention I have very little to work with right now after moving.

Pan-Seared Lemon Garlic and Asparagus (4).jpg

Anyway, I did a little prop hunting the other day and I know it’s strange to be excited about dishes and old vintage bottles but I am. I think I'm going to hit some antique shops next time and see what trashy treasures we can dig up.

Pan-Seared Lemon Garlic and Asparagus (5).jpg

I kept it simple and made some asparagus for you guys today. Yes, that veggie that makes your pee smell weird and simply screams Spring and Summer time. I know it makes a lot of people want to gag but I happen to love it. If you get th fresh young spears of early Spring it can be so tender and delish. I cooked this batch just on the stove top with some lemon and garlic.

Pan-Seared Lemon Garlic and Asparagus (6).jpg

Which, by the way, do you guys ever cook and eat whole cloves of garlic? Oh my goodness, it is so good that way. I know you are probably thinking “gross, a whole mouthful of strong garlic!”, but it doesn’t taste anything like raw garlic when you cook it with other things. It gets so sweet and the flavor gets mild to the point of perfection. In fact, I have a hard time not wanting to just eat all the garlic and leave the rest.

Pan-Seared Lemon Garlic and Asparagus (8).jpg

This is a great side dish for all of your favorite Spring time meals. I know that asparagus is not in season for a lot of you and I’m sorry about that, but if you can’t get it right now you should at least still bookmark this recipe for when it is available and you’re wondering how to eat it. Cooking it with the citrus like gives it a freshness that goes perfect with warmer weather. It’s also light and healthy for those of you with the coming beach season on your mind.

Pan-Seared Lemon Garlic and Asparagus (9).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. (Girlscout Cookies Copycat) Chocolate Samoas Cookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Chocolate Chip Fluffernutter Stuffed French Toast (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. 🍪Inside-Out Stuffed Twix Cookies🍪 (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Spinach & Artichoke [Costco Inspired] Chicken Bakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Hot Cocoa Inspired Triple Layer Chocolate Cake!!! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. B-Dogs! (Maple Pancake Coated Breakfast Sausage on a Stick) (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Spicy Buffalo Blue Cheese Stuffed Soft Pretzels (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Soft & Dreamy Coconut Meltaway Cookies (Dairy Free)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Vietnamese Pork Banh Mi + Tahini Sriracha Mayo (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

Pan-Seared Lemon Garlic and Asparagus.jpg

Sort:  

good post and pictures too!

This post received a 2.8% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @renat242! For more information, click here!

Thanks @renat242! I'm so glad you like it!

Wow..healthy food..recipe please..@gringalicious

Of course @bien! I hope you enjoy!!!

Ingredients
2 pounds (a large bunch) asparagus, trimmed
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 heads garlic, peeled with ends trimmed
1 small lemon, quartered
salt & pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Wash asparagus in cold water and pat dry very well. Heat olive oil in a large skillet with a lid over medium high heat. Add asparagus and cook for about 2 minutes per side until it starts to brown slightly. Add garlic cloves and continue cooking for about 5 minutes, turning occasionally, until garlic and asparagus are nicely browned. Add lemon and pour in about 1 inch of water then cover with lid.
  2. Cook for 8 to 12 minutes until most of the liquid has evaporated and asparagus is tender.
  3. Season to taste with salt and pepper and serve hot.

Thanks to your kindness @gringalicious

Its simple to look,but its not easy.. :)

Simple and deliciousness! Cheers!

That looks amazingly delicious once again! Can I have the recipe for this one? :D

Thanks for asking and taking the time to comment @rkrijgsman! I just shared the recipe above.

This post received a 2.4% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @rkrijgsman! For more information, click here!

@gringalicious healthy food keep updating food realted post nd share same new food recipe.....

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rahulrajput from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This comment has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

Good luck in the prop hunting this weekend!

Thanks @noboxes! Hope you have a great week!

I bet the citrus really sets this dish off. Gorgeous pics as always!

You're right, it does @fullofhope! Thanks for reading!

yummy

Glad you like it.

I love asparagus and this looks like a perfect way to enjoy it. Thanks for the recipe , I see it below here. I shall be making this as soon as the local store has some in to buy! Living in the jungle as I do some ingredients can be hard to find.
Following you for more
I am a nature photographer in Costa Rica - check out my work if you have a moment.

mm yummi )

I'm thrilled that you like this @foxycat!

This post received a 2.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @noboxes! For more information, click here!

can't wait to eat.Following you

Wow! It looks amazing my friend!!! Can you give me the recipe please??

Absolutely @creativewoman! Thanks for reading and you'll find the recipe above.

I love your photography and props. It sets an ambience and we definitely eat with our eyes first. The asparagus looks big and good! Love roasted garlic. When I roast a chicken I end up putting in a whole bulb of garlic. It is nice and sweet. Have a good day. Tess :)

Thanks @tesscooks4u! Yes, garlic is incredible for flavor. Have a great day!

I love eating cooked garlic cloves. They are simply delicious!! Boiled, roasted, pan-fried...give them here please!!

Haha, I will share if I don't accidentally eat them all first @foodie.warrior. Thanks girl!

hehe Garlic Girls we are :)

@fullofhope got you a $1.52 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@fullofhope got you a $1.52 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Lovely shots with asparagus and lemon. The mix of green and yellow makes it intoxicating. And the contrast with the white plate and the brown table makes it even more appealing.

Wow, thanks for the huge compliment @danielsaori! I'm so happy you like it.

So simple, yet so delicious! Looking forward to seeing some of your prop 'finds'!!

Great @jaymorebeet, cuz I'm looking forward to sharing them!

This post has received a 52.17 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @noboxes. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Very delicious looking asparagus. I love the idea of the cloves of garlic also. I was in the vegetable store back in the spring and a man picked up a bundle of fresh, tender asparagus and remarked that he liked to eat it from the bundle as a snack and just as it was.

Haha, that definitely could sound strange to eat them like that but surprisingly I like them that way too sometimes. Thanks for your support always @team101!

Great post! Looking so yummy mmmmm)

Thank you so so much @olgy-art!

Hahah! 'prop hunting', . . . love it. I completely understand. It really is the little touches that add a certain - professionalism - to food photography. you are doing a great job. Out of curiosity, what's in the white square dish in the upper right corner of your last picture? Mustard? or just olive oil? It's so yellow. I adore asparagus and have been munching on a bag I got recently, so your recipe is perfect timing. Thank you.

Thanks @jannell and that is just olive oil but you're right it is very yellow in that lighting.

Ah! Ok, thanks for satisfying my curiosity ;)

I never think to cook asparagus! This looks amazing!

Oh, you definitely should try it @lifes-a-donut! Thank you so much for reading!

I love to eat whole roasted garlic cloves too! I will roast them to eat individually or I roast the whole head of garlic and then squeeze out the sweet garlic paste and put it on grilled bread... Thanks for ideas about props for food photos. That is something that I need to work on.

Thanks @chefsteve! I'm a huge fan of roasted garlic toast too!

great post... awesome photography.. it looks so delicious..
followed n upvoted...:-)

Thank you so much @muhammadsharukh! I really appreciate it.

The citrus is become bitter when grilled.

It definitely can get bitter, however the lemon is simply a flavor accent and not really for eating. Thanks @cloudspyder!

Welcome @gringalicious! To be honest to you, I tried this one but the time I sip on lemon. hmmmm!

If it tastes the way it looks...I have no words. Love it

I'm so glad to hear that @stefanarnaut! Thanks!

I'm gonna sue you for making healthy meals... It's lovely.

Hahah, yes I did do something a lot healthier today @jemimah. Thanks or reading.

This post has received a 17.34 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gringalicious.

New to steemit, Looks Amazing!

Thanks! Good luck and great to see you on here.

Wow..heal thy food recipes That looks amazingly delicious . I love asparagus and this looks like a perfect way to enjoy it

Thanks so much @nomi2233. I am really happy that you took the time to come by and comment, thanks so much

Good tasting food is great, but when it's healthy too...well that's fantastic!! Thanks for this!

Thanks for stopping by @itsallasong. I appreciate your continued support!

I love asparagus. Unfortunately, the season ended already in Germany. We enjoyed it this year. Very easy to get one during season time. We are really flooded with it. I like to have it out of the pan. This keeps it juicy and full of flavors.

My Mom says the best asparagus she ever had there was in a cafe in Dresden, across from the museum that used to be a castle. So, I guess that means you Germans know how to do it right?

Thank you for the compliment. It might be true. ;-)

Very healthy!

I can change it up from time to time. I try to serve my audience and some of them out there ask for more 'healthy' options, so who am I to say no?

Looks good, delicious...!!!

I am so glad you liked it @green21, thanks so much for taking the time to comment

So healthy. I should eat more stuff like this.

You and me both. Thanks @sgtechservices!!

thanks for healthy food recipe

Thanks so much for coming by and commenting @padmkhi

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gringalicious from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

who would have thought garlic and lemon would work together? thanks

Oh, garlic and lemon are my heros, and when they are together, oh my goodness. Thanks so much for commenting @livinguktaiwan

If I am honest then I have never tasted them, but what taste they have? :)

There is nothing like asparagus, in my opinion. I don't really know really what to compare it to, but maybe a far stretch would be broccoli?

OK... I think I must go and buy :) then I know :) but Thank you that you make time and say something :)

This looks incredible.

Do you have a post about how to improve your food photography? I really need a bootcamp by you haha ;)

Now that's what I call a great compliment, thanks so much @vegetarianbaker. I have actually considered doing some tutorials, but I just haven't made it there yet, but it's still in my head to do

I never liked simple food, your posts are truly a magic for the eyes.

I wonder if putting the asparagus in a lemon based marinade would add to the flavor even more