What are You Putting on Your Face?!

in #health7 years ago (edited)

FullSizeRender1b196.th.jpg

Have you ever taken the time to read the labels of the products that are in your daily beauty routine? Go ahead, grab one now and take a peek... I'll wait.

Do you recognize, or can you even pronounce every ingredient? Are there any ingredients that have a "-paraben" or "-phthalate" ending? How about: talc, imidazolidinyl urea, benzophenone, quaternium-15, or this long interesting one, hydroxymethylglycinate?
If so, I regret to have to inform you that you've been letting your skin soak up things like Formaldehyde, Asbestos, and other known carcinogens.

Here's a hint: AVOID REVLON & L'OREAL.

This isn't going to be one of my normal, happy-go-lucky blog posts. Today I'm getting a bit serious, and it's for your own good.

You're probably wondering why these crappy ingredients can be allowed in products made and sold in the U.S.
Isn't that what the FDA is for? Actually, the FDA has very little authority over what companies and manufacturers can put in their products. In fact, the FDA allows the companies to police themselves when it comes to deciding what types of ingredients to use. And when it comes to recalling products, that too is a voluntary decision for the manufacturer to make.

Here is a great website that fully breaks down the ingredients commonly found in products we all use daily

For a list of the most harmful things to look out for in your products check this one out

If you're ok with using products that have these types of ingredients, then by all means go for it. However, if you're wondering how you can help change this oddly passive system...

You can always vote with your wallet!

Seriously, consumers make the decisions that manufacturers MUST listen to. Their product isn't good for them if no one is buying it.

Bottom line: They want your money.

So why not force them to manufacture something that isn't harmful to you? It has to start with us as consumers educating ourselves and deciding that we want better options.

I have to say that I can absolutely relate to wanting to buy the newest, most promising shampoo or skin care products. I know what it's like to read the front of the bottle and see the words in glittery, colorful lettering saying things like "nourishing, amazing, smoothing, healthy, shiny, brightening, clarifying..." and hoping that this time I'm spending my money on my saving grace product that will fix all of my beauty woes. Yet, time and time again, after a month or so I find that it was just another dud.

I would usually gravitate to the products that advertised things like argan oil, jojoba oil, or anything that sounded the least bit natural. Despite the fact that the rest of the ingredients were well past my reading level, I figured "Well, at least it's got that really natural oil in it, that's why it's so expensive, it must really work..."

Then one day, it dawned on me.

I should look into these oils, figure out how exactly they can benefit me. And furthermore, why not buy these oils pure? The real deal, without any other chemicals that were so harsh that it turned my face incredibly sensitive and made my hair the most dry it's ever been.
So that's what I did for a couple months, doing my own research and being my own tester.
I learned that coconut oil, although it's an incredible oil for many reasons, tends to clog my pores.
I learned that avocado oil is the oil that I will forever swear by.
I learned that castor oil, although sounding medieval, is actually amazing too.
Currently, I'm delving into the world of essential oils, apparently they've got more uses than just smelling nice!

Since I've had that nice little epiphany, I am so happy to say that my hair is strong, shiny, growing fast and I can finally embrace my natural waves without having to subject them to intense heat styling, which caused so much damage!

But what's an even bigger deal to me is that my skin (which I've been trying to tame for the past 10 years of my life) is truly looking healthy. My skin tone is even for the first time since I started high school, and I rarely get breakouts anymore. But that's just my face. I've been applying avocado oil on my whole body every day and due to it's anti-inflammation and cell regeneration abilities, my entire body has great looking skin, I'm talking smooth, even and beautiful!

I no longer buy pre-made skincare products. I thoroughly enjoy mixing and matching my own personal combination of oils that I think will help my skin and hair needs.

You're probably wondering how to buy these oils and how do you know if they are of good quality? Here is a list of Key Words to look for when it comes to buying your own oils:

Cold-Pressed

Therapeutic Grade

Organic

Here is a more in depth look into high quality oils along with a list of reputable companies that sell them

I hope this post has inspired you to take a deeper look into what you are spending your money on and how to spend it on better quality, more healthy and all-natural options.

For an in-depth look at essential oils and all of the different ways they can replace artificial, made-in-a-lab products... check out my website! I spent a lot of time researching these different products and I'd love to spread what I've learned to others.

Image sources:
1
2
3

Sort:  

This Man... uses water. I did find out about the oil of oregano magic awhile back. A drop or two under the tongue works great to tame symptoms of the common cold.

@nonameslefttouse Nothing wrong with water! That's all I use to wash my face also. Hot water first with a washcloth for some exfoliation action and to open the pores, get that dirt out, then rinse with really cold water to tone it and close the pores off so they are a lot less likely to get clogged! Cheers :)

Once spring rolls around, I'll be back in the field. Some days, I'd be lucky to get that stuff off my face with a bbq brush. Thanks for the tip though! You know what they say... a shiny farmer is a happy farmer! (nobody says that. I'm just bored.) Have a good day!

Nicely said @heiditravels! I also like this kind of face wash. Cheers!

Beautiful website Heidi! Will be trying out some of those healthy snacks! :)

Awesome! It makes me really happy to know that other steemians are checking it out. Let me know what you think of the recipes! Thanks

Love the article. Right up my alley. I think everyone really needs to stop supporting all these mega corporations looking to fill their pockets at any cost (our health primarily). I will say what i always say: "Mother Nature has provided us with everything and if these assholes would stop abusing and destroying our planet with all their chemicals and toxins then we could all live healthier lives." We have literally managed to destroy our planet in just over a century ever since the oil/chemical industry took over. People we need to wake up.

Isn't it amazing to think that people trust harsh chemicals more than natural options? The very fact that we call them healthy "alternatives" proves so much just how effective the marketing schemes are of these companies.

The healthy options should be the priority! Not the alternative!

Gives me chills to see why these companies spend billions on marketing techniques and research. They've controlled how the public views everything from beauty supplies, food and medical care, directing unsuspecting people to spend more on harmful products.

Couldn't agree with you more. Hopefully people will come around.... let's keep our fingers crossed.

Ok, makeup tutorial done

Fabulous, just Fabulous

I really love this post. I've been meaning to look into healthier alternatives, but never really took the time.
I think I will soon and this article is a great place to start, so thank you!

Happy to hear it! Any questions let me know, I'm on steemit.chat as well.

Thank you, Heidi!

@heiditravels I'm using weleda products and urtekram and they read plants and essential oils. I've never used those branded poisons on my skin.

The only time I started using moisturizer to my face was when I was already 35 and yet I look like I'm in my late 20s - it's also the food and the life style.

I saw your vids - you were also wearing make up, I've never worn any - I don't feel the need to. Since you wrote this makes me wonder do they read plants too? This is an honest question - I'm asking that cause there are make ups and lip sticks that read plants and are organic, too. So I asked.

Thank you for the input. That's so great that you've known from the start to use natural products! I'm sure you'll be recognized for it far into the future :) Yes I do wear make up in my videos, I'm not a fan of wearing make up everyday, I try and wash it off once I'm done recording so my face can breathe again. I've actually found a couple great brands of natural makeup that are really good for your skin without any nasty ingredients. Have you tried or heard of Alima, or Red Apple Lipstick?
Since you don't feel the need to wear any makeup I doubt that would be helpful to you, but I was suspecting you were testing if I'm authentic, and that I "practice what I preach".

@heiditravels

but I was suspecting you were testing if I'm authentic, and that I "practice what I preach".

lol, it's a very honest question. If I was I would just also ask you that blatantly
we barely cross paths so I don't blame you for thinking that
I also saw you in the Fest and in a few of the pics - If I got it right it was knozaki who posted your pic in front of the hotel and if I remember it right you had no make up there either.

What's the point of thinking whether you are authentic or that you practice what you preach. It's also possible that you are making a turn right? As for asking straightforward questions I can also just do that.

Since you took the courage to name those brands I asked - cause I was just wondering - plain as that - don't assume. You're making an ass of you and me. Okay the last sentence is a joke - chill.

I'm a fan of natural products but you never see my post so I don't blame you thinking that. It's an honest question - nothing more.

I was just talking about this with my girlfriend. It's like people don't consider their skin is porous. My general rule is to not put anything on my skin I wouldn't put in my stomach. Great read, thanks for sharing.

Disjointed thoughts:

I am suspicious of women who seem to feel a need to wear lots of makeup. It's like putting on a mask at a certain point. Why?

Never trust a government agency to tell you what is safe. Take their advice with a grain of salt, and use more when they offer any guarantee about anything.

There need to be more independent organizations studying the safety of commercial goods. Scary chemical names are not inherently proof of toxicity, but there needs to be more transparency between product manufacturers and those who do not understand advanced chemistry and biology. We can't take a company's (or government's) word that a thing is safe.

Well, regarding your first comment, I can speak from experience that I get more attention when I go out in public with makeup on. I actually think it's funny when I go out without a lick of makeup and no one pays me any attention, yet if I've got a layer of mascara on or a hint of lipstick men tend to stare.. which is why I prefer to go bare faced most of the time.
Of course there are many women who refuse to leave the house without applying yet, and I'm not exactly going out on a limb when I say that it has to be due to a lack of self-confidence. We all have a crutch, something that makes us feel better, most of the time it's material things, like our clothes, cars, makeup, muscles, or whatever, and we value these things or we are jealous of these things because we believe they enhance our status. In reality it's all bullsh#t and it hinders us from developing our true personalities and growing our own self-acceptance.

In regards to Never trust a government agency I totally agree with you if you end the sentence right there...

Yes, not every chemical is cancerous, but my point is why are they even an option when nature can provide everything that we need and is guaranteed to not cause cancer?