A story from my youth: The ugly tree

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago (edited)

me for a moment (4).png

Why are you so ugly G-dog?

A question I get asked a lot; it's unsurprising really because, well, if you saw me you'd get it I think. Count your lucky stars you don't have to look at me though because who likes looking at ugly things? No one.

It's a good question though and I think it's time to finally explode the myth and legend that has confounded historians for years with the truth.

So here's the truth.


Spring 1979

"Look how high I am," the neighbour-kid said with glee and I looked up to see the pasty-white skinny kid we called Fatso in a branch about a quarter the way up the tree.

I wasn't impressed. "Pretty high Fatso," I said flatly and with a heavy dose of nine year old sarcasm which the little runt deserved.

"As if you could do better!" His pallid white face glared down at me just as a slug might glare at someone who'd just turned over the rock it was hiding under.

"Can too!" I wasn't one to shy away from a challenge; a personality trait that started young, caused a great deal of pain and embarrassment, and endures to this day. [Although I have more sense now.]

We'd been playing outside all day: Myself, slug-boy [Fatso] and a few of the other neighbour-kids. We always seemed to end up somewhere on the property at my house as the grounds were extensive and there was always something to do.

It was just after lunch, sandwiches which my mum had provided, and we'd been climbing trees engaged in war games; throwing rocks and anything else we could find at each other as boys do. That's when the challenge was issued and I was up for it. I'd climbed this tree many times and whilst I'd never made it to the top I knew today was the day. I was going to show Fatso how it was done once and for all.

The climb

I started climbing like the little brownish monkey I resembled; not yet ugly, just sort of really cute.

My monkey arms and legs did the work as I had no monkey tail however if I had one the climb would have been much easier. Nonetheless I moved upwards soon passing the spot where the milky-white Fatso had called down to me from.

Loser, I thought as I continued past what he had thought were dizzying heights. I looked down at the others with a grin reveling in their looks of despair and lamentation of their own inadequacy, and awe at my monkey-like tree-climbing prowess. Loooooosers, my monkey-looking, but cute, face beamed down at them.

As I climbed my mind had visions of standing atop this tree, arms out-stretched to either side, palms open facing upwards as I bellowed behold the glory and bask in the light of my magnificence, in my little nine-year-old's chimpy-voice.

Those fools below will abase themselves, their unworthy heads pressed to the ground as they hailed their monkey-king; the lord of the top of the tree!

I came back to myself through sheer force of will, the vision of my triumph fading as my focus turned back to the climb.

I was almost three quarters up and...This is a long way up, I thought to myself. I glanced down which ultimately proved to be a questionable decision. It was a long way down.

I held position through the mighty, and well known vice-like grip called monkey grip, and contemplated the climb above and the distance to the ground below. Part of me still wanted the glory and hero-worship that would come from reaching the top of this tree but another part of me just felt...Dizzy.

That's when it happened.

The fall

All of a sudden the ground was rushing upward to meet me...Oh no, that wasn't the ground rising, that was me falling. Somewhere along the way my monkey grip had suffered a catastrophic failure and...Gravity took care of the rest. My little monkey-body tumbled downwards which didn't seem too bad at first and then the first branch hit my face and things went pear-shaped from there.

It went much like this...

Fall.

Hit branch with face.

Fall.

Hit branch with shoulder...Then face

Fall.

Hit branch with face.

Fall.

Drag face on rough tree trunk bark.

Fall.

Hit branch with face.

Fall.

Fall.

Clip branch with side of face.

Fall.

Hit ground...With face.

I groaned and not in a good way. It was one of those, I just fell out of a fucken tree and hit my face on every branch on the way down, sort of groans. If you've ever done it you'll know what I mean; if you haven't done it, don't. Trust me.

I lay on the ground in pain with the neighbour-kids helping laughing at me. I heard it reaching me even through the fog of pain and then I heard some words. I was trying to catch my breath which had made a mad dash for freedom from within my lungs as I hit the ground, gasping for air, rolling on the ground, blood gooshing from my face as if it had somewhere more important to be and no time to get there...I heard the fateful words:

"I told you you couldn't do it!" Fatso, gloating over my abject failure.

That little skinny, anaemic, whey-faced, bloodless, slug-looking little weasel! When I recovered I'd show him for sure...I'd climb that damned tree - I'd not let it beat me.

I never did though. Its lofty heights eluded me but not for lack of trying. The problem was that I grew faster than the tree and as I gained weight its branches simply wouldn't support my weight. It remains a unicorn to this day, rare and unattainable, but it left it's mark on me forever.


So, why am I so ugly? Isn't it obvious? That tree was an ugly tree, of the species called metauglius asfuckostroboides and, much to my great misfortune I hit every damn branch with my face on the way down.

The moral

  • Miss the branches with your face when falling out of a tree.
  • Own your ugliness, because it's something you can call your own.
  • Ugly on the outside doesn't mean ugly on the inside.
  • Don't be goaded into rash action by skinny kids with a pasty complexion.
  • Put aside ego and hubris long enough to consider the implications of your actions.
  • When you catch your breath beat up the kid who dared you to do dumb things.
  • Understand that no matter how high you climb even the mighty can fall.

I'll be honest and say that I'm not sure there's a moral here at all. All I can say is as a fifty one year old I look back on these most idiotic of times and smile grateful I had a childhood that allowed me to explore myself and my limits plus allow me to gain valuable lessons; although many came painfully.

My never-quit ethos is something that endured. My ability to find courage within, to stand for what is right, to push forward when it's easier to capitulate and to accept failure for what it is, a step closer to success is what I learned as a kid and developed as an adult.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

Image is my own.

Sort:  

Jeez!🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Such history. I couldn't help but read it out loud to the hearing of my sister. This is super funny but it teaches a great lesson in a way though. Your friends ended up laughing at you even when they saw you were in pain lol. kids are very funny set of people. Thank God you didn't go proving how monkey skillful you were at climbing to the top anymore if not who knows what would have happened again. I just love this post.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Lol, yeah I'm always happy for people to have a laugh at my expense and childish stupidity. Even now as an adult I don't really mind; I'm comfortable in the man I am so it's no bother.

I did some very stupid things as a kid and fortunately lived to tell the tales, this is just the latest. I'm glad you got a laugh.

I'm a pretty fit man these days but my tree climbing days are over I think. I'd not be able to survive the fall! 🤣

Thanks for reading and also commenting. Much appreciated.

I'm a pretty fit man these days but my tree climbing days are over I think.

Lol...You know, it's funny that you use this gif because I have a friend who thinks I'm exactly like that character in Parks and Recreation (Ron Swanson). She doesn't quite go as far as calling me Ron Swanson, much. Lol.

Lol, I can imagine

Lol...Exactly!

 3 years ago  

He's my hero. So you can't be all that bad.

Haha, well that's not a bad thing. I'll take it.

I did some very stupid things as a kid and fortunately lived to tell the tales,

I'm glad I got to know about one lol.

I'm a pretty fit man these days but my tree climbing days are over I think.

Oh! Please they are sure over 🤣🤣. We still need you here on hive please lol.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Haha, yeah if I was to do something too crazy my old dinosaur-body might not go so well...But it would make a good story maybe? Although, maybe someone else would have to write it! 😁

I can write it!!😁😁😁 If you let me.

I reckon you'd do a good job. Ok, here's the deal, if you ever hear I died doing something stupid you have my permission to write the story on hive. Exclusive rights! 😃

Lol! Nooo! I really don't wanna write anything that had to do with death lol. I wanna write an experience that you still live to read😁😁

 3 years ago  

Everyone has a Fatso in their childhood, but an ugly kid? Only if the tree rubbed off on you. Beauty is something you find in your heart, not in your face.

Her name wasn't Fatso, but, Emily. We didn't call names because we might go to hell. Catholic, you know. Sister Brendan Marie scared the bejesus out of me when I was in first grade.

I have visions of you coming down that tree! This, except many more branches!


The tree didn't do much rubbing on me, it was more a battering to the face hence the way I look these days; damn that ugly tree. Although I'll grant your point, beauty comes from the inside and externally it is in the eye of the beholder. Me? Well, I am what I am and the right people will see, the others don't matter.

That guy falling out of the tree did a pretty good job of it. I have to say mine was quite similar although yes, far more branches. Still, everything happens for a reason and if I didn't fall out of that tree due to my failed monkey-grip I'd never have written this story. :)

Re: Going to hell. You don't seem the type. Me? Hmm, I'll probably end up down there. (Running the place.)

 3 years ago (edited) 

The nuns kept their charges toeing the line with repeated threats of having enough infractions that would warrant the eternity of hell. It wasn't until I grew up a little that I realized it wasn't up to her. :))

Running the place. I didn't see that coming. LOL

Lol...Maybe not the big boss. 2IC though. Lol.

This story made me shudder and kinda chuckle at the same time. Someone once said "scars show that you went to war and survived and besides - chicks dig 'em" so there's the silver lining.

I practically lived in the garden big tree as a kid, gosh I even slept in it a few times during the day, strangely without falling out, perhaps my monkey grip was just too petrified to fail? Funny that I now suffer from a fear of heights, back then it just wasn't really a thing.

Always enjoy your stories Galen. Have a good one. Cheers

Your monkey grip is strong it seems and I'd expect no less from the likes of you. I'm glad you didn't fall out of any ugly trees hitting your face on every branch on the way down as I did...Someone has to be beautiful! Lol.

Thanks for reading and commenting, I'm glad you were entertained.

 3 years ago  

Excellent story!! I love the way you laid this out for us, I can see the whole thing, even the stupid gloating kids being kids.

I was a master tree climber myself, although I never fell, so I can imagine this very clearly. Couple all that tree climbing with the time I fell off a horse, having been riding behind someone who ducked for a branch that I did NOT duck for, and I know just how you felt lying there on the ground. Problem for me is that the others did not know I had fallen, and I was too wonky to call out for help. idk how long I lay there on the ground bleeding before they came back for me.

These memory posts are triggering long forgotten memories of my own!

Anyway, again, I loved this story.

The old didn't duck for the low hanging branch whilst horse riding episode. Not pleasant. I've never fallen from a horse, or been branched, so I cant say I know how it feels but I imagine, pretty bad, covers it. Lol.

Thanks for reading my story and divulging to the world that you're a queen of the tree as far as climbing goes. All hail the Queen. 😊

 3 years ago  

Oh I could climb any tree, fearlessly. I was the best! A bow for a #bow.

Lol...No tree was safe from Owascoing.

 3 years ago  

I love your tags especially #neverquit and you didn't, you actually beat Fatso!
Why are kids so cruel? We all remember at least one of those kind from schooldays not so! There are many morals to be learned from your story; may sound corny but beauty does comes from within; outward beauty fades but a pure soul just grows more and more beautiful as it touches other people's hearts! My hubby used to tell my boys that when the kids bully them, they just need to give them one hard punch on the nose and they;ll never do that again; unfortuantely they just could not do that and bullying affected one of them.
All bullies are insecure and have a poor self-image.
Sorry for my rant but that's what came through to me in your blog!
Thankfully you found courage within early on in life, not easy!
Thank you for sharing the story of the ugly tree with us @galenkp!

Hi Liz, thanks for commenting.

From the age of five (when I went to school) I was racially vilified and treated quite cruelly. It built character though and taught me many lessons even despite hurting me inside and pulling me apart from people, making me feel little trust in them. I learned pretty early that there wasn't much good to be found in most people I guess. Of course, that would change later, with particular people.

My default setting is that people need to earn my respect and trust, they don't get it as a matter of course. I'm not impolite, aggressive, rude and so on at first, just neutral. From there a person has the ability to rise or fall in my estimation based on their own actions. It's worked mostly.

I learned the hard way and had a terrible time of it. I learned courage, persistence, my ability to hate, the depth of sorrow, value of friendship and of my own inner strength. I learned that some people needed to be protected, that doing so for those who cannot do it for themselves is righteous. I learned about my ability to do violence, and when not to and when to walk in the opposite direction as sometimes going to wst is pointless. Generosity, kindness, humility...Many other things I guess too.

So...Whilst the events were bad the lessons were good. Kids are cruel and bullies too...But they will always exist and one will never be able to control them, only ones own actions, emotions, thoughts and attitudes. I'm me because of what happened to me in the past, and whilst I have faults, I'm a good man.

That tree got the better of me though. 😊

Beauty is made up of many things, the least of which is how one looks.

 3 years ago  

Wow that's a whole bunch of wisdom there! You need to publish a self-help book on how to deal with difficulties in life, even if it's an e-book. Some people need to learn that, but you were blessed to have this strength of character and inner wisdom on how to survive.
Another very very true old cliche is 'never judge a book by its cover' is soooo true.
I tend to look at the world with rose tinted glasses and try to find that inner goodness which I naively still believe is inside everyone, despite being in my silver years; and I have been fortunate to find that in many, but have bumped my head a couple of times, inevitable, not so!
PS your tree story reminded me of my late brother who used to climb up the tree whenever he was in trouble and in for a spanking from Mom; he'd sit there till she'd calmed down and 'forgiven' him for being naughty, sometimes for hours😅 Taught him that patience is worthwhile! He had the funniest sense of humour, was a gentle giant like my dad; Mom who is tiny had to do all the reprimanding and sometimes resort to a spanking with her wooden spoon which eventually broke; I had 4 brothers who were real rascals but only Werner had the patience to sit up in that tree! The others were too busy playing games to waste time on that😆
Have a wonderful day @galenkp, your story in a strange way may have been suitable for this week's #bow😉

Werner was on to something there; it got him out of some spankings and built an appreciation for patience. Smart fellow. I've had a few wooden spoons broken on my buns of steel. They have learned the hard way. 😁

You sound like my dad; he refused to think bad of people and it infuriated me. He went through some terrible times during the Japanese occupation of Malaya (Malaysia now) in the Second World War and I wonder if that was the reason. He'd seen the worst in people and so looked for the best. Drove me bonkers.

I have to be honest and say that I do not do the same. Maybe a failing? I can't see inner goodness in some people, you know, child molesters and rapists. It's interesting though as I guess good and bad resides within us all. Myself included.

I don't know what #bow is but appreciate your kind words about my post.

Werner was wise in deed and had the funniest, dryest sense of humour; left this world way too young!
Re #bow (Blog of the Week), I think you would enjoy this so please check out the latest Curation & #BoW Reminder POST.
This story could be very apt but would need that tag added or even better, you may be inspired to share another childhood memory that was not as painful as falling from this tree?

I'll have a look and see what I see. Thank you.

Ooooh Galen you just hit a nerve here with me - I totally agree with you - I simply cannot see the best in anyone that molests a kid or is abusive, well probably because I lived through some of that as a kid and well, I know that there is no good in those people. They are just the grimey sludge that you find along your kitchen fridge seal after a few years. It's easier to throw the fridge away and get it out of your kitchen that to try and clean it. Weird analogy, but yes.

I suppose I tried for years to see the good in people but I just kept getting burned. Now I'd rather just stay away from people that display certain traits that trigger me. Life might be lonelier because I don't really have a circle of friends, but it's also far simpler without the fucking drama that they either bring or that I cause by being triggered by assholes.

At the end of the day, if you know you're a good person then it's up to everyone around you to earn your respect and trust and just because someone is family or friend does not guarantee that forever, that's just how I feel now. I don't owe anyone blind loyalty (my daughter excluded obviously as I'm her protector and guardian) - I know what I have to bring to the table and if they can't appreciate that, they can find another fooking table.

They are just the grimy sludge

These people need to be destroyed. Same as rapists. That's how I feel.

I keep a very small and closed group of friends; it's difficult to get in and very easy to get out, if you get my drift. I am intolerant of people that do not deserve my tolerance. Drama is something I do not value.

At the end of the day, if you know you're a good person then it's up to everyone around you to earn your respect and trust and just because someone is family or friend does not guarantee that forever.

I could not have said this better.

Clearly we share the same thoughts on this matter.

I was lucky enough that I was scared of heights, and falling down. So, I never tried something like that.
But I have a scar on my left eyebrow.
When I was a kid, I wasn't athletic enough. So, my cousins would tease me while playing games etc.

One fine day, I got frustrated, and planned to take revenge of their teasing.
So, I asked them at night to come with me, I wanted to show them something in the basement. They followed.

When I lured them in, I closed the door behind them, switched off the lights(lights switch were outside only) tried to hold the door so that they would cry and I could tease them that they cry like a baby.(we were all scared of dark at that age, but I was outside with lights on, and they were inside with a lot of old stuff like old cupboards, chairs, beds etc, which scared all of us).

There was no lock, so I tried to hold the door down myself. But instead of crying, one of them kicked the door pretty hard. And the door hit me on my eye. Fell down. Got unconscious.

I was lucky enough that I got four-five stiches only. Otherwise I would have to spend my life like one eye pirate.

Lol, never tried scaring kids in a basement again😂

Haha!

I like your thought process. Lock those little buggers in the dark basement although in practice it seemed not to work quite as well as in theory.

Still, chicks dig scars, pain fades and glory lasts forever. Right? 🤣

Still, chicks dig scars, pain fades and glory lasts forever. Right? 🤣

lol, hopefully 😅

Them damn metauglius asfuckostroboides trees!!!

Lol, Loved it and you still got higher than Fatso!! We all have those trees on our shoulders or faces, depending on the downward trajectory, heh heh

Those metauglius asfuckostroboides trees get you every time...One minute you're riding high on the way to monkey-tree-kingness and the next you're rearranging your face on tree branches on the way to the ground.

My only regret is that I didn't land on slug-boy and crush the life out him. If I run into Fatso these days I think I'll end him for daring me to climb that tree and making me ugly. It's all his fault.

You could end him and skin him and wear a fanboy suit on Halloween to scare the neighborhood kids, That would be a fine way for his story to end :o)

There is also this fine jacket for day to day use.

image.png

Source

(Don't worry, it's a fake - but it'll get the message across)

This should hang in the Sydney Airport as a warning for all the folks who want to go for a trek in the Outback. They should explain that Outback doesn't always mean. "Out and Back"

Oh man, thats awesome! I wouldnt want to wear one but I would tip my hat to someone who did!

I wear one of these to work sometimes, made up of all the people I've "fired".

Mine is made of all the people I've had over for dinner. ;-)

Hang on...Just finishing writing this note in my things to do list.

...Skin Fatso and wear his skin as suit.

And done, note taken.

Save a bit for the cover of your notebook too. Who needs moleskin notebooks when you can have fatsokskin notebooks!

Haha! Look at you! Full of great ideas today. ✅

... as they hailed their monkey-king; the lord of the top of the tree!

😳😂😂 Very funny but ouch! From way up high to the ground and before Fatso! I understand why you call the tree ugly. 😄

When you catch your breath beat up the kid who dared you to do dumb things.

Did you beat up Fatso?

I'll say own your beauty! And yes, I agree with the morals from this story.

Nah, I didn't beat up the kid...That's one of the lessons I learned early on in life...Ownership. I was the idiot who decided to climb the tree so had to accept the blame for falling out of it.

Hmm, this is a valuable lesson. Sometimes, we can be tempted to blame someone else for mishaps but a sign of maturity and emotional intelligence is ownership.

This is a coincidence because an issue came up about an hour ago and I was going to blame someone because I was pissed. I told myself the truth and acknowledged that it was my fault really. ☺️

So, thank you! 🙂

It's admirable that you came to the decision to apply ownership to your situation as so many would have selected blame as it seems easier. In truth, ownership and responsibility is a better option as it brings self-respect which is like a suit of armour to a person.

Well done.


image.png
Source

When it came to trees, I was very similar. I would climb high enough that the trunk would start to bend.

There's a picture of me at my cousin's outdoor wedding in a 3 piece suit, about 40ft up, watching the festivities from a nice perch on a comfy branch. :-). Apparently the other guests were a little concerned, but my mom simply yelled up to tell me to be careful not to get the suit dirty.

Knock on wood (pun definitely intended). I never took the fast way down.

I'll wait until the kinks in my teleport are worked out before I try to throw my body from pointA to point B in that short of a timespan.

Lol...A fellow king of the tree I see. Back in my day having a near-death experience as a kid was the only way to know you were doing it right. Falling out of trees was one of the accepted ways of inducing said near-death experience. 😁

Also, that cute little monkey picture? If it was a little more brownish it would look exactly like me when I was a nine year old. So cute. 🤪

wow, this is BRILLIANT - thank you @owasco for reblogging it; I might have missed it otherwise.
You are a fantastic writer, @galenkp, and you have to know by now that you are not ugly, but you make it sound like a good thing, your writing is so vivid and extraordinary.
You are a born storyteller. I wanna kidnap your Muse and put her to work for me. :)

Hi Carol, thanks for reading and your lovely comments as well.

I enjoy writing and do so a lot, even before hive came along four years ago. I write more off-chain than on to be honest.

I like writing these stories from when I was a kid and have done some other pieces too, stories, some fictitious and some very true (under the guise of fiction). My post feed is where they all are.

Now, my muse...If you kidnapped her I'd have to embark on a quest to find her you know. I'd search ever corner of the globe and walk to the end of time to do so. It would make a good story.

Thanks again for your kind words and @owasco thanks for the reblog.

Oh my word Carol you have been missing out! Galen was one of the first writers I came across when I joined Hive when I found his #weekendengagement posts which had me reeling with laughter. Since then, he's one of the first posts that I read whenever I open Hive - I'm keen to see the day when his book is published (Hint Hint G-Dog!!!) but every post is entertaining even if it's a horrible topic, he manages to somehow miraculously inject humour into them and balance the dark and light sides of life!

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 310000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 320000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Love your slogan Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Thank you.

As I say to my kids (especially the tiny ones) when they inevitably come off bar or rings at the wrong time: "Why did you let go?" XP

Vertigo got you good by the sounds of things. At least it was a bunch of little falls rather than one big one.

Me: Monkey grip don't fail me now.

Monkey grip: Fuck you G-dog.


At least it was a bunch of little falls rather than one big one.

Who only wants one fall when many are on offer? 😜

hahaha I could totally see this conversation in my head now and the resentful look on the monkey-grip's face. You need this made into a cartoon!

Lol, this is a great idea!

G-dog and the failed monkey grip

#bestseller

The perfect #treetuesday post

I didn't know that existed but yeah it might have been suitable now you mention it.

Every dog has it's day... #wednesdaywalk today

LOL the foolishness of youth and the wisdom of looking back at life and knowing you were foolish.
Reading your post made me remember a scene from my childhood, the day my brother fell off a tall mango tree and the look on my parents faces. I think the despair on their faces scarred my little heart for many years.

My brother was lucky to walk away with a few scrapes. But I was scared and scared for many years after that.

I hope he grabbed a mango on the way down! Lol.

Kids do stupid things, myself included. There are things I simply can't say here on the blockchain...Maybe over a few drinks one or two can coax it out of me.

I'm glad your brother was ok and I bet he learned some lessons.

He had collected a few before he fell LOL
Hmm..I hope he learned something from that. As far as I remember he never climbed tress after that. 🤣

There is a famous saying about falling out of mango trees:

When falling out of a mango tree grab some mangoes on the way down.

Ok, I just made that up actually. 😁

LOL you're crazy funny 😆

I'm many things and funny is one of them, at times. 😏

I wonder how is Fatso doing right now, I mean, what kind of person he is now..... Kids can be mean and cruel

Fatso is probably a buff handsome dude with a power-job, fancy car and mansion to live in. He probably sits in it laughing at my inadequate tree-climbing skills and pathetic monkey-grip.

I only wonder if he is happy. Being rich and handsome is not enough to be happy

I have no idea. The last I saw him was 40 years ago. He may may be a pauper living in the street picking food scraps out I'd the bin for all I know. Maybe he's happy, maybe not. I never give it another thought either way.

 3 years ago  

Hope that your tree climbing skills have improved, ha ha. Children being children tend to be impulsive more so if they are being challenged.

Yeah, I'm like a total monkey these days, swinging from tree to tree without falling. I'm a fast learner.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

 3 years ago  

Hahaha, brave and stupid as it goes. But we certainly do many daring things as kids and carry the scars for a lifetime.
Some parts of me also look like a road map and thankfully now the wrinkles hide some of them.
I googled the specie name of that tree and cannot find it anywhere, so it must be a secret tree that was planted there especially just for you.

Hmm, not sure why you didn't find that tree when you googled it. Must have spelled it wrong in the search. Anyway, if you happen to find one, don't hit it with your face, bad things happen.

 3 years ago  

Hahaha, nope over here we only hug the trees, Aus always has to go one better and you guys kiss the trees (forcefully).

Yeah, every branch.

 3 years ago  

Yeah a passionate story and every branch leaves it's heart on your face :)

@galenkp you had me going with this! There is much here that resonates, and I may well (if I'm brave enough) come and have something to say from my personal account. In the meantime, I've (@fionasfavourites) dropped in to suggest that you add this as a contribution to this week's #bow edition. Please drop the link here and add #bow to your tags to make it official?

Silver Flower

I did a similar thing riding my bike along a wall that got progressively deeper on the pub car lark side than the street side. So when I eventually reached the end of the wall i didnt know what to do as I hadn’t thought it through thoroughly enough. While i wobbled with indecision gravity decided for me. Deep side you go! Landed on my face. Off to hospital in agonising lain and also humiliation when my mum found out ho it happened. Not the slightest glimmer of sympathy from our mum ‘General Gill’ haha

Ah yes, the old falling off the wall scenario. It's an oldie but a goodie. Sometik s I wonder how kids of our era survived all the fuckassery we got into. 🤪

Learning how to get up after falling. Best education ever

accept failure for what it is, a step closer to success is what I learned as a kid and developed as an adult. Love this

Thank you, it's something I've lived by mostly and has served me well. I've done it the other way of course, but I work hard not to. Thanks for commenting.

Congratulations on being a winner

All who enter and engage are winners really. I got lucky I guess. Thanks for commenting.