Testing relevancy

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

It is the midsummer holiday today and while I spent last night at home, I am back at the hospital for some tests to make sure the medication is suitable for me. It should be okay, but they want to make sure of course.

We will hopefully be heading across to the neighbors place later to say hi, as I think it would be good for my wife to get out of this conversation for some time and spend some time with people that aren't so close to it, making it more of an oddity and less personal.

I dislike the drama and the attention, especially when it is around something so negative.

OI001513 (2).jpg

The profundity is starting to hit me a little bit more, as how close I recently came to death or catastrophic system failure, and it is interesting how a few days later, I am just meant to get on with my life, living as if nothing really happened. As they say, life goes on, but it is still kind of strange how these kinds of events just kind of wash over us, like water off a duck's back.

Even as there is still the pain in my head, my mind is turning to other thoughts and looking to deal with the normalcies of the days. If this is what it is like for me who is currently living it, it is no wonder that the average person moves on fast and is barely affected by the events of others.

I wonder if it has always been this way, or our disconnection and isolation from each other has made it significantly more pronounced. I have noted for years how so many of our issues stem from our growing irrelevance to each other, as social reliance is a core part of our humanity, yet it is different again to note how tenuous my own position in this world is and also, how insignificant it would be if I slid on out.

Of course, to my wife it would be life-changing for a time and perhaps for my daughter it would be life-defining depending on how she dealt with it now and would choose to in the future, but things would most likely align, smooth, flatten into normalcy.

It is much like getting trapped in the daily ups and downs of the markets, and then zooming out over time to see that they are far smoother, far less volatile. Life is dynamic and in a constant state of flux, but for the most part, it isn't new and has been repeated similarly for hundreds of thousands of years in a constant cycle of birth, death and rebirth. Some processes change, technology advances, we know more about our world, but the fundamental building blocks are the same.

I am not having some existential crisis and questioning the meaning of my life, as nothing has changed. I think that is perhaps my point, nothing has changed.

Near-death experiences are supposedly meant to bring clarity to life, to offer direction, but the actual change available is very limited in scope. I readjusted my life a while ago to try to improve the experience and possibility of my family and others, and that doesn't change because of the events of the last days. If anything, it has made me more resolute to work toward that end, because my time on earth is not only limited, it is also largely useless as a single life and the only real value it has is what it can add into the conversation in relation to others.

Every life matters perhaps, but the more isolated that life is, the less it matters. When we create societies where we disconnect from each other and no longer tether what we do to the experience of others, we have reduced them to the meaningless and in so doing, diminished ourselves similarly.

I know a lot of people who have been asking over the years toward the meaning of life and these days, a majority of them think it is about maximizing their experience during their limited time alive. Yet, they think the maximizing of experience is for them as an individual separated from others, not them as a piece of a whole, a vital component that connects the past to the future in this continual cycle of similarity, yet evolution.

The building blocks of creation are unchanging - thought, word, action - but what these three components can together accomplish are limited by us. In combination, we can compound who we are, with who we are.

Time for my tests.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

I’m normally done on my feed but I jumped back on specifically to see if you’d posted again as I thought it was “too long” between posts 😆

I’ll probably be doing that for a bit more don’t mind me 😵

 3 years ago  

Do I have to do a daily "proof of life" post? :D

A new tribe!!!! I'm in!!

Just placing some words here. You'll understand what they mean. I couldn't find the other words that make more sense in situations like these though. But I suck at those words anyway. These will have to do.

 3 years ago  

I couldn't have said it better.

 3 years ago  

Isolation is a battle on it's own. at the beginning of a severe issue one gets swamped with calls and wishes, but most of them disappear as time goes on.
A feeling of, well I have done my part emerges and after a lengthy period, only one or two still remains committed.

I experienced this during my 2 year stint after a near death accident and we walked the road with a lady that had leukemia for 12 years until her death. Big difference.
So I have learned to fight my battles alone and to mainly disregard empty words, but I have to say that I thank those genuine souls that have stuck with us through thick and thin.

 3 years ago  

Isolation is a battle on it's own. at the beginning of a severe issue one gets swamped with calls and wishes, but most of them disappear as time goes on.

i think this is a common lead-in for depression. It is such a defining point, but it is also very personal and very few will truly understand.

So I have learned to fight my battles alone and to mainly disregard empty words, but I have to say that I thank those genuine souls that have stuck with us through thick and thin

As they say, we all die alone. the thing is, regardless of other people's activity, none of us have to live aiming to be alone. We can all act for others if we choose.

 3 years ago  

i think this is a common lead-in for depression. It is such a defining point, but it is also very personal and very few will truly understand.

Those that have been there will understand.

As they say, we all die alone. the thing is, regardless of other people's activity, none of us have to live aiming to be alone. We can all act for others if we choose.

Oh yes, even though my inner self feels separated since childhood, it was the main catalyst for me starting the charity to act for others. Agreed that is indeed a choice.

I know life is very short and ours to spend as we choose. We must ask what is the best use of my time here? I hope it all turns out healthy for you my friend.

 3 years ago  

I assume questioning life at least leads to less living on default.

I am still yet to experience the glory of a hot nurse administered sponge bath.

Uh-oh, It was the first time I knew that sponge bath had sexual humor in English-speaking people.😅

Dear @tarazkp, First, get enough sleep, rest, and avoid stress!
And, it seems better to stop the blockchain until you are healed!

 3 years ago  

sponge baths don't have sexual humour in S.K?

sponge baths don't have sexual humour in S.K?

Hmm, Your guess is correct. Some Koreans familiar with American culture know the sexual meaning of sponge baths, but most Koreans don't.
In S.K hospitals, old women give their patients sponge baths.😄

Perhaps in Western countries young women give sponge baths?😁

Ps: Dear my friend @tarazkp, I'm glad I learned the meaning of sponge bath from you!😆

So, let me tell you a common sexual joke among S.K men.

All Korean men are sexually shocked whenever they see an American woman Jill.😲
This is because the name of an American woman, Jill, means the most secret part of a woman's body in Korean.😆

Jill(english) = 질(Korean pronunciation: Jill) = meaning of korean ( Women's sexual hole?)

Sorry for my awkward english!

 3 years ago  

lol. I wonder what kind of service Jills get in Korea when visiting.

Perhaps she will get the hot gaze of all Korean men! 😆

As you know, I'm not big with words, even less in situations like this. I'm glad to see how strong you are handling this situation. Rooting for a good recovery, I still have plans to check out your new place one day!

 3 years ago  

Thanks mate. I don't know what I am meant to say about it at times either, but I keep trying. Now we definitely have room inside :D

It is the midsummer holiday today and while I spent last night at home, I am back at the hospital for...

A hot-nurse-administered sponge bath?

 3 years ago  

I am still yet to experience the glory of a hot nurse administered sponge bath.

Had one many years ago after an operation...I was embarrassed and quite mortified. Sounds good in theory, not so good in practice. 🤣

 3 years ago  

The first time I was ever really in hospital at 18, there was a gorgeous young nurse looking after me. I think I had a chance... If I didn't have tubes up my nose and was self-administering morphine.

Lol, yeah those nose-tubes make it difficult to be a cool mofo. Morphine too I guess.

this guy would disagree:

But I guess when you are that big no one minds if you have nose tubes or call your mustache a beard.😜

Crear post
Really
I enjoyed it 😁

 3 years ago  

Yes, please! You have made me read a week's worth! Dang it man, rest and relax. You scared the bejesus out of all of us.

Well, I am still fearful, but, remain optimistic.

Connect

Trade


@tarazkp! This post has been manually curated by the $PIZZA Token team!

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza. Enjoy a slice of $PIZZA on us!