Why my comments are muted in the Silver Bloggers community?

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago (edited)

I had a discussion with @thebigsweed.

I did not even noticed it at first, but he notified me that my comments are muted. I posted my comments with Ecency, and the mute is not visible in Ecency, but I checked my comments on Hive, and my comments are indeed hidden.

Can anyone explain this? Maybe @lizelle.

I currently have 64 reputation, so this should not be a problem. And as far as I know, I have not received downvotes on any of my comments in the Silver Bloggers community.

img_0.9947393500955045.jpg

Even if the administrators of the community do not like some of my statements in my various comments, censorship is not the solution. But maybe one of the administrators accidentally muted me.

I am not a spammer, not a plagiarist, not a scammer. I am an old user, who is using the Hive blockchain for more than 4 years (since 2017.05.17).

I comment in good faith, even if some of the statements I wrote are negative. Yes, negative, but true statements about the Hive blockchain. I write only the truth.

Either way, I am completely against censorship. And everyone deserves the freedom of speech.

Sort:  

Hello, @xplosive

Thank you for raising this issue, and we notice that this is your first post in the community, and that you have not subscribed as a member. The Silver Blogger's team is most definitely opposed to censorship. Your account is no longer muted.

That said, we have a preference for keeping things cheerful and upbeat. There's no right and wrong here, and often our truths are different. This means that we all have the right to agree to differ. I know I often disagree with people because we have different world views. I have to remember - often - that my truth is not always the same as somebody else's and that doesn't give me license to attack or negate that person's view.

Debate around issues and views are healthy and welcome. However, and since you raised it, the administrators and moderators will reserve the right to mute accounts that indulge in ad hominem i.e. personal attacks. Muting in a community is not, technically censorship. Muting an account it does not preclude it from posting in the community, on the blockchain or from commenting and folk who want to read comments from that account, may still do so if they click on them.

We hope this clears things up and look forward to your positive contribution to our community.

Silver Flower (aka @fionasfavourites)

Thank you for raising this issue, and we notice that this is your first post in the community, and that you have not subscribed as a member.

I know that this community is mainly for elderly people. I will be 29 years old on 2021.09.17, so I am very young compared to the target audience. I do not used to post in this community. Although I have not subscribed, I still check the posts in this community from time to time, and comment under them.

Your account is no longer muted.

Thank you. It was probably some kind of accident.

Debate around issues and views are healthy and welcome.

I mostly mention the (nowadays) lack of real human interaction on the Hive blockchain in general. Some other people mention it to.

However, and since you raised it, the administrators and moderators will reserve the right to mute accounts that indulge in ad hominem i.e. personal attacks.

That is far from me. I do not insult anyone. I may very rarely drop a sarcastic comment here and there, but that is all. Although some people may consider those as insults. This depends on the viewpoint.

We hope this clears things up and look forward to your positive contribution to our community.

Yes, it is. Thank you again. Have a nice day. All the best.

I could not agree with you more. Hopefully this has been a mistake and it can be rectified very shortly.

Thanks, @thebigsweed - see our comment above ;)

 3 years ago  

I certainly hope that there is a plausible explanation.

I hope our comment above suffices @positivesteem.

 3 years ago  

Glad to see that it is all cleared up. The Silver Bloggers are an awesome group and I think you will enjoy them.

I am glad @thebigsweed noticed it!

I mostly comment in this community. This is my first post in this community, but I would not have wrote it without the mentioned muting problem, which was accidental.

I do not like posting on the Hive blockchain. Almost no one see my posts. Quite discouraging. But I decided to write the blogs (nowadays mostly Actifit) posts only for myself, so I do not expect any audience, and I will not be discouraged and disappointed this way.

So I started to use the Hive blockchain as a personal diary and photo storage.

 3 years ago  

Have you tried joining a supportive discord? There are several and that is a good way to find like interests. I like flowers, nature, photography. I submit pictures to some of these tags. #treetuesday #monochrome #marketfriday :)) There are lots of them. There is one for Fungi, beach, #sunthurday #beachwednesday All of these tags have supportive people. That is the only way I met people.

Yes, I tried using some of these tags. Sometimes I also done giveaways. The "funniest" thing is that people mostly ignored even those.

I am tired of trying for almost a half decade that I literally gave up. At least to find a supportive community on the Hive blockchain.

And I am not alone. Most of my Hive followers (nowadays I have more than 1300 followers) left the blockchain long months/years ago because of their disappointment in the platform. So a lot of people completely gave up on this blockchain.

I am not completely giving up on the Hive blockchain. I still post. If people care about my Hive posts, then that is good, but if they do not, then that is fine too.

Recently I also started to put more and more time into traditional blogging. This is also "funny", but people care about those blog posts. And I write in Hungarian.