cat & crow: almost a family dinner! - visual story in 12 foto

in Feathered Friendslast year (edited)

2022-oct-4140w-h.jpg

The post goes for 'Show me your photo (of a bird)' contest, round #94. Week's topic was 'Bird and Cat' ... oh, and Happy Caturday to all of you, my dear friends!

feathrr.png

And now a little prologue/backstory. Last week we were chatting with Neli, and I thought aloud that the subject "birds and cats" has not yet been featured in our challenge - and it's a rich, interesting, very appropriate topic! A small minus for me personally was that there were no corresponding photographs in my archive at all. Zero!

And the most interesting part of my story is that (you can see that I was able to participate in this round, right?) - just a couple of days later I got these photos! It's really amazing. I have a strong belief that our words to some extent determine the world around us, and even ourselves ... and here is another case confirming this statistic.

2022-oct-4139w-h.jpg
So, let's the story roll. I got a flu and stayed at home for a whole week; besides that, rainy weather was going on and on -- I even don’t remember the last time I walked out with a camera. Then, exactly two days after the said conversation on the possible SMAP challenge topic (it had not yet been suggested as a current round), I stepped out of the house (had to do some shopping). The weather was so-so, at least no rain, and I mechanically put my camera in my backpack, just in case. And you know what? I got this case!


In a courtyard of a residential building, I noticed a cat sitting quietly on a tree brunches. I love cats encounters and always unholster my camera in such cases. So I stopped, put my backpack on the ground, and carefully pulled out my camera. When I pointed it at the place where the cat was sitting - of course, there was nothing there anymore, the cat ran away :)

2022-oct-4152w-h.jpg
However, it didn't get very far, and I started taking pictures anyway. The cat began to walk around me in a circle, and then ...

Then I noticed that another visitor joined our company: a crow. The crow was not interested in the cat or me - she came to check this place for food. Crows are intelligent creatures, and it is very likely that all such places (where the Samaritan residents of the house feed local cats) are on her account.

2022-oct-4141w-h1.jpg
Therefore, the crow went straight to inspect the contents of the jars and plates - and it certainly did not remain disappointed. (I haven't studied the menu, but the contents of the plastic container clearly look like offal - a hearty meat meal).

2022-oct-4141w-h2.jpg
Now the second half of the story began - and the second personal highlight for me (besides the fact itself - the coincidence that I ended up in this place at exactly correct time).

2022-oct-4145w-h.jpg
The cat walked around me and also returned to the "buffet" laid out for her.

2022-oct-4155w-h.jpg
But she certainly wasn't hungry.

2022-oct-4156w-h.jpg
Satisfied that her food remained in place, did not disappear anywhere, she turned around and again moved to look for a pleasant place for herself.

2022-oct-4147w-h.jpg
Of course, she noticed the crow (and tried not to run into her nose to nose). But in fact, she pretended that there was no crow here. To be honest, I expected a completely different reaction! I greedily squeezed the camera in my hands and yes, yes, I was thinking about the future topic for the contest! I thought that now I will have luxurious photos of "birds and cats".

2022-oct-4148w-h.jpg
Lol - no interaction happened, I was left without a photo masterpiece. In general, the whole scene did not last long, at most 2 minutes. But the memory that I was a witness to it pleasantly excites me to this day. Yes, sometimes we are left without photos, and we have to save our memories without the help of this backup.

2022-oct-4149w-h.jpg
And the crow did not even think of hiding somewhere, running away, flying away, defending itself. And calmly continued her lunch. This gives us room to think about how the availability of free food "makes smooth" the competition in the animal kingdom, dulls the hunting instincts ... or simply it boosts some laziness?

2022-oct-4157w-h.jpg
I stood in my ambush for another few minutes, but have nothing more to boast of. The cat returned to her cozy shelter - the warm house basement. And here is the end of my story: cat's tail. Cya!

All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
My posts at pinmapple.com
Thanks for visiting my blog!
Sort:  

You were lucky to get those :)

Can I please use one of the pictures in Let Our Picture Tell Your Story, giving you full credit?

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Yes, yes, yes, I'd be very happy to see that!!! let me share a Hive !PIZZA with you 🍕😊😘

What an encounter! Really the cat and the crow feel like there is no competition, free food is on a plate, literally. I was sure you would come up with some interesting entry 😀
Thank you again for the suggestion and the entry!

happy coincidence? not convinced, at least I prefer to consider it is not 😉
words shape the world, meow! 🙏 let me use a !PIZZA charm on you, then

And I just have pizza for lunch. 😀

Very cool! Those 2 obviously know each other...

And I'm talking the same - looks almost like one family 😀

This reminds me of that video that shows a crow staging a cat fight.

Cute... cute cat! I love how graceful cats are. And yeah I was expectong an intense encounter of the cat and the crow 😁

intense would be better for photography indeed, but more slower was more surprising, and, hm, maybe better for the story? glad you enjoyed the visuals - !BEER

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 132 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @qwerrie ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

You've brightened up my Saturday with these photos @qwerrie 😍😻

super. my greatest pleasure!! I wish I was able ti post this in the morning, tho 😜
have a hot hive !PIZZA, my friend 😘

Awesome story thank you very much!!!

Grazie Mille -- !BEER

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
qwerrie tipped nelinoeva (x1)
qwerrie tipped millycf1976 (x1)
@qwerrie(1/5) tipped @wrestlingdesires (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Amazing as I expected something different. I saw cats running away from Harry, our Egyptian goose, but never seen a cat ducking a crow.

Great post mate!

!BEER

Thanks! glad you !LUV it. I was surprised myself too. But I have nothing against a simple hunting scene too 😍

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @qwerrie.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

So cute!!!

Some of the animal pictures that friends show are very good,And the cat is very fat and looks like he has a big body.

happy and fatty kitty, yeah! 😊 have a !BEER, my friend

hhehehhe....but the cats here rarely drink ! BEER , but they always hunt wild rats in the fields


Hey @mnurhiver, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you @qwerrie for the !BIR that has been given. 😃👍Have a nice day.

Happy Caturday to you, as well 😜

good friend. 😀👍, have a nice day, when are you going to Aceh Indonesia friends.

это ты здорово поймал тему конкурса :)

ага. сам радуюсь. !BEER

That was so cool! Like reading a comic 😁💙

Кот не волновался, т.к. у него есть "заначка" в стене 😉
Фото отличные!

What a cuttieees!! is lovely to see those two sharing the food jajja

Congratulations @qwerrie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 65000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 66000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking

Congratulations @qwerrie! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-11 - Winners List
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 11
Be ready for the last Hive Power Up Month of the year!

I can use EN language.

ps. you delegate to @phunk 🙄 what for?..