Wednesday Walk in Village and Shore

Welcome to #WednesdayWalk by @tattoodjay and the #MakeMeSmile challenge hosted by @elizacheng
Let's take our #WednesdayWalk

30marchHive3.jpg
One of the homes built in the late 1600's in my village seen on my walk there

I am a rambler. I love to go on daily walks and it takes quite a bit of cold or snow to stop me; more often snow only if I cannot reach the various places I enjoy to walk.

31janHive2.jpg

There were a few days this Winter when the snow was deep enough to stop me

But this week, despite some Cold mornings, I was still able to get out and enjoy our area.

30marchHive9.jpg
My happy view with the cold blue sea and sky

I'm lucky that most of my walks happen by simply wandering out the door. I take similar walks, but I have few 'versions' depending on season and mood. Sometimes it is more woodland and marsh.

2marchHive1.jpg
Hunting moss in our woodland

Other times I drive into our village and have a nice little walk. We're lucky in our old small Village here on Cape Cod, as it's rather old (For the United States, any European reader will laugh at 1600's as old) but for the Untied states, not even formed until well into the mid 1700's, it is an old place for our New shores. I find it a joy to walk.

30marchHive4.jpg
Old Churches and Colonial homes with wonky rooves and crooked sidewalks/pavements is New England

This walk is more of a treat as one is obliged to dress oneself somewhat presentable as it is hard to not want to stop and get a morning post walk coffee at the Brown Jug.

However, the luxury of walking in our own area, which is more secluded, gives one the joy to sometimes go walkabout in clothes from the past.

30marchHive10.jpg

One might gasp in fear of picking up ticks, or muddy hems, but I cannot express the joy of wandering shores and woods and fields with one's skirts trailing in the grasses.

30marchHive11.jpg
There is a joy to a walk into the past

30marchHive8.jpg

A gull chum get's his breakfast on our morning walk

The advantage to my solitary 'at home' walks is my fellow nature lovers are usually the shore birds. Of course I do encounter other animal friends, such as our box turtles, which are native forms of tortoise in our woodlands.

30marchHive12.jpg

Whilst at the end of a Village work will be coffee at the brown jug, at home my post walk is tea with my chum Algernon seagull who is breakfasting on the "flat rock" if the tide is right.

30marchHive7.jpg

This week, as the season is approaching, I heard the shell fisherman for the first time, as they were at the neighbor's dock preparing to seed their Oyster cages for the coming season.

30marchHive6.jpg

My normal silence (save the chickens and gulls and quail noises) was broken by their voices. I knew, hearing them at the dock early morning, meant Spring has truly sprung.

It's a joy to watch them work on the oyster grants and for the use of the dock, the neighbors are paid in little bags of oysters throughout the season. Its funny to see the little net bag hanging empty there as it's their way of saying, "We're here this weekend, and would love fresh oysters"

Another sign of Spring for this #Wendesdaywalk are the new flowers appearing. Fresh pansies and violets bought locally and planted with some dug up daffs from my own garden.

30marchHive1.jpg

And just now, as it is Spring, part of the #MakemeSmile bit of our #WednesdayWalk has to be from my new darling bantam Chicks who make me smle no end.

30marchHive2.jpg

Though it has been rather chilly to let them 'play outside with me' yesterday it was well above 40F and I took them out for a little ramble in the front garden, showing off where the new veg plots will go. Of course, when they are grown this Summer, they will not be joining me in the veg garden because they'd have it all down their throats in a second.

Well, this #Wednesday walk has been all over the shop, from Village to wood to sea, but it is for me a typical week of rambles. I'm lucky to both enjoy walks and to have a few nice places in which to take them and as you can see, some good animal chums with whom I enjoy my walks.

I hope you get a moment to get out for a walk and why not join in for the #wednesdaywalk and #makemesmile challenge. I'll send you to Today's post from from @tattoodjay for the rules and such and I hope you will join in. With our current world as is, it's nice to get out of oneself for a moment and remember the good simple things of beauty that make Life worth striving for.

QuailBorderforHive.jpg


If you'd like to follow my Work Here are some Links:
NFTshowroom
MAKERSPLACE
My Website
Instagram
Twitter
My 3Speak Channel

Sort:  

1600s is pretty old over here too ;D

I did have to stare at the snow photo for a bit like ARE YOU UP TO YOUR KNEES?! XD

Yes, we had a big snowfall this Winter, it luckily only lasted about 4 days before it melted, that's the way I like our snowfall @ryivhnn to have a Winter wonderland for a few days then it rains and clears it away. That was in January I believe.

What a sublime and beautiful varied selection of walks you have available to you on your doorstep 😍 Those woodlands look awesome for a daily ramble. I imagine you spot quite a bit of wildlife in there and I'm guessing they are close to the water with box turtles being prevalent? Your chicks and flowers made me smile...a lovely nod to Easter and Spring😊 My Mom would have loved your views of the water, so close to your home. The ocean was her happy place and I think she would have loved nothing more than to walk outside her home and be able to sit down, feet up, cuppa in hand and get lost in the sound and motion of the rolling sea. I enjoyed taking this Wednesday Walk with you ...albeit vicariously hehe !PIZZA
sam.jpg
Upvoted on behalf of the VYB Curation Project - please feel free to use our community tag #VYB to earn both #VYB and #POB tokens when VYB curators upvote you.

Yes I'm very lucky and count my blessings. I Love water and the sea and being near it always recharges me. Even in the woodland walk it skirts more inland waterways, saltmarshes and the like.

I enjoy it that very same way, feet up, cuppa and just sitting and watching. The gulls , shorebirds and various creatures and the coming in and out of the tide can pull you in. A 'quick break' to watch it can become an hour, it lulls you in @samsmith1971
Oh I'll start using #vyb and #POB then :) Thank you.

Sounds idyllic ❣️ You can use #vyb and #pob or #vyb and #proofofbrain...

Snow is beautiful to see but often not so much fun to walk through, but you havent let it slow you down, unlike me as I slacked off a lot over winter

Such a beautiful area for a walk, at first I thought the photo of tyou in the skirt was a statue of a bygone era, cool to dree the part for a walk in the past ;)

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

No, I like the snow, well when we have it as we usually do @tattoodjay for a few days or a week and then the rains come. I still have a little ptsd from 2015 jan-march Winter. It snowed and snowed and never melted and our roads here, which are barely one car width now, made getting in and out an interesting voyage.

yes, I do love a long skirt walk Especially in the cool weather, another secret to not feeling cold :) Modern people don't wear enough clothes in the cold haha.

From your posts I do know you love the snow

and yes the trick for handling cold weather is appropriate clothes and layers :)

That's so cool the walking in the clothes off the past!

Thanks @meesterboom a little time travel is always a nice diversion :)

There is no situation that a little time travel doesn't improve! :0D


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@samsmith1971(3/10) tipped @donnadavisart (x1)

Join us in Discord!

O-M-G!! The chicks!! so cute!!!