Modeled Not Gobbled

IMG_0536.jpg

!.png

You can share your wisdom or insight with a friend or stranger--remembering that behavior is always a better example than a lecture.

Ryan Holiday

On my farm there are many, many wild turkeys. They are always talking. Well, talking might be an oversimplification, as the noises they emit are all over the sound scale.

Often, the turkey's chit chatting reminds me of a gaggle of humans chirping at each other. One feature about being an adult seems to be one's propensity to instruct others about what we know.

To be fair, if one is trying to be a responsible, virtuous-behaving adult, you are constantly having to instruct and take care of things, and as our brains adore patterns, it's quite easy to settle into a pattern of constant wisdom and insight begatting.

We humans also love to be noticed, valued, and adored, so what greater dopamine drip is there than being listened to when we bestow our great knowledge upon others?

Now, I might be straying a bit into snark territory here, but I have a feeling we have all done such things. I mean we are human after all, but I am often reminded of what one professor I had told me when he was talking about the effectiveness of Christ's ministry on Earth, he said, to paraphrase, The best way to witness is to slap a piece of duct tape over one's mouth.

We've all heard the admonition actions speak louder than words, but in our digital age, words slam against us like an pixilated tidal wave all the time. Everyone has a voice and that voice has been amplified to planet-encompassing status.

It's made for more than a lot of look at me posturing.

I mean, look at me right now, I am writing about the concept of the supremacy of example over lecture. The irony isn't lost on me.

That said, I do think that it's an important thing to discuss. I mean, when the turkeys really want to get something done, or correct an errant flock mate, they do it not by vocalizing, but through action.

Right now the world is in an especially inflamed tizzy, and I guess the point of this thought meander is I wonder how things would be or trajectories would change if people would start shutting up a bit and express some of our apparently endless and infinite wisdom through example.

Guess I better go give someone a cookie and a hug.😉

IMG_0535.jpg

!.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's currently stuck in bed with its convalescing owner iPhone, the header and footer images were made in Canva.

Sort:  

Virtue signalling is no virtue at all and virtue untested is also no virtue. We live in a time like no other where likes/affirmation can be obtained through agreement and not necessarily wisdom or truly positive or altruistic action. Sometimes those with the most cantankerous, most disagreeable delivering are those with the most actual virtue and follow through... but then there is faith ... or duct tape ... if you prefer.

Virtue signalling is no virtue at all and virtue untested is also no virtue.

Ah, spoken like the poet you are, my friend. If one has to signal something as noble as virtue is that in and of itself an unvirtuous act? The negative aspects of affirmation hunting tribalism really bring my vibe down at times, but then I remember that I know quite a few crusty marshmallows and faith in our propensity for good is restored.

Or something like that. Maybe I better go find the duct tape...

Hope you are having a most splendid day😊

!PIZZA

Crusty Marshmallow ... I like that. I am more marshmallow on the outside and decades-old sponge-candy banana on the inside. LOLuntitled.gif

Sounds like a good plan of action to me - listen, watch, reserve judgment, and above all, don't expect anyone to see it the same way you do. Beauty lies in infinite realities.

Hey. Feel better soon. If you want to. If you don't want to, ignore me. Or, don't ignore me, just listen to me, then do whatever you want to.

Sounds like a good plan of action to me - listen, watch, reserve judgment, and above all, don't expect anyone to see it the same way you do. Beauty lies in infinite realities.

I find I am a ton happier if I don't have unrealistic expectations about anything in this existence, as the only thing I have control over is how I view what is actually happening.

Harder to practice than type about though lol!

That said, you expressed the sentiment beautifully and I hope you have a lovely day if you so choose to do so😁

And thank you so much for dropping by, your comment made my day!

!PIZZA

untitled.gif

No hugs, but have some !PIZZA

!PIZZA and a handshake be 👍 Bruh!

Thanks JT lol

~~~ embed:1714051443403993285?t=3p8V1hQs3LpaQk31gCuoQA&s=19 twitter metadata:QW5kZXJzb25TQnJhZHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9BbmRlcnNvblNCcmFkL3N0YXR1cy8xNzE0MDUxNDQzNDAzOTkzMjg1fA== ~~~

😉

!BBH

Aww, I have not forgotten about threads and INLEO my dear friend, once my brain and carcass get back to somewhat functioning I shall engage in such things, at least that is plan!

Hope all is well!!!

!PIZZA

All is always well, even when it is not.

I know you will my friend ❤️

!BBH

@generikat! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bradleyarrow. (6/50)

@generikat! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bradleyarrow. (6/50)

How are you coping with the wild Turkeys on your farm? I am always scared of Turkeys because they pursue people all the time

Our turkeys were born in the woods here on the farm and have grown up around us, so they are pretty chill. That and I think they know if they crossed the line we would probably eat them lol!

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
generikat tipped prydefoltz
generikat tipped bradleyarrow
generikat tipped jacobtothe
jacobtothe tipped generikat
generikat tipped owasco
@generikat(5/15) tipped @rafzat