My Weekly Reflection and Winning the Hive Power Up Day Contest

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

image.png

In this post, I am going to share with you how I do my weekly reflections to look back on the things that happened in the past week and to look forward to the coming week. All of these are in alignment with achieving my goals. I have been doing my weekly reflections faithfully since the start of 2020 as part of the bigger process of how I operate my life towards achieving my dreams and becoming the person I need to be.

It has tremendously helped me become aware of my achievements and the things I should be thankful for. It also highlights the important experiences I've had and the learning I can obtain from them.

But before I talk about how I do my weekly reflection and share some of the things on it, let me just celebrate my recent win and express my gratitude.

A BIG SURPRISE

I was shocked when I looked at my wallet and there was 600 HP worth of delegation on it. I looked at the delegators and I eventually figured out that I just received my prize from the Hive Power Up Day Contest by @hiveph.

I am thankful for the organizers and the sponsors for the prizes. I am personally thanking @ybanezkim26 for bringing me here to this awesome platform and @romeskie for being ever so supportive to the Filipinos here in Hive.

Congratulations to the other winners as well, @thegaillery and @wandergirl, who are already making a name for themselves here in this platform.

Image Source

I was able to power up using HIVE and HBD from my previous rewards. Honestly, I did not come to Hive to make it another side hustle where I can earn money. I thought hard about my decision to join here.


I did not want to set up myself for disappointments if my posts wouldn't get high rewards.


I enjoy writing and sharing my knowledge and experiences with others. I know my account will grow if I just keep going. I've written about my Hive Vision and Goals if you're interested to know them. This is why I was more than willing to use my previous rewards to power up instead of deciding to cash them out at this early stage.


MORE WINNINGS

The official winners for the Hive PUD Contest for October 2020 were posted and, again, I won. I placed sixth! I'm so stoked to be included in the list of winners after doing my very first power up. I'll be receiving 5 HIVE Basic Income units/levels Gift for it.

And to add to my luck, I also won the special prize from the drawing of the list of winners. I'll be getting 10 HP and another 100 HP delegation for 3 weeks. I just received the 10 HP from @livinguktaiwan and if you look back on my current HP, I'm now over 500 HP because @livinguktaiwan decided to power me up another 10 HP. I'm so grateful. I thank @traciyork for all her hard work and for all the sponsors who made the #HivePUD such a success.

Aside from the HIVE and HP, I think I need to recognize that I also obtained some new connections because of joining the power up day. I discovered @rarej and @starstrings01 after joining the event, even before the winners were announced. I'm amazed at their progress and dedication to maximizing their places here in Hive. Congrats to you both!

Image Source

And with that, let me now talk about my Weekly Reflection and how my recent win will surely be included in it.


POWER OF REFLECTION

Seeing yourself in the mirror makes you aware of how you look physically. It also invites feelings as to how you see yourself. Mirrors are all about self-awareness. And with this self-awareness, we have the power to know which part of us we need to change or to just accept and be thankful for.

I do reflections every year and I've been doing it for the past years. This year, I'm also doing monthly reflections and weekly reflections. I'll be sharing in a future post how I do my yearly and monthly reflection. For this one, I'll be talking about how I do my weekly reflection.

It's quite simple. I sit down every Monday and set aside at least half an hour to just focus on the following questions and look back through my week for my answers.

  • What are your wins for the week?
  • What are the things you're grateful for?
  • What are the challenges you've faced? How did you react? What can you learn from it?

image.png

Listing down my wins allows me to celebrate my accomplishments no matter how small they are. This validates the efforts I've been doing and it makes me see the results of my actions. It is important to be aware of the results of your actions because they build up your confidence.

Practicing gratitude through gratitude journals has been known to improve one's outlook in life. For me, I still find it hard to do a daily gratitude practice, and doing it weekly is easier. Listing down the things I'm grateful for encourages me to look at the good things that I have and that have happened to me in the past week. I am a great believer of the Abundance Mindset and I can say that I am able to do a lot more with the belief that the world has so much to offer.

Problems and failures can be a source of stress but they can also be an even greater source of learning. Looking back at the major challenges for the week and how I reacted are valuable inputs as to how I can better manage similar situations in the future. The questions also validate the negative feelings I've had which is good for your mental health.


SAMPLE ENTRIES

I'll be showing you some of the entries to my weekly reflections, at least the ones that can be shared publicly.

Here are the wins from my week on February 10-16, 2020. I was only able to list down 4 wins but now, I'm able to write down more than 10 in a week. It takes practice to own up your accomplishments and not disregard them. Maximizing your week will also be reflected in the wins that you'll be listing down.


February 10-16, 2020
Wins:

  • Finishing the Materials Section of the Review Article
  • Being able to run 12 km twice
  • Delivering flowers to Tricia on Valentine’s Day
  • Finishing work on Couette Flow for Advance Transport Phenomena Course

Here are the things I was grateful for from the week of August 1-9, 2020. Notice I've included the date. This makes it easier to remember the details when I'm going through my list again. I had so much to be grateful for even during the middle of a lockdown.


August 1-9, 2020
Grateful for:

  • Discovering Inka’s Podcast that helps me sleep better (Aug 3)
  • Being able to share my knowledge on digital banks (Aug 3)
  • Being able to start another month and work towards my dreams (Aug 3)
  • Being able to celebrate Kuya (brother) Jun2’s birthday (Aug 4)
  • Being able to go back to yoga after injuring my knee (Aug 3)
  • Being able to track my expenses and have a more realistic budget (Aug 4)
  • Being able to go back to exercising again (Aug 5)
  • Being able to play online with my friends (Aug 5)
  • Having the money to buy bonds (Aug 6)
  • Hayley and Amber being cooperative with the exercises I gave them (Aug 7,8)
  • Being offered the opportunity to be a consultant in ______ (Aug 7)
  • Being able to host the Trivia Night again (Aug 7)
  • Being able to meet with Tricia (Aug 8)
  • Being able to join in the Game Night Teams Test Game (Aug 9)

Lastly, here is a sample entry to the third part of my weekly reflection. This was from May 1-10, 2020, almost 3 months into quarantine.


May 1-10, 2020
Major Challenges/Reaction/Learning:

  • Fear of COVID-19’s effect – There were days when I was constantly worrying about the effects of COVID-19. There was this irrational thought that recovering countries and places are yet to feel the worst effects of the virus. I also had this notion that there was never going to be a vaccine. I know truth dispels fear but the process of searching for truth these days can make fear even worse. “Infodemic” as they call it. Still, it helped that I searched for the latest news. I was convinced that a vaccine is possible and that some countries were really past their worst days and that the Philippines will see its better days in the next weeks to come. I learned that Infodemic is real and that the constant bombarding of new and uncertain information only causes fear and hysteria. I think I already know what there is to know and to be uncertain about the virus and the disease. New and certain development will reach me if it’s really important and groundbreaking. I will consume less news about COVID-19 to give me peace.

Having a written account of my reflections allows me to look back and see my growth and improvement while working through the goals I have set for each week or month, and facing the challenging problems in life. I know it can seem like a lot of work but it's become a habit and I will continue doing it because it's useful and it's helpful.


And that's it! Thank you so much for taking the time to read through my post. I hope I was able to share something new for you to learn. I'm not leaving a call to action for you to do your own Weekly Reflection. I recommend that you should have clear goals first so that you'll know what to reflect on. I'll be talking about how to come up with aligned yearly, monthly, and weekly goals in my future posts. Be sure to look out for that. Cheers!


Glebert

He’s a dreamer and a thinker. He tends to sensationalize a lot of things. He got that from his mother. He’s also a bit melodramatic. Must be from his father. Bear with him as he shares his thoughts and experiences about his travels, dreams, and the variety of things he’s trying to learn and improve (personal development, writing, cryptocurrency, fitness, etc.). If you like this article please give it an upvote and if for some reason you’re interested in more future content, please don’t hesitate to follow.
Sort:  

Ang ganda nitong weekly reflections. Talagang geared towards growth and improvement. Also nice to take note of the wins. It makes us feel empowered and grateful lalo na lung feeling natin sobrang down ng week natin.

Another amazing write up GB! Keep em coming! 😍 I enjoy reading your articles.

Yes, I totally agree. Sometimes we think we haven't done much but it just takes some reflection to see the little progress that we've made. Thanks!

Honestly, I did not come to Hive to make it another side hustle where I can earn money. I thought hard about my decision to join here.

Right mindset, best to think of the place as a hobby that you can potentially earn from but never a life line.

I enjoy writing and sharing my knowledge and experiences to others. I know my account will grow if I just keep going. I've written about my Hive Vision and Goals if you're interested to know them. This is why I was more than willing to use my previous rewards to power up instead of deciding to cash them out at this early stage.

Let's get you open-minded about the stuff that could get your account to grow faster. Your link to your hive goals doesn't work from this post.

A hobby, that's the perfect word. I have my main hustle and other side hustles already. I want this place to be as stress-free and enjoyable as possible. But of course, I'm not disregarding the earnings that I could possibly get.

What do you have in mind @adamada to get my account to grow faster? I already fixed the link to my Hive Vision and Goals. Thanks for that.

I'll drop an DM on discord.

Brother, I love what your are doing. It is great. I see you are keeping track of your growth. It's a really good job. I love associating with people who keep track of their growth and stay in track towards their goal. It is just similar to what I do.

Here's a !tip for your awesome content 🙂

I believe people who share the same beliefs and mindset are drawn to each other. Maybe we can band together and you can help me out on one of my Hive Goals which is to build a community on Personal Development. That'd be great

Thanks for the tip!

Yeàh. That's a nice idea, I never thought of it.

Let's talk on discord: starstrings01#8020

About the tip, it's my pleasure 😊

🎁 Hi @glecerioberto! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @starstrings01!

@starstrings01 wrote lately about: A Confession || Day 19 Of 30 Days Blogging Challenge Feel free to follow @starstrings01 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Hive becomes more amazing when we witness someone is enjoying. We all want rewards for sure but doing the things you like the most sometimes could be enough. Having that mindset of you for sure, you will grow faster. You are one of the circles of friends by kim and I've been amazed of you guys how you wrote contents. Even though I'm not that good the same as you guys here. I have a different niche that maybe I can fight for the race. It's not a race, just how I inspired myself to keep on doing things I love. Or to be specific, I'm proud to be in the same community with you guys. Although I focus on the different way because as you said, "it's a hobby."

We all try to do our 'thing' here. As long as we're enjoying, we can keep going and the rewards will just accumulate. The community in this platform is one of the reasons why I really like it here. I'm also proud to be a part of it.

Niceee idea! I always account the significant things that happen in my life every single day. But I never list my wins. I agree it boosts confidence. So pakopyaa ko, GB. Haha! I'll dedicate a wins list per week to keep me motivated 💪🏼

Yes, Kath. Go! Let's celebrate our wins.

Very nice reflection and plan.

Yes don't think of this as a side hustle to earn big but rather be grateful of what you get and enjoy yourself in the platform.

I think that was what was wrong when it first exploded and it lead to greed, infighting and a lot of turmoil.

Thank you. The appreciation of a few people is a reward in itself already.
I've heard of the abuses from before and even now. The good thing is people are really doing something about it

Really happy to see the Filipino community growing so fast here on Hive. You guys have been such an amazing enlivening of the platform. Keep up the momentum ;)

It's such a motivation to be in a supportive community. I'm glad I'm a part of it.

Congratz @glecerioberto! This is a well-deserved win. 😁

We all deserved it. Cheers!