Market Friday: Filipino Ihaw Ihaw(Barbeque) Street food

Good Day!

Let me take you to a place that showcases some of the street food of the Philippines.

a3hbrc.png

My colleagues wanted to go to a place to eat some Ihaw Ihaw(Barbecue) after work. One of my colleagues recommended a stall right beside where he lives. This was located at Leonila Hill.

pldbjf.png

As I entered, there were tupperwares with different kinds of food that you can have Barbecued. As I recall there was
Isaw- which refers to both pig and chicken intestines
Helmets/ Adidas- which is Chicken head and Chicken Feet(Yup! they call chicken feet Adidas in our country because when you look at it, the three long finger strips of the chickens foot resembles the old Adidas logo.
Betamax- which is chicken blood that has been dried up and shaped into rectangular pieces. It's named after a Betamax because it resembles the shape of a Betamax tape.
Pork ears, hotdog and Pork Barbeque

pfuqzu.png

Inside the pot, they were selling different kinds of viands. I didn't bother to look what was inside.

nk19of.png

This was my experience in this place. I chose the food that I wanted and put it in a plate. After choosing, I had to show it to the lady who was selling and she told me how much was everything. After paying, they are going to grill your food. The photo below was divided into two orders, mine and my colleagues. Mine was at the right side, I ordered Chicken and Pork Intestines and a pork Barbeque.

q5r0w2.png

We were a lot and there people before us so we had to wait for ours to be grilled so one of my colleagues needed to buy some fruits and vegetables before going to the BBQ stand there was a stall that sold those. They had different kinds of vegetables and fruits, they also sold some raw pork and chicken meat. If there's something that I learned from this kinds of places, it's better if you know how much is the standard retail price because they tend to place a high interest.

3skjpm.png
1tmpws.png

While they were choosing what they wanted to buy, I took a photo, if you go down there it's Leonila Hill already, that's where the BBQ place was located. I still think that all the electrical wires in the post is really unpleast to look at.

w4hdlk.png

When we went back, they started grilling our food. Look at all those sticks lined up. The aroma that's emitted by the food that was being grilled made me hungry.

1n7qnb.png


wrk5uc.png

This was the finished product. People usually eat this with vinegar. My favorite from all of these were the pork intestines, it just had a distinct flavor that I liked.The chicken intestines were okay and The pork BBQ was kinda tough. I just wish they had a better tasting basting sauce.

6vxr5t.png
2lgquz.png

While we were eating, we ordered some grilled corn. While they were grilling the corn, I didn't expect that the cooking time would take long, it took around 20 minutes for it to be done.

q381qj.png

xwi0t5.png

You can see that the first four corn cobs were turning dark yellow because it's starting to get cooked.

fdav9s.png

This was the finished product, from the grill

o8k044.png

To flavor it, we slathered it with margarine which they brought out and added some salt. Though we were not able to eat it there because of the time. Most of us brought home the corn. I wasn't able to taste the corn because I opted to give it to one of our helpers. He was really thankful for it.

7rc2ss.png

I hope you guys enjoyed reading! Stay safe always!
Thanks for reading and Have a great day!

All these photos were taken by me

Animation by @zord189

Sort:  

Hi @sgbonus, your post has been manually chosen by Hive Supporter and upvoted with 93%.

Keep up the good work and you'll have a lot of success here on Hive for sure. To find out more about the Hive Supporter project check out this post.

Thank you so much for the curation!

Congratulations @sgbonus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 130000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 140000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!
HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience

Excelente paseo de mercado, esa es la magia de un mercado callejero, su diversidad y excentricidad gastronómica. Con el maíz me devolviste a mi infancia, en casa dejaban la última capa de concha y lo ponían directo a la brasa, lo cual ayudaba un poquito a que no se quemará tanto. Ese sabor es un inimitable. Sin duda alguna habrás disfrutado de esa mezcla dulce, ahumada y jugosa. Felicidades. Me encantó.

I'm glad that you were able to reminisce about your childhood. Thank you for giving me a tip on how corn should be grilled. I have to try it one time. Thank you so much for dropping by and stay safe always!

Very nice article, but I must admit, that most of the food we don't get here or rather eat here. The chicken feet is called run-away's here in South Africa.

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!

We have cross posted it for you!

You can see which community it was posted to HERE

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

I love seeing different barbeques around the world. You would never see a chicken head around here, but, everywhere around the world, they are a popular item. That is exactly what I find interesting about the various cultures. Everything looked delicious, but, the basting sauce is key. Without a great one, the meat is not as tasty as it could be. Even a tough piece will be acceptable with a good sauce.

Corn on the cob, unless it is preboiled. It takes about twenty minutes to cook. It is delicious and I am sorry you missed it, but, I think that was very kind of you to give to your employee.

Thank you for joining!!!

You know how much fun it is to have you here at the challenge! It is always a pleasure to see you join #MarketFriday. Every week, it seems to grow in size, giving us new places to explore. Because of you and people like yourself, #MarketFriday has become successful. I am sure there are many times that much effort goes into putting these posts together. So much effort, so little time. There is a certain sense of warmth in my heart, and it is that of being thankful. I can’t thank you enough for being part of the challenge.

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:
Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, Clothing, Plant, or Animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for a service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them

It is always interesting to see the different markets around the globe! C’mon! Show me your market shots! I eagerly await them!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

I remember that my dad used to feed his snakes chicken heads so when I saw it in the BBQ place, I didn't want to try it hehe. Yes, that's true basting is the key to make everything good!

Sometimes it just feels so good to give.

Thank you so much for hosting this and the tip! I hope that I'll be able to join again

🎁 Hi @sgbonus! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Trees Of Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

They are all yummies, oh how i miss them!

I hope that you'll be able to taste this again soon hehe. Thanks for dropping by and stay safe always